Rigid fathers

41 71
Avatar for Bilqees
2 years ago

I don't know about other climes but in my parts of the world, it's almost certain that in every household, the children fear their father more than their mother and that's if they were ever afraid of their mother.

A typical african child somewhat look up to his father as a second god. Even though a child might adores his father, there's this special reverence and awe he accords to him.

Sometimes it depends on the upbringing, Me and my dad could talk and laugh for hours as if we were agemates. There was a day a friend from school came over to our house and found me and dad in a hot debate. She was was so shocked that she kept looking on, with mouth agape as if she was staring at magic. When we were eventually left alone, she said that she was disappointed in me for behaving in such a disrespectful manner towards my father.

Well, I only smiled at her and replied that my dad never believed in inspiring fear into the hearts of his children. He saw us more like his friends and confidantes rather than his children. It was my turn to be shocked when she told me that she always addresses her father with "Sir", whenever she wants to speak to him. I saw this as more of a General/corporal association than a father/child relationship. .. I guess I was among the lucky few.

Maybe it's a cultural thing, most African dads do not publicly display affection towards their children, even if they love them to death. No doubt, a father would openly show his love for his five year old son and would site on him in public . But it always appear as if the older a child grows( especially a male ) , the more emotionally detached he would be from his father even when there's a mutual love and respect between the two.

As a matter of fact, apart from the movies, I have never seen where a father had embraced his grown up son, not even at an airport terminal. Its always the mother and the sisters doing all the hugging. An handshake is about closest thing a grown up son would get from his father while he bows down a little in an attempt of showing respect. Our mothers always have a thousand hugs to give since a mother's embrace always renews the exceeding love and devotion that both mother and child share.

And when the closeness between mother and son becomes too much, the father might start getting uncomfortable and would begin to blame the mother for the child's misbehavior in the future. So, it is always preferabletl that a father should always handle his children with strictness, discipline and sometimes, a heavy hand lest they become "spoilt" by the too much emotional attachment from the mom. If not, his son might grow up into a "weak man" in the future.

I believe this mentality is also common to some other cultures . I have read interviews about some world famous businessmen and celebrities who admitted that their fathers indirectly instilled in them the aggressive determination and discipline to chase their dreams even though they were not in the best relationship with their fathers.

A growing child can't afford portray disobedience in front of his dad. A responsible father rarely barks at his children, but when he does, you'd know that there's alot of serious trouble coming your way pretty soon. Infact when an African dad sneezes, the whole house trembles . But a mother could continue to scream at her kids all day and they would happily continue to fool around.

You could apologize to your mom after deliberately doing something silly and still be certain that Mom would forgive you immediately. She always does, so long as she's still alive to remember those days she have carried you inside her for nine months and breastfed you for two years.

And as life would have it, the sacrifices of a mother are much more appreciated even though pops sacrificed as much if not more. Maybe because a mother always bunch up with the children all day. Hence her love, care and labors are more manifest than that of the father who is not always seen at home. Hence in old age, mothers are more celebrated than fathers by to their children. This I have observed in my clime.

*******************************

Thanks fir reading.💖💖

23
$ 3.13
$ 2.38 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.07 from @Ling01
$ 0.07 from @Tomi-Ajax
+ 20
Sponsors of Bilqees
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bilqees
2 years ago

Comments

Some fathers are just so strict at their children even though they love them but will not want to show it. Some believes that they are instilling courage to the child while some fathers won´t even have an iota of love at all. My mom have hugged me many times while I only kneel to greet dad but now, the way we chat is always fun and interesting since Mom died.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I believe that loves you so much. Mere seeing you go on your knees to pay respect renews the love over and I again

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I understand and agree with you , though it will look weird if my Dad hug me in public🤣. Mothers is sill understandable.

I know some family where the mother is stricter than the father.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's true dear. Som fathers are real gentlmen. I forgot to mention that too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My dad is not really the disciplinarian type. He seldom talk about skills or ask about our dreams but my mom on the other hand make sure you have a purpose for which you live. Either ways, it is good both parents are alive and together for the proper upbringing of their children

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As you have mentioned, it depends on the upbringing. Some are more affectionate than others. We may not be that showy in our feelings physically or in words and actions but we do love our fathers just the same as our moms. I think too that we kids should show parents what they want their parents to be. If they want more affection, then show it to them. Teach them. Some were not built right away to be so.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There's alot of wisdom in the this sir. Thank you souch for this valuable contribution

