5 Animals I'm Scared of When I was Young

73 108
Avatar for tired_momma
2 years ago

Most of our fear of certain things is rooted in when we were young. Some we can deal with when we are older and we successfully overcome. But some traumas remain. And like me, I'm still scared of such when I see one. But unlike when I was young, all I can do is run. And running was the worst choice ever when I encounter these animals.

Dog

I used to hate dogs. I was bitten more than ten times. And you know when I was young, when you were bitten by the dog, they don't take you to the hospital. They wash the part that got bitten in running water with safeguard(antibacterial soap) and rubs garlic straight into the wound.

And I don't know why I always have this magnetic power with dogs which feels like a curse coz when I was young every time I encounter dogs, it's either they chase me or they bite me or both. I have many fresh memories with dogs and oh they were oh so good to me, I thought I'm gonna die. Seriously. If it will be filmed, the title of the movie will be, "The Chase".

In our place, stray dogs are everywhere, and if your parents told you to buy something in the store and you see a pack of dogs on your way, me? I run back to the house. Because the way they look at me and starting this barking business made me pee my pants. But how inconsiderate my parents are to send me back to the store and tell me, "It won't bite you, just walk slowly." After being bitten multiple times in the past.

I was about 6 or 7 years old and I love to play hide and seek with neighbours of my age. And because I don't want to be found, I hide on the furthest neighbour's I know. I went to a narrow alley and hide at the back of their house. What I didn't know was that they have dogs and that dogs house is in there. And not only that the dog's house is there but the fact that the dog just gave birth. And of course, now I know that the dog aggressive after giving birth is usually the result of a female's protecting her puppies.  So she attacked me while I'm hiding there beside his cage. Lucky enough after some bitings the owner came and blame me for it. I shouldn't go in there. But I never knew "trespassing" exist before.

And then there's this time that my Mama instructed me to go to her friend's house from I thought live in heaven as you have to walk on these steps that feel like I'm taking forever to reach the top. Then usually their gate is closed and dogs are in the cage but this time as I'm nearly at the top of the world when I saw the gate opens and here come the two dogs barking, coming aggressively towards me. And what do you expect me to do? Of course, I run. Needless to say, I was bitten so hard that day that they took me to the hospital to get an injection. I'm so lucky!

And this is why I'm scared of dogs. They love to bite me. And I love to run when I see them so that's when I get to chase and bit. My fault! But I love dogs now. I'm not scared anymore.

Chicken

Chickens seem to be nice, rooster or hen. We have a couple of them under our house when I was young. I still can remember our old house, a nipa hut and the flooring was made of bamboo sticks and under that are chickens. My problem with chickens is why on earth they have to attack me all the time while I'm just passing by. Like the fly on top of me, attack me with their beak especially when they're with their chicks. The chickens are everywhere when I was young, so even I was going up to go to the store as soon as they see me they are ready for war. Like I know it's his territory, I just want to pass. Oh, I love to cook them!

Monitor Lizard

We call this "bayawak" in the Philippines, it's like a big lizard. You know when I was young, we used wood for cooking. And as the eldest and if my parents are not around, I have to get woods in the forest near us. That's not an easy task as I have to cross a small river and we all have this big lizard and every time I will get woods with my big knife (bolo) I will see one, and they scared me so much especially the bigger ones. I don't like the way they look and how they walk as if they are crocodiles. But people in my place and my Papa loves to hunt and eat them. Well, I don't.

Cat

Oh, it is not I'm scared of the cat itself but when I was young we have this cat that always fainting. And she loves to go on top of the roof and she's always at the edge and so when I'm washing dishes or clothes outside I will just hear a loud bang and it's the cat faint and fall from the roof (it's not that high) and you know when we were young I used to say to the cat, "You are so stupid you shouldn't be resting at the roof because you are sick." And sorry to say my siblings and I laugh hard when we see her faint out of the blue.

But I'm scared that one day she will get hurt pretty bad and die. And she's not nice when she keeps stealing our food. She doesn't leave us any most of the time. So one day, Papa take him somewhere far to get rid of her but surprisingly the cat came home before Papa. So we have to just live with her and hide our food better.

