Bullish Run of Emotions

32 52
Avatar for Aimure
Written by
1 year ago

Last night, I had gone to bed with some discomfort, hoping a good night rest would relief me. I woke up in the morning feeling much better, and the sleep had worked magic. Just before I could start relishing the my new found comfort, news came about my uncle who had just experienced a stroke.

The first thing I had asked was if he was at home and I was told he was at his place of work when it happened, and has been rushed to a 'hospital'. About an hour later, I heard he is being transferred to another hospital in the state's capital so he can have some tests conducted on him.

My uncle called his wife to ask about the situation, but, he could barely have a conversation with her as she was distraught and crying all through. One of my aunt had left her house to go be with her brother and his family as soon as she heard about the incident, a couple of my cousins and another of my uncle also head out to be with the family too.

I was a bit relaxed hearing all this knowing that he is in good hands. Although my uncle and I don't have the best of relationships, in fact, memories from the last time I saw him which was over 10 years ago are foggy, and I can't really remember what he looks like. But, he has always been the only of my mom's brothers who have ever asked about me specifically when he calls my mom. At least, that is what my mom tells me. She even told me that when they met at one of my cousin's weeding, he had asked her why I didn't come. unfortunately, I was in school at that time.

So, for this reason, I have always been fond of him, or do I say the thought of him. Needless to say, the last time my mum and I spoke about him, I remember her telling me he has gained a lot of weight, as has his wife.

of course, the news of his stroke has led to different speculations, and trust Nigerians to be relate everything to the spiritual realm. My aunt and uncle have strongly speculated that it was a spiritual attack. While my aunt maintained that it was likely someone who is into the same business my uncle is running, because he is a competition for him, his husband maintained that it is likely someone who is jealous of his progress because humans are cruel and don't like good things.

Personally, I simply thought he was just hypertensive, and that is the likely reason he had the stroke, but I kept it to myself, as I wasn't in the mood to start explaining and in the process of doing that, I might unintentionally strike a nerve or two. As always, I was there, quiet and observing my aunt in her confused state, making calls every 5 minutes to know the situation of things. She had lost her appetite and I could literally see the worry all over her like she was wearing it.

I have always had the uncanny ability to keep my calm in chaos, as I believe a calm head thinks better than an anxious one. But people has always found this calmness to be emotionless. What is a person who can't control their emotions?. I napped a about two hours to ease my stress, only to wake up and hear that my uncle is being moved back to the hospital in the capital because his blood pressure isn't dropping.

I was confused, they had moved him to a better hospital to have some tests conducted only to move him back to the former hospital. I couldn't see any sense in that and wondered why people who were with him had even agreed to that. Moving someone who had just experienced stroke back and forth in Lagos, and you expect his blood pressure to come down. Writing this now, I heard they have been advised to move him to another hospital entirely. Well, the good thing is that thus is the last time he would be moved.

All this made me think about how fragile life is and the irony of how all the sweet things that make you enjoy life can also bring an end to your life faster. I hope he gets better soon and regains consciousness, so all the tension will dip. I'd...

Just before I could save this draft, news came that my uncle has passed on, and everything went haywire, din't know what else to write as every part of me feels frozen, I can't think straight. IT took me two hours to write this last part. My fingers are frozen and shaking as I write this, HE IS GONE! It doesn't matter what anyone thinks or not, HE IS GONE!! Now the topic seem almost perfect, as I was second guessing it before

MAY HIS SOUL REST IN PEACE

17
$ 1.80
$ 1.21 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @TheGuy
$ 0.06 from @Lucifer01
+ 14
Sponsors of Aimure
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Aimure
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

There must be really a lot of emotions as you wrote this. My condolence to you and your family.

The health system in the country is so terrible.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thanks Tomi. Healthcare in Nigeria is messed up, and it is the masses who is suffering

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh my goodness 😱 This is so pathetic. Oh no! I think it's stress that caused this great calamity. So sorry for the loss. May the good Lord grant you and his family members the fortitude to bear the loss.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thanks Ella, and Amen

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My heart freeze hearing the last part. Oh my! So sorry about the loss and may God comfort you and the family. This is really sad to hear. My condolences.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thank you Princess, I appreciate it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So sorry for your loss. Nigeria's health system is crazily underfunded that's why we have hospitals that are either lacking doctors or equipment that will then require a patient to be transferred. Your aunts are like most aunts here who attribute everything to spirituality

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Well, I hope the government do better an fund what matters

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, I pray so

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sorry to hear the news buddy,I was thinking he would regain consciousness and be fine,may his gentle soul rest in perfect peace 🕊️

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thank you Vic. It is still like a dream to us all

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sorry for your loss bro. May his soul rest in peace

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thank you man, I appreciate it

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sorry for this sad news, may his soul rest in peace

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thanks Doc, may his soul rest in peace

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I was hoping he will get through it. I'm so sorry for your loss. Praying for peace and strength for the family as you go through this trying times.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thanks so much man, I appreciate it

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh my God dear, I didn't expect that. I thought he can still recover and I think base in your story maybe he got cardiac arrest. As I know those who have hypertension are prone to cardiac arrest. Anyway may he's soul rest in peace, I'm sorry for the lose mate.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thank you GG, and it could be cardiac arrest as you have said. May his soul rest in peace

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh my God! So sorry to hear about his demise. May his soul rest in peace. I pray for divine comfort for his family🙏🙏🙏

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thank you Dan, I appreciate it

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are welcome buddy

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Pls accept my condolences. I know exactly how it feels losing an uncle. Try and help your aunt to stay calm too.... May he rest on the bosom of the Lord.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thanks Bil, and amen!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm so sorry dear, accept my condolences :/ may his soul rest in peace

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thanks Blackdoll. May his soul rest in peace

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My condolences.. he'll rest in peace now..

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Amen! I appreciate Jane, thank you

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I didn't expect this news, I thought now he is totally alright but I was wrong. Our life is too fragile and short. I hope he may find peace now.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

It was a shock to everyone. Thanks Evelyn

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh thats a very sad news, condolence to all family and may he rest in peace. He is together with our God now, its true that we will never know when God will take our life.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

We never know when life may end. Thanks Mhy

$ 0.00
1 year ago