"Siak dayta"

91 83
Avatar for ARTicLEE
2 years ago

I was thinking of making an article about food when I read TengoLoTodo's post earlier but decided against it when I was browsing through my photos. I decided to share some of that here.

"Siak" is an Ilocano word meaning me.

"Dayta" means that.

"Siak dayta" means That's me.

Ilocano is one of the major languages we speak here in the Cordilleras in addition to Kankana-ey, Ibaloy, English, Filipino, etc.

What are your favorite "siak dayta" photos?

It's undeniable that many of us like taking selfies. With the advent of phones with cameras and the ability to take multiple photos, we are now all photographers.

These are some of my selfies.

In Prambanan

This was taken in Candi Prambanan or Prambanan Temple in Indonesia. After spending a couple of days in Bali, we then took a bus from Bali to Yogyakarta. I'll write more all about it in a separate article. It was the longest bus ride I have had for it was almost a whole day.

Prambanan or Lara/Rara Jonggrang means Slender Maiden. These are Hindu temples and are one of UNESCO's World Heritage Site.

Just look at how little I am against the portion of the temple. If my memory serves me right, this was taken at Candi Sewu, one of the temples in the compound.

Me and my jumping rope

I was holding a rope that served as my jumping rope. This was taken during one of those rainy days just like now where I cannot go out for a jog or a walk. What I do on days like these is to exercise indoors and rope skipping is one of them. I took this photo in between rests and posted it in my social media account. There were several shots and poses but of those set of photos, this is the one I like the most. I like the background and I like how it was edited. This was edited using Snapseed.

I was surprised that some messaged and commented asking if I was okay. Apparently, this was read as a cry for help by some. Some expressed their concerns but I reassured them that it was nothing, that I am fine and there should be nothing to be worried about. I was tired from exercising, yes, but that's about it.

I was reminded again to think before you click and to check on your friends and loved ones. When was the last time you checked on them? Many of us have suffered during this pandemic. We have to check on our loved ones for mental health is one of the greatest issues one should be concerned about and not to be taken lightly.

Overlooking Shilan

Of all the photos there, this is my favorite. I like those mountains in the distance. This was taken at Mt. Yangbew. In that article you can see more photos of me.

Where this photo was taken is where there were lots of pitcher plants. We were lucky that time for it was pitcher plant season so they were spread throughout.

That rock juts out on a cliff. It looks higher than it seems. It doesn't look like it but I was scared. Just looking at this photo and remembering that time when it was taken, my hands are sweating. I am afraid of heights and falling but I like to challenge myself. One must be careful when taking photos in places like this. One wrong move and you could die.

Down below are houses and gardens, the other barangays of La Trinidad. Farther in the distance are the mountains of Kibungan.

Me, my partner ant Jaytee hiked here one time. I come here a lot since it's near our family home. I bring my family and friends here. One thing I haven't tried is camping here.

Here's another one taken at Mt. Yangbew again. The grasses were taller this time. The was setting and it was getting cold and it was windy as well which added to the coldness of the area. To warm myself up, I did some jump shots. I instructed my partner how to take the shot and where to take it.

At Mt. Kalugong

Finally, this shot was at Mt. Kalugong.

This is a private property where you can camp. There are cabin's here that you can rent or you can pitch up your own tent. Entrance fee around that time was PHP100.00 or around $2.00. We also come here a lot to see the rock formation and have a view of La Trinidad while enjoying our food and drinks at the cafe.

Below me is the property of the the state university. This site used to belong to the university as well until it was sold to an individual. There are lots of potential activities that can one can do at this property. Aside from camping, the cafe and the view, there's not much one can do here. There is a potential for rappelling, rock climbing, bungee jumping and even skyway. At least that is what I will do if I own a place like this.

I don't take a lot of selfies though for I'd rather take photos of what's around me. Sometimes I just want to document me being in a certain place and the above photos are some of those selfies.

What I don't understand is the posting of multiple selfies in one place or on the bed or mirror selfies. Why? Why is one not enough? Also, why post a photo that you yourself criticize like saying you look fat or something about your hair you don't like? Why post it at all?

Thank you all to your unending support. I just noticed I have 139 subscribers. Whoever you all are, feel free to make some noise here and make your presence known.

*All contents are mine.