Snake

I'm scared of snakes. One day I was at my Uncle's cornfields and I love to climb at the mango tree beside their house in front of the field. I love to jump from the tree to the ground and I enjoyed it. But one time, I didn't know I wasn't alone and the only one that's enjoying it as I jump there's this green snake beat me first. He did a good jump there scared the shit out of me. So I run to my uncle shaking. And from then on, I stop climbing from the tree. Well only for a day or two, I was stubborn anyway.

Then when I was older, one night it was raining hard and I was lying down on our bed I saw a white thing crawling. I wasn't sure as the lights are off. But I was curious and switch on the light and to my surprise, it's a huge snake on the ceiling of our house looking straight on me. I screamed and my Papa came and get the machete. The snake was moving about and looks alert. It was a good fight between him and Papa but Papa was injured after hitting himself with that big knife. But good thing he killed the snake. And so we can sleep that night, but no, I did not as I was thinking the snake family will come to revenge their fallen one. Haha.

Would you believe that there's no snake here in Northern Ireland? Seriously! Well except the one in the zoo or pet shop but that's the only place. Even it's all trees and fields, everything is green, there's no snake. Thank goodness for that!

And that's all folks just thought of that after seeing a huge dog walking in the lane just now. I'm wondering if you have ever been scared of any animals when you were young? Share with us!

Thank you for reading.

32
$ 14.70
$ 13.39 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @Crackers
$ 0.10 from @Jane
+ 20
Sponsors of tired_momma
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for tired_momma
2 years ago

Comments

When I was young every animal scared me except dogs. We had a dog in the family, so I grew up loving one. Now those fear are gone, but not the fear of snakes and other wild animals.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

They wash the part that got bitten in running water with safeguard(antibacterial soap) and rubs garlic straight into the wound.---ganyan din sa amin sis.

pero grabe yung mga experiences mo nung bata ah. pagkakatanda ko once lang ako nakagat ng aso tas natakot na ko makagat ulit. How much more yung sana na paulit ulit. Takot din ako sa snake at bayawak

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wasn’t born a dog lover but i don’t hate them as well and i never experienced getting bitten by dog. And when i finally experienced taking care of one dog and how they give so much joy it’s like serendipity to me. Now i have 9 :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Of all that you mentioned in afraid of the snake 100% hehe,I can't moved if I can see them.Its makes my body feels like freezing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Takot din ako sa aso kahit na elan beses ako sabihan na hindi nangangagat hahah! Unpredictable kya mga animals lalo na sa strangers. Maybe if you tame them for some time they become harmless to you, and not to a lot of people.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You seem to be in the right place for you don't have snakes there :D I still have fear of dogs especially aspins here for they lurk somewhere and when both of your are surprised, they tend to chase you to show dominance :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Out of the animals you listed above, I think snake is the one I fear the most, Because I've heard of the poison it passes to man whenever it bites one. And I think some Dogs as well frighten me 😆😆

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Takot din po ako sa manok katulad nga po ng sabi nyo nanunugod sila at nanghahabol ahahhahah alam ko naman na hindi nila ako masasaktan ng husto pero nakakagulat lang talaga pag bigla bigla silang susugod. At sa ahas din po sobrang takot talaga ako jan wala na pong pali-paliwanag kung bakit hahahha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Di pa naman ako nakagat ng aso pero takot na takot ako sa ahas. Di naman ako natatakot sa aso basta gentlenlang po yung galaw

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha, takot din naman ako sa aso noon madams, ilang beses na din akong nakagat dahil sa kakulitan ko. Pero syempre, dahil mahal ko ang aso, inaamo ko pa rin sila. Lagi nga akong may kagat, kaya to the rescue lagi si manong na taga tandok haha. Mas takot pa ako sa pabo madam, hanggang college un, kasi nga doon ako nadaam baga sa nay shortcut, may alaga sila ee ee pinapaalpasan ata nila lagi. Ung dahan dahan ang lakad ko kasi, para silang naninubok na di mawari, ung parang hahabulin ako na hindi wahahaha. Kaasar sila,as matindin pa sila sa ahas, yati na uyan ahahahaha

