The second door on the right

42 66
Avatar for ARTicLEE
1 year ago

As a frustrated accountant, it's hard to find a decent job related to that. I'm not complaining though. I dislike math, nay, I abhor math! They say Asians are math geniuses. Whoever penned that idea haven't met all Asians. I am Asian but I am not good in math.

Accountancy was the most appealing course at the time I enrolled that's why I took it. Never finished it though. It only took me two years before I decided to quit. It's not for me.

Still, because of economic and financial crisis, I have to find a job fast. With no other skill set, the easiest way for me to find a job is related to accounting. Besides I have had some summer jobs from a well-known hotel that I have in my arsenal and that's what I used. It's the only thing I have to make me credible so I held on to it.

I scoured printed advertisements as well as online for an undergrad with only two months of experience.

It was not easy.

I was at the point of giving up. I have to survive.

It was during this lowest moment in my life that I saw an ad or what was left of it tacked on an electric pole in front of me. I was actually spacing out, focusing on nothing and everything.

My eyes zoned in to a hole in a carpet of advertisements on this pole - WANTED: Accounting Assistant.

The ad is old and yellowing. It has seen better times. The contact info was still readable thank goodness. No name. It just stated there to text the number.

I fished out my phone and texted the number. It said text, not call. I find it odd but at the same time thankful because I only have enough balance on my phone for sending an SMS. Hey, I'm not that poor. Yet.

After sending my message and intent to apply for the said job, I didn't think much about it. By now, I already gave up every hope and just let the universe do its wonders.

The universe answered! Not right away but after three days. I felt like resurrected from the dead after three days.

The message I received indicated the time, which was that same day, and the address to where I should go.

I know the place. I have passed it a hundred times during my walks. I thought it was a residential, surrounded by trees. I didn't even know it was occupied. Every time I passed by it, it seems empty.

I arrived for my said interview and was welcomed by a cheery high-pitched, formally dressed man, a bit older than me. I was more surprised how warm and welcoming the inside of the house was.

The man who interviewed me introduced himself as the accountant. We went over the preliminaries and things were progressing really well. It seems the accountant likes me and I'm glad. He then said to have a final interview with the banker. I have to come back though after an hour or I can choose to wait.

I told the accountant that I would rather come back. I then headed to a cafe nearby that I have been meaning to check.

Told you I'm not that poor yet. I still have enough money to buy me a cup of coffee. Besides I need to celebrate. There's a small win right there. With only caffeine in my veins, I am pumped! I am ready for the final battle.

Before I left the accountant, he informed me when I return to just let myself in, go straight to the second floor and head on to the second door on the right. He said he has lots of things to do so he apologized that he can't entertain me which was fine by me. Just knock first before letting yourself, he said.

Easy enough so that's what I did.

Enter - said the voice, deep and low voice, behind the second door on the right.

I noticed right away that the room was dimly lit. Even when I opened the door, light was not enough. The light from the door ended before it even reached the table. There were some lamps on the walls but they were old and dusty.

Sit and please close the door - the man said.

Billows of smoke hang above the head of the man seated behind the desk. Behind him was the window with the curtains drawn and only a fraction of light was coming through.

I thought right away that this is not what I wanted to sign up for. I was already on a flight mode. Step upon hesitant step, I approached the table and sat on the only chair I see.

The man then switched a lamp beside him, still not enough light to illuminate the whole face. Piles and piles of paper were on the desk. Some as tall as I am when seated. The man was lost in them.

I had to adjust my seat so I can see his face - I mean one of his eyes behind an eyeglass - among the towers of paper between us.

The man didn't interview me further but rather discussed what my job would entail and that I will have to work for free for a month first as a "test."

Whatever qualms I have were gone. Did he say free?

I cut the man right away mid sentence. I'm sorry - I said - but I needed the money. You can at least pay me something for you are going to use me and I will be rendering you service.

The man was silent for a minute. He then stood up and said - I think this meeting is over. I won't be needing your service.

As he stood, I stood up too but the man tripped the lamp with his hand and the lamp fell on the floor illuminating fully his face.

It was the accountant!

I got the idea to write about this from Pichi's post.

In that post she posted a link of set of questions. Like her, I also did the fun game at the end of the list. You can check the list here. Scroll down to the bottom and you can see the game.

I landed in question #45: Who would win in a fight: an accountant or a banker?

My answer is none for either of them can win. One scenario is applicable to the other so I just came up the story above. Not true though.

