Martha, Martha,

9 29
Avatar for immaryandmerry
2 years ago

It is another month-end for us and I just want to congratulate you all for everything that you have done on the past 30 days. For every failures, for every loss, for every achievements, for every wins, for every learning, for every lessons. We can only do so much in a day but I am sure that we encounter different things and different challenges everyday and all those happenings contributes to who we are today.

The end of the month is something that I look up to monthly for this is my time for me to publish another installment for my devotion series where I can share to you something from the scripture. It is my own way of spreading the word through the talent that God have given me. Honestly, I am pretty spent for today but I just wouldn't missed this for the world. Without further ado, let me share to you this story about two sisters named Mary and Martha.


Above is our Scripture Reference for this article but let me tell you about the story again in a more detailed way.

If you know Lazarus, the man Jesus raised from the dead, he is the brother of our main leads here in the story which is Martha and Mary.

There was one time, Jesus and his disciples are on their way to wherever their destination is, they made a stopover to a certain village and they come over to Martha's house as she welcomes them.

Mary, Martha's sister, immediately sat down and listen to Jesus as He enters their home. On the other hand, Martha focuses on the preparation. Meanwhile, Martha noticed that she's the only one doing all the work so she went to Jesus and complained about how Mary isn't helping her.

Instead of receiving a response that she's expecting, Jesus then said that Mary did the right thing and she shouldn't stop doing that. As for Martha, He said that she shouldn't be worried about so many things.

As much as I hate comparing, let's compare Martha and Mary into something that we can all relate.

Mary

She is the one whose priority is the Lord. Her action of sitting with Jesus and listening for what He is saying illustrates a type or Christian, or a person in general who puts God first above all else.

She's the type to pray first and thank God first as she wake up in the morning. She's the type who allots time for the Lord, and she's the type who worry less for she have her trust and hope in the Lord.

Mary is of God and not of this world.

Martha

She's the one who works on her own thinking and trying that she can do it alone. She is surely a hard worker but she forgot that the Lord should come first. She seems like a busy person who thinks about her work and all the things that she need to do as she wake up so instead of praying, she's worrying about how she can get all the things that she needs to do in such a short period of time.

Sounds like she's a worrier. What could be the reason why? Hmm

Martha represents people who are so busy with this world. I mean people who are so caught up with this world. Just a normal busy person who have lots of worries, probably because she's not yet surrendering it to God.


After I typed it, I feel like I did not give Martha's character a justice. LOL. I don't mean harm about her, or the type of people like her. I suddenly lose confidence about what I'm trying to explain. I feel like I went overboard but I gotta continue this.

Now that we know what Mary and Martha's character is representing, let me ask you this question. Are you like Mary? or Martha?

Personally, I want to answer I'm like Mary but I'll be guilty claiming that for I can still be Martha sometimes. God clearly told us in His words in Matthew 6:33 to seek first His kingdom and His righteousness and everything will be given unto us. But sometimes, we are just too focus on wanting to have things, to achieve things, to get things done, that we forget that there is Lord where we can cast our worries away.

Just like what He said to Martha, we don't have to worry about all things. Put God first and everything will go to its proper places. Things of this world are stressful and may this be a reminder that we can't do it all alone, no matter how much hard work we put into it.

Let us humble ourselves before the Lord. Let us ask for His guidance, for His help, for His strength. And always remember his words from John 15:5 that apart from Him, we can do nothing.

May we all be Mary and Martha at the same time. Let us be like Martha who works hard to get things done, but let's also not forget to be like Mary that before anything else, before all those tasks, God should comes first, all the time. That doesn't lessen our work load, but it can definitely makes things a lot way easier.

Pray more, worry less. As humans, we cannot do it alone, so let's save ourselves from a lot of stress by letting God carry the burden for us. Pray, pray always. Don't forget to pray.


Thank you for reading this far. I can't believe we're on November already. Just 1 more month and I'll officially be able to do this for a straight year. Just for reference, let me put all the links in here of the other 10 installments for this devotion series of mine.

OCTOBER: Keep the Faith Going

I have shared here the story of Job, as well as ours for we just lost a loved one last month and that is to keep the faith going regardless of all the bad things that are happening. Things won't always go our way but we have to learn how to thank God in all circumstances and to keep our faith strong even if things aren't going our ways.

SEPTEMBER: 3 Points I Learned from Galatians 6

  • Look out for one another. v2

  • Do not compare. v4

  • Do good all the time. v9

AUGUST: The Bridge of Life

A must read. This is literally the message of salvation. If you still haven't accepted Jesus as your Lord and Savior, I suggest you read this and pray the prayer of acceptance right away.

JULY: The Life of Joseph and Moses

This is from my actual devotion. I have learned from the life of Joseph that God is in control and that we can experience His presence in times of difficulty. As for Moses, we may be lacking with many things but still, God can use us mightily.

JUNE: Highlights and Realizations From The Book of Genesis

Basically, these are just the highlights from the book of Genesis such as the story of creation, Cain and Abel, Noah's Ark, God's Promise to Abraham, How Abraham's faith was tested, and the story of Jacob and Esau. This also includes all my realizations about their stories.

MAY: Ends and Beginnings

Another one from my actual devotion. I just so happen to finish the Book of Revelations that time and then I started reading the Book of Genesis. Ends for Revelations and Beginnings for Genesis.

APRIL: A Compilation of Daily Devotions

It is what it says on its title. These contains some of the compilation of my daily devotion, fresh from my devotion notebook.

MARCH: Finding my Purpose Through Daily Devotion

Another part of my devotion series that I really recommend for you to read. I have shared in here the 40 Days of Purpose by Pastor Rick Warren, the author of the book "The Purpose Driven Life: What on Earth am I here for?". The 40 Days of Purpose tackles things from the book. It is a devotional for 40 days. Link from where you can get the workbook as well as the audio message is on this article.

FEBRUARY: A Compilation of Daily Devotions 

Another compilation for you all. It includes each verse from the book of 2 Corinthians, Galatians, Ephesians, Philippians and Colossians. All worth to read verses and all those are my striking verse.

JANUARY: A Compilation of Daily Devotions 

The very first from a series where I shared my very pattern for my devotion which is the STAR Pattern. So if you are curious how to do devotion, you can learn it from here. That pattern is really simple. Do a daily devotion! It can only eat at least 15 minutes of your time.


Quite a long plug but there you have it folks. Thanks for reading again. Till next month for the last installment of this series for this year. :)

Article No. 167
Date: 30, November 2021
By: mary
Topic: Devotion Series, Bible, God

6
$ 4.29
$ 4.02 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pichi28
$ 0.07 from @Ruffa
+ 2
Sponsors of immaryandmerry
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for immaryandmerry
2 years ago

Comments

Reading this article was so enjoyable and it gives the reader an idea. But mary is a virgin Mary she cant be the same with Martha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh. You must be pertaining to Mary, the birth mother of Jesus but she isn't the Mary that I am talking about in here. You see, there's a lot of Mary's in the bible.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm the Martha but I can be Mary sometimes. Mahirap din emaintain ang pagiging Mary pero kasi madalang yalaga ako maging Mary ee 🥺

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Ang challenge ngayon, maging parehong si martha at mary. Doble kara ganon. Chour haha. Buti nalang ako talaga e literal na mary 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bwahahahaha, niliteral kasi kaya dapat panindigan mo daw yan ahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

minsan nakakahiya nga ate, ayaw tumugma ng pangalan ko sa ugali ko haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bwahahaha ganon naman talaga kasi. Pero at least ginagawammo pa rin hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Funny I was thinking about Martha and Mary this past two days. High five! And I like the way you concluded it to balance both. Because I've observed sometimes that people would conclude or pull up "dont be a martha" ...

Also some may use Mary as doing something or getting involved in the advancement of kingdom BUT they are not aware that they are inclining more to being Martha (doing) than being a Mary (listening) ...

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Haha high five! Honestly, I'm also surprised on how I was able to combine the character of the two. Before writing, it's clear in my mind that we should be like Mary, something like that. But I just typed continuously and that's what happened. It must be the Holy Spirit doing the writing. Hmm

$ 0.00
2 years ago