Can my principle help us get out of here?

30 84
Avatar for kli4d
Written by
2 years ago

I am currently digging and preparing the grave for my parents. Even though my muscles are already puny and my overall health has deteriorated, I am trying my best to give them a decent place to rest. Ā 

FLASHBACK

I arrived early at the examination hall. The place is big enough to accommodate thousands of examinees. To put it in perspective, it will take you almost 5 minutes to reach the end of it. So, good luck if your examinee number is on the thousandth denomination. Aside from that, the chairs are also organized in a manner that cheating is impossible. There are CCTV cameras everywhere and a big hanging clock at the front.Ā 

I took a deep breath before entering the place. As I enter, my heart starts to beat fast and my ears can hear its every stomp. Every step I took is creating a noise that echoes at every wall of this hall. Those echoes have attracted the attention of few students who are also here. Their stares feel like they are staring at my mind and soul; trying to guess if I am one the student that can pass the probably one of the hardest exams in the world.

As I approach to my assigned seat, I began to feel the pressure. A pressure that starts to eat me every time I remember that this exam is not just for my future but also for my parents. I need to perform well or else I will be at the bottom forever.

As I occupied the seat given to me, I tried to familiarize its every detail; the edges, color, texture, and even the size. This is my way of coping and somehow a strategy to easily adjust to the atmosphere of my examination place.

In 30 minutes to 1 hour of staying on my chair, I didnā€™t notice that the seats are almost filled in. Moments later, several individuals wearing black suits entered the room carrying a box. It must be the questionnaires, I guess?

They went to their respective monitoring spot and placed the boxes at the top of their table. The boxes were sealed and covered by several layers of cling wrappers. It looks they ensured that questionnaires wonā€™t leak.

Moments after, a lady with a distinct appearance among other men has entered the show. She wears a white suit with a bright red tie in the middle, a black simple watch, and high heels shoes. Her hair is tied in a way she will look neat and clean, sheā€™s wearing red lipstick, and haveĀ­ an emotionless reaction. All of us were struck by the appeal and vibes sheā€™s giving. The rumors are true; you can immediately tell whoā€™s the ā€˜boss.ā€™

She walks to the podium that is located at the bottom of the big hanging clock. Before speaking, she gently taps the mic to check if it's working.

ā€œToday I am in front of ten thousand people who are here to test their intelligence and ability if theyā€™re worthwhile to join the higher class. For those who will pass, we will grant you a work position and a chance to include someone in our class. Good luck and see you later.ā€

The guys who are wearing black suits started to distribute the questionnaires. They place it on our table upside down. For a while, I prepared the pen I will use. I also brought some extra in case I encounter some problems.

The ā€˜bossā€™ walks again in the podium while checking her watch. She displayed a hand gesture which I think a sign to other officers that the exam will finally commence, and they immediately went to their monitoring spots. The boss grabs the mic and announces that the exam will start in a few minutes. Ā 

I waited for this moment. After months of sleepless nights, mental breakdowns, and little to no social interaction, I can finally apply all the things I took on my review sessions. I study hard for this exam and I am confident that I will pass it.

Minutes before the exam, I saw a man running towards my location. Heā€™s sweaty and disorganized. I looked to my left position and thereā€™s no sitting on it. Maybe that chair is for him.

ā€œDid the exam already started? Gosh, I didnā€™t review for thisā€, he said.

ā€œNot yet.ā€, I answered.

I continued minding my own business again until the bell rang that gives a sign the assessment will finally begin.

As I flipped the paper, my world started to tear apart. I didnā€™t review and prepared for these topics. None of these questions is tackled in the review sessions. How come? They gave some pointers to review and I thought those are the coverage of the exam. Sht! I knew it. They manipulated us into thinking that we should review something else.

My hands are getting wet and I canā€™t stop my feet from stomping on the floor. I looked at other examinees and they looked the same; desperate and worried.

I was scanning the whole hall with my eyes and I noticed the man on my left side, thatā€™s the man who's running earlier trying to catch up. He look so confident while answering the exam, and I am confused and wondering how come he can answer it easily while the majority of us are having a hard time. I secretly called him, by whispering. I got his attention and I asked him how he can answer the exam so easily. He doesnā€™t answer me, instead, he wrote on a piece of paper and then gave it to me. Heā€™s careful with his move so we wonā€™t get caught.

ā€œI think they accidentally included the answer key to our exam. I have it right now! Donā€™t worry I will give it to you later.ā€

I simply rejected his offer and decided to go back to answer my paper. I can do it. I will not cheat because thatā€™s the right thing to do. People who cheat are losers and who donā€™t believe in their abilities. Cheating will not lead you to success. Thatā€™s the principle my parents planted in my mind, and thatā€™s the principle I will hold forever.

END OF FLASHBACK

Scarcity and famine are rampant at the bottom. Only the higher class have the access to unlimited resources. That's why I tried my really best to leave this place. I study hard and hard and hard but it looks like it's not enough.

After that exam, I've been thrown back to this hell. A hell with no opportunity to live and the only choice is to die.

My father and mother died of hunger, and anytime soon I might join them, too.

If I just cheated and accepted the offer of that guy, this would not have happened. Ā Ā 

If I have just chosen that door, I may have a good life today. How pathetic I am for holding on to my principle if in the end, it will be non-sense.


Author's note:

This prompt is inspired by @meitanteikudo and @JonicaBradley

Meitanteikudo created a prompt a few days ago and I decided to create my entry for it.

You are standing in front of two 
doors and the choice is yours 
whether which one to open.
Write a story about what happens 
after you have chosen one path.

Elevator Doors

On the other hand, Miss Jonica also posted a prompt about cheating and I think this story I am writing is also qualified for it.

The rules for the wiring prompt are simple:

  1. Write aboutĀ cheating

  2. Write 100%Ā originalĀ content

  3. Write at leastĀ 600Ā words

  4. TagĀ meĀ @JonicaBradley

  5. HaveĀ fun

Writing Prompt #6: Cheating

I am inspired to create flash fiction because of @Nyctofiles. I love every piece of his work. You can check it out!


You can read my recent articles...

19
$ 15.03
$ 13.67 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.22 from @meitanteikudo
$ 0.20 from @immaryandmerry
+ 13
Sponsors of kli4d
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for kli4d
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Woah. I am speechless. Ang galing!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

wow galing! ganda feel ko yung center of attraction habang dumadaan..sa karamihan...hahha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank youu! ā™„ļø

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Potek kala ko totoo yung first statement Ganda hahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hOy hahahahaha šŸ¤£

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The description of the examination hall brought me back to one of my secondary school final exams. The only thing I can recall about the exam was how stressed I was. I couldn't even remember what subject the exam was for. All I can remember was the stress...and this thought halfway through the examination. I was so stressed that I had wanted to shout out loud and flip the table, then walk out. Thank God, I didn't. Couldn't have imagined what would have happened if I'd done that. One thing is for sure, I didn't cheat and like you, I was brought up by my parents to have self-dignity and good morals. On the positive side, I think the guy in your article having such strong convictions about not cheating would have done well for himself. The world is lacking people with principles and people with strong principles will be successful in life. Great article for self-reflection.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Gaaasssh ang galiiiiing huhuhu. Two prompt combine in just one article. Like, I am so speechless šŸ˜Æ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you ā¤ļø coincidence lang talaga na yung prompt ni meitateikudo ay sasakto din sa prompt ni miss jonica hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang galing ng pagkagawa ng story, at start of article, you've gave me already an idea how the story flow. Its such a good way to tell a story but also, there are stories which revealing the ending at first chapter but suddenly you'll realize the way you predict is different from the outcome. That's how amazing creative writing is. About dun sa story, minsan tlaga may mga bagay na sinusubukan ang prinsipyo natin, nasa tao yun kung susundin ba nya o hindi. Pero kase kahit gaano katatag ung prinsipyo mo kapag kailangan na tlaga, wlaa na tlagang magagawa kundi suwayin yung prinsipyo na pinanghahawakan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you sa appreciation šŸ’“.

Iba-iba siguro talaga tayo ng perception sa buhay. Sa kanya prinsipyo ang pinili nya at di nya alam n ung prinsinpyo nya pala sa buhay ang papatay sa mga magulang nya at sa kanya.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think di naman masama suwayin ang prinsipyo lalo na kung sarili na at family na ang involve.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Luhh, Goosebumps šŸ˜–. Ang galing lang ng pagkaka gawa mo kasi šŸ˜–.

So, if only he cheat malamang maganda ang buhay nya ngayon. Mas pinili niya ang prinsipyo nya kesa sa maalwang buhay na makukuha nya kung nag cheat sya. Waeee, wala bang ibang choice. If di sya nag success dun, pwd naman ulit syang mag simula sa simula. Tho mapupunta sya sa ibang path but at least, he still choose to fight. Hindi para sa kanya yun, so sana nag hanap sya ng other way diba.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

hahahaha and that thing is up to you na ate. Kayo na bahalang sumagot ng question and gumawa ng conclusion base on your perception hihiz.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naku jan din tlga tayo natatalo dhil sa prinsipyo eh. Napaisip tuloy ako. šŸ˜… Pero kudos ang gling mo Cliff!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lagi kasing lumalabas na masama magcheat eh hahaha. Naisipan ko tuloy na what if ganto ang sitwasyon. Salamat po ate sa pag appreciate ā™„ļø

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Woah. All I can say is, you rock! I like it, Cliff! Ang husay naman nitooo. šŸ’š

Minsan talaga parang mas okay na hindi mo sundin prinsipyo na meron ka e. Medyo naloka ako haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much. I rarely receive compliments from my works, and if I do, I really appreciate it. It feels like all the time and efforts I invested in creating this is all paid off hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yieee welcomeeee. Oh wag iiyak. Charot šŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

HAHAHAHAH pero thank you talgaa

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha welcome, pangkin! šŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was picturing a dystopic kind of vibe. Pwede din ito anime. LOL It's cool. Well written! Legit!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aprub ba? hahahha salamat! ā™„ļø

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahha yess. Aprrrub!! šŸ‘šŸ‘

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kalungkot lang na dahil sa exam, maaapektuhan ang mga buhay. Kung ako natetempt din ako na magcheat as long as d mahuli, Sometimes, doing right still have bad outcomes. Pero I think, matutuwa din naman parents niya, kasi nanaig yung prinsipyo na tinuro nila.

Salamat po talaga sa pagtangkilik ng mga akda ko tsaka sa pagpromote!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pero is it worth it na maging kapalit ng buhay ang pananaig ng prinsipyo nya?

Pero thank you sa pag-appreciate ng gawa ko ā™„ļøšŸ„ŗ. You deserve more

$ 0.02
2 years ago

An unusual way of tackling the prompt. Nicely done. Got me reading till the end.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for spending ur time and effort in reading my article ā™„ļøšŸ„ŗ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's my pleasure. It's my dose of morning entertainment.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nervousness also hitting me when I'm taking exams. especially for finals .I thinks it's like a final judgement .haha Nakakatempt magcheat pero I choose to to not kasi Ako din lang haharap sa consequence later.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dpende siguro sa sitwasyon. May mga bagay kasi ma kailangan magcheat lalo na kung medyo mataas ang nakasalalay hahaha. Pero depende uli sa sayo yan kung gagawin mong magcheat kahit buhay na kapalit

$ 0.00
2 years ago