The Flash Fiction challenge.

51 107
Avatar for feebie
Written by
3 years ago

Welcome to the Flash fiction challenge. The challenge is to produce a short story within the tight word limit of 250 - 500 words based on a one-word prompt. The prompt word this week is "CLOUD."

The primary goal of this challenge is to give Read.cash writers a regular opportunity to write, and to encourage the practice of editing and refining our work. As an incentive, each week one author who writes a compelling story wins $2 upvote.

ABOUT THE FLASH FICTION CONTEST

Flash fiction short stories are fun to write, and they stretch your skills. The challenge is to write a complete story within a tight word limit. If you're just trying it out for the first time, welcome! Here are a few FAQs:

  • Why participate? Because it's an interesting challenge, and a really great way to hone your fiction writing and editing skills. Oh, and it gives you something to post weekly.

  • Should the prompt be included in the title? The new prompt for this coming week is "cloud." Its not important to include it in your title but should have it referenced in your story.

Challenge rules

  1. Write a flash-fiction story in 250 - 500 words and post it to your blog, then provide a link to the story in the comments. Please do not post your story in the comments!

  2. Use only artwork/images (if there is a need for the image) that you have the right to use, and attribute it properly.

  3. Submit your stories to the poems and flashfiction community.

  4. Include Flash-Fiction Challenge in your title.

  5. Submission would end by 12 midnight 2nd August 2020.

  6. Stories should be written in english and plagiarism would be frowned upon.

Use of images

You are welcome to illustrate your story with an image, as long as you have the right to use it. One of the following must be true:

  1. The image is public domain, or under creative commons licensing. See the resource links below.

  2. It is your own image.

  3. If it is not one of the above, you must have actual permission.

Be sure to properly attribute the image’s source or mention that the image is yours.

Here are some creative commons and public domain image resources:

Where to submit?

You can submit your entries in :

Poems and Flash fiction ( https://read.cash/c/poems-and-flash-fictions-2b1a
OR IN
Live Poet Society ( https://read.cash/c/live-poet-society-cc23 ) 

note that only links to your story should be dropped in the comment below.

Invitation to current and past participants

If you are active on read.cash and participated in the poetry dice challenge. I invite you to jump in and be a part of this flash-fiction challenge. @Leo_kitti @Winona @marcmire @Iremori @Eybyoung @CrazyInsane @Charlotte @lethlieann

If you prefer not to be tagged in our challenge post, please let me know! 

This initiative is a partnership with @Winona

For updates and more exciting writing activities make sure you subscribe😊

18
$ 0.61
$ 0.61 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of feebie
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for feebie
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Nice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'll try to submit one, I'll just sleep for now hahaha 👍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Looking forward to your entry

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I submitted already 💝

Well if incase you miss heres the link

https://read.cash/@CrazyInsane/the-knock-flash-fiction-challenge-f10ad02a

Thank you and keep on inspiring others 💝

$ 0.00
3 years ago
  1. Write a flash-fiction story in 250 - 500 words and post it to your blog,

But I don't have a blog...🤷

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh i meant on your page then post the link here. Looking forward to seeing your entry.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ohhh alright😋. I'll get on it

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Okay. Have fun

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Awesome. Awesome. This is gonna be exciting!😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah. I cant wait to read the amazing entries

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Awesome. I might give it a try.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Please do

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I will still try, I attempted writing a story but ended up writing a poem. Hahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Okay...hahaha, looking forward to your entry.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wish me luck!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good luck😀

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha thanks

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very hiksoin and 4 and I will also be joining the team on Thursday evening as I am going to be in London for the rest of the week as I am working in the office and will be back on 9.3 September so I will be able by the

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Okay looking forward to reading your entry.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow this is exciting, I will give it a try thanks for tagging me it's my pleasure 😊😊😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are welcome

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That sounds exciting

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow this is so exciting and thanks for tagging me ❣️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are welcome

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for upvoting my entry😍

$ 0.01
3 years ago

You are welcome

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I really tried my best to challenge myself and seek more other genres , this is my entry

https://read.cash/@CrazyInsane/the-knock-flash-fiction-challenge-f10ad02a

I hope you will like it, 💝

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Thanks for your entry. It was a good read

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you 💝

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Here's my entry. As always, thank you very much for reading

https://read.cash/@Iremori/happenstance-flash-fiction-challenge-ee02831e

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Thanks for your entry. I enjoyed reading it

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks 😁👍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for the opportunity. I tried to come up with something. I hope you like!

https://read.cash/@Ozzyy/silver-lining-flash-fiction-challenge-6a68c6bb

$ 0.01
3 years ago

I enjoyed reading your story. Good plot and character development

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Here's mine. Hope you/they enjoy. Thanks for this challenge ❣️

https://read.cash/@lethlieann/popsicle-smiles-flash-fiction-challenge-720a35be

$ 0.00
3 years ago

https://read.cash/@nicdre09/same-sky-flash-fiction-challenge-cdaa4ccb

I tried, win or lose I'm happy I tried fiction for the first time because of this prompt. Always thank you for the opportunity

$ 0.01
3 years ago

There are no losers. The fact that you made an attempt to write something already makes you a winner. I read your story and i loved it...i also loved how you induced a bit of poetry into it. Great job😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago
$ 0.01
3 years ago
$ 0.01
3 years ago

This is a nice story. Thanks for your entry

$ 0.00
3 years ago

My pleasure.I am very glad to know that you like my story...I wrote it after more thinking....

$ 0.00
3 years ago

https://read.cash/@Eybyoung/a-sleeping-genius-flash-fiction-challenge-cd217c6f

Here's my entry, please check it out thank you so much!😊

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Thank you for your entry.

$ 0.00
3 years ago
$ 0.00
3 years ago

You failed to indicate "Flash fiction challenge" in your title. Kindly edit

$ 0.00
3 years ago