Stuffed cabbage rolls with bacon and minced meat in a tagine.

Good day to all and good mood my dear readers read.cash. I would like to say that I write about cooking and cuisine, as well as everything related to it. I continue to publish recipes, menus, and other stuff, that solve one problem: "how to make sure that at home there is always a healthy, delicious homemade food, and you spend a minimum of time, effort and money. I remember when I was a kid, I didn't like stuffed cabbage rolls at all. Or rather, I ate the stuffing and didn't touch the cabbage :) Without a doubt, the dish was terrific, and I could smell it in the kitchen every time! You know how our moms always taste!

Probably a lot of people don't like to cook them, right?) And many people have never even heard of this dish. We have to make it quickly, and while you're preparing the cabbage, all the excitement is gone. There's no point talking about who invented it. Most of the time it's Ukrainian and Russian cuisine. One and the same dish each nation interprets in its own way and offers its own version. If the same dish doesn't change, then it suits and fits all the criteria of the ethnic group that uses it. And so it started with me going to the basement to get some cabbage. it's all shriveled up, it's all soft, just shriveled up. at the root. I was very upset, and I don't know why that I don't know why that happened. But I still made stuffed cabbage rolls.

Usually I used to make these balls I used to roll them in flour and fry them in a frying pan and pour a white sour cream sauce. I told my husband about it, that the cabbage was spoiled. During this time my husband had already managed to buy 20 kg of proper cabbage for pickling at the market, and mine was still in the cellar. I decided to cook stuffed cabbage. I went to the basement to get the cabbage.

It had been over a month since I'd harvested my of cabbage. Only 30 cabbages. I was terribly proud, so... beautiful, so thick and round and white and crisp and juicy. I salted ten cabbage heads at once, to try it out. It didn't turn out so well, my husband said it wasn't the right kind. Well, okay, not the same, but the rest - that! We put the cabbage we bought in the basement.

Yes, I, too, everything comes out not perfect, and that something can not turn out at all. But I do not despair. Everything happens in our life "by trial and error".

Ukrainian stuffed cabbage rolls are probably the most varied. There is minced pork or beef, garlic, parsley, rice, bell peppers and even millet. You put rice, mushrooms, an egg, green onions and onions. I'm very fond of I love cabbage and everything you can make with it. It is healthy, everyone knows that, and all vegetables are generally useful. But for a long time cabbage rolls presented me I can't imagine tearing the leaves off one by one and shivering.

I've told you before that women in our area do not just cook for fun, but they cook in a way that surprises the whole neighborhood with their food. And it does not matter that the food is made of simple ingredients, they have enough of them to come up with a masterpiece. How to make stuffed cabbage rolls an unusual dish, I told one mother who is preparing for the wedding-her daughter. And the stuffed cabbage rolls are just for such an event, for the invited guests. After all, everyone will say what a bride she raised, what unusual cabbage rolls she makes. And today we are going to prepare this seemingly simple but unusual dish. At first I wanted to make just stuffed cabbage rolls, but then I decided to make them on a vegetable bed. You can make them without it, but I made my life a little harder.  Yes... and about the tagine... At first there was the idea of stewing the stuffed cabbage rolls in the oven, then all the same in a pot with thick walls, and then I thought - since I have a tagine, isn't it the best dish to cook stuffed cabbage rolls - a slow, methodical stewing?

Take:

A bale of cabbage.

Greens (parsley, dill, coriander).

Rice.

Meat (I have pork and some beef).

Fat for juiciness of meat. About a quarter of the meat.

Onions.

Carrots.

Bacon.

Freshly ground pepper.

Coriander.

Basil.

Salt.

For the vegetable pillow:

Onion.

Carrots.

Sweet bell pepper.

Quince.

Tomatoes.

Parsley.

Dill.

Salt.

Pepper.

Cinnamon.

Prepare: Strip the cabbage into sheets, cut off the thick veins. It is better to blanch the cabbage first, so that the leaves separate more easily, but I had a very large cabbage, so I could not find a pot for it. I had to torture myself like that.

Blanch the cabbage leaves. Finely chop the greens.

Soak the rice in warm water. For about 20 minutes. Then boil it for about 10 minutes.

Make mince out of the meat. I do it by hand, you can do it with a meat grinder. In order to make it by hand, I first cut the meat and bacon into small cubes.And then chop it with hatchets.

Finely chop a large onion and saute it. As the onion becomes transparent, add grated carrots to it. And fry together.

Cut the bacon into thin strips.

Add the rice to the minced meat.

Season with pepper, coriander, basil, and salt.

There are greens in there, too.

In the same place cooled paste. Stir.

Blanched cabbage leaves, if necessary, beat down so that there are no thick veins. Place a piece of bacon in the middle of the sheet.

On top of the stuffing.

And wrap it in an envelope.

Prepared stuffed cabbage rolls fried on both sides until brown. And set aside. Or, if you are cooking without a pillow, at this point you can place the stuffed cabbage rolls in a cooking container and begin to stew. Or continue cooking the pillow like I did.

Prepare the pillow. Slice the onion into half rings, or quarters of rings, and sauté. Place the cooked onions in the tagine.

Salt and pepper. Salt and pepper each layer, I will not write about it, yes. Carrots, too, we parsed (I did not grate it, but cut it into julienne pieces). In the tagine, on top of onions. Also we fry the peppers. And this is the next layer.

Quince, too, cut into strips, fried.

Place on top of the vegetables.

Salt, pepper and sprinkle with a little cinnamon. Top with peeled and finely chopped tomatoes.

Then finely chop the parsley and dill. And sprinkle over the vegetables.

Put stuffed cabbage rolls on top. Cover with the lid and put it on a low, small fire, so that nothing boils, but simmering, as it should be in a tagine - for several hours.

It's very juicy! Don't add any water at all. It will all be vegetable juice.

Enjoy! Cook your food with love and pleasure.

I would like to thank my sponsors for their faith in me and their support. Thanks to you, many people have learned about me and my content and become my friends. Thank you!

Sponsors of Belozoriana
empty
empty
empty

I was so happy when I saw the sponsorship notices from you, it means a lot to me and I am grateful for it)

I thank God for his help in writing this article, and you, dear readers, praise him if your reading has been helpful to you.

I want to know your opinion.

If you are interested in my content,then I invite you to read my other articles:

https://read.cash/@Belozoriana/chicken-on-the-can-80dc599a

https://read.cash/@Belozoriana/tears-of-an-angel-6c1173b3

https://read.cash/@Belozoriana/birds-milk-3271a840

https://read.cash/@Belozoriana/winter-salad-or-olivier-f347a5e6

https://read.cash/@Belozoriana/peaches-cb90e2fa

https://read.cash/@Belozoriana/hot-smoked-burbot-2086226a?

16
$ 5.91
$ 5.32 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.14 from @Yana8414
$ 0.05 from @Alther
+ 10
Sponsors of Belozoriana
empty
empty
empty
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

Another great one Belo!

I did this dish many many years ago and I loved it! But my dad was picky with his food so I did not kept it on the family menu. But I might do it again for my mom's birthday, I'm sure she'll love it! Thank you!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hmmm yummy my friend. Looks delicious again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In photos looks soo tasty. It can be try in late night in winter

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It was great as always. We also have this recipe, almost like what you made, but the ingredients that you put in the bottom of the pot, and put the cabbage bells on it, were very varied and exciting, I fell in love with this recipe and I will definitely use it...

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Are you a chef in real life dear?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I used to work as a cook, and now I take orders at home. That doesn't mean that I only make cakes. Meat dishes - dumplings, sausages, for example, I offer them to stores. And the seller is good and I have earnings. I often take orders to make biscuits. Comne often come to guests, acquaintances or relatives. And I still like to do this, it is not just my main job, it is my hobby since childhood, which brings me income.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Massive respect to you dear.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

The food looks delicious and you know how to prepare it!!! I wish I could get you to cook for me someday!!! (:

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Anytime I read your article I'm always hungry and now I'm hungry now 😅

$ 0.01
2 years ago

All your articles are about food blogs. So you must be good at cooking

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Well, yes, you're right. I worked as a school cook for a long time, and I was a hostess for the girls in the "Good Housekeeping"-basics of cooking class. Now I work from home and take orders. I have not finished courses as a cook, but I know how to cook, if people ask to take orders for food.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I just want to ask if you do different dishes everyday to serve for your family? Because how you prepared it was full of ingredients; really love it!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, I cook different dishes every day - mostly orders. Or guests come. I don’t cook a large size of dishes, so what would I try)))

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your recipes are all torturing me in a good way lol. They look so tasty! I am hungry again.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

So delicious to see and tasty. I love vegetables, love that food.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Not a good idea to look at your posts while am hungry lol... this looks ridiculously good

$ 0.02
2 years ago

My dear doll, I know that you are a vegetarian, so you can make this dish by replacing the minced meat with vegetables. It is not healthy to starve (except for days off). And yes, when I sometimes look at pictures of different dishes I just get a vicious appetite.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As always very yummy dish you prepared. Just loved it. Looks so delicious 😋

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I always cook this one but I did not put a bacon, this the name here is (mashe) And I make also leaves for grapes

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, I make dolma (with young grape leaves, too) but that's another recipe. And besides, grape leaves are not sold in stores, and now it's winter outside, there is a lot of snow... Dolma is a seasonal dish, and it is not worse than stuffed cabbage rolls. Thank you, my friend for your review💓

$ 0.00
2 years ago