A Toothbrush and Intimacy

22 52
Avatar for meitanteikudo
2 years ago

Oh! Will you look at the time, it's freewrite o'clock. Alright, I'm sorry. I tried. But I'm still trying to come up with an on point opening line or statement. I still can't pin anything down.

Anyway, let me just sit up straight and gather my thoughts, if there are any and pick up a topic out of thin air. Hmmm. Topic... come on.

Oh yeah, let's talk about intimacy. I feel like this works out as an interview or something but let me try to do it like this, maybe it will work.

So, let's talk about intimacy. This might be a relatable one if you are in a relationship, if you were in a relationship, or if you have ever been in a relationship with another human being.

So how'd you define intimacy with someone? Is it all physical? Are you already intimate when you hold hands? Are you intimate when you already kissed? Or does it have to be some more action between you two before you can call it intimate? Does it have to be full-on penetration and all that?

Or is intimacy all in the mind? Is it all emotional? Are you intimate with another person when you can share your thoughts, your private thoughts, your dreams and your desires with them? Are you intimate when you know what each of you are thinking just by giving a certain look? Are you intimate if you're in the same wavelength?

Maybe being intimate is in the unconscious state of things. Do you think intimacy lies in the attitude towards one another or how you interact? Maybe intimacy impacts both of your behaviour.

Personally, I think that intimacy is a combination of all those things. Physical, emotional and behavioral.

Yes, you're intimate when you can touch each other freely, willingly, and openly. Yes you are intimate when you can talk to each other about everything and anything without prejudice, limitations, and you can do it openly too. And of course, I think that you are intimate if you can pee with the door wide open and the other person can hear or see you do it.

I just remembered a scene from a TV show I watched. Now you have to forgive me because I totally forgot what show was that. But I think it was House M.D. A couple there fought and broke up because of a toothbrush.

The guy slept over and used the girl's toothbrush and that started a snowball effect and they essentially broke up because of that.

You may think that it's a shallow reason. But on the other hand, that could mean a lot of thing.

I don't know about you but I still believe in the concept of personal space. I don't care if you are intimate with each other in all essence of the word, but I think that it's important to respect each other's personal space.

Maybe the toothbrush was just a little thing but it can symbolise a buttload of huge things.

So what do you think about that? Is the break up over the toothbrush justified or was it just an overreaction by someone due to overthinking?

Let me know in the comments below. And with that, I think I'll have to end the session here because my eyes aren’t working as they are supposed to.

Hi!

This has been another installment to my humbke series entitled "Late Nights, Drunken Thoughts ". I think you know what this series is all about going by the title.

It's another freewriting session done and it's another night filled with thoughts, drunken ones. I still have a lot in mind and there's tons more I would like to say but my eyes are already seeing double and I don't think I'm being very coherent now.

All that being said, I appreciate you visiting me on this great platform of us and reading through my rants.

That's it from me for tonight, and until we read again...

Cheers!!!

Author's Links

Noise | Torum Twitter | Hive Publish0x Blurt.blog

Telegram: meitanteikudo

Would You Like to Earn Some More?

Passive income with your internet (gain $5 instantly by using my referral link)

Play some games and earn.

Series    : Late Nights, Drunken Thoughts
Title     : A Toothbrush and Intimacy
Published : 23-Mar-2022
Author :  © RB

14
$ 3.36
$ 3.18 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
$ 0.05 from @Jher0122
+ 5
Sponsors of meitanteikudo
empty
empty
Avatar for meitanteikudo
2 years ago

Comments

As a hooman who respects personal space a lot, this is a valid reason for an argument haha but not really a reason for a break up. That's too much, unless my partner did it lots of times already even after the argument. I don't like sharing my toothbrush with my partner, gahd, that's personal! I don't like it when my partner invades me that much, we're a couple, yes, but we still have our personal lives and yup, that includes being hygienic hahaha but I wouldn't mind if we'll be taking a shower together 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Forget toothbrush... I'm more interested in the joint shower perks. Hahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It doesn't ring good when it comes to toothbrush anyway.. Maybe kung baso ok pa ..pero yan eh personal naman na kahit may relasyon kayo nako ..dapat yung iyo ay iyo lang ...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha hindi ba... "What's mine is yours" dapat? Hahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Break up just because of a toothbrush? Not a good reason maybe misunderstanding occur but that shouldn't lead to breaking the relationship.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah. But maybe, that was the last straw

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If I was the girl, okay lang sa akin. But I understand her decision.. There must be something behind it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Surely. Something bigger or worse than that

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Personal space yan at kung hindi magkakaintihan edi pag usap at kung hindi same ng point of view edi respetuhin nalang pero yung break up grabe naman ano yan hindi na valid yung POV nga isa dahil sa toothbrush.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha baka kasi madaming small things na naipon

$ 0.00
2 years ago

for me its all about respect for our personal life, feelings and personality that sometimes we don't want to share even in our partner. Like the Toothbrush, simple yet meaningful

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah. Based on personal perspectives..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nah, I dont think it's hygienic to share a toothbrush, regardless of who the person is. That's my personal belief. I wouldn't do that, to anybody, so I'd appreciate it if the same courtesy reciprocated. However, I wouldn't go as far as cutting off a relationship. I think that's going way overboard.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So it's something to be discussed, right?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Absolutely.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I believe in personal space a lot. In fact, a toothbrush isnt something to be shared since it has to do with personal hygiene. It's medically unhealthy... but a breakup? That went too far.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's something that can be talked about.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice write up. I think this should be based on the type of person you are dealing with.

To some it might mean a lot and to others it might not have any meaning.

But due to the sudden breakup I felt it’s like something is already going on and that was just used as an excuse.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's very true too. Maybe it's a lot of small things piled up.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True maintaining ones personal space is a question of necessity. But we should learn to not make rash decisions or over react. Keep sane even in insane situation

$ 0.00
2 years ago

For real. But that's a really hard fit to practice

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah it is. But the beauty of consistent practice is, you start doing effortlessly 💪

$ 0.00
2 years ago