Is Paying Back To Your Parents A Responsibility?

37 697
Avatar for charmingcherry08
2 years ago

We have always been thinking about paying back to our parents. People have different opinions in this matter, and also has their way to pay back. Some children are working hard to earn something and provide financial support to their parents, but some also stopped working in able to take care of them. Obviously, there are different ways we can do to return the favor to them and it is up to the person.

On the other hand, some parents do not like to make their kids feel obliged or responsible of paying back to them. Some only wishes them to live their life and enjoy the rest of it. Again, it depends on the person and the situation.

In this article, I want to answer the question whether paying back to parents is a responsibility. Some of you will tell me that of course, it was obviously a responsibility. Let me share my idea about it.


I believed that it is my responsibility to pay back to my parents. That is why I study and aim to have a decent job years from now. Who do not want that, right? We all want the same thing.

I have this mindset that I need to be successful so I could provide the needs of my parents once they are old. I have to work hard since we are in an average life. I was not born with a silver spoon, and I think that molded me to strive harder. On the other hand, I also tried to observe.

I have observed that not everyone shares the same mindset that I have. Personally, I have met a lot of people and heard their stories. The one who was born with a good life, and all she wants to do is enjoy life and earn for her own needs and wants. The other one whose parents died and she needed to strive for her survival. Also, I have met someone who is now supporting his family and parents. The thing is, it depends on the situation and circumstances.


One day, I was talking to someone who now has a stable job and she provides the financial needs of her family. We were having a conversation and I asked her a question that made her think deeper and reflect. I asked her: "In your point of view, is paying back to parents a responsibility?"

If you will going to ask me why I came up with this question, I just wanted to know how she will going to answer it knowing that she is already stable, and became the support system of their family.

At first, she answered me that "Yes, it is a responsibility.", so I made a follow up statements and questions right after I heard that. I told her that if it is a responsibility just like how parents are responsible to raise us, then why some people don't live with it? When we say responsibility, it was a word that has an impact. If she believed that it is a responsibility, then why some children don't see it the same way?


I also added, if it is a responsibility, then why do some parents tell their kids to strive hard to have a good life and not to pay them back? If it is a resp0nsibility, then why some parents are letting their kids live their life even if it means living without them?

And then, I saw her confused and she started reflecting. She started t0 think until I heard the answer that I have been waiting to squeeze out of her mind. She told me: "It is not a responsibility, but rather AN ACT OF LOVE."

There, she got the perfect answer that I wanted her to realize. What she is doing for her family and parents was not a responsibility, but an act of love.


Sometimes we just think that we are responsible of paying back to our parents, and some of us lose the sight of how we should also give affection and care. We should not think of the responsibility, but rather see to it that it should be our action to show our appreciation and gratitude.

We are striving hard to have a good life so we could double the things our parents gave to us. Make sure that you do it out of love and not just because you think you are responsible to do it. Be happy in doing and giving something to your parents.

As for me, I believe that it is not a responsibility to pay back. It is an act of love. I will do it genuinely and not just with the thought of I need to do it. If you want to pay back, do not put it as a responsibility because you are losing the affection and love. Feel that it is an act of love for your parents.


Author's Remarque

This article is actually to remind some hard-working daughters and sons here that what you guys are doing for your parents and family are the act of love. Those were from your heart and not just because you think of it as your responsibility as a child.

If you are providing the needs of your parents, you live with them and take of them, then it means that your love is so big. You have a genuine heart and those were acts of love. Keep it up and be great every single day. I hope you success!


If you still have time, here are some of my latest articles that you might want to read:


Crypto-related Articles:


πŸ’ΈΒ TIP FOR A CAUSEΒ πŸ™

  1. Art 1: Tip For A Cause

  2. Tip For A Cause: Gift Pack

  3. Tip For A Cause: First Wave Successful!


πŸ””Β ADVERTISEMENTΒ πŸ””

I am accepting ACADEMIC COMMISSIONS.

