What does "SUCCESS" mean to you?

Avatar for bmjc98
Written by
3 years ago

This is my entry for @Eirolfeam2's 1 dollar question giveaway. If you want to join this giveaway, please check her post HERE to learn more about it.Β 

So, for this giveaway, the question is,Β What does "SUCCESS" mean to you?

For many, success means one who has achieved his greatest desire in life. It can be that he is living in his dream house, buy his ideal (or probably, the most expensive) car, be the boss of his very own company, holds thousands to millions of dollars, and so much more.Β 

But for me, success isn't just about the things you have earned, but it is more about the lessons you learned during your journey. It is something no money can buy.Β 

So, let me just tell you a short story...

I remember when dad used to tell me, "I won't let you study in Cebu (one of the biggest cities in the Philippines) because it is too risky for you." Risky in the sense that I was born with a disability, and Cebu, back then, was known for killings here and there. So, he let me study in their province in Negros Oriental instead, to avoid the option of going to Cebu.

Fast forward, dad passed away when I was 20. A year or two after that, my sister asked me to go to Cebu to attend to his newborn baby, the first nephew in the family. And another year after that, I managed to get a job in a BPO company. No, not as a customer service representative, but as a data entry operator, a non-voice job.Β 

Being an employee with a disability in a big city was never easy. It was so darn terrifying for me. The daily transportation, the crowded places, the fear of being snatched, or the possibility of being a hit-and-run victim; these were my biggest fears and my struggles back then. But I was able to surpass all of these. Not because I need to, but because I had to. Although I don't need to go through any of this. However, I decided to experience all the hardships because I wanted to prove to myself that I could do this on my own even if people doubted me and mocked me.Β 

Yes, I survived city life, but did my job give me the life everyone has ever dreamed of? No, but it gave me the courage to face the real world despite my fears, and that is what success means to me. It did not give me the life I wanted, but it gave me the lessons, experience, and people I met along the way that I will forever be grateful for.

And that's all. Thank you.

By the way................

This will also be my entry to @Macronald's sponsorship. If you guys want to be sponsored by him, please do check his post HERE. Hurry up before it's too late!

And my entry for @Mj123's Post your best article and earn upvotes.

PS: I hope this article will be qualified for @Macronald's and @Mj123's sponsorship and upvote promo. I know I'm only using 1 article for the 3 events, but I just don't have much time to write 1 article per author coz I also have another article writing job here. So, I hope this will be okay.

Got this from @Dolores

Before I end this post, I would like to thank @Dolores for this awesome and super cute banner. If you guys want something like this, please do subscribe to her page to get more updates. I bet you know her, but if you don't, then now is the time to know her more.

**Used Unsplash for the lead image.

48
$ 1.11
$ 0.86 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.25 from @Eirolfeam2
Sponsors of bmjc98
empty
empty
Avatar for bmjc98
Written by
3 years ago
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

Life is difficult and really unfair but you're so brave enough to face those challenges in life. πŸ’–

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you, sis. And yes, you either face the reality or live your life with lots of fears.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ate! Thank you so much for joining my giveaway event, and for sharing your story to us. I must admit, I had goosebumps reading your article. This is indeed inspiring. You are so brave and courageous to face all of the hardships and challenges in life, even if you have a disability. Although I don't have any idea about your situation, but let me correct that one. You are not disabled, you are differently abled. You can do things that other people can't, and that makes you special. Indeed, success does not only refer to the material outcomes of our hardwork, but also about the lessons that we learned on our journey. This is nice. :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm glad you liked it. I'm just glad there is no right or wrong to this question coz it took me a while to come up with something to write. πŸ˜‹πŸ₯°

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh, so there's a contest about this goin on. I made a short article about success too recently, lol! what a coincidence. Anyway, success has lots of faces. I'm sure how you fought life back in Cebu City is success in itself.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You should join. I think you still have time. Or use that article for this giveaway.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I will try. Thanks and i'm connecting with you, would appreciate if you can connect back.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow, you faced that hardship all alone even with your disability, that is determination to succeed and you did... Am happy for you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you.. and yes, I did!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

wow, that is great anyway, I also submitted my own entry

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yay! That's great! The more participants, the merrier.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

sure

$ 0.00
3 years ago

buena publicacion

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sorry, English please.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Success not literally mean we get what we want.Its about fulfilling all the things that we aim for not only for our good but also for the good of the peopke around.We cannot say that we're already successful if we have car and beautiful houses,because success doesn't define the things that we have in life its all about reaching our hoals in life which make us a more productive individual.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This could be your entry for @Eirolfeam2.. you should join!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think success is relative. We define our success. A lady may feel successful after getting married and having kids, another may feel success is in achieving her carer goal. When each achieves their foals, they have succeeded.

Btw. You used one stone to kill three bird. The article is great but It may not make it to the final 20. As it's published for a giveaway. If you can, publish another for the sponsorship, if not, maybe next time.

Thank you for the good read.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Will do. Thank you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Success is relative and differs from one another. Everyone has a personal view on what success is. It might be as simple as buying a car to complicated targets like being the CEO of a big company. Same thing can be said about dreams and life goals too.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yup, it all depends on someone's point of view.. Btw, you should participate too.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ah. sadly i didn't pay attention to the deadline. I can't participate as the contest is over now. But thanks for mentioning it :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You should check your notif from time to time to see updates like this.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah. You are right. I don't check the notifications frequently so that's normal.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Success is the state or condition of meeting a defined range of expectations. It may be viewed as the opposite of failure. The process of learning is entirely dependent on success.It involves making a prediction and paying attention to the outcome of an event. Success in a discipline or an industry involves a normalisation of expectations.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

So true,success is all about the lessons life has taught us,,... Let's live out life let's learn all we need to know that's what success is all about

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Did you join the contest? You should. ☺️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This life is difficult, it definitely appears to be unbalanced therefore they will always be success and failure. You can only increase your chances of success by hardwork and a bit of beneficial karma πŸ˜”

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You should join the contest. Don't waste your thoughts in my comment section. Although I'm thankful that you are here expressing your thoughts. Still, you should write something and submit it to them.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ouch πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚. That hurts a bit but I understand.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

No.. I mean.. you have your thoughts, and it would be great to write a long one for the contest.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

No no it's cool I understood what you said πŸ˜‚no problem.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Aww, that's cool then! 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

If you desire for something and then try best to achieve it. You face a lot of difficulties but you never give up and work day and night to complete it. If you find your destination then you are a successful person for me. By the way best of luck for the contest

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You should write your thoughts now and join the contest. There is no right or wrong in this contest because it is all about your opinion.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

it was mindblowing and i am agreed with you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh, okay, thank you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago