A Picture is Worth A Thousand Words

25 86
Avatar for meitanteikudo
2 years ago

A picture is worth a thousand words.

I definitely agree. And there are tons of proof of that floating around the internet. Just the other day ago. I participated in a challenge that focuses on that very concept.

The organizer of the challenge showed a picture. It was just a simple picture of three individuals seated in front of a colored wall. The host asked the participants to write a story or whatever literary piece that describes the picture. We were asked to tell what we think the picture is all about. We were asked what we think what was going on in the picture. We were also asked how we feel while looking at it.

I think that it was an exercise to make our imagination flourish and to be able to interpret certain things in some ways.

My approach was emotional.

I don't know if I could share it here because it is on another ecosystem, but if you are interested, here's the screencap I took from my entry:

https://hive.blog/hive-161155/@meitanteikudo/a-love-affair-of-a-lifetime

You can also read how I interpreted it fully on the link provided above. But of course, if you are like me, you would rather have the TL:DR version here. So let me just give you a short version of what I did.

I see in this picture a story of love, betrayal, friendship, and clarity.

You see, in my mind, I feel like the lady in the middle and the guy on the right are a couple, married or otherwise. The lady seated on the left is their friend who happens to be the guy's ex-lover. And it was more than that. The girl on the left and the guy were soul mates. They tried. They tried hard. But as life would have it, they were better of as friends.

Now, the couple, the girl in the middle, and the guy got together after the lady on the left and the guy broke up. They remained friends. The girl on the left is very supportive of their relationship that when they are in a pinch or they are fighting, she comes in and helps mediate between them.

Just like what was happening in the picture, the couple is fighting and the girl on the left is stepping in as she always does to help the couple resolve their issue.

But on the other side of the story, the lady in the middle is contemplating and thinking to cease the relationship altogether because she just realized that it was really not her who was meant to be for the guy. It was their friend all along. And she is thinking of just letting everything go.

That's what I saw in the picture.

And there are other pictures that could really provoke our minds and make us interpret the whole message of it.

Just like this one:

What do you think about this picture? What do you think is going on? For sure, this is something really interesting, or something really odd. Otherwise, it's fun to think about what this could be.

Another picture that makes you wonder is this:

What story could you tell and come up with from this picture? I can think of a couple.

Okay, so what about this one?

Awww. Did you see that? Well, if not... what did you see?

Let me know what you think of the pictures, you can comment on one, or you can make a story for each of them. If you aren't feeling so chatty, just commenting below will also count too.

But if you decide to create an article interpreting a picture above or a completely different photo or set of photos, then I would really appreciate it if you submit it to our community Prompt Factory.

So what are you waiting for? Let the creative and artistic juices flow, and let's go.

Hi!

It has been a long while since we had a prompt, right? Nah, just kidding. Lol. Anyway, I just want to see how creative and emotionally invested you are in writing. Let your words paint a different color to our perspectives.

And of course, I would gladly welcome your articles to our community Prompt Factory. The home of writing prompts and a hang-out place of people like me who finds it hard to come up with topics every time I try to write.

Well, that's it from me today and until we read again...

Cheers!!!

Author's Links

Noise | Torum Twitter | Hive Publish0x Blurt.blog

Telegram: meitanteikudo

Would You Like to Earn Some More?

Passive income with your internet (gain $5 instantly by using my referral link)

Play some games and earn.

Series    : Prompt Factory
Title     : A Picture is Worth a Thousand Words
Published : 26-Mar-2022
Author :  © RB

image with the sheep: https://www.nytimes.com/2020/02/09/learning/whats-going-on-in-this-picture-feb-10-2020.html

black and white photo: https://calisphere.org/item/ark:/13030/ft629006wq/

picture of the couple: https://www.nytimes.com/2021/10/17/learning/whats-going-on-in-this-picture-oct-18-2021.html

20
$ 6.04
$ 5.70 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Glez
$ 0.05 from @Ellehcim
+ 7
Sponsors of meitanteikudo
empty
empty
Avatar for meitanteikudo
2 years ago

Comments

Interesting

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang masasabi ko lang, sana all sa fourth and last picture. 🙂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha sana all daw ehh. Hahaha puro proposal nakikita nyo ne?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That black and white picture is like a family that was visited by a friend's family or a relatives living in a distance. They may be talking about their children. How they grow and how they are doing in the present. That's a so Filipino thing hehehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha very pinoy indeed. :))

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Last picture shows feeling of love. Their expression of love can be gauged. In this picture the boy may have proposed girl for a marriage which has brought tears of joy in the eyes of the girl. This picture shows unlimited love.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's really so sweet.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pictures that look strange, but they each have a different meaning

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bro every picture in this post is unique. But I liked the lamb picture. It reveals our true nature that we just accept everything that is properly presented and promoted.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

wow, yes. Human nature I guess.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The first picture seems odd, each photo had something to tell about life, family and plan.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

yes, they are all meaningful

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The three seems to be in a really important discussion about life. Thanks for saving us sir. Will definitely try this prompt.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

haha saving is so much. LOL. waiting for it. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There are so much more to those pictures... Some I can relate with.. I love your write up

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you so much. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago
$ 0.00
2 years ago

The black in white picture shows a couple being visited by someone closed to them. Perhaps a relative or close friend. They look happy while having chit chats.

The last one seems a marriage proposal to me. The woman probably crying due to tears of joy. See the audience behind are happily cheering.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yep. that's really probable. Nice catch.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remember joining a contest too before way back in SHS and we are given a picture. From that given picture, we are tasked to write a piece of creative writing. It's a mere photo of a devastated place and I used resiliency of Filipinos amidst all challenges in life. I remember one line that I put: "No matter what kind of challenge it is, Filipinos will always stand firm and will still have a smile on their faces because after the rain, a rainbow will appear and it symbolizes hope." During the awarding ceremony, I am not expecting for something since all the other contestants are very good writers. I was not able to attend it since I immediately went back to school for our proposal defense. When our class has finally done, I receive a good news from my mentor and guess what, I bagged the first place - something I did not expect in the first place.

Indeed, a picture worth a thousand words or even more.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

wow! What a nice story you got there. I'm pretty sure that you were happily surprised then. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm not that chatty so I will answer the easiest one, the last pic. It seems both of them worked in the same place and finally the guy confessed to her. But can't say for marriage or love, lol.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That could really be possible. :) Nice one

$ 0.00
2 years ago

All photos really represents something. Just like the last one, it represents the unconditional love and how much they misses each other.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

very true. They all have a story behind them, but it's more interesting that we can also create our own stories from them

$ 0.00
2 years ago