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Intay muna, ang pabo ay turkey? 😂 Hindi pa ako nakakita ng pabo. Basta lahi sila ng mga fighter, pwede panggyera ang galing sumugod. 😂😂😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Omooo. Ilang beses din akong nakagat ng aso noon tapos like you, 'di din ako dinadala sa ospital or even sa center. Asa na lang sa "tandok" Hihi. Hanggang ngayon ilag pa din ako sa mga aso, kaya di ako pwedeng mag-alaga. Then meron pa, kapag daw may aso ay kagatin mo 'yung dila mo para daw di ka kagatin. Ewan ko kung anong connect pero ginagawa ko pa din until now. HAHAHA! 'Yung sa ahas naman, ay nakooo. Takot talaga ako jan, kahit maliit lang ba. Pero fan ako ng mga movies na may mga ahas. Haha! 'Yung sa bayawak naman 'di ako maka-relate kasi di pa ako nakakakita 'nun.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Never heard "tandok" baka nakalimutan ko lang din. May chant na sinasabi sa aso daw yung sa saint nakalaimutan ko na, sinasabi ko rin yun pero kinakagat pa rin ako. 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabeee. Kapag kinakagat ako ng aso, kung saan saan kami nakakarating para magpa-tandok. Kakatakot lang 'yung blade. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have had my own fair share of dogs. I was almost bitten by the dog but thank God its mouth didn't get to my mouth. It tore my blouse and opened half of my bra. You should know how bad it was for me. I was given medication to use that day.

So, I understand your experience with dogs then but you were so lucky because we believe dog's bite can be poisonous to the body. I hate snakes too but I love eating it. Lol

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Omg that's frightening Princess! That's worst dear. That's a vicious dog you encounter.

I haven't tried snakes but surely my father had! 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Feels like you mostly have a fear for the common ones 😅 monitor lizards are cute though, they're like scaley puppies

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Feeling ko talaga crocodile sila! Tapos slomo bigla ring bumibilis takbo talaga ako. 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I never experienced that? Lapitin daw Kasi ako ng hayop? They just try to be friends with me but they don't hurt me? Kahit stray

$ 0.00
2 years ago

About the dog, you really tried. How manage you were bitten 10 times. I am also very scared of dogs, anytime I am passing where dogs are, I am always at my humble self, very humble state. I will walk quietly and after passing, I will pick race immediately. I was once chased by a dog, I ran my life out, luckily for me, the dog didn't catch up with me. Dog is the only animal I am scared of.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Did you feel as if you can win the marathon after that run? Lol. That's how I feel but it wasn't good enough as the dog seems to be the gold medalist 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣i feel so ooo cos I used all my strength and power

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really am not a fan of these animals myself and I'm still scared of them. Most especially dogs and snakes!!! I watched my cousin get chased by a dog when I was young and ever since then I've just stayed away from them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha. Sorry, natawa ako dito. Ako, so far, okay ako sa mga animals. Kahit snake. Tho I don't like snake but when I was a kid, I saw a huge snake passing in front of me. Yung super lapit lang talaga namin but kakagising ko lang nun so I just stared at it the while time.

Isusulat ko na lang yung mga kwento ko about animals. Thanks for giving me this idea. Pero natawa talaga ako sa part ng chicken at sa cat. Lol. Kung nakakapag salita yun sure ako sasabihin niya sa papa mo, "bagal mo!" 😂😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm so so sorry Momma about your experience with dogs. Dogs is my favourite and I love having them around. I can understand why you are worried about dogs because more than 10 times is a whole lot to be honest.

Where I live, cats are looked upon differently 😂🤣🤣. They see it as fetish so I've never nursed the idea of having one even though I love the way they sometimes cuddle up to anyone and their eyes.

