The Emptiness You Feel After Watching A Series

10 76
Avatar for kli4d
Written by
1 year ago

The release of the second volume of Stranger Things Season 4 shook the internet with its intense and tear-jerker scenes. On Twitter alone, it reached the top spot on the trending list with around 1 million tweets. Many showed their Stranger Things experience by creating memes, short parodies, theories, and other fan-made edits. So, if you haven’t watched it yet, going to social media right now isn’t the best option. 

I recommend listening to this music while reading the article hahaha. 

I plan to watch the series slowly since I don’t want to finish it in one go. There’s a part of me that wants to enjoy each episode because after this I will wait again for another 2-3 years for another season. However, I failed to do that. The Duffer Brothers literally saved the best for last. I hate them for creating each episode so intense that you will crave more, seeking answers. 

While watching the series, I am on the edge of my seat, anxious about what will happen. I am literally gasping for air, with curses included, every time the scenes get intense. I also came to the point where I was already shouting at my TV screen just to tell the characters to act faster, lol. I seldom experience these moments, but when I do, you can tell that this is a fricking good show. 

In the last episode, I was holding back my tears. I don't want my brother to see me crying because of some fictional characters. I know that he will tease me for sure. I tried to calm myself by breathing slower. *Inhale, exhale*

I can say that this is one of the best seasons of Stranger Things. I have never felt this roller coaster emotion in the last three seasons. This is the only time I bawled my eyes out. Maybe that’s enough evidence to say that the writers and producers effectively delivered season 4 to their audience. 

At around midnight, I was able to finish Volume 2. This is my most hated part of watching a good series because I literally feel empty. It feels like something good has happened, but there’s also a part of you that feels incomplete. And then you will enter into a trance, thinking of the scenes all over again and wishing they never ended. Do you also experience this after watching a series or show or after reading a book? 

I found an answer on Quora that explains why such things happen to us.

It's amazing how a book or show makes us feel that we are also involved in the story. It's genius how those people behind this masterpiece can manipulate our emotions. How I wish I was a genius like them. 

There is a certain time in our lives when we feel empty or depressed. And most of the time, this is not caused by any story we have read or watched. Maybe this is because of someone, or maybe a result of some events. 

These past few weeks, I've been constantly faced with an empty and depressive mood. I know that if I let these emotions drain my energy, I won’t benefit at all. So I decided to distract myself. I started by changing my sleeping schedule and routines. I will dive more into writing and accomplishing some personal goals. Although there are times that I still fail, I know that my body is just adjusting. 

One of the things I learned from the book The Subtle Art of Not Giving A F*ck is that you’re the only one responsible for what you feel. Even though someone has caused pain to you, at the end of the day, it's up to you if you will move forward and do something about it or just stay in your room and suffer more. 

As I mentioned earlier, after watching Stranger Things, I felt empty and sad. This is a familiar feeling, so I already knew what to do; I needed to distract myself. I immediately went to our kitchen and washed the dishes, and right now I am watching another series. 

Maybe this is all we need to do. Next time we feel empty, we should not let it consume us. Do other things, and indulge in activities that give pleasure to us.


CHECK MY RECENT ARTICLE 🤩

You can also read my other articles....

Reach me on:

Noise.cash | Telegram | Twitter

 

11
$ 1.54
$ 1.41 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.02 from @Hanzell
+ 4
Sponsors of kli4d
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for kli4d
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Sobrang relate ako dun sa nakak depress pag natapos mo yung series. Sobrang naapektuhan din kasi ako eh lalo na if gustong-gusto ko talag yung movie. Like arrrgghhh.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have been hearing about the movie but I haven't taken my time to watch it and see what it's all about, cause of the way people are talking about it

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is also my problem everytime I watched a series. I feel depressed if something happened to the main character and I can't keep on watching to finish it because I fear that there would be another depressing scenes.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

As what the dalai lama said, let us be more altruistic. Think more about others rather than ourselves, be of service to other people so that we can hopefully avoid dwelling into our emotions more than necessary.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh I never watched stranger things but I feel that temporary depression all the time whenever i finish watching or reading something. And idk, hirap magproceed sa new book or series cuz di ko pa alam gagawin ko sa life ko for a while XD

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hanggang ngayon di ko pa tapos S3 ng Stranger Things. Nastuck na ako sa epsiode 1. Siguro pag nagkatime ako, panunuorin ko na talaga. I feel empty too when I finished a series. Parang na attach na ako.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

sana magising si max at hindi naka stay sa utak nya si vecna. ang daming possible na mangyari kuya pero matagal pa naman ang magiging season 5.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

heh ganyan din yung nararamdaman ko pagkatapos ko ng isang series. Ang hirap mag move on hehehe. Pero di ko napappanuod yan, planning to watch it on vacation, sana lang magktime hehe,

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ako naman parang may separation anxiety kapag natatapos ko yung isang series. Anyway, I haven't watched Stranger Things yet huhu, hype na hype nga ngayon eh

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The attached photo is legit as fudge and super relatable 😭😭😭😭 I experienced this mostly after finishing a book because I am more of a reader.

$ 0.00
1 year ago