Can we be Truly Fair?

14 60
Avatar for Aimure
Written by
1 year ago

This article is a sequel or if you want to, say a spin-off from my last article For Friendship or...? as I was reading through the comments, it occurred to me to ask:

"CAN WE EVER NOT BE SENTIMENTAL?"

Even with the story I had shared in my last article, I remember I had also abused the fact that I was a senior student too in the school. There was this particular junior student in SS1 whom - even though I don't remember how we met - my spirit bonded with. There are such people yeah? She would always greet me whenever our paths crossed with a cheerful smile what I found remarkable was the fact that none of our encounter had seemed forced or fake. I remember on this particular day, I had gone out of the school to run an errand one of the teachers asked me to do. On my way back, I saw her among the group of students who came late. I stopped and greeted my classmate who was the prefect in charge, and as I walked past the group I asked the girl to come with me. I can still picture the shock face when I did.

She knows I am not a prefect, so why'd I ask her to come with me? She was hesitant, so I had to say it again before she stood up and followed me. After we have walked a bit further, I asked her to go to her class. She was surprised, and was beaming with joy and gratitude. Doing that made me feel like I was some powerful person, hahaha, I wasn't. I think my classmate was of the impression that a teacher had asked me to call her specifically, because he said nothing and asked no question. Thinking about that event now, to the girl, I had done her a favour, but wasn't that abuse of power in the eyes of another? Not like the power was mine to abuse in the first place.

Favours and special treatments to others has tipped the scale of fairness in the eyes of many, as @Deeepensiverse had said on my previous post:

 ...Bending the rules to suit someone you know happens everywhere, it could be as little as giving your friend an extra plate of rice at a party or using your position of power to admit your friend's son into the University you work despite not meeting the cut off.

Humans only complain when it doesn't favor them...

I couldn't help but think about a common saying in my country that connection is more important than any degree or qualification. If you want a good job, you have to know someone in a high place, then they can help you get the job either as a favour which means you will be in their debt or as a result of how much you can pay for their assistance or as payment for a favour you or someone close to you had done for them before. I can argue this culture has made it conducive for corruption to grow and thrive in the society.

Even to gain admission into most federal institutions, especially for competitive courses like Medicine, Law, Pharmacy, etcetera requires connection. The disadvantage of this is that, more often than not, people who get into these positions are those who aren't qualified for it, so, you can see how this can affect the society and lead to a cataclysmic disaster altogether.

I had said in my reply to a comment by Olasquare

Sentiments, even though we don't like to admit it, is part of being human. More often than not, we do succumb to that part of it, especially when it comes to people we love...

Being human makes us 'slave' to our emotions, this is why I believe we can never be just and fair, especially when it comes to people we love. We would always favour those we care about over others. We would always be bias when it comes to them.

Surely, someone would have their reservation about this, and perhaps a contradicting opinion altogether. But it is one of those hard truths we do not want to admit. Then again, I am open to correction. I'd like to hear your thoughts, do you think we can be completely fair and just even when it concerns our loved ones?

Thank You For Reading 🖤🖤

11
$ 1.72
$ 1.26 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Jento
$ 0.06 from @beyourself
+ 9
Sponsors of Aimure
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Aimure
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

First of all, the world has been so unfair. Especially when someone uses their power and connections to be in favor of their loved ones is not good sometimes. Whoever and in whatever situation, they should be responsible in making decisions that are fair and in just for all.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I like it when you mentioned that we are slaves of our own emotions. Here in our country, we also have this thing of having a 'connection' when applying for a job. It may be a reality to most of us. I remember a story of my friend. She got a decent job because her Uncle is on the high position. People will never be fair when it comes to their family or someone cloee to them.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Sigh... I suppose you are right about that. Thanks

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Just as u said being human makes us slave to our emotions, it is very true and I think wat u did it partly wrong and right. But if we are to look at it in an emotional way u did the right thing, u can just stand or see ur love ones being punished when u can save them cause it's also going to hurt u even more than her. But if we are look at it in a logical way, u did the wrong thing because u abused the power u have . And u somehow encouraged the girl into coming late, because she will think that u will always be there to save her, which is not right

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hehe. I guess you are right about that, it was wrong in a way. The question is: should we make decisions with our emotions or with logic?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This question is hard to answer But I guess it's better for us to always listen to our heart whenever we want to make a decision. Because it can never deceive us

$ 0.00
1 year ago

well, I will say, using your power to help those people who are close to you is right, in the sense that you're trying to help the person get to achieve something good through your power, even though if the person is not qualified and in another way round too, it's might be wrong, in the sense that, some people might be more competent than the person you choose with favoritism.

But the truth is that, no matter how fair you're trying to be, you'll always want to adjust the rule for the person who is close or so dare to you, that's just the situation of things in my surroundings.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That is has become a norm in the society, does that make it right? Should we just accept it because society says so?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's not right, but if we should be in that shoe, we might likely do the same..... 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

hahaha! Fair is a concept, it's how you take it. So serious... you make it sounds like being human is wrong! When human is the greatest creation God has made. He gifted man with intelligence like that of an angel but also gave us a heart to feel, and this is actually makes it all perfect. The secrets of the world is far more beyond our grasps and we can only live and enjoy life as presented to us!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hmmm. I am curious, what gave you that impression?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well, u wrote just about everything that makes us human... And the description is just true... Lolz...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We could be fair, if only we have self control and also understands what it means to abuse power, because that was just happened or what will happen if we admit someone who isn't qualified to study, it is us paving way to mediocrity and quackery in the world, which will definitely affect the growth and success of a country

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I agree with you, it is the cause of quackery and incompetency

$ 0.00
1 year ago