JANUARY: A Compilation of Daily Devotions

1 40
Avatar for immaryandmerry
3 years ago
Topics: Personal, Motivation, Life, Thoughts, 2021, ...

As part of my daily life as a Christian, I develop this lifestyle called daily devotions to learn more and to know more about God.

I read at least a chapter from the bible daily or sometimes, i'll split reading a chapter into 2-3 days when the chapter is too long.

I started this devotion way back 2015 but I don't have that much willingness to continue this day by day so I have been doing devotions on and off since then.

But it's different now and I think that at last, I was able to turn this as my lifestyle. I started doing daily devotions again last June 2020 and until today, I haven't missed a single day on doing my personal devotions.

And this article, as what it says on its title, is a compilation of all my daily devotions this January, so this article is my 31 days of thoughts and realizations from my journal.

What is Daily Devotion?

According to www.vocabulary.com, devotion also means a commitment or dedication to some purpose..

In my case, this devotion is for religious purposes. I do this every morning and it is just so amazing because the words that I heard in the morning will be my guide the whole day. It motivates me, it encourages me and it keeps me going all day.

How to do Daily Devotion?

Daily devotion can be different from every churches. As for our church, for beginners like me, we do it using the STAR pattern.

Example of a Simple Quiet Time

Just like what is shown in the photo, STAR stands for Striking Verse, Truth, Application and Request.

We get the striking verse from the whole chapter that we read. Whatever verse that strike to us the most, or the verse that we like the most can be our striking verse.

Then the truth is simple the truth that we learn from our striking verse.

Application or action is our next step after we learned the truth.

And lastly, Request. Request is simple a prayer of guidance to the Lord for us to be able to do what action that we are intended to make.

COMPILATION OF MY DAILY DEVOTION FOR THE WHOLE MONTH OF JANUARY

My Devotion Notebook

January 1, 2021 - Romans 8:18 "For I consider that the sufferings of this present time are not worth comparing to the glory that is to be revealed to us."

January 2, 2021 - Romans 9:16 So then it depends not on human will or exertion, but on God, who has mercy.”

January 3, 2021 - Romans 10:12 For there is no distinction between Jew and Greek; for the same Lord is Lord of all, bestowing His riches on all who call on Him.”

January 4, 2021 - Romans 11:22 Note then the kindness and the severity of God: severity towards those who have fallen, but God’s kindness to you, provided you continue in his kindness. Otherwise you too will be cut off.”

January 5, 2021 - Romans 12:2 Do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewal of your mind, that by testing you will discern what is the will of God, what is good and acceptable and perfect.”

January 6, 2021 - Romans 13:14 But put on the Lord Jesus Christ, and make no provision for the flesh, to gratify its desires.”

January 7, 2021 - Romans 14:8 For if we live, we live to the Lord, and if we die, we die to the Lord. So then, whether we live or whether we die, we are the Lord’s.”

January 8, 2021 - Romans 15:4 For whatever was written in former days was written for our instruction, that through endurance and through the encouragement of the scriptures we might have hope.”

January 9, 2021 - Romans 16:19 For your obedience is known to all, so that I rejoice over you, but I want you to be wise as to what is good and innocent as to what is evil.”

January 10, 2021 - 1 Corinthians 1:31 So that, as it is written,” let the one who boasts, boast in the Lord.”

January 11, 2021 - 1 Corinthians 2:9 But, as it is written, “What no eye has seen, nor ear heard, nor the heart of the man imagined, what God has prepared for those who love Him.”

January 12, 2021 - 1 Corinthians 3:16 Do you not know that you are God’s Temple and that God’s spirit dwells in you?”

January 13, 2021 - 1 Corinthians 4:20For the kingdom of God does not consist in talk but in power.”

January 14, 2021 - 1 Corinthians 5:11 Therefore, knowing the fear of the Lord; we persuade others. But what we are is known to God, and I hope it is known also to your conscience.”

January 15, 2021 - 1 Corinthians 6:12 “All things are lawful to me,” but not all things are helpful. “All things are lawful for me,” but I will not be dominated by anything.”

January 16, 2021 - 1 Corinthians 7:19 For neither circumcision counts for anything nor uncircumcision, but keeping the commandments of God.”

January 17, 2021 - 1 Corinthians 7:32 I want you to be free from anxieties. The unmarried man is anxious about the things of the Lord, how to please the Lord.”

January 18, 2021 - 1 Corinthians 8:2 If anyone imagine that he knows something, he does not know yet as he ought to know.”

January 19, 2021 - 1 Corinthians 9:24 Do you not know that in a race the runners run, but only one receives the prize? So run that you may obtain it.”

January 20, 2021 - 1 Corinthians 10:12 Therefore let anyone who thinks that he stands take need lest he fall.”

January 21, 2021 - 1 Corinthians 11:31-32 But if we judged ourselves truly, we would not be judged. But when we are judged by the Lord, we are disciplined so that we may not be condemned along with the world.”

January 22, 2021 - 1 Corinthians 12:7 To each is given the manifestation of the Spirit for the common good.”

January 23, 2021 - 1 Corinthians 13:13 So now faith, love, hope, and love abide, these three; but the greatest of this is love.”

January 24, 2021 - 1 Corinthians 14:9 Nevertheless, in church I would rather speak five words with my mind in order to instruct others, than ten thousand words in a tongue.”

January 25, 2021 - 1 Corinthians 14:39 So, my brothers, earnestly desire to prophesy, and do not forbid speaking in tongues.”

January 26, 2021 - 1 Corinthians 15:3 For I delivered to you as of first importance that I also received: that Christ died for our sines in accordance with the Scriptures.”

January 27, 2021 - 1 Corinthians 15:33 Do not be deceived: “Bad company ruins good morals.”

January 28, 2021 - 1 Corinthians 15:58 Therefore, my beloved brothers, be steadfast, immovable, always abounding in the work of the Lord, knowing that in the Lord, your labor is not in vain.”

January 29, 2021 - 1 Corinthians 16:13-14Be watchful, stand firm in the faith, act like men, be strong. Let all that you do be done in love.”

January 30, 2021 - 2 Corinthians 1:5 For as we share abundantly in Christ’s sufferings, so through Christ we share abundantly in comfort too.”

January 31, 2021 - 2 Corinthians 2:14 But thanks be to God, who in Christ always leads us in triumphal procession, and through us spreads the fragrance of the knowledge of Him everywhere.”

January 1 - January 31 of Daily Devotion

Through those 31 days of having personal and alone time with God, I really learned so much about the teachings of Paul. I experienced God's goodness and faithfulness in this whole month. And there are so many promises of God that I have learned which I can claim anytime I need it.

I originally planned to share my truths with you here but that will really take long. And I realized that we can have different interpretations on every verses. So why not choose your own striking verse up there and share me some of your thoughts about it. You can also do it by using the STAR pattern which I taught you above.

I know there are lots of verses that I put in here and I really hope that you'll be able to read those one by one. Because maybe you are experiencing something right now and there might be a verse or a word up there that can fit what you feel right now. A verse that could give you comfort and peace, so please, it might be boring for some of you but have the time to take a look and read those verses above.

Authors Note:

Thank you for reading this article of mine for it is really close to my heart and this is something about my faith. I hope you guys enjoyed it. God bless you.

8
$ 0.23
$ 0.23 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of immaryandmerry
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for immaryandmerry
3 years ago
Topics: Personal, Motivation, Life, Thoughts, 2021, ...

Comments

super

$ 0.00
3 years ago