Challenge Accepted: 10 Facts About My Childhood

Avatar for Ayane-chan
2 years ago

.Did you have a happy childhood? Is your past depressing? Did you have a tough life when you were Kid? Is it just so-so? Or you are a happy-go-lucky since you were a Kid?

Image from Unsplash

I have read an article yesterday about this "When I Was A Kid Challenge" wherein you should give interesting facts about your childhood. Whether it's a happy memory, a hateful one, an embarrassing one, a thing that you used to like, or a thing that you hate the most. As long as it's from your childhood, it's definitely counted.

That article caught my interest very much and that's why even though no one had challenged me yet, I'm still going to do this now.

Okay, let's get started!

10 Facts About My Childhood

  • When I was a kid, I often climb trees.

I grow up in a rural area where farmlands are abundant. It's natural for every home to have fruit trees in its yard. In our home, we have many fruit trees like mango, guava, jackfruit, pomelo, citrus, and green oranges. If my mother can't find me anywhere, surely, I'm up at the trees eating happily.

  • When I was a kid, we played hide and seek every full moon.

You are probably wondering why just every full moon, right? It's because we find it more fun to play at night when it's just the moon that lights our way. Then, we would scare those kids that were younger than us, startle them, and run as fast as we could while shouting there's a monster chasing us. I realized just now how to mean we were to younger kids back then.

  • When I was a kid, we used to ride at the back of a carabao.

This was maybe because we don't have a horse in our place. We all only have carabaos and cows. We used to ride in it when we were going to feed them every day. It's usually 3️⃣ of us riding it and then we will talk about nonsensical things, maybe that's why we found it fun when we were kids then it becomes one of our unforgettable experiences.

  • When I was a kid, I tried smoking using scratch papers and dried leaves.

Most of the people in our town smoke cigars, especially elder men. As a kid, I was curious about everything. Since they always do that, I badly wonder how it tastes. Right then, I try rolling my scratch papers to imitate a cigar and lit it up. I also suck the smoke and exhale it. I honestly choked and coughed up so hard the first time I did it. It doesn't have tobacco inside, though. By the time I was a teenager, I tried smoking a real cigar, I almost puked my intestines out of my stomach when I taste it. I can't find any reason to like it at all. So why do people keep smoking, eh?

  • When I was a kid, we often swim in the river.

We don't have swimming pools in our place and the sea is also far from us, so our only option is the river, so we can still be able to practise swimming. We often gather there with the kids same as my age or older than us at the river mostly in the afternoon. Then we would dive there one by one. Sometimes we would catch some fish first or look for shells before swimming.

  • When I was a kid, we fetch water from a well and race back home.

I just realized that maybe we are this strong right now because of this kind of training. We will hold a gallon of water in each hand and run as fast we could because the punishment of the one who will arrive late, will cook the rice and wash the dishes after dinner.

  • When I was a kid, we gather in our neighbor's house to watch movies.

In our home, we don't have a Television since we still don' have electricity at that time and we can't afford to buy truck batteries. Some of our neighbors do have this, though. They are more financially competent than us so they can afford that, while we can only watch movies on them. Most of the children still gather in one house even if they have their TVs at home. It's because it's more fun to watch with many people, especially when you all laugh together. As they say, the more the merrier.

  • When I was a kid, we often make a playhouse made of banana leaves and twigs.

This is also one of my unforgettable memories when I was a kid. I think most of us do this, right? Whatever materials you used to build a playhouse, you still used to play this. In my case, we usually use alternatives like banana leaves and twigs. Then we will make a stove made of stones, a pot made of coconut shells, and vegetables that were leaves from unknown plants. We will also choose what role we will play, in my part, I had always been the youngest because I'm so thin when I was a kid.

  • When I was a kid, we make slingshots and use them to hunt birds.

I can still clearly remember my Mother's irritated face until now every time we say that we would like to buy rubbers and a piece of leather when we were a kid. Then, we would carve a Y-shaped wood or just look for a strong and suitable Y-shape twig for the foundation of the slingshot. After we assembled the slingshot, we would go together in the wilderness and hunt some birds.

  • When I was a kid, we often make a toy truck made of emptied canned sardines and scrap slippers.

As we always can see trucks that load sugarcanes every harvest, we were amazed to see something like that since it was the biggest vehicle we could see in our place. Right then, every time we saw emptied canned goods, we will collect them and make them a toy truck. We were even having a contest of who had made the most beautiful toy truck. Then, if we were bored, we would set a race and make it bumped with each other. The one who wouldn't be worst destroyed will be the winner.

Hey there!!!

Thank you @bmjc98 for setting this trend. This kind of trend saves my day again from getting short of topics to write. If you can ever read this, I hope you like and enjoy this article.

I would like to challenge @Cutie-lesbie16 to participate in this challenge. Enjoy writing, Sis. You can do it!

____________________________

If you like this article, you may also like reading;

A Story Of A Rebel's Lost and Found Faith

Just My Worthless Rumbles...

Challenge Accepted: 12 Random Generated Questions to Answer!

We can also make some noise together, follow me on noise.cash!

As always, thank you for the support, my dear readers. Stay safe and God bless!

Until Next Time...

5
$ 1.00
$ 0.60 from @bmjc98
$ 0.24 from @Zhyne06
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
+ 5
Sponsors of Ayane-chan
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ayane-chan
2 years ago
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

Well that's an interesting and fun childhood! Oh to be able to climb up trees. I was never able to do such. Haha. Provincial life as a kid is wonderful right?

I also tried smoking before but not as a kid though. It leaves a bad taste in your mouth and makes you smell bad too. Plus the second hand smoke you exhale is terrible for other people! Never liked smoking so have never tried doing it again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We have more fruit trees planted at our yard than our neighbors, so sometimes they go to us and buy. Then, I will be the one to climb. Haha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aha that's why!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nag enjoy ako, sis. Thanks for participating in this challenge. Bet ko yung slingshots. Isa din ako sa mga adik nyan kahit di naman pambabae at kung ano ano pang iniembento before. Kakamiss yung dati. Anyway, salamat ulit.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kakamiss talaga yung ganung childhood. Yung tipong aalis ka nang maaga para gumawa ng kung ano-ano tapos uuwi ka nang hapun may dala ka nang mga gulay at ibon. Parang puputok na yung ugat sa leeg ng nanay ki nun dati samin eh. 😆

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Super fun naman ng childhood mo. I can tell for I have done most of those myself and it was the best times! Mas masaya pag ganyan ang kinalakhan na karanasan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo nga po. Hindi oa kasi uso cellphone samin dati.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kami din. Yun nga sana gustok o pa experience sa mga pamangkin ko e as much as possible

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo sana. Mga bata kasi sa panahon ngayon puro na lang gadgets.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

kaya nga e...turuan na lang natin sila ng mga yan :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naranasan ko din yung magsmoke gamit ang dry leaves ng banana o di kaya kahit anong klaseng dahon.😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha, ang saya pa nung mga time na yun tapos pag nahuli ni Papa takbo at magtago haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

luh ..gusto ko din ma try to☺☺☺

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Try niyo din po. Trend naman yan ngayon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

cge2 try ko din to

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good luck po

$ 0.00
2 years ago

thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago