Writing For A Cause: Helping The Affected AxieBCH Scholars Of Typhoon Odette

Avatar for bmjc98
Written by
2 years ago

In the Philippines, the month of December isn't just about the season to be jolly, but it is also a month of numerous disasters. Usually, there will be fire, heavy rain, or flood that causes so much damage to many and even loss of their loved ones or their own lives, which is sad because it happens a few days or sometimes, a day before Christmas.

So hard to edit pics with my current connection

This month, though I'm not sure how many calamities have hit the country so far, the typhoon Odette was the most recent and the only one that I know of (sorry, I just stopped watching the news for almost a year already). As most of you know, Leyte, the place where I am located, was also affected by the said typhoon. Luckily, it didn't cause any damage at all in our neighborhood. We are, however, only experiencing a power shortage and no internet connection for more than 24 hours. Other than that, we are totally fine. Thank God, the typhoon Odette didn't hit us hard.

I was really surprised that that was just it as I heard it was an intense one. A day before, my mom already bought a 1-week supply of food just in case something serious came up. But as I've said, it was just strong winds and light rain so we were very grateful that it didn't cause us much or lose our roofs again.

While everything was shut down here, I couldn't help but worry about my Axie and my events here. I know some of you are expecting my next article and getting a super upvote, so my mind at that moment was like, "I needed to publish my article now." Sadly, I couldn't do anything. Then just an hour ago, around 1 am, I decided to check my phone as I was charging it. Then I noticed it was already fully charged so I took the charger off and checked the signal. Finally, the signal is on again!

As soon as I get to go online, I went on to check Discord for updates. There, I saw my fellow scholars (also club fam) like @nheng1118 and @JiroXShin worrying about my whereabouts. The last time they heard about me was the night the typhoon hit our area. I was touched when I saw their messages. Also, on Telegram, I received a bunch of DMs from the club fam, including PVM, asking for my current status. I felt kinda emotional upon seeing their DMs as it made me feel loved.

Going back on Discord, they made a full list of names who are affected by the said typhoon. One of them is Jersy, my super-duper-closed buddy since 2009. When I checked his DM, he showed me a picture of his house minus the roof. His house is made of light material and is residing on higher ground, so it's no surprise that he will get affected too. After all, Cebu is one of the most affected areas in Visayas. Here is a photo he sent me.

@Jersy

Jersy is from Cebu City and has been a good friend of mine ever since. He has 3 sons aged 5 to 13 years old. Since he is the only one providing for their family as his wife is a full-time mom, it will surely take him some time to fully recover this.

It was really depressing to see the photo knowing that he has been saving money to buy some delicious food for the kids this Christmas. If only BCH price is high, it would be a lot easier to share some for them, especially for the kids. But since it's not, I need to grind more to be able to share enough for all my fellow scholars who are affected by this.

Then here's another real-life friend and aformer colleague, Ruffy. She has just messaged me these photos of their place.

Aside from them, there's Kayrii, a teenage guy from Cebu as well. Their house is also one of the many who got affected by the recent typhoon. Kayrii is one of those teenage guys who joined AxieBCH scholarship in the hope that he could help his parents financially.

Kayrii's

We also have @Clockey, Roel, Kryptonite, Pale, and a few others. These real-life buddies are all from Negros Occidental and what I've heard from Clock, it was signal #4 in their area. You can tell how strong the typhoon was with the photos they shared in AxieBCH Dojo.

Clock's

According to him, everything has been wiped out by typhoon Odette. Such a terrible sight! Clock was supposed to be saving money to surprise his mom this Christmas but obviously, he needs to postpone his plan for now.

Roel's

This one was from Roel. Sad that even those big trees didn't make it. With this kind of damage, I think it will take weeks for them to recover.

Pale's

Here's a photo from Pale. He even said that to secure their roof, he had to stay up there. He also mentioned that he was able to play adventure while he was on the tree. Poor Pale even in this condition he still finds ways to complete his daily quota just to earn more. Too bad he won't able to use his earnings for Christmas as it would surely be allocated to fixing their home.

Kryptonite's

Lastly, we have Kryptonite's. Another sad sight as you can see. There's no way your house would survive this if those big trees would fall right into your roof.

There are more photos to be shared for sure but some of the affected AxieBCH scholars are still offline at the moment. I just hope they are all fine though. I hope none of them have suffered even more like losing a loved one or something.