30
$ 12.17
$ 10.85 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @Eylz2021
$ 0.10 from @Jane
+ 17
Sponsors of ARTicLEE
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ARTicLEE
2 years ago

Comments

Hey. Can I use one of your photo here for my next article? Credit to you of course 😁

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Just read this now. Sure thing! Np :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Woah.. parang gusto ko ng mainggit . Taong bagay Kasi ako 😂

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ahaha mainggit ka na please para magpost ka din ng selfies mo hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😂😂😂, cge cge cge 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabe ang adventurous nyo naman. Manifesting na makapagtravel din kami hahahha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, claim na yan! Sana maging okay na ang lahat soon para makapagtravel na.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very nice! I like the part when you are at the Mt. Yangbew. The overlooking view is so satisfying that you would even take risk just to get there. 😍

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you! I like that one too :) Gapang ginawa ko jan e haha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay iba talaga pag gapang eh 🤣

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Creative! I love looking at your photographs. They are nicely framed and the subject/background contrast is nothing short of amazing. Take for e.g. the first and second photos - red shirt (did you plan to wear red for this photo?) against a grey background - perfect! Same with the second photo's contract between the subject (you and the rope) and the background. Nice!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You do have a knack for details. The shirt was not planned. I believe it was my only available clean shirt that time lol! I had to crop the first photo so the other elements there will not be shown, focusing more on the temple and me. I really like that wall. I'm glad it came out well when I added filter to it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very artistic and again well done with the photos. I'm inspired to get my camera out and go shoot. But not now. Have to wait till after the pandemic.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Can't wait to be blown away by your photos :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I was like 'wow' when I saw your picture from Indonesia. My father used to talk about Indonesia before, that's why I also want to visit there someday. Also before, I went from different beautiful places, but since taking pictures is not common to us, I don't have any remembrance aside from my memory 😁.

Btw, can you help me, how I can know if I plagiarized or what, because I make my own content base on my own experience and knowledge, but making sure is better.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

If there is one place I would recommend, it would Indonesia. Food is great too :D

I don't think that necessary but if you want, you can use grammarly or this site https://plagiarismdetector.net/ which I use. I just copy what I wrote and paste it there to check. These checkers are not that 100% accurate though.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh got it, I thought it's in this platform's option. Thanks a lot

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I thought so too at first when I saw others doing it :) You're welcome!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Seeing the first photo on the edge of that temple, I was going to ask if you weren't at all scared of heights but then I saw after the next photo that you liked to challenge yourself. I think we're alike in that aspect. Even though I'm afraid of heights, I like climbing high places just to dare myself. Sometimes, I wonder if it's a death wish. Lol

I also agree with you, why do people take many selfies at a particular spot with the same dress and post them all on social media? Hahaha These are nice pictures with great quality you've shared with us!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I didn't realize it looks like I was sitting at a high place but I wasn't. I can easily jump off from there to the ground :D Notice the entry way on my left. It's just a few steps from where I was sitting.

Lol at death wish! I haven't thought of it that way.

Right? It really puzzles me why.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh yeah, that's right. Now that I look at the picture again, I see it's not so far from the ground. Haha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I used to have more photos where it is more obvious but this is the only one I have.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sika met nga talaga hehehe. Yon ang tipo ng selfie na gusto ko din :D Amazing views!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hehehe. Bareng a awanen agpagarup nga babae ak hehe. Salamat!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, apay adda aya? :D

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wen, adu da haha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahaha, sorry :D although it's good, it added some mystery :D

$ 0.01
2 years ago

hahaha, sorry :D although it's good, it added some mystery :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow namans dat.. this got me wondering if you're a member of AOL and the other page ngay😅

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haan haha! My partner only tells me about some posts there. I also see some of my friends reposting some stories there so that's my only interaction with those pages.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! Another amazing shots. Pero yung first pic ba sa Prambanan, yun talaga kulay non?

And the overlooking Shilan, wow! Ang gandaaaaaa sobra!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ou ganun talaga siya. Ganyan mga temples nila dun parang bricks na pinagpatong patong.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! Grabe ang ganda. 😍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice quality photos. You have lots of journey shared to us from those photos.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I just can't wait to travel again lol! My itchy feet is dying :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sana nga maka balik na sa normal at maging normal na din travel experience natin.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Great pics in those great places, kakainggit po! Keep on writing and inspiring us please.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I hope soon you'll be sharing places you've been to.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Never been outside Pinas po.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah makakapasyal ka din in the future :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sana po :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My favorite one was the jump shot at Mt. Yangbew. The timing, the lighting and the background fits so perfectly. Whoever took that shot, I admire you. Hahaha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I used to like that a lot too at that time. Looking back, I was thinking of doing something else but that's that :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😳 such an amazing talent you have. I always try to pose good but I don't know how to pose for a good picture. It seems you are adventurer 😉

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I don't know how to pose too lol! I want to do as much as I can while I am still young and able for age is catching up faster that we know :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ganda ng photographer mo..galing mo dn magpose.
Kala ko babae ka..lalaki pla 😅

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha! Dami talaga nagkakamali e.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ne, sika gayam deyta gayyem. 😆

Yun o. Yung abt feart ba yun? Hahaha. Me too I don't like taking selfies that much as I'd rather take pictures of the places I go to.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wen hehe.

Ah di ko alam yun feart hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay kala ko yun yung nabasa mong article nya. Yung iba pala hehe.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ah hehe...dami ko nakikita sa fb na ganyan kaya unfollow agad :D :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ha? Saan?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I became fat..haha i dislike taking photos of myself na..hahaha I'll share my siak dayta also. Is it okay?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha! Dbale may Matti ka naman na subject hehe. Go lang, Jean :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehehe sana nga di magbago pag lumaki na hehe

$ 0.01
2 years ago

ang saya nung mga buwis buhay pose hahaha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha! Ganun talaga para lang makagpagpix :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Natawa ako sa why's sa dulo. sir bestie.. yung sa snapseed.. double expo ? o hindi? ganda nga ng kuha.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hindi siya double expo. Filter lang ginamit ko jan. Di ko sure kung ilang filters haha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha patong patong... Fun!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

woah angganda nang kuha pre...at akala ko din talaga may pinagdadaanan ka sa pic mo na yun na may hawak ka nang lubid...and thans for the reminders..will do check my friends on how are they doing these days...naging busy lang masyado kaya di ko sila nakumusta

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Salamat :) Gusto ko lang ung background ko hehe. Sayang nga e wala na yan. Kelangan gibahin. Ako nga din guilty kaya kinumusta ko ung ibang friends ko. Inintroduce ko to kaso mas malaki pala kitaan nila kasi naka axie infinity haha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

malaki nga kitaan sa axie..yung pinsan ko kahit ilang oras lang maglaro malaki na kitaan...after a month may another 50k na naman daw xia

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oo nga e. Baka naman pwede pascholar haha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahha sinabihan ko nga xia na magpa aral sa anak ko...binatukan lang ako🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ouch naman haha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

saklap no😌

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Next goal ko nga yan e hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

good luck then💪

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Salamat :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabe, pang-magazine dagita shots mo talaga! Fave ko tay adda rope na😊

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Apow salamat a :D Uray met dagita pix mo ket nagmamayat!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ket adda met nagimprovan nan compare idi 2017...heheh

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hehe mayat nu kasta :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kakainis ka ang gaganda ng pix mo.. Musta nman ang view sa cliff😂😱

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Katakot kaya umupo dun. Nagkaradapak a haha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A photo of you holding a rope alarms me. I come to think of writing a comment right away if you're okay but upon reading the rest, you said that you were fine. I was relieved. Mind is dangerous sometimes, it's imagining something in advance haha. Thanks God you're good. Thank you also for sharing these wonderful views 💗

$ 0.01
2 years ago

In my innocence I posted that :D One must really be considerate with what to post.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pero okay lang kasi naipaliwanag mo naman ng maayos kung bakit gay-an ☺️ maybe I'm just overreacting sa photo

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ganyan din reaction nung ibang nag comment/message sa akin kaya nagulat ako hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

kasi talagang nakakagulat nga hehe

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hehe...now I know :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You know I love all the photos you take, Kuboy! But the one overlooking Shilan taken at Mt. Yangbew is just amazing! I don´t like too much to take selfies myself. I love to take photos of the people with me and the surroundings. Saludos!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

There are horses there for hire too. Maybe I will ride a horse there soon and have my pix taken so I will be more of a Kuboy :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm looking forward to seeing that photo, hehe. That would make you a 100% Kuboy. Have a nice weekend!:)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

For sure lol! Have a great one too :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Winner. Kayatko jay nakaiggem ka tali. Tadtak lang nakita man dayta hehe. Ngem amin ket mayat. Outstanding!!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Nabayag daytan. In post ko sa met jay steemit dayta or tsu hehe.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ay isu? Han ko lng cguro malagip hehe.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Every photo you shared were actually great. No cap, they're great I know the one with the rope was photoshopped and I don't know the rest. But despite that they're all great picture of you. I just laugh when someone ask if your happy but then I realized someone holding a rope might signifies wanted to end something like life so maybe that's the reason. I envy you for travelling a lot of beautiful places. Hope for you to have a lot of more trip🐌🐌🐌

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's true about the rope. I didn't realize that sooner. It's a sensitive topic that we should be aware of. Mental health is an issue we should address too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago