How Empathy Works

27 81
Avatar for charmingcherry08
2 years ago

Let me have a change of topic. I have been thinking well and studying about this issue before turning it into an article. Every time I decide on a topic, I want to make sure that I have enough ideas about it. In this piece, let me discuss how Empathy works and its types. 

First, I know that you will think about the difference between sympathy and Empathy. The two may sound the same, and there is one distinct difference between the two. I have read somewhere that sympathy is more likely from the brain while Empathy is from emotions or the heart.

According to the things I learned from listening to a podcast channel, “Stuff You Should Know,” there are two types of Empathy; Effective and Cognitive Empathy. Let me explain these two deeper.

Effective Empathy

You can also call it Emotional Empathy. It is more of showing your Empathy because of emotions and what you feel towards a situation. You can describe it as putting your feet in the shoes of others. Sometimes we think we are affected when someone is hurt or if they are in their darkest and worst days.

We sometimes imagine ourselves in the situation of others, like measuring the pain and sadness they might be feeling. Practical Empathy works for emotional people, and we experience this once in a while.

For example, your friend’s father died. You feel the pain of losing someone because you put yourself in their situation. And when you go to the funeral, you see your friend or the relatives crying, and you will call too. That is the exact description of how Effective or Emotional Empathy works.

Cognitive Empathy

By reading the term “cognitive,” maybe some of you already know how this kind of Empathy works. Cognitive Empathy is superior among the two types. It is almost like sympathy because it allows someone to understand the feelings of another person.

I will use the example I mentioned above. Knowing that your friend’s father died, you already understand the pain the whole family is feeling. It is like having an idea of what a person might feel when circumstances happen.

But for me, there is another type which is Compassion. Maybe Effective and Cognitive should come together to have an end goal. I believe that the two can be one, and they can work better.

The ultimate objective that I want to prove about this is being more careful on showing Empathy where Effective or Cognitive. Sometimes it takes courage and enough urge to make someone feel that you got their back or that you understand what they are going through.

Knowing about these types of Empathy, I came up with a realization. No matter how Empathy works on us, whether Effective or Cognitive, we will all turn out to have Empathy towards others. Maybe some people think that they have already lost it or are not feeling it anymore, but I know it was still in there deep down.

There is nothing wrong with showing Empathy to someone, whether it is because you feel their pain or have an idea about the heart-breaking situation. Never forget to be human. Do not ignore that feeling of being soft to someone. You will not lose anything in giving Empathy, but instead, you can have a chance to make someone feel they’re worth it.

If you know someone is struggling or having a hard time, you can ease their pain or hardships a little by telling them how you can relate to them. And when you talk to someone, but they seem to hide that they are hurting, you can tap their shoulders and make them feel that you understand them.

Showing Empathy does not mean you need to cry with them. Sometimes your presence and gestures already mean everything to them. The tapping of shoulders and the words that make them feel that you understand them are enough to at least make them feel okay for a while.



Author's Remarque:

Rest assured that this article went through plagiarism detection for everyone's peace of mind. It is for the readers and users who take plagiarism as a big deal since they are working to improve the platform. The detection made will serve as my contribution to the said purpose. I am one of you, and I am starting it with my article.

If you have any hesitation and doubts, you can check it yourself through these three plagiarism detectors I used.


Want To Connect With Me?

Drop a direct message or comment on my:


If you still have time, here's some of my latest articles:


Crypto-related Articles:


Date Published: October 10, 2021

17
$ 12.36
$ 11.93 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @tired_momma
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 9
Sponsors of charmingcherry08
empty
empty
Avatar for charmingcherry08
2 years ago

Comments

Very informative writing about Sympathy and Empathy. I used to think these two are almost same. But reading your article, I have understood a little difference is prevailing between them. Indeed, very organised writing deserves worth reading.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awww. I hope it helped you well and will surely have an impact to you as a person. Thank you for reading my piece, mate. I hope you a great day ahead!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, of course, it does. This is an informative article we can learn something from it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You chose a very interesting topic and you explained it very welI. so, as a result empathy is about experiencing that situation and sympathy is about understanding that situation...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you. Yeah, to explain it shorter, you already said the main point. Thanks for dropping by.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If i did not happen to read this article, i would never know that empathy has two types. You comprehensively explained it. I like as well that your choice of words are not that deep because I easily get understand the points that you are trying to explain. ❤❤❤ Thank you for this article!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Awww. Yeah, I do have a purpose in using not too deep words. It is for every users and readers who will read my piece. You are welcome, and let me thank you for appreciating my composition. 💚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A powerful point to be noted....we must learn to show concern, even though we dont speak it out but in our expression. You explained and broke it down perfectly and I appreciate your effort towards it.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you so much for agreeing to me. We must learn how to give concern and care to people. Sometimes it is better to explain things well. It will help a lot and it can help us convey messages.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hay tantas personas hoy en día faltas de empatia. Y es doloroso verlo inclusive de hijos a padres y viseversas y le digo estos porque son los que por esta falta causan mas dolor. Linda noche mi bella amiga. Adore este artículo ya que es un tema bien presente entre mi hijo y yo. Claro esta que el falta de empatia es el.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I don't know how to reply since I can't understand what you're saying. Sorry.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Love it so much the article makes me better understand the difference between of the two, Sympathy involves understanding from your own perspective. Empathy involves putting yourself in the other person's shoes and understanding WHY they may have these particular feelings.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yup. You just pointed out my stand. Thank you so much for reading.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Its very nice article things are explained very well in detail. Main thing is you used simple English here which turns things more attractive and understandable.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you. And yes, I am usually using simple and basic English because I want everyone to understand every points and topics I want to share here.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes tama po hindi naman sa pag iyak lang makikita po ang empathy basta manggagaling sa puso ay iyun po talaga ang importante.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Tama. Minsan kasi iba yung pagkakaintindi ng mga tao kapag sinabing empathy eh. Thank you for dropping by. 😌💯

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Opo kaya nga po eh. Walang anuman po. 🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

💚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like how you discussed those two, it widens our understanding more about empathy

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you so much. I hope this article helps. 😌

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In my work, empathy and sympathy statements are always used. You explained it so well. ❣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah. Empathy and sympathy should be understood well in able to be more responsible individuals, anywhere.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for sharing that and you did good research about that topic bhe.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you, ate. 💚 Ingat po.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Many people think that empathy is weakness.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

But, empathy is a strength right?

$ 0.00
2 years ago