Honestly, I feel ashamed of myself when I saw their photos. Before I got the signal back, I was only worried about the internet connection, the power supply, and not being able to play Axie or make some BCH through writing and making noise. Then as soon as I checked Discord, I learned that many of my fellow scholars have suffered a lot. They lost their homes and most of them won't have a normal celebration this Christmas for sure.

Since I can't donate cash coz I barely have any, I decided to help out sis @nheng1118's fundraising campaign for our dear friends in AxieBCH Dojo by writing an article about it. Aside from us, @JiroXShin is helping out and also doing another fundraising for her sister's guild. Oh, we also have the #BrigadeApollo who's doing their fundraising too.

So on behalf of the AxieBCH family, I am here humbly asking for your help by either upvoting this article or sharing this on noise or Twitter. All upvotes from this article will be added to our Fundraising wallet. Rest assured that everything will be transparent here. I will also keep you all posted from time to time.

bitcoincash:qqej3hfh0dh3w3ak277ydfraw7r5hq967uxnwcjt0x

Any amount will do. No pressure. If you don't have any, it's okay; however, if it's possible, could you tweet this article or share it on noise, please? Any kind of help is much appreciated.

The more people see this article, the better and hopefully, more upvotes to receive too. By the way, here is the list of the affected scholars of AxieBCH:

You can also visit them on noise to show them your support:

Closing thoughts

I know we all need money for Christmas and we have bills that need to be taken care of, too, but if you are one of those who have a little extra, even $0.05 is highly much appreciated.

Oh, the Give Love, Give BCH On Christmas Day is still on and the other events I initiated. For this month, I don't mind not having any BCH to save coz I think it's the best time to give, especially since many are needing it the most.


34
$ 132.94
$ 30.00 from @OLICRYPTO
$ 20.00 from @JonicaBradley
$ 16.14 from @TheRandomRewarder
+ 30
Sponsors of bmjc98
empty
empty
Avatar for bmjc98
Written by
2 years ago
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

Hi, I just read this article. I don't know if it helps but I had to contribute as well. We all have one another as human beings in times of need. Wish everyone a Merry Christmas.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

On behalf of the affected AxieBCH scholars, thank you for this huge upvote, and Merry Christmas!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are doing a noble thing. I am very hurt by this typhoon. It is not without tears to look at these photos, at this destruction.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you. Just doing my share to help.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Seeing the pictures and the damage done makes me feel bad. I sometimes see these things and wish i could do something about it.

I wish you, your family and loved ones safety throughout this period.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

We are fine here, except for my relatives. Although their homes were not devastated but they also need some help. I hope they can recover soon tho. My focus for now is my AxieBCH friends whose homes are really affected.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The pictures are breaking my heart... I donated as much as I can.. God bless you all

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you so much, sis, for the help and support. God bless you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are doing God's work. Blessings

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah I had read the news and even some houses of our neighbors were affected too. Thankful ours was still intact. I am not earning much here in read cash so decided to use my prized in BCH hunt yesterday and added a little.

$ 0.25
2 years ago

Thank you. I saw the upvote and it means a lot to us. Thanks for adding to our fundraising wallet. And glad you guys are not affected by the typhoon. Stay safe!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You too MJ!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Stay safe and warm and dry.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you and especially for your huge upvote. 💚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sis so sorry to hear about what happened to your friends, it is so sad when natural disasters take away what people have worked so hard to achieve. Thank God there are no victims to mourn. I help you for now with what I can. And I will look to their posts in Noise to help. xoxo

$ 0.25
2 years ago

Some of them can't post anything due to unstable connection. But thank you, sis, for your help and support. It means a lot to us.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

It is really sad and frightening, may God protect you. I pray for you to keep this dangerous hurricane away from you

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Andami talagang casualties nung bago hayat. Wala pa pong laman wallet ko rito, but I'm praying for their recovery. Medyo masakit tignan niyan ate pero sana makabangon ulit sila. Di naman po ganoong kalala yung bagyo sa amin hehe. Actually, ambon lang ate

$ 0.25
2 years ago

Samin hangin lang talaga tas umulan lang ng kunti. And yes, sana maraming tulong na darating sa kanila para kahit papano mafeel pa rin nila ang pasko.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gosj, grabi talaga napinsala ni Odette. Pero I'm happy pa rin that they are all okay. Laban lang 💪💪🤗

