Birthdays Don't Always Mean a Banquet

2 42
Avatar for Ayane-chan
9 months ago

Ever since we were kids, celebrations at home isn't a thing due to our financial status. No one will admit it, but I see that my parents felt inferior by their cousins' lavish celebrations of their kids' birthdays or on their every special ocassions. They think it's better not to show a smallest gesture than to celebrate it in the simplest way, or even just to greet us, "Happy Birthday!"

Photo by Jonathan Borba

It is one of the reasons why I used to hate birthdays and not celebrating my own. Back when I was in my Elementary, I wasn't used to their practice and used to be sensitive and emotional. I saw everyone greeted by their parents, throwing a feast for their days, and was given numerous gifts but for me, not even a single greeting at that day. It's like a normal day that everyone at home was just doing their usual routine. It was heartbreaking for a kid really, and then when I confronted my mother, she reasoned out that we don't have money to buy the cheapest toy nor to buy some spices and seasonings for a good food. From that moment on, I also treated birthday celebrations as a normal day.

It was when I started working that my Boss let me understood why it is celebrated; to be thankful for the life that God has given us and being blessed for another year and years to come. For three years, my boss never failed to celebrate my birthday and would sponsor a few dollars to buy a cake and other food we wanted. After I resigned in her company, I'm still the one who can't afford to spend that much for I know the value of every penny I make and I know too well that it wouldn't lasts, just making sure to get by and spend it in something more worthy.

Yet, overtime, when I went out of my comfort zone and has meet new friends, they have influenced me of self love. Birthdays don't always mean a lavish celebrations with a feast and expensive gifts. It's the thought that counts, and more importantly, how you value it. Just a simple one will do. These past 2 birthdays that I had, I just went to the church to thank God for all the blessings I have received. Have enjoyed a time in park where I can have a peace of mind and have a cup of coffee in a cafe that caught my eye. Even without the feast and the guests, I went home happily and contented with what I did within the day.

Celebrations doesn't have to stick with the traditional way when you configure it a little bit to fit your own style that can bring fulfillment in your hearts.

How about you? Share your way of celebrating your day. It's nice to know more of the things from the perspectives of other people.


Hello there!!!

This blog has been long overdue. I meant to post this maybe a month ago when I run over a prompt in Hive but I didn't have the time to complete it before the deadline. It was just sleeping in my drafts for a while now.

Anyways, how are you here? I have been on hiatus since I can remember and barely have time to write more. I miss reading blogs from my favorite authors here and some latest happenings, but I think I can still catch up with that. Who else here aren't busy in real life right? Most of us here are adults, so I think it's understandable.

Thanks for dropping by if you can see this blog. God bless!

5
$ 0.23
$ 0.12 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.01 from @itsmeCguro
Sponsors of Ayane-chan
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ayane-chan
9 months ago

Comments

When I was a kid we used to go outside and eat in fast-food chains, but when I reach secondary we start having financial problem, so until now birthday is like an ordinary day for me. I understand the value of self-love, so once I get a job, I will surely give what I deserve :)

$ 0.00
9 months ago

We celebrate our birthdays depending on how much our budget is. Simple celebration is still good for me.

$ 0.00
9 months ago