Ever since the garden of Eden, I have never been a huge fan of snakes either. 🤣🤣😂🤣😂🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The snake family revenge the death of their own 😂😂😂. And wow! You have a big history with Dogs. Bitten 10 times is too much for a Kid😔

$ 0.10
2 years ago

I can hear your laugh from here. 🤣 And I really thought that they will come back to revenge. Poor me! Do you have snakes there?

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yes a lot. And most are poisonous. Believe me when i tell you that i fear snakes more than lions 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako din sa dog , di pa nman aq nakakagat pero parang 3x ng muntik na puro sagi pero di nman bumutas yun pangil... Lalo pag stray natutulala aq hahhaha di na q makagalaw 😱

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Buti nga ikaw di makagalaw edi di ka habulin. 😅 Ako takbong wala ng bukas naaabutan pa rin. 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahajjja hahabulin ka tlg.. Basta aq naka freeze jaJa.. Taz inaamoy amoy amoy ako paikot huhu.. Naiihi na q sa takot😱

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Chicken has to be the one I most terrified of 😂😂😂😂😂😂like they can get so aggressive in mili seconds😂😂

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Haha @Our.journey. see dear? I'm not alone! Here's jumper too lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It can be very traumatic 😂😂😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm scared of turkey, as I remembered it was my brother's birthday I'm5-7 yrs old that time. I'm bailing at a park with 4 wheels and then a flock of turkey angrily run towards me. I run as hell on that. And that's when I get scared of turkey and sometimes on chicken

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Seriously I haven't seen turkey yet. Not I know of. Do they look just like a chicken? Coz I eat Turkey but never see what they look like. Still chicken family. I'll be with you running lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako tlga madam dogs . takot ako sa tahol jan. Snake naman nag alaga kmi nung nsa high school akon😅 pro maliit lng yun imported frm East Timor 🤣 pinatay ni kapitbahay 😭 Pro xmpre takot ako sa malalaki at venomous snake lol

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Madam pano ko naman malalaman kung venomous, makita ko pa lang nanginginig na ako tapos yung ulo pa nakalutang ready to tuklaw. 🤣 Feeling ko pa lilipad sya. 🤣🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Round shape ang ulo non venomous yun. Yung matulis yun ang venomous.. If my memory is right 🤣 naalala ko lng high school natopic yan 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I afraid of all the animals mentioned above in childhood days but not chickens. You make me laugh when you add chicken to your list. 😂😂😂

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Ahhh those chickens killing me. 🤣 I felt like I'm always at war. They treat me as a threat all the time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nagulat ako sa more than 10 times kana nakagat ng aso ate. Juskopo. Ako isang beses lang naman, na trauma din ako non pero ngayon okay na ako sa aso. Ako na nangangat sa kanila haha.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Hahaha, okay na ako sa aso dito kasi mababait kaya lang anlalaki malaki pa sakin kakatakot! 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Okay lang yan ate, mabait naman hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Why dogs are so cruel to you before? Hehe! They are nice to others and don't bite too. I am sorry for what happened to you back then. And glad that you overcome the fear of dog. How did you do it then?

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Because my Papa get a dog and as I keep feeding him every day when they're not around, I grew fond of him. But not all dogs. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow that's nice. 😊 You face your fear atlast.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Parang you're so unfortunate sa dogs nun bata ka pa momshie. I can't imagine the fear and pain you have felt nun ilang beses ka nakagat ng aso.. And yung pusa buti humaba pa buhay nya kakahulog sa bubong😂. Snakes jan talaga ako takot. Hihimatayin siguro ako kapag nilapitan ako nyan..