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My dad is not rigid at all o, he is very gentle but you see my mom? That woman can torture the devil 🤣 it doesn't help that she's extremely tall as well, she will just tower over you anytime you mess up

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol. I just dey imagine when you dey small... Just a look from mummy, you for just begin confess all your sins in tears 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😂 I am telling you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Here in our place, it depends, hehe. Some are close-knit that they are close to both their parents. So like you said, it depends on the upbringing. It is great when children can easily approach their parents and vice-versa. A friendlier atmosphere in a home is cheerful.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's true sis. It also helps in maintaining a healthy mental health of the children

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Majority of Nigerian fathers like to be feared as if they were God. They want their children to quake at the sight of them because to them that's how they can exert control effortlessly.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think it's a cultural thing. Th sons in turn grow up just to be like them

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My relationship with my parents is very calm, I'm not really complaining, but there are things that at least bother me and it's with some attitudes that they hurt

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I understand. But trust me it's fine. Things like that happens from time to time among couples

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is common for fathers to be the strict one, but I have seen families where the mother is and the father is just calm as a dove. Doesn't necessarily mean he isn't strict though, but you get what I mean

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's true. It's quite common. Thanks fir pointing it out. I actually forgot

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have always found my relationship with my father special and my friends and even my brothers sometimes envied me for it. I believe that a father can be affectionate and show his love for his children as a mother does

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I actually got the inspiration for this article from your previous article. It was very obvious that your father's love and encouragement propelled you towards the realization of your dreams and in return you made him proud... Wish we could have more fathers like that. Generally speaking , it depends on the upbringing and the type of person the child turns out to be. I have seen daughters and sons who end up becoming a big disappointment to their fathers after all the love he had showered on them. You are indeed a blessed child "Omolara" : 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In my case, I do treat him like a friendly mate. But I've seen his aggressive face too when i do the things which actually he don't want me to do.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's how most of our fathers are. They could be very friendly to their children, but we wouldn't like to see their other side, that's why we always respect ourselves and try our best not to make them angry with us

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am here thinking about whether I have even ever hugged my father. But my mom hehehe. Growing up, I spent a lot of time with my mom as my dad was ever working. Of all my siblings, I'd say I spent the most time with her as she literally takes me everywhere. I did learn a lot from her though. Bargaining with market women, cooking too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehehe...I should have thought as much. It's now clear where they you took after your mother's heart, both in kindness and care

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You warm my heart Bil. Didn't know I exhibit those characters

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's natural na... Most of us are slaves to our nature. A good person would always remain good no matter what the world throws at them. May God continue to protect you. 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Amen, and you too. But you do know I may have you fooled right? I might just be a devil in disguise

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That one sef dey Sha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is very correct. My dad is the soft type but once you Misbehave and the news gets to him, you're finished that day. My dad loves us ehn when it comes to facing panel to be judged and receiving beating, just forgerrit

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol. "Spare the rod and spoil the child philosophy" , I guess..... And ofcourse he never fails to correct you when you are wrong

$ 0.00
2 years ago

To me, yes I respect my dad but I have never seen him as an authority man, he is not always around but when he is, he jokes and make us laugh, there is nothing we ask for that he won't give to use, I love both my parent, they are the best thing to ever happen to me

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No wonder , I thought as much... You definitely took after him in meekness and free spirit

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yea yeah.. That's very true

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It would surprise one to see some children been afraid of their mum than their dad. It goes this way; if the mother is soft then dad would be the harsh one. But if dad is harsh then mum would be soft. Its just like neutralization in chemistry and this two attitude play a significant role in the child's upbringing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is another good one. It's quite common in homes when the dad is naturally gentle and the mother an iron lady

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah dear, you are soo lucky instead we are soo lucky to have a good bonding with both of pur parents although I'm much attached with my mum but I have a great bond with my father too i can share each and everything with him, I have also noticed some rigid father here in our area I think this culture is dominant in many areas.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's true summaiya. Most fathers could be like that, although love and and could do anything for their children

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol, fathers are strict and more rigid than mothers. I'm more free with my mum than I am to my dad. But for my children, I'll really love them to also bond with their father, just like, or more than the bond you and your father have... It'll really be so lovely ☺️🙈

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly... Most fathers come to regret this in old age, especially when they see how the child appreciates then mom more the more, This I have observed.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dear Bilqees, the same is true in my clime, mothers express their love and feelings very clearly, but it is rare to find a father who has a friendly relationship with his children. And he shows less love and kindness to his children.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I guess fathers find it a bit awkward to openly express their love for the grown up children

$ 0.00
2 years ago