Shake that thing!

29 56
Avatar for ARTicLEE
2 years ago

I was awakened by the noise of dogs of our neighbors. It seems it is one of those nights that something triggered one dog and it cascaded to the others. With that keen sense that dogs have, little things do get their attention.

I was awaken from a dream I think so being disturbed from sleep that way, there is confusion when you wake up. You don't know if you are dreaming or not. What was the dream all about? Where am I? Also, my partner had to work at their office last night so without my partner's beside me, something feels off. There is an unfamiliarity all around me.

When my senses have acclimatize to the surroundings, which took about some minutes, I then picked up my phone and checked the time.

1:5 a.m.

Then suddenly the earth shook for 1-2 seconds!

I checked online any news about it and one post said it was a 3.4 magnitude but it felt like stronger than that. I quickly messaged my partner and my partner told me that it was really strong. It is so for they are at the higher floor of the building so naturally the shaking is stronger as you go higher.

As a kid who experienced the strongest earthquake that hit our city back in 1990, a 7.9 magnitude earthquake, that experience stayed with me throughout my life. It caused a lot of damage in property and killing many people in our city and the surrounding provinces. We haven't had a magnitude as strong as that. I think the strongest was 5+.

It was traumatizing. Earthquakes or any shaking will make my heart race, giving me anxiety.

Back when I was still teaching, I had South Koreans kids who I tutored back then. They haven't had experienced earthquake in their lifetime. The Philippines however experiences earthquakes often that are felt.

One time, while they were in school, there was an earthquake. The Filipino kids were terrified but the South Koreans were excited to experience such! Of course they were nervous and confused for they haven't felt anything like that before. My students told me that the nervousness and confusion was quickly replaced with excitement. Thankfully no one was harmed and no damage was caused by the earthquake. They were sent home early that day and they told me all about it when I went to tutor them that day. That was their first and last earthquake experience during their stay here in our country.

For me, there are more to be felt but hopefully no damage at all.

25
$ 9.10
$ 8.32 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @gertu13
$ 0.10 from @mommykim
+ 16
Sponsors of ARTicLEE
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ARTicLEE
2 years ago

Comments

Earthquake is also one of the scariest natural cataclysms that I don't want to experience. However, we cant deny that our country is prone to earthquakes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True that. Being included in the Ring of Fire is no joke.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Owww. Hindi pala earthquake prone ang korea kuya Lee? Yung dito samin, pinakamalakas ata eh 6.9? I happened last 2020.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Di ko din sure. Tiga Busan un mga students na yun kaya siguro sa kanila wala masyado.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

most if the times dream is only an illusion of our brain, but so many people also, like those fun of interpret their dreams that, naybe dreams is something that we over think and it store in our memories and at night when our brain is stop working and thinking all the memories flashback.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I haven't experienced strong magnitude of earthquake in my life. But by looking at your story, I see how scared you are that time. I'm glad that you're okay Clee!!! Stay safe as always and pray

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope you never get to experience it. It really is traumatizing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am glad you are okay kuya, I have been in earthquakes but luckily no loss of life, Living through any trauma will have anxiousness everytime a lesser one happens again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've never experienced earthquake at any point in my life. I'm a Nigerian and we've never experienced earthquake before.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The strongest earthquake I've experience was way back year 2015 . Nakaka trauma talaga yung mga ganyan lalo na pag yung na experience mo is yung pinaka worst talaga. Natawa naman ako dun sa mga foreigners na na excite pa sa earthquake kasi di sila nakaranas sa bansa nila...sanaol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't remember exactly when I last experienced earthquake but I'm sure it was 2020. Nasa Aurora ako non, akala ko nahilo lang ako pero yun nga is lindol pala, anlakas talaga niya, nasa labas ako ng bahay non at buti malayo sa puno ng buko kasi naglaglagan mga bunga. Sana talaga wala na maranasan na sobrang lakas at nakakatakot.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Buti walang natamaan ng buko hehe. Ou katakot talaga pag malakas na lindol.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I haven't experienced what earthquake feels like until I was in middle school. It's kinda weird that the first time I felt it, I was so excited. Maybe because I felt it the first time and it was not that strong. If it's so strong I wonder if I would still respond the same.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Na trauma na ako diyan kuya sa totoo lang, kahit nga konting shake lang kahit hindi lindol pero feeling ko lindol yun

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The strongest earthquake that I had experienced was around 5+ magnitude and that was way back in my elementary days. Since then, it was only 3 to 4+ magnitude every time the earth trembles. If I could experience that 7.9 magnitudes, maybe I'll pass out in an instant. I'm not good with it. I easily got nauseous with the shaking.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was sound asleep by that time. I hope there won't be any more strong earthquake in the country and elsewhere. The 1990 is still vivid too, in my memory

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Me too had been traumatize by the earthquake last 2018 here in our place,it was 6.9 magnitude it's too strong and last for a few minutes,and lots of establishments have been destroyed .

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Am a little bit scared whenever I hear about earthquake,seeing it in the news itself is something dangerous that can take away lots of lives and properties,just try to be on the safer side buddy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Earthquakes are scary, I heard about the Hyatt Hotel in Baguio way back in the 90's. We also had a strong earthquake here a few months ago, I thought I was dizzy because it was strong when it didn't stop, I knew it was an earthquake.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was still in the eggs of my father during that earthquake 😅 but as a Boholano, back in 2013 a magnitude 7.3 ewrthquake hits northen part of Bohol and the damage was huge, most houses were damage. We stayed for 2 weeks on open grounds like plaza with only tents as shelter.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I haven't experience such strong earthquake but my husband told me he did. They were inside their school during that time while my uncle was a security guard in Hyatt Hotel in Baguio. It was strong that it damged the said hotel and the airport in Loakan so much if you heard of it also.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Do you mean the it really occurred? I mean the earth really shook?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was told that the animals can sense earthquake defore it comes sis. I even knew someone, my god father to exact, he said"mag linog, joy"and a few seconds later, the earth shook. I didn't know how on earth did he know about what's gonna come

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The title got me, singing to Sean Paul's song Get busy.

I remember getting pissed thinking someone pushed me and when I scroll my newsfeed on FB it was an earthquake

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was grade 5 nun 1990 earthquake at kahit doon sa amin sa Rizal eh ramdam na ramdam namin un.I was so terrified kasi yun ang pinakamalakas na lindol na naranasan ko. Naiyak talaga ako. Tapos 2 weeks na walang klase dahil baka daw magka after shock

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Experiencing earthquake is quite hard and have my traumas because been experience it in cebu city.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You ok now dear? Any damages?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm really scared with the earthquakes sir. I have a bad experience when I was a kid. I couldn't remember at all what was the magnitude but it was really strong. Until now I couldn't forget. I was an elementary student that time.

With this kind of tragedy we should always be ready. Hehe I laughed with the South Korean kids. They felt excitement sir because they didn't experience an earthquake.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha South Koreans are cute. They sure have ease the nervousness of Filipino kids back then.

$ 0.00
2 years ago