27
$ 1.90
$ 0.83 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.06 from @Unity
+ 23
Sponsors of ARTicLEE
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ARTicLEE
1 year ago

Comments

Nice write up, but did it just ended there?

The question on an accountant and a banker is on a plain ground. Two of them are good in their own ways.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I don't know how to extend the story any further lol!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My sister was also an accountancy student but she shifted her course on her 3rd year because she can't really take it anymore hahaha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's not for everybody I guess :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha good one. I like the part about adjusting your seat to be able see him 🤣 I was thinking it was a real interview up until you said work for free for a month than I thought 🤔 I enjoyed the read!! Have a great Friday.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Interns have worse. A month is nothing to them :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

While I was reading, I thought that happened for real. I didn't think it was a story. When we are unemployed and looking for a job desperately, we are going through a hard time. A job that pays well is something that can save you at that time.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's true. Being desperate should not limit us.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hooked, jeje... Akala q totoo, magsasabi sana ng next... Anyway, khit pala matalino at nkapagtapos pumasa sa board pro ang ending is ang hirap matanggap sa trabaho kya ung isang cpa dto sa amin pumasok na sa military.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Pero ngayon dami na online jobs na high paying lalo na accountants.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I only love money numbers in my hand lol.

I'm wondering why would the accountant try to trick applicant for a one month free service, what could be his agenda in doing so? I hope the pile of papers didn't catch by the lamp fire and your fictional character get out safe from that room hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I would have wanted to explore more but the story is free for interpretation :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I absolutely love this story and the plot twist at the end! And I can totally relate to the character in your story. I am not a natural at math or most things math related. My weakness was in economics class though. lol! Certainly not gonna venture for an accountant job, that's for sure. I LOVED this!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Maybe if you really put your mind into it, then you can do it :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

lol, I doubt, but I appreciate the vote of confidence! hahahahaha

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I think it's very difficult now to find decent jobs, in general... conditions are worse and many want others to work for free, like ancient slaves??? At least you are good at numbers so you will have more chances, I need to find a job too but in other areas or if you want to restart from zero and leave the past, it's even more difficult. Good luck my friend!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nah, not really good with numbers lol! That's part of the story :D Here in our country, there are still those who are willing to work for free just for experience because most employers require that from their applicants which is crazy for how can fresh graduates have work experience?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes it's crazy, they require experienced employers, but young and graduates... if you have experience then they say you are old. No sense...

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Lol! Crazy indeed!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

An accountant duty is not easy. It is first time, I am listening an accountant hired for job with free first month. It is really ruthless thing, I ever find. You should be hopeful and must gain other opportunities.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Not only in this field but there are other employers out there who do that.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I felt irritated every time I saw numbers; now my job is related to numbers.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lol! No other way but to love what you do :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Friend, you have a great career on your hands, but if you are not passionate about it or if you do not enjoy it, it will be difficult for you to do well.Hey, don't feel bad, we don't all have to do what we should, I hope that tomorrow you can leave your career and find what you are really passionate about!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True. At the end of the day, we only have ourselves to rely on and to motivate ourselves to do what must need to be done.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Now what happens next please. Hahaha. I got so engrossed with the reading.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lol! Sorry, that's about it. Di kaya ng brain cells mga ganto haha!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Aray naman hanging masyado hahaha 🤣

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Lol!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ano ba namang klasing company yan sir clee? Grabe naman yang one month of service tapos walang sahod ano yun?walang taong magkaka interest sa ganong trabaho Lol.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lol! Ganyan naman mga interns at OJT. Libre :D :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ganun ba sir?di ba pwede 1 day lang free😅hahaha kung pwede lang din naman sila parin masusunod!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hehe oo nga e.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Asian are mostly genus in mathematics. And world community recognise it over all.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think I'm born of the different race for I know nothing about math lol!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow,This is a very interesting read. Eagerly waiting for part 2 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lol! No more part 2. I'd rather leave it at that :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

When I was in high school I enjoy our accounting class but its more of basics balancing of assets and liablities and other terminologies and we just hit the 10columns ledger ang saya kpag nabalance mo sya, pero am not in math din.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo din. Dait zero or perfect lang ang score namin jan haha!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

🤣🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Grabe din talaga yung course na accountant sir lee. Totoo talaga yan kasi yung Mathematics sabi nila isa sa pinakamahirap na subject. Yung friend ko 1 year lang siya sa accountant course at di niya tinuloy kasi sobrang hirap daw. Nag shift siya ng education.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wala naman masyado accounting pag first year not unless nag take na siya ng major subjects nun hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago