FEBRUARY: A Compilation of Daily Devotions

4 46
Avatar for immaryandmerry
3 years ago

I already published my compilation of daily devotions for the last month. And since it's the end of the month today, so here's another compilation of my daily devotions for this month.

On my past article, I have already shared to you what kind of devotion am I making. This month, I will just share my learning and experiences in general on my daily encounter with the Lord.

This is something I do to grow spiritually in the Lord. This is part of my Christian life. I am learning daily. I am growing daily. And it's all because of our almighty God who is guiding me through His words.

My pattern of devotion is to just read a chapter from the bible everyday. So just like in a book, I read the bible chapter per chapter, just like when i'm reading a story.

In this month, I have encountered and finished reading the book of 2 Corinthians, Galatians, Ephesians, Philippians, and just today, I started reading the book of Colossians.

All these books are written by Paul. And I am really learning a lot from him. I admire Paul and I really love how he serves the Lord in all kinds of situation. He was a great servant. He have experienced hardships, real hardships, even life threatening situation, yet it didn't stop him from serving the Lord. Sharing His words and making disciples of all nations.

Let me summarize what each book is all about and let me share my top pick personal devotion from all of them.

2 Corinthians

Paul wrote 2 Corinthians at a vulnerable time in his life. He had learned that the church at Corinth was struggling, and he sought to take action to preserve the unity of that local body of believers. The letter is riddled with personal comments as Paul revealed details about the persecution he had suffered for the sake of Christ as well as about a mysterious thorn in the flesh that kept him reliant on God. (Source: insight.org)

Here's my top pick devotion from this book:

Striking Verse:

2 Corinthians 8:2, NIV: "In the midst of a very severe trial, their overflowing joy and their extreme poverty welled up in rich generosity."

Truth:

Paul was talking about the ministry from Macedonia in this passage. They have experienced great trials. They have experienced extreme poverty yet that didn't stop them from giving. As to what the verse said, "their extreme poverty welled up in rich generosity".

Action/Application:

Give more to have more. We may think that what we have is not enough for us, but that isn't an excuse to give to people. To give back to the Lord. We are challenged. Financially. But let us still give whatever it is that we can give. All we have to do is to trust God and believe in Him that He's the God who sustains us, and He will provide for us.

Request:

I pray that God will give us a generous heart. That we will be able to give accordingly. To give what we can give. To offer what we can offer.

Galatians

Galatians has always been among those Pauline epistles least challenged on the issue of authorship. Paul wrote to the churches in southern Galatia after having a hand in starting them on his first missionary journey to Asia Minor. Paul’s close relationship to these churches helps to explain the extremely strong tone he took with them from the very beginning of the letter. Galatians exhibits Paul at his angriest, as he risked the good favor of the converts in those churches to make sure they were on the path of truth and not led off into deception. In fact, to emphasize the seriousness of his purpose, he took the pen from his scribe and wrote the end of the letter himself in large letters. (Source: insight.org)

Here's my top pick devotion from this book:

Striking Verse:

Galatians 5:13, NIV: "You, my brothers and sisters, were called to be free. But do not use your freedom to indulge the flesh[a]; rather, serve one another humbly in love."

Truth:

God saved us and has given us our freedom. But this freedom is not an opportunity for us to do anything we want just because we can do it. Instead, let us serve one another with love.

Action/Application:

I will know my limits. I have my freedom and I won't waste it. I won't take this for granted. What i'll do with this freedom is to serve God and serve others..

Request:

I pray that God will give is self-control and the humility to serve others.

Ephesians

For a brief time at the end of his second missionary journey, and then for more than two years on his third missionary journey, Paul ministered to the church at Ephesus (Acts 18:18–2119:1–41). During his time in this city that housed the famous temple to the Greek goddess Artemis, Paul saw many converted to faith in Jesus Christ and many others who opposed his preaching in the synagogues and homes. One prominent silversmith, Demetrius, who made implements for the worship of Artemis, found his business suffering greatly because people were converting to Christianity. The ensuing near-riot led Paul to leave the city, but only after the apostle had done much to stabilize and grow the Christian community there. (Source: insight.org)

Here's my top pick devotion from this book:

Striking Verse:

Ephesians 5:10, NIV: "and find out what pleases the Lord."

Truth:

Let us discern what is pleasing to the Lord and put that in practice.

Action/Application:

Everything I do, i'll make sure that it is pleasing for the Lord.

Request:

I pray that may we be able to please God on our actions.

Philippians

Paul ministered at Philippi during his second missionary journey, spending about three months in the city. The ministry at Philippi marked Paul’s entrance into Macedonia, which came about as a result of a vision he had in the city of Troas, just across the northeastern corner of the Aegean Sea from the port city of Neapolis and its close neighbor Philippi. (Source: insight.org)

Here's my top pick devotion from this book:

Striking Verse:

Philippians 4:6, NIV: "Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God."

Truth:

We don't have to worry about anything. Instead, let us thank God and ask for His help in prayer. Believe me, He always listens.

Action/Application:

I thank God for everything. For every triumph, for every trials, and for every failure. Glory all to you, Lord.

Request:

I pray for God's guidance in our lives. May He also be able to give us a thankful heart.

Colossians

Before Paul wrote this letter to the Christians in Colossae, he had never been to their city (Colossians 2:1). This helps explain the personal greetings he included at the end of the letter, a practice he usually reserved for letters to churches he had not visited (for example, Romans). Paul sought to develop personal connections with the people he hoped to teach and serve, rather than just going around from city to city asserting his apostolic authority. The more personal tone at the close of this letter would have been especially significant in creating a connection with the Colossian believers, given the fact that part of Paul’s reason for writing involved calling out the heretical teachers who had infiltrated the Colossian church. (Source: insight.org)

Since I just started this book tonight, here's my tonight personal devotion:

Striking Verse:

Colossians 1:27, NIV: "To them God has chosen to make known among the Gentiles the glorious riches of this mystery, which is Christ in you, the hope of glory."

Truth:

Glory to God for He is with us. For He have given us his mercy and grace.

Action/Application:

I am blessed because of the Lord and i'll be a channel of blessings for others.

Request:

I pray that that all of us who experience God's riches and blessings will also be able to share it to others.

-

I am growing, through this daily devotions, daily journal that I have. I hope that if you are reading this article, you may be able to learn or be inspired or motivated from those few verses that I shared in here.

Thank you for reading. I hope it's worthy of your time.

God bless you always and in all ways. =)

5
$ 0.58
$ 0.27 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.25 from @lerkfrend
$ 0.05 from @Macronald
+ 1
Sponsors of immaryandmerry
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for immaryandmerry
3 years ago

Comments

honestly, i'm rather a lapsed Christian. it has been years since i've read the Bible, but i really like that verse from Galatians. i'm going to be looking more into that.

thanks for sharing!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You're welcome. :)

Anyway, I thought no one would care about this article but here you are. I'll surely make more of this. Actually I plan to do a compilation or even just the summary of my learning every end of the month.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

you will have at least one reader, hehe. i really liked this format, it was very easy to understand your thought process. it's a good way to think about the Bible, which can be kind of abstract and impersonal sometimes. you put it into a good perspective.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We call this the STAR pattern. And yeah it's very easy to do and to understand. And having one reader is more than enough. This is not a topic that anyone would read but I just gotta share it. I'm glad this article reached you.

$ 0.03
3 years ago