How things have changed

51 84
Avatar for ARTicLEE
1 year ago

Murakamii.7 (check out her post here) got these questions from bmjc98 (check out her post here) and I wanted to write about it too.

Let's get right into it.

No need to go to the neighbourhood to watch TV

We do have a black and white television when we were younger. It is those old models with their own cabinets. We didn't have cable back then so we only have antenna connected to it through wires as the antenna was outside the house placed on a pole and secured on another pole.

Because we didn't have cable, we would still go to our neighbors occasionally to hang out with them and sometimes watch anything on TV. Because they were well off, they have cable and their TV is colored. Later on, we did have another TV and colored at that but that doesn't have a good reception even if we attached antenna to it. We only use that to watch VHS tapes.

When we were adults, we decided to subscribe to a cable company but that was short lived when we had issues with it. By then, internet is slowly being introduced and that's when we decided to have one. Now, TV is a thing of the past.

No more bar soap as dishwashing

We still do this whenever we ran out of dishwashing soaps/pastes. How do you make your dishwashing soap last longer? Even if the dishwashing soap is not concentrated, I would transfer half of that to another container and add water to it. I would then add water and dishwashing soap every so often as needed.

No need to wait for a special occasion to eat cake, ice cream, or spaghetti

Back when we were kids, our mom would bake for us. Thus, we grew up eating carrot cakes, beetroot cakes and most especially banana cakes. Ice cream and spaghetti were for special occasions but ice cream only became a regular thing when we got older.

No need to worry about heat waves during Summer

It's the opposite for us. Although we still live in the mountains where temperature is almost cool the whole year round, as the years go by, more and more lands are sold and built upon. Meaning, lesser and lesser trees. Consequently, bringing in the heat. We have been used to a colder temperature but now there are instances that the heat is unbearable especially when you are out under the sun. I remember one summer when I went home, the heat is almost the same as it was in the lowlands.

No need to deal with their house rules anymore

Oh yes! The perks of living on your own. I have had experienced being away from home during my high school days but I was living a dorm then. There are rules still imposed but for me it was a step to independence. It's still different to be home. When I decided to move out of our house, it was liberating.

I have been incorporating different prompts in some of my articles. This one is from Micontingsabit. Check out the full list here.

I don't follow the sequence of the questions. I just browse through and choose whatever I feel like answering.

Today, it's about Question No. 9: Words of wisdom.

I have always been telling everyone to create ripples of kindness. This is much needed in these times where everyone seems to be sensitive about something. When we talk about kindness, it's not just about how we treat others but also how we treat ourselves.

Don't be insecure about yourself. Bullying others just reflects what kind of person you are. We gang up on others so much so treating people online like we know them.

Why do we have to cancel others? We cancel them because what? You feel superior? Just because you don't do what others do that doesn't make you holier than them. You are not perfect. You are just as useful or useless like the next person. You do not know everything.

So instead of pulling others down, let us rise together instead.

And I, thank you!

36
$ 4.83
$ 3.49 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @Bloghound
$ 0.06 from @ugo23
+ 28
Sponsors of ARTicLEE
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ARTicLEE
1 year ago

Comments

Todo lo que cuentas son experiencias vividas que ahora se recuerda con mucha entusiasmo, todo ha cambiado, desde la tv, artículos del hogar y muchas cosas, el internet vino, ahora que vendrá despues del internet.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

So true. Younger generations nowadays don't know some of these stuff.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ah! I've been seeing a lot of these posts in TikTok, then on Facebook, and then now, its here.

Truly, things have changed talaga. Di lang natin namamalayan kasi parang di importante yung mga changes, but if we look back, sobrang laki na talaga ng pagbabago.

I like the words of wisdom. Truly, why pull other down, when we can rise up all together?

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Nakakamiss un mga panahon na walang internet. Mas masaya ang paligid nun e kasi dami kids naglalaro sa labas, nagiingay, masaya.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

At least me TV kayo. HEHE. Nag ka TV lang kami nung 8 or 9 na ako. At di talaga kami naka experience ng cable. HEHE.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Useless sa akin ang cable kasi di mo naman mapapanood din lahat ng shows/channels hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks for mentioning me!!! actually nakadraft na yung sakin. Mejo emotional tuloy hahahahaha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hehe di ko na nabalikan to.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Everyday the way we do things change, all thanks to improvement in technology and science.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are right. It keeps progressing faster and faster.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The very first one striked. Our house was the first to have black and white TV. So people flooded to our house most of the times. Lovelu days

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I remember visiting my aunt's place before. TV was still a luxury then and my new found playmates would tag me along and we would go to a neighbor with TV and watch :D Those were the days.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes my dear now no friends only gadgets are support. TV is a silent picture at home.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I can relate to watching TV. Having a colored TV was like a social status. Cable, antenna, back and white TV - those old days were great! Now we have high-speed internet. Things get easier and faster.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sometimes I wish we didn't have the internet. We have had happier neighborhood then for we socialize outside our homes.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I can still remember before na black and white pa ang tv and pinagtitiyagaan pa natin yon sobrang saya pa non

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True mas natututukan ang panonood nun kahit ganun lang hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I remembered my childhood days about our neighbors television. We don't have one and if we wants to watched we need them, that's my first humiliation with our relatives haha. For they show nothing but disrespectful act when we were there, wanted us to go away every time we watched.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I do have my fair share of experiences like that as well in other places :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This post just helped me relived past memories. I feel like shedding a year right now. Thanks for stimulating those memories.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's nice to reminisce and be young once again :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The first one really got me, hahahah doing those days we usually go to our neighborhood to watch televisions, because we never have decoder, but my neighbors has, so we would go to their place to watch movie but not now

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Now it's all about internet and games :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There is rapid change in time. With time many things changed drastically. Yeah I have enjoyed watching neighbors TV But now no one visit for this facility.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Our televisions are reminders of the past.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

As we look back, andami ng nagbago, marerealize natin na ang layo na pala natin sa dati. Kapag babalikan mo ang sarap isipin na lahat ng mga bagay na ginagagwa natin ay nagbubunga ng maganda, kasi may mga bagay na dati pinapangarap lang natin pero ngayon abot kamay na natin.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Korek ka jan teach :)

Dati gustong gusto ko mag ka TV tas may cable tas ngayon na may internet na, bale wala na mga yan. Nagiiba din talaga ang pangarap lol!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh, yeah. I, too, remember those "trips" to the neighbors to watch a movie. And washing dishes with baking soda and mustard powder that made my hands burn.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I haven't tried mustard power or baking soda to wash dishes. Although I do use baking soda a lot especially cleaning our drainage :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wla kami VHS non kya nkikinood ako sa kapitbahay tapos Chuckie pa ang movie hahaha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kunting lang mga tapes namin nun tas hindi pa magaganda lol!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I remember when I was a little girl, there was nothing in the world I love more than cake and icecream. Infact I wouldn't mind doing backbreaking chores and even working hard at my studies to come first in class jus so that I could be rewarded with a piece of cake... But today, I wouldn't even put a cake or ice cream in my mouth even though I haven't eaten for a whole day. This is due to the scary things I have heard about sugar and it's consequences..... Sugar, the most addictive substance on earth

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Arrgh that's true! Still, I can't say no to sweets lol! In fairness though, I just lessened my intake :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

i had experienced watching tv sa neighbors hehe but that was a long long time ago... i heard stories of my parents watching from the neighbors' window and then sometimes, the windows just closes.. it was rude but they'll still watch the next evening hehehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Un isang kapatid ng kapitbahay naman ayaw nya na pumupunta kami sa bahay nila nun. Mejo mentally challenged kasi. Kahit sino yan tatanungin bakit nandun sila sa bahay nila e hindi naman daw sila na invite :D Pero kami nun wala lang basta makapanood ng TV :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

hallenged kasi. Kahit sino yan tatanungin bakit nandun sila sa bahay nila e hindi naman daw sila na invite :D Pero kami nun wala lang bas

hahaha need pa pala ng invitation

$ 0.01
1 year ago

True lol!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's like a flashback during old times,I used to remember when we have to watch tv in the neighborhood,even in just a small space on a window,I will be very glad to see it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lol! Me too!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The house rules! Not going back there!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hehehe :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This year the climate changed drastically and it is point to ponder

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Indeed. That's undeniable seeing the effects of it all the time around us.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Black and white pa nga noon ang tv sir lee kaya curious ako dahil di ko na naabutan yung black and white sir.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hehe okay pa din naman. Imagine ka na lang kung ano kulay ng napapanood mo lol!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kami ndi ko tanda kumain ng cake nung bata pa kami🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kami ndi ko tanda kumain ng cake nung bata pa kami🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Okay na din para di masyado sa sugar hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sabagay

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My understanding of cancelling is when you stop subscribing/following other people because of your reasons. It's like protecting your peace. I think there's nothing wrong with that. What's wrong is when we influence other people to cancel a certain person just because we are doing so. It's wrong when we're spreading hate.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Indeed. We should not impose upon others to dislike or hate people that we dislike or hate. Spread kindness instead.

$ 0.00
1 year ago