If you know someone who might need some help or if you are a student who needs an assistance/backup on your school requirements, feel free to check on me through myΒ Telegram,Β Twitter, andΒ noisecash.


β˜‘οΈ REMINDER β˜‘οΈ




Date Published: June 28, 2021

Author: charmingcherry08

24
$ 22.71
$ 21.72 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.11 from @carisdaneym2
$ 0.10 from @PVMihalache
+ 16
Sponsors of charmingcherry08
empty
empty
Avatar for charmingcherry08
2 years ago

Comments

Love this one che. No wonder why you are blessed. Because it's also biblical na nagagalak Ang Dios sa mga anak na nag aalaga sa mga magulang nila because of love. Not word by word pero ganon Ang tema. Nakalimutan ko din Ang verse. I'll search for it..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you, Ate. Magaganda nga po yung comments na nakikita ko about sa article ko na to. Hindi ko po akalain na maganda kakalabasan niya, hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And here I am still doing my best to pay all the hard work of my Mom abroad.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And I see no problem with that. Just continue what you are doing, as long as those were acts of love.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Another great job here Cherry. I totally agree, it's not a responsibility nor it is an obligation, as you say it's an act of love.

I say it's a chance and an opportunity to give back. For 2 decades of my life, they have provided for every need and every want that I had. We're not rich but we get by and my father made sure that we always have enough.

Now that I can in theory stand my ground, why wouldn't I want the pleasure of helping them? It's an opportunity of a lifetime.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You absolutely made a point there. Just like you, I wasn't born rich so I really saw how my parents worked hard to provide for our needs and as well as put effort to give my wants. Though, I am still not that independent, I am starting to try paying back to them. I am buying my wants & needs using my own money, and I think that is a good start, right? If I will be able to earn double or triple, then I can give more.

You are such a wonderful person with a genuine heart. I am really so into people who respect their parents. I mean, it was a total turn-off if I saw someone disrespecting their parents. If we can't give something through material things, they pay back with respect, care, and love. Right?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is indeed a good start. Thoughts and gestures count.

Hmm yeah. I get that. :) thaank you. And I feel that you're a great person too, loving your folks as such. But sometimes we can't blame those people who don't respect their parents. As you know respect is earned, and being just a biological parent does not give y you automatic respect, you have to be a "real parent" for the young ones. You get my drift?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I get that. And yes, respect is earned. Respecting the parents depends on the situation too, and like what you have said, those who experienced the consequences are also understood. The thing is, there are different situations.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

"It is not a responsibility, but rather AN ACT OF LOVE." My tears flow down when I reached to this part. Literally. I just realized now that because of the word responsibility, I am burdened. I just realized now that it is really an act of love and it makes it easier. Thank you for this one. It helped me realized a lot. I am a breadwinner of the family and I am really having a difficulty as of now, but because of this article it seems that everything will be easy from now on. Because of love.

Thank you so much. ✨☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awww. It was my pleasure! πŸ’š I didn't know that this article would impact differently to someone. I just wrote it out of thoughts. I hope you receive a lot of blessings so you could provide something for your parents. I wish that you get the best in all things so you can give back to your parents and that you will not encounter any difficulties again! πŸ’― We'll pray for that, for every son and daughter here, who is paying back to their parents. πŸ’š

You are welcome! And I hope you realized better. It was my pleasure to know that this piece from made an impact to someone who is struggling with the same matter.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This truly made a lot of impact. I am really thankful to read this article. You are wonderful. God bless you always. πŸ˜‡β˜ΊοΈ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are wonderful too. God bless you and may He give you everything you need. πŸ™

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you. You as well. ☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

For me, its not a Responsibility. My parents never obliged me to do so. They said that, I should just work on for myself, but a big NO! I know I will payed them back sooner or later..☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My parents always tell me to strive harder so I could get a better life in the future. But yeah, maybe they think that I am working something for myself but they have no idea how much I dreamed of paying back on them big time. πŸ™β€οΈ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If giving to our parents feels so much easier and feels good, it's an act of love. But if a child do it like it's a burden and it's a lot of work, then maybe the child just do it because he feels guilty and that he feels responsible for his parents. Well, we all have different perspective regarding this topic.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

But I agree with your points. If a child who is giving something to their parents and they feel so good, then that is an act of love. And when they give something but feel annoyed in doing so, then that makes it just a responsibility for them. Awwww. You just hit a point and I was so happy to read them. Thanks you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is also the question that I wanted my parents to answer. Sometimes, I feel like they are giving me the feeling of being obliged to provide. I'm not complaining for that. What I am afraid of is that what if one day, I fail to give? Would that make me less of a daughter?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aww. That is another situation which I really understand. I mean, the pressure of not giving something since they might talk about how much sacrifices they gave and had to do while raising us. I really hope you have the wider understanding of why they sometimes make you feel responsible of paying back to them. Try to understand them as much as possible, and I can see your good heart when you told me that you do not complain at all. Great job! I wish that God provides everything you need for your parents & for yourself. πŸ’―

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, sometimes I just understand them and I didn't complain even once though I really wanted to speak. I'm just thankful that I managed to control myself for them not to feel bad. Thank you so much for the greta wishes! ❀️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're welcome! And I think you deserve everything and a lot of blessings for being such a cool and amazing daughter to your parents. What a great job. ❀️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have read before that it is not a resposibility, obligation or a requirement. Yep, maybe it is an act of expressing your love to them but it is not a responsibility

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes. Absolutely! My parents also tell me to strive harder and be successful so I could have a better life & not because I need to provide for them. It is not a responsibility, but if we pay back to our parents as our appreciation for their sacrifices in raising us, then that is the act of love.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can't add more, you explained it well!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you! 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think parents want to be paid back in achievements

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awww. Coming from someone in stand of the parents, that is true. They just want to see their kids enjoying life and achieving their dreams. And that would be the greatest pay back of all time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Not a responsibility but a common sense πŸ˜… and what you have said, an act of love..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes ate. I agree po. Common sense nalang talaga kung bigla ka nalang makakalimot sa magulang eh 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In everything you do, do it with love. Indeed, it is not our responsibility to pay back our parents rather, it is a privilege for us to return the favor and sacrifices that they have done for us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It may not be a responsibility, but it should be an act of our love. Show them how we love them through appreciating their existence and sacrifices, plus giving something that would make them happy even if it just means showing them our achievements. πŸ’š

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nope I guess. But I have been paying back my parents, for the entire duration of my work. Hehe. Its not your responsibility though, I find responsible to give back. πŸ™‚ An expression of gratitude. And anyway, I love my parents soooo, in as much I want to give them what they deserve.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is not a responsibility, but rather an act of love. I agree with your stand. We must give them something they deserve even if it consume most of our time. Let us make their life time worth it and show our gratitude as much as possible, just like what you have said. Also, I love my parents too and I don't think I can stand the thought of ignoring them. πŸ’―

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is not responsibility, children does not owe parents because parents wanted a child first. But as we grow up and become responsible it became an act of love if we pay back our parents.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ABSOLUTELY MY POINT. πŸ’― You just got it right. Yes, parents chose to bring us in this world and we obviously don't owe them anything. What we are doing to pay back for their sacrifices was an act of love. We pay back because we love them, and not because we are responsible to do so.

By the way, thank you so much for sharing this insight from you. I really appreciated you dropping by. πŸ’š

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes. I don't like parents who pressure their kids just to pay them back because in the first place child didn't chose them first and likewise I don't like children who does not cherish their parents as well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, parents chose to have kids and raise them but it does not mean we should not pay back. We have to give something back in appreciation to their sacrifices like respecting, loving, and taking care of them when they need to.

$ 0.00
2 years ago