How can you respect an author?: A reader and a writer standpoint

32 202
Avatar for kli4d
Written by
2 years ago

Ever since I joined this platform, I never read something that tackles the right behavior we must exhibit to respect another writer.

It is our job as readers and writers to be aware of these issues. So, today, I've decided to talk about and share some of the things that I believe can help us maintain a positive reader-writer relationship.

  • Give credits.

We frequently read articles to get ideas for our next essay. If you're having trouble coming up with ideas, this is also an approach that other writers have suggested. This is right, as I am one of those writers who benefit from other people's ideas.

However, I believe it is discourteous when someone publishes a work whose topic is based on the concept of another writer and then refuses to give credit. Like, if that was their idea and you benefited from it, why don't you credit them and link their article? It's almost as though you took something from them.

@ExpertWritter points out the same thing in her article titled "Put your Finger down Dare Game for Writers”. She mentioned that she is annoyed every time someone copies her idea without giving any credits.

If you've been doing this for a while, releasing an article without crediting where you got the idea, now is the time to change.

  • Make sure you absorbed the whole context of the article before giving any comment.

This is another problem I still observe on this platform. I understand what you feel every time you had to read 7-10 minutes or longer articles. Sometimes, just because we just want to support their work, we will just read the first part, then scan, read the last part, and leave a comment. However, I strongly advise to not to practice this because this invalidates their effort and time. Aside from that, because you didn’t have a strong grasped of the article’s context, you might express a wrong understanding of the topic.

For example, @immaryandmerry had this incident before where someone greeted her father with a happy Father’s Day and wished him good health. That's insensitive and disrespectful.

For those who didn’t know, her father joined our Creator a long time ago.

To all the best fathers I'll always have

I ask her permission if it's okay to include this incident in my article. That occurrence, she claims, isn't a big deal, but it does insult and disappoints her in some ways. She hopes that this may serve as a lesson to others.

  • Be genuine with your actions and not just for self-interest.

This may elicit intense debate, but I've noticed that some of the users here are just supporting others in the hopes that they will receive the same. Oops🤭

I am not against the ‘support culture’ especially in the Filipino community but please make sure that your action is genuine and not just for the sake of fame, likes, upvotes, and comments. I found it disrespectful when you just support me because you want me to do the same to you.

Okay, let’s say for example that I confessed that I am not sincere with all of the compliments I gave to you. I am just using you for my benefit, as an investment. What would you feel? Leave your comment down below.

  • Give constructive criticism only.

Sometimes, we cannot avoid encountering articles that have faulty grammars, wrong information, wrong opinion, etcetera. It’s okay to criticize them because we want them to understand that there is something wrong with their work and correcting them will help them to improve. However, make sure to criticize them constructively.

Constructive criticism is a useful method of providing feedback that includes precise, actionable recommendations. Constructive criticism, rather than giving generic counsel, makes specific ideas on how to create positive changes. Constructive criticism is straightforward, to-the-point, and simple to implement.

Source

Avoid criticizing them in the wrong way. For example, instead of explaining the problem, you just stated that he/she has wrong grammar. Then what? How will be the problem corrected?

  • Before tipping, be sure you truly enjoyed the article.

I came across this anonymous person who tipped my article. My piece takes 5-8 minutes to read and I just published it 3 minutes ago. However, what perplexed me is that specific person instantly tipped it. How is it possible to read an eight-minute narrative in just three minutes? What's the purpose of the tip you give if you didn't even understand the whole thing?

I mean, I appreciate the tips, thank you, but what counts to me is the time my viewers spend reading my work. I don't care if you are a silent reader or not, as long as you enjoy it, that's okay to me.

Some of you may say that I am too sensitive and stagy. Regardless, I guess it varies to people. Maybe I am more of those people who truly appreciate and values effort instead of money.

Final thoughts...

This whole article is based on my observation and opinion. If you think I am wrong or you are against to the things stated above, kindly share your insights in the comment section. I am willing to have a healthy exchange of thoughts with you :)

EDIT: I have no idea that @immaryandmerry also published an article that somehow tackles the same topic 8 hours ago upon editing this. This is a pure coincidence and never use her work as inspiration to this article just so you to be aware. I will link her work down below:

3C's to Practice here at read.cash


You can read my recent articles...

23
$ 19.16
$ 16.76 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @wrabbiter
$ 0.50 from @Meyzee
+ 13
Sponsors of kli4d
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for kli4d
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Just like @Jane, I tip/upvote first before reading the article. Forgive lol. But good points right there, kli4d! To be honest, I slip at times, but I do read :D

It's crazy sometimes though, that so many users read an article and comment on it saying "wow, nice!", "good work!" but those comments automatically make it known that the article has not been read. Most of the actual readers will pick apart certain things from the post, and respond to what they took from the article.

But, these are tolerable. I get pissed more at the ones who criticize (in a bad taste) like correcting your grammar etc...than those who sound like jejemons lol. Ya know, it's not what you say, but it's how you say it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I guess it still depends on the person hahaha. Baka yung iba ganun nga, like to tip before reading. After reading different thoughts on the comment section, i realized that maybe the tipping thingy is subjective

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I just recently give tips because it is now that I have enough to spare. I also tip to the article that I really enjoyed. Same goes to people who tipped me, I assumed that they enjoyed my articles. It doesn't matter if I earn less, as long as they enjoyed it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I love what you just said, Snappy!!!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am tipping for encouraging the author to write more, :) though sometimes, I find it exhausting to comment after so many article that I have read. :) Well rest assured that I read your article every detail of it. I'm not gonna lie, that I tipped those who tipped me, to return what they tip on me, as I don't want to be indebted. Haha 😅. If I tipped you big, it means I am amazed by your writing, or you make me laugh. Or I find your article intriguing, mysterious and on point, not to be famous or whatever. :) This one is cool and on point and triggers some of the individual here and should be read among all of us. I haven't read immardary writing so... I'm on her arti next.

There's just too many notifs on my feeds so I opted to look on my home, whichever articles title attracts me, I'll be reading them. 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Referring to the "Make sure you absorbed the whole context of the article before giving any comment." It often happens. Many users has been fond of just scanning the articles being published. Maybe because the article will take much of their time? We don't know their reasons. But, it's not a good habit to begin with. Not just in reading articles, even in just a short context. Example, in exams. Some opt to just scan questions and look for a keyword to serve as guide in answering. It can lead them (us) to have a wrong answer. But if we had absorbed and digested all the information? The possibility to have a wrong answers will be lessen. Same as in reading articles, if we didn't fully understand what is written, then we can have a wrong understanding and reflections. Our comments will be possibly out of the line.

And, upon giving credits? It also happens, a lot of times. Especially in the world of social media, like Noise.cash. I was seeing a lot of users (especially on the explore tab) who was saying that a certain photo was their own shots, even though it was so obvious that it was from Mr. Google or in Facebook. A quotation that was being claimed by someone, which in the first place, was not their's.

It was just a simple things to do. But, why does it seems too hard to do for others?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Minsan din kasi I found an article that gives me no interest, but still I appreciate the work and effort. 🤟 Iba iba kasi tayo ng genre kaya respect lang sa sulat 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I understand po and siguro it still depends on the person

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is direct to the point, indeed! By reading this article, it makes me appreciate the intellectual properties of others. Some things might be the same but that is inevitable. I know we have different styles, perspective and talents but one more thing that we must assured always is "honesty to ourselves" Thank you for sharing your thoughts, it gives me additional reminder as I getting to know this platform.Let's us keep grinding💗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for passing by ❤. I am glad you learn something :))

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My piece takes 5-8 minutes to read and I just published it 3 minutes ago.

Maybe it means that they appreciates you as a writer or they might read your article later. So far, I experienced it and minsan talaga, di sila bumabase sa article mismo, doon sa main idea ng mga articles natin. Yung gusto ba natin na iparating ganon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for sharing ur thought. The tipping is subjective nga siguro. Iba-iba tayo ng perception how we handle these things

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This article is straight forward in a good way. Upon reading it, I didn't feel uncomfortable nor offended because you stated the facts very well. And I agree with you about giving credits or asking for permission to the author. It is always a good way to ask permission to show our courtesy to the author. I got kinda sad about the person who tipped you even without reading the full article. Its as invalidating your efforts in writing that article.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is so on point and accurate. I couldn't agree more with you as I was deading the whole thing.

I also have an experience where I read am article that have the same thoughts as mine but I wasn't mentioned on the article. I also tackled this giving credits thingy on my previous article. And you jusr became a very example of giving credits through tagging us on this article. Thanks for the mention!

As for the constructive criticism, I rarely give nor receive those. But I think the sandwich method is an effective way to give it. Compliment, point out errors, then still end with a compliment.

For tipping, honestly, I also prefer to receive comments rather than just receiving upvotes. But on giving upvotes, i'm not a fan of giving the same upvotes to every article for I believe every articles have a different value.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sorry about the credits thing hahaha. I already link down your work so others can also check it 😅. I guess it a pure coincidence and I didn't notice that you also published the same topic

I never heard the sandwich method before and I might try that next time. About the tipping thing, I also do the same thing and I agree that every article have different tipping value

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol. No big deal with my article. I published it just last night, actually it's already midnight so you probably won't notice. Lol

Thanks for sharing the link tho. :)

Actually, that sandwich method is what most HRs do when they are rejecting an applicant. Hehe That is also the method when a panel gives feedback on a research defense.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Minsan kaya tip muna ako bago basa 🤣🤣 Pro tama naman yun.. Iabsorb ang content bago magcomment... Madami tlga ganun..kukuha lng ng keywords pra ma maicomment kc hndi binasa lahat ng content.. ganyan ako minsan kpg wala masyado time magbasa.. Lol Pero kpg gusto ko ang article. Words per words ko tlga yan binabasa.. Gaya nito.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same. may mga nagcocomment din sa article ko tapos di binabasa lahat 😒 nonsense pa yung comment so paano ko sila rereplyan niyan? Diba ganyan na din dati wala ng basa basa ng gawa tapos panay comment nalang ng "Nice article dear" kemerot. 🥲🙄

I admit naman na minsan di talaga ako nagbabasa basta tip nalang 😂 naguguilty din naman ako after. Kaya simula non kapag may time ako nagbabasa na ako ng hanggang sa una at huli ng article nila. May rason din naman ako if bakit minsan kasi yung iba masyadong seryoso yung topic masakit sa ulo basahin lalo na pag ano..bobo ako sa english 😂 HAHAHAHA diko naiintindihan 😭

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Giving credit to authors whom your idea came from is important, it makes them feel heard, respected, and acknowledged

Scanning articles in the hopes of leaving a comment behind quickly for gains should be frown upon

One should show support by digesting the content in question, and leave behind a genuine reply

Supporting other people and looking out to see if they will support you back is kinda childish, we should support them with our upvotes and comments because they deserve it and not because of the gains we seek

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Honestly, I'm the guilty for the last one. I sometimes give upvotes even I haven't read the article yet. Then I'll proceed reading and commenting. But I guess, I already changed this.

Not gonna lie, I support others because they support me and sometimes pay back through tips. I'm just grateful for them.

This article is on point and must read for everyone. I like how you incorporated the memes in this article. Thanks, I learned and realized a lot.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

“I am not against the ‘support culture’ especially in the Filipino community but please make sure that your action is genuine and not just for the sake of fame, likes, upvotes, and comments. I found it disrespectful when you just support me because you want me to do the same to you.”

I wanna laugh and roll my eyes in this one, in a good way. There are groups and chats that are dedicated to “drop links and be supported”, this is not limited to read cash or crypto blog-verse at all. I’m not saying joining and participating in these groups is bad but what people who join them get wrong is they subconsciously think that members are obligated to support them. I, for one, join and participate these groups with the purpose of gaining more views but also finding like minded people. But somehow the purpose of these groups head down hill or get lost when members start to just focus on who read their article, who tipped their articles or who they just know. It’s important, I think, to expand one’s horizons.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Awit. We have the same experienced, Cliff. 5 minutes reading time article ko non, then 2 minutes palang may upvote na. So inisip ko, ah baka inuna lang yung pag tip, baka kako magcocomment. Pero hindi. Alam mo yun, parang nakainis lang talaga. Hmm. Once na hindi ako nakapag comment, napapawow ako sa article haha. Anyways, as I've read an article by immaryandmerry earlier, like this credits thing so yeah we should give credits to show some respect and avoid misunderstanding.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I already link down immarryandmerry's work. I never thought she already published the same article 😅. A coincidence, i think hahaha

Anyways, yung about dyan sa tipping kemerut, akala ko ako lang yung medyo nababastusan haha. And same pag nagugustuhan ko naman yung article, on point sya at wala naman akong icocomment na, I will just leave an upvote and like.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, I guess it was a coincidence. Sinabi ko lang na nabasa ko rin sa kanya, skl ganern haha, kaya wala na ako masabi dito haha.

Dibaaa, kako sa isip ko, sana pinatagal manlang para hindi naman halata. Aigoo. Apir! Hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your article is looked similar to latest words of immaryandmerry about the credits thing. And yeah, Your right. Honestly at my first month here I do the pay back tip thing.. Like those who gives I pay it back LOL. We can't judge them actually, newbie do all the best thing to have at least five or ten views on their articles. That's how I came from haha. Over-all I liked the idea.. Maybe I could create piece based on this journal 🙃

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I already edited my article and put immarryandmerry's article. It is just a pure coincidence tho and never thought she will publish the same thing 😊.

I also went to that phase, where I interact with others just to catch their attention that "I am here!" However, I only interact with those users because I really like and admire their work. Same with the newbies, I interact with them because I can see some potential and I want them to have more spotlight and continue what they are doing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dito din ako yamot sa mga ganyan, yong excited kang nag sulat ng article mo, umaasang babasahin ng mga reader at excited din kasi sa reaction nila sa sinulat mo. Pero yong inaasahan mong reply or comment hindi nangyari, I expect too much 😒. Ganon ako ee, yong pag alam konh may something sa article ko na nakakatawag ng pansin, yong reaction talaga ng readers ang inaasahan ko. Pero, dahil sa comment nila, mas nakakawalang gana tuloy. Minsan eqquestion mo yong sarili mo, di ba maayos yong pagkaka deliver nong linya ko, di ba sya ka puna puna. Nakaka lungkot lang kasi. Ako kasi reader talaga ako, lalo na pag interesting yong topic babasahin ko talaga ng buo yan. Pero I admit din naman na may time na tinatamad ako kaya tip nalang UwU haha. Nakaka down, yong puso ko biglang nawalan ng gana. Pero kahit ganon, tuloy pa rin. Alam ko din namang di ako magaling sa grammars kaya sa isip ko baka di nila na gets talaga kasi mali nga ang pagkaka gawa 😕. So, life must go on gawa ng bago, pag di nila nabasa, di hindi. Sana di sila mapatae.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ate, same tayo! You invested your emotion, time, and effort pero you can't interpret if nagustuhan ba ng mga readers yung gawa mo since medyo ang tabang ng comment nila. Parang you will feel blank and empty and ikukukwestyon mo sarili mo kung maganda nga ba yung pagkakadeliver mo ng article. Parang mas trip ko pa makakuha ng mga puna kesa sa mga ganun

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya nga, yong mafifeel mo na ay bat ganon, para nang di nya na enjoy yong article kasi mejo kung sa mag juwa may cold treatment na nagaganap. Yong walamg buhay, yong ah okay lang huehue. Gaya nga kahapon aguy, ahahaha wala lang. Magulo ata article ko kaya ganin wahahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Guess what i got idea from your article now i made a mind ti write a article . Yeah this is good thing when we have potential to learn from other people. We can learn from other mistakes , failure and can get best lesson. So we are human no one is superficial between us so this is our nature we learn from other people more than our experiences. So keep it up dear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is something that all bloggers and writers should read. I seem to notice too that the "check me out so I'll check you out" concept is happening here a lot, and we can't do anything but accept it. I for one never joined in "clubs" or "this group/that group" thingies... I have no time to deal with such, and I find it to be hypocritical for me to join them, just for the sake of upvotes or likes. I find nothing wrong with joining such groups though... if you're truly genuine with your intentions.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Very valid points you have raised there. Perhaps the 3-minute reader was a speed reader.

Anyway, jokes aside, for read.cash, I don't think there is a necessity to be quick in reading and upvoting, because we are forking out money from our own wallet. Ideally, this is a platform for people who genuinely enjoy writing and reading. As for interacting / engagement, that's a personal choice.

$ 0.06
2 years ago