$ 0.25
2 years ago

Oo, ang mahalaga, bahay lang ang nasira. Kaya pa naman yan palitan e. Ang importante walang nasaktan sa kanila.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This Odette is much stronger than Yolanda. It affected most of the Visayan and Mindanao regions. Unfortunately, our house wasn't safe from Odette also. Half of our roofing got blown away by the strong winds and a lot of our trees got uprooted.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That's sad to hear. During the typhoon Yolanda, our roof got blown away too. I think the entire roof. Good thing, the recent one didn't cause us a lot of trouble tho.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True. It's unstoppable. The least we can do is pray. But I'm glad they are safe and no lives have lost.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sorry for Philpines people. Here I also read two articles about Typhoon in Philippines. Thanks God you are safe and sad about your friend @Jersi. Natural disasters can't be stopped but we kinda can pray to God for our protection and prevention.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

True. It's unstoppable. The least we can do is pray. But I'm glad they are safe and no lives have lost. With the help from everyone, at least they can still feel the spirit of Christmas amidst of the situation.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really wanted to help but my one of my family too is in the same condition with his family .Sobrang nakakatungkot Ang nangyari dahil sa bagyo. May God bless them at marami pa sanang mabuting puso Ang tumulong .

$ 0.25
2 years ago

Sana okay lang kayo jan. Okay lang kahit wala kang ma upvote. Sapat na sakin na you took the time to read this. Salamat.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My heart is in pain to see their plight, they are really having a difficult time. May Almighty help them to get out of it.I appreciate your efforts to help them.

$ 0.25
2 years ago

Thank you. This is the least I can do to help them. I hope with this effort, I can accumulate more BCH for them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Even in a small way its big a lot to help. Yesterday we give our family a foodpack for the family being affected and this morning we made a breakfast for them. Maybe tomorrow we will continue to support for them even us we affected we are lucky and glad that our home still intact thats why we provide share the blessing to them

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I feel emotional reading this, they must be affected with Christmas coming a few days from now they have to worry about mending the damages.

I hope to contribute more before the day runs out, my prayers are with my family in the Philippines.

$ 0.25
2 years ago

Your prayers are enough. But yeah, I would accept any amount you give. So far, we have $160 but hope we can add more.

My other fellow scholars are also doing their share to accumulate more BCH for them. We still have until 22 so hopefully.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So sad to see those photos. Madam sa samar ba apektado? Wala pa kc reply family ko.. And is it okay to upvote here my donation?,

Wallet ko dn madidrain this month, all for giving not receiving 😁. But it's okay. It's Christmas anyway. And I'm doing this once in a blue moon only.

$ 0.25
2 years ago

Hindi ko alam sa samar, madam, pero yung southern leyte, affected din. Mahirap data namin dito as in struggle talaga. Na contact mo na ba sila?

And ako din talaga, wala rin pero okay lang. Ngayon lang din to. And congrats sa badge mo. Galing!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Feeling sad for them. I'm on it. I will send help as much as possible.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you so much. That means a lot to me and them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So sad ang nahitabo karon, same sa ako papa and kuya nga wala na ang mga balay. I hope nga tanan apektado, makarecover kauban ang akong family sa Cebu.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Ampo lang ta. Pero ngalan na resilient tang mga pinoy, bisan unsa pa man gali na, maningkamot man jud ta na musurvive. Kaya ra ni nato. Ampo lang jud.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes sis, AMPO lang jud ta permi. Maka-survive ra tanang maapektuhan. Di ta pasagdan sa Ginoo, salig lang ta sa itaas permi

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Omg kawawa naman po sila ate MJ, wala din po ako masyado earnings eh. Sana po matulungan sila.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Kawawa nga e. Yung friend ko si jersy ang inaalala ko. Siya lang kasi naghahanap buhay sa kanila and imbes ba pambili ng pang noche buena at pandagdag sa pagpapaayos ng CR nila yung sa Axie niya, ayun ubos lahat sa pag papaayos ng bubong nila at iba pang damage.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So sad to hear, wish you more safety, and may you get the needing support.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you. I saw you upvoted this article so thank you so much, youngdim.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope and wish I can contribute more sis, my prayer is with you all.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sorry for this I would have supported but I new and I have lot of expense on me I would have given aleast 100$😁

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It's okay. No worries. I know we all have our financial problems too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That right

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hala, grabe jud d.i si Odette ate no🤦‍♀ Wala jud nagpatawad ba papasko na din in.ana pa🤦‍♀

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Kaya nga e. Grabe talaga tapos me paparating pa daw na bagyo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As in ate akala ko last na si Odette🤦‍♀

$ 0.00
2 years ago