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Natatawa talaga ako mahihimatayin naming pusa momshie!!!! Tapos alm mo yung nilagaw na sya tapos nakabalik pa rin sa bahay nauna pa sa nagdala sa kanya sa malayo. 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hala talaga? Oi hala kawawa naman, siguro sa isip nya eh buhay pa ko eh itatapon nyo na ko, 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bata pa kami non. Kasi ba naman kinain nya lahat ng isdang huli ni papa. Wala kaming nakain. 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha, nagcollapsed siguro sa katakawan😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh my, your dog story. Sobrang sakit pa naman yan mangagat kasi yun pangil mahaba at makapal, then sayo nangyari a lot of times. Ako twice nakagat. Nag pa inject naman agad at dahil sa may aso kami, booster kami every year. Ako, may aso, pero takot ako sa aso na nasa kalsada. Kasi naaamoy nila yun aso namin sakin at aawayin talaga ko kaya dapat rubber shoes ako parati hahahaha

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Hahaha, tapos any bibilis pa nilang tumakbo. Kakatakot talaga sila!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't know madam if I laugh or feel pity on what you've experienced on dogs when you're young. Maybe dogs loves to bite you haha, there are indicators that dogs will think that you're an enemy. First one is looking them eye to eye, they will that you'll gonna attack them that's why they bite you first. Second is dont ever run, dogs gonna chase you. BTW I have this experience on chickens that my cousins are playing on poultry with chickens I told them to get away because the hen gonna attack them but they don't listen, in the end, they crying while going home while I'm the one scolded. Wow it looks like I'm the one hurt them hahaha.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Hahaha, I pity myself and laugh at the same time. But don't tell me to look them in the eye, I already running before I can think of doing so. And lol surely you will be the one to be scolded. That always happens even it's not your fault. But the chickens are really scary too! I'm scared that it will hit me in the eye.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Have bitten by dog when I was 8 yrs of age, since then have hated dogs passionately, because of snake I fumigate my house every month to avoid them entering or coming close to my compound

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Do you have big snakes there as well? That's the most terrifying ones.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, most the black cobra it attack people alot but fumigation

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Cobra???? 😱😱😱

$ 0.00
2 years ago

OMG! More than 10 times sis? Grabe naman! I remember I have only beaten by a dog once and that was when I was in 2nd grade. And yes, i remember the garlic thing. haha :D But, my mom still took me to the hospital anyways. That was when I started to fear injections - not dogs. I still love them :D (except those mean dogs, of course :D)

My ultimate fear really is frog, sis. hahaha :D :D

$ 0.10
2 years ago

There are not many frogs in our place so I m okay with them. Grabe talaga love na love ako kagatin ng mga aso. 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Para kang kapatid ko madam. haha :D Everytime may aso, parang laging may galit sa kanya. haha :D Kaya everytime he go somewhere, lagi siya may dalang stick kasi in case may lumapit sa kanyang aso. Takot na din kasi siya sa aso. And, he's still a kid pa. 11 years old. haha :D Nakagat na siya pero hindi naman nagkasugat so, parang okay lang. :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dogs, hindi rin ako masyadong fond sa dogs. Nabangga kasi ako noon nung bata pa ako ng isang malaking aso. Buti na lang at hindi ako kinagat.😁 I hate snakes too. Nilalagnat ako pag tinatakot ako nyan.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Buti nga ikaw nabangga lang at di ka kinagat ako talaga everytime na lang. 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was also bitten by a dog when I was in grade 3. And until now, I'm still scared of stray dogs. I'm also scared of snakes even though I haven't seen a snake up close.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

I'm the one who will still run if the dog looks not happy and started showing me his teeth 🤣. Runn!!!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako di pa nakakagat ng aso at ayokong makagat pero takot na talaga ako sa aso maliban sa mga asong cute haha. Dati kasi may asong gumagala dito samin tas madaming nakagat na mga bata. Buti nga di kami lumabas that time kasi yung nakagat malapit din samin ehh. Dun talaga ako natakot tas pag may tumatahol na aso na sa harapan ko, ayaw ko talaga tumuloy tas magpapasama ako haha. Takot din ako pag lalapitan nila Kasi baka biglang kagatin ako.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Yung asong kale rapid magkakabarkada pa sila kakatakot pag dadaan ka madami daming hahabol sayo! 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha kaya nga ehh. Aatras tslaga ako dun pag may nakita akong ganun haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Waaaah, the snakes huhuhu. Wag pooooo. 20 dogs na lang hehe.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Takot ako Jan, kakaparanoud pag tumitingin sa kisame! 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahaha magshades ka, sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago