Refusal to give alms.

7 47

Do you give alms? To everyone who asks or selectively? What are your "criteria" for deciding whether or not to give alms? What motivates you to give or not to give a few kopecks (or hryvnias, since the unfortunate already have "dachshunds")?

I used to give money to everyone who asked for it, except drunkards. And that was if I knew they were drunks. If I didn't know it, I would give it to them. I used to go to church a lot when I was a kid, and I had a lot of charity instilled in me. I knew that it was necessary to help the disadvantaged, that "you cannot escape from prison and jail", that "it" could happen to anyone. Perfectly aware of this, with a sense of duty and compassion, I always took out my wallet and smilingly offered money to those who asked me for it. But now I give almost no alms. I don't understand why I should give money to Romka, the cygan, because she is pregnant. Can you explain to me why I should help her? First of all, the state does pay money for the birth of children! Second of all, it's clearly a business for them: begging for money, shoving pillows under the floorboards and barking, "be happy and be well," looking at you with a contemptuous expression on your face that just screams, "Fuck you, white trash!!!". There's nothing to give birth to if you don't have money for "baby milk." If they weren't doing it on purpose, I would never allow myself to say that. But they do it for purely mercenary reasons!

I also don't understand why I should give money to a man. A healthy man, with arms and legs and some brains. I'm often approached by such men. They always have a polite, polite conversation, like, "Sorry to bother you, do you have a hryvnia?", burning the tips of my eyelashes with the fumes. No fucking way! No fucking way!!! You with your eloquence could work for ORT, why are you so drunk in the morning, begging? By the way, I earn this money by working, they don't draw it to me or give it to me for nothing. Is society to blame for this?

There are desperate situations. When people are in real trouble. When they can see that asking for alms is a torment and they would love to get rid of it, but they're having such a hard time. I've seen people like that. That's the kind of people you should help. 

I don't give alms to cripples. It's not because I'm a stale scrap. I don't give them money because I know it will be taken from these poor people. They will be taken away by the "roof." I buy them groceries: bread, buns, candy, fruit. They won't take that away from them. Because such "roofs" hate their "slaves", they are disgusted with them, and they will not take food that their "worker" has touched. 

But I always gave alms to children. Always and never spared. Until yesterday.... I was walking home, as usual, passing near one of the Roma settlements. There was a girl, about 10 or 11 years old, sitting on the railing beside the road. Clean-cut, didn't seem very well-groomed, but not dirty, not of Roma nationality. Eyes blue, big, blond hair, pretty. Dialogue:

- Auntie, do you have one hryvnia?

- I do. Why do you need one hryvnia?

- No reason.

- And what will you buy with it?

Candy.

We stood ten meters from the store.

-Come on, I'll buy you some candy.

-No.

- Why not? The store's right there. It's right next door.

- No, I don't want to. 

- Well, if you're afraid to come with me, I'll go and buy you some candy. Will you wait for me here?

- No, that's okay.

- Why not? You wanted to buy candy with that money. I'll get you some cookies, too! Or do you want something else? You tell me, I'll buy you anything. But I won't give you any money. Either I buy it or you get nothing.

- No, I don't want it.

- All right, I don't want it, so don't want it.

I walked about fifteen feet away from her, and I heard a man approaching her. I didn't turn around, because for some reason I got scared and just heard the conversation:

- Well?

-She didn't. She said she'd buy me candy herself.

-Such a bitch.

I'm not jumping to conclusions. You draw your own conclusions. But I'm not giving alms to the kids anymore either. I'm just gonna buy them candy...

My sponsoring friends, thank you!

No matter how strong we are, support increases our strength! It's like a breath of fresh air when difficulties pile up and don't let us breathe! Thank you for your support. I will always remember and thank you.

Sponsors of Belozoriana
empty
empty
empty

I thank God for his help in writing this article, and you, dear readers, praise him if your reading has been helpful to you.

I want to know your opinion.

If you are interested in my content,then I invite you to read my other articles:

https://read.cash/@Belozoriana/onion-and-garlic-jam-f71c50ef

https://read.cash/@Belozoriana/forest-glade-themed-cake-b6adf80b

https://read.cash/@Belozoriana/we-eat-to-live-not-live-to-eat-5fc88f83

https://read.cash/@Belozoriana/choice-or-a-reaction

https://read.cash/@Belozoriana/gravlax-or-they-are-not-rolls-fb460b64

14
$ 3.45
$ 3.08 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.08 from @Yana8414
$ 0.05 from @Alther
+ 8
Sponsors of Belozoriana
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Because of your generosity, some people will abuse you. But it's good thing that you prefer to give some food for the kids instead of money. There are lots of cases in here in my country. Adults will use the kids to collect moneys to strangers. That's why I sometimes get doubtful especially in giving

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I used to give alms to someone who asks for it without thinking but I think I got abused so right now, I am careful about whom to give. That kid who wanted money was taught by the man, I hope it wasn't a syndicate or something. Here in the Philippines, some parents have a lot of children and teach them to beg. Begging became their livelihood.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sorry but I never judge. I know some of them are lying but my logic is they are asking my help. Their hands are just infront of me. How can I refuse it?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm usually wary of giving alms. This reminds me of a cripple lady who used to ask for arms near the church. Church members got her a wheelchair and gave her some money to start a business but she didn't start any business, she went back to begging.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You do the right thing mate, instead of money that you give it's better food because most of them there is some group and using the innocent one just to get some money to the people passing by.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dear Belozoriana, you made a good point, it seems that begging has become an industry all over the world, they use the poor kids and form a gang. My heart burns for these innocent children...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Unfortunately, it is in our lives. Cripples, children, beggars have higher ups (we call them roofs) and they take everything from them. This is a business and a whole system of earning money, which is based on the destitute and the disadvantaged.

$ 0.00
2 years ago