Finding my Purpose through Daily Devotion

11 38
Avatar for immaryandmerry
3 years ago

It has been 2 months since I started sharing my compilation of daily devotions in here. I usually published it every end of the month but I am publishing it a little bit earlier this month since I plan to published a different article tomorrow about my goals for this month.

Anyway, here are my published articles about my daily devotions for the first 2 months.


If you'll notice, I changed the title for this month.

On January, I was able to share my devotion pattern which is the STAR pattern and I just shared all my striking verses for the whole month.

On February, I shared the books that I've read and I also shared some of my personal devotions on each books.

On this month of March, I decided to have a little change. Well, i'll still give you a brief summary of my personal devotions and the books that I've encountered this month but the main sharing will be from my 40 days devotion last July 19, 2020 to August 27, 2020.


So let's get into it.

For this month I was able to read the book of Colossians, 1st and 2nd Thessalonians, 1st and 2nd Timothy, Titus, Philemon, and i'm currently reading the book of Hebrews.

I was already on the Hebrews 5 earlier this morning. So let me share to you my personal devotion for today.

Hebrews 5:12 For though by this time you ought to be teachers, you need someone to teach you again the basic principles of the oracles of God. You need milk, not solid food.

I did struggle on my first few years of being a Christian. For a long time, I am being fed with milk. That's why i'm a bit guilty with this verse. However, through the grace and goodness of God, I was able to learn, even slowly, how to eat solid foods. As of now I am still on the process of growing spiritually.


Anyway, just like what I've mentioned above, I am going to share to you my 40 days devotion back then. That was actually the time that I am still struggling with my daily devotions, with my purpose in life, with everything. And that 40 days helps me to have answers to all of my questions.

Are you familiar with Pastor Rick Warren's The Purpose Driven Life: What on Earth Am I Here For? This book gives us 40 days of personal spiritual journey that presents the five purposes of the human life on Earth.

Photo from Amazon.com

Well, I haven't really read the book. What I have encountered was the 40 Days of Purpose devotional. It includes audio message from Pastor Rick, and it also comes with a workbook that we need to fill what's on the blanks as we listen to the audio message.

What I am sharing to you today is the Day 1 of those 40 days. It's entitled: What will you do with the rest of your life?

I specifically chose this passage because this passage includes the five purposes of the human life that was presented in the book.

So, without further ado, let us now begin.


WHAT WILL YOU DO WITH THE REST OF YOUR LIFE?

Bible passage:

  • 2 Kings 18:2-7

  • Isaiah 38:1-5

You can read the passage, it's an interesting story. But for now, let me proceed with the 5 purposes of human life.

  1. God wants me to CENTER my life around Him.

Matthew 22:37-38 Jesus replied: “‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.’ This is the first and greatest commandment.

  • There, it was written, that we should love the Lord with all we have. And how we can do that? By making Him as the center of our lives.

  • So how can we center our lives to Him? This first human purpose here in Earth is called WORSHIP. By worshiping Him, we are making Him as the center of our lives.

  1. God wants me to CONNECT with believers.

Hebrews 10:25 (GN) Let us not give up the habit of meeting together... instead let us encourage one another.

  • God wants us to connect with other believers. To be with our brothers and sisters. He wants us to meet together and to practice to encourage one another.

  • This purpose is called FELLOWSHIP. It's when we praise God and give Him glory with other believers.

  1. God wants me to CULTIVATE spiritual maturity.

Hebrews 6:1 (LB) Let us go on... and become mature in our understanding, as strong Christians ought to be.

  • I already mentioned Hebrews 5:12 above, and that is how God wants us to cultivate spiritual maturity. He wants us to grow, become mature in our faith so that we can also teach others to do so.

  • And this purpose is called DISCIPLESHIP.

  1. God wants me to CONTRIBUTE something back.

1 Peter 4:10 (LB) God has given each of you some special abilities; be sure to use them to help each other.

  • I believe that we all have our own God-given talent. His so-called special abilities. And it is our responsibility to use these talents well. Just like what He says, we should use this to help each other.

  • This purpose is called SERVICE. He wants us to help in our ministry. We have these talents because of Him so it's only right serve Him through those.

  1. God wants me to COMMUNICATE His love.

2 Corinthians 5:18, 20 18 All this is done by God, who through Christ changed us from enemies into his friends and gave us the task of making others his friends also. 20 Here we are, then, speaking for Christ, as though God himself were making his appeal through us. We plead on Christ's behalf: let God change you from enemies into his friends!

  • It is our MISSION to share God's love and to share His word to other people.


To give you a summary of what I've shared above, here are the 5 things that God wants us to do alongside with the 5 purposes of our life here on Earth.

  1. To CENTER your life around God. (Worship)

  2. To CONNECT with other believers. (Fellowship)

  3. To CULTIVATE spiritual maturity. (Discipleship)

  4. To make a CONTRIBUTION with your life.(Service)

  5. To COMMUNICATE God's love to others. (Mission)


This 40 Days of Purpose Driven Life Lessons has helped me big time not only on my spiritual life but on every aspect of my lives. I was so blessed daily on those 40 days. Hearing different messages daily through the audio message. It helped me cope up with everything that is happening around me and most importantly, it helped me find my purpose in life.

If it happens that you'll be interested to try this 40 days of devotion too, i'll leave the link here.

https://www.purposedriven.com/day1/

The audio message was there. Explained loud, clear and precise by Pastor Rick. The workbook is also there. You can either just type the answers there and then save it or you can also print it. Your choice! :)


This is getting too long already so i'll have to end this here.

Daily devotions has been my struggle ever since I began a Christian. But now that I were able to do this straight, as this becomes part of my lifestyle, this is helping me in a lot of ways. This sets my day, this made my day. This helps me keep going day by day.

If ever that you are a struggling Christian, you can ask me for help.

Thank you for reading. See you next month for my next sharing of my personal devotion.

=)

9
$ 0.78
$ 0.45 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @charmingcherry08
$ 0.05 from @leejhen
+ 5
Sponsors of immaryandmerry
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for immaryandmerry
3 years ago

Comments

Kababasa ko lang nandito pala yung devotion na sinasabi mo🤗ayung ynx for sharing your experience it would also a lesson for me alam mo na nakakalimot kung minsan but i wanted to go back to the time na hindi ko pinapalampas ang araw na hindi nakakabasa ng bibliya at hindi nakakatulog ng hindi kinakausap di God🤗🙏

$ 0.00
3 years ago

you can still do that naman. always pray. huwag na huwag mo hahayaan na mawalan ka ng connection with God. John 15:5 says that apart from Him, we can do nothing.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes nak🤗🙏

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I might be late to check by but thanks for this devotional! It's a great help for me and for those who feel like struggling. At times I feel lost, I'll certainly check these verses here and also be remembered that I should talk to Him more often. Thanks, bhie!

$ 0.02
3 years ago

You are always welcome bhie! Yes, talk to Him more often. Even if you're not lost. check the devotional bhie! audio message lang yun. super helpful. natuwid landas ko! chour hahahaha. pero seryoso, maganda yung preaching. very timely. mahahanap mo sarili mo.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I really love your articles because you use read.cash a platform on telling others about the things we should do to make our service and love to the Lord. I admire you for that! It encourages me to share also the blessings that the Lord hath given me all these years. Actually the first thing I buy for from my earnings in noise is a daily devotional named SOLO. I will really write about it soon. Keep safe. May I know how can I connect with you through messaging?

$ 0.02
3 years ago

Praise God for that! I am not good with public speaking that's why i'm having a hard time to share the word of God. But I believe that He gave me a talent in writing that's why I am using this for Him. Glory to God to the highest!

I have achieved my goals this month and I am thinking of buying a new english bible. Coz what I got here at home is a tagalog version that my sister bought for me when I am still a baby Christian.

You can message me po through twitter or telegram. Just search my username, it's @immaryandmerry din. :) If you don't have account of both of those that I mentioned, I can give my facebook account. It's easier that way. hehe

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice article beb... Pa comment nlng haha ngayon ko lng nabuksan rc ko di nmn kc aquh mahilig mag sulat hehe

$ 0.02
3 years ago

Ayon hahahaha thank you sa support lods! lol

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ayun lng magagawa ni ate ang sumuporta hahaha cnu p ppsupport I balita mu na hehe

$ 0.00
3 years ago

we're so madami hahahaha. nasa gc mga nagpplug ng article ate

$ 0.00
3 years ago