Playing Chess For The First Time In 3 Years

75 98
Avatar for bmjc98
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Chess, Game

It has been 3 years or so since the last time I actually played chess. My last real-life opponent was my dearest friend Jersy. I probably defeated him several times, and whenever we talked about it, he would insist that I only won because he never paid attention to the game. Lol. What an excuse!

And just as today, I got to play chess again after a long time. Thankfully, @Kain_niaK is also a chess player like me. When he learned that I also play chess, he then invited me for a game.

His reaction

I bet he got excited to meet a fella who can play a chess game. I mean, not everyone likes this board game, though. Others actually find it boring since it comes with a lot of analysis and, sometimes, would even take an hour or so to finish your opponent.

By the way, I learned chess when I was probably 5 or 6 years old. It was my dad and my 2 brothers who influenced me to learn this game. I remembered how my brother taught me the basic moves for each piece, and for some reason, I managed to learn them easily.

I also had my first big win against a neighbor who was probably 3-5 years older than me while I was only 8, I guess. He even had to pay me 1 peso at that time coz that was our bet. Lol. During summer, whenever my family would visit my grandparents, most of my male cousins would challenge me for a few rounds. Not to brag, but I got to beat most of them. Perhaps, they just let me won the game, though.

And now, I'm happy that I met an opponent again after 3 years. I felt proud when I made Kain Queenless first. Unfortunately, he found an opportunity to check my King with his Knight while my Queen was at risk. I had no other choice but to move my King to the safer ground; while I let his Knight killed my Queen. That was the time that both our Kings became widowed or Queenless. Lol.

Poor King.

In the end, he managed to outsmart me and won our first game. Of course, I told him that I wanted a rematch next time, and he agreed. Despite losing the match, I was still happy with his feedback. I was also satisfied with my performance. I mean, I hadn't played chess for a long time, yet I took his Queen first and lasted the game for long.

I've got a feeling that this will be the beginning of our 1-on-1 game. I'll make sure to beat him next time. I heard he likes word games, too. I might as well try that one in the future. Aside from chess, I love scrabble, word factory, games of the general, and sudoku. Well, what do you expect from someone who can't play physical games outside? Lol.

Anyway, if you are a chess player, let me know, and we can play a game or two in the future. Join me here.

Closing thoughts

I'm glad we had this game, though, because it helped me find a topic to write about without the need to stress myself. However, I wish I could record the game to show you how our first match went. Of course, only chess players can relate to this, and even with a video, those who are not a fan will not understand a thing.


27
$ 8.65
$ 8.01 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Eybyoung
$ 0.05 from @Judith1969
+ 15
Sponsors of bmjc98
empty
empty
Avatar for bmjc98
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Chess, Game

Comments

I'm no expert in chess, but I won a few games already (I played with other beginners online)... Last year I watched Queen's Gambit (the Netflix series, you need to watch it if you like chess!) and I fell in love with the game. It's so complex and you need to be really smart to play it - that's what I like about it, it's not boring in any way. 😃

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sis, challenge kunu mo sa lichess sa ahong pares kay nangita sya pud ug kaduwa.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ma pressure man sad ta ani ui. HAHAHAH. Murag feeling naku maayo na imu pares. hahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha, ka tigo2 gamay sis hahaha mao may iyang bisyo gud pud chess hahaha waman syay lingaw kay wa kunu syay kaduwa kay ako di man ko kamao hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Share lang hehehe! Yung asawa ko yung talagang naglalaro ng chess since whenever. May mga sinalihan na rin syang mga competitions within the country huhu kakaproud moment hehehe! Inattempt ko sya kalabanin kaso waley talaga ako. Out of 7 matches, sya lahat panalo! Tas may isang game na inubos nya talaga pieces ko. Kklk sya. Hehehe!

Anywaaay, proud asawa moment lang whenever I see na chess ang topic kase lagi ko binibida asawa ko hahaha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haha bogoa jud nakog chess oi di sad gyud ko kamao. faetz. mga brayt man daw og math ang mga chess players.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wooaah. I love playing chess also😁. I joined 2 times in our intramurals when I was grade 11 and 12 at CIT-U. Hehe we've won the championship noon grade 11 ako but that was played by team. 4 players by team. May number kami every player and kung sino yung kapareha mo ng number sa ibang team yun yung kabalan. I mean like for example you're board 2. Yung nakakalaban mo is yung board 2 din sa lahat ng team. Then padamihan lang ng winner. We won the 1st place that time and that was my 1st time joining chess tournament.

Let's play sometimes hehehe. Di nadin ako nakakalaro for 3years na hehehe. Nag message po ako sa lichess😁

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Ayeii. Parang mapapasabak ako nito. Wag mo naman akong talunin agad agad ha. Sige laro tayo bukas. :) DM mo ko sa telegram kung meron ka. :) same username. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Is chess game not hard to play I don't even know how to move those players on it What am I even saying I don't know the name of those things on it self I only know it is called chess 🙄

$ 0.02
2 years ago

HAHAHAH. Well, there's a King, Queen, Bishops, Knights, Rooks, and Pawns. They are pretty easy but for beginners, it can be that difficult to learn. But trust me, it's not that hard once you get the hang of it. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmmm it sound so easy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mo duwa sad ko ug chess pero aminado ko na di ko lihiro pareha sa akong manoy. Highschool ko nakamao ug duwa ug chess ate pero wa gyud ko nag focus ana di pareha sa akong manoy. Kahinumdum pa ko adtong 2018, 1st year college ko. Intramurals namo tapos pareha mi ug team sa akong manoy. Coordinator siya sa chess ug iya ko gi encourage na mo apil pero hugot ko na mi dili niya. Pila nalang ka days magsugod na ang intramurals, natinga ko kay naay mi text nako na paadtuon daw ko sa clinic para sa medical clearance kay apil kuno ko sa player sa chess. Nangutana ko kung kinsay nag apil nako kay wa man gyud tawn ko nagpalista, ang tubag sa nag text ako kunong maguwang ang nag-apil nako. No choice nako mao mi apil nalang ko. Makatawa pa ko sa uban player na baje sa chess kay pag-abot nako sa venue nahadlok sila kay apil lage kuno ang manghud ni manoy, ako, wa paman sila kaila na ako diay ang manghud. Ilado man gud akong maguwang sa amo skwelahan basta about chess na kay usa man siya sa pambato sa amo skwelahan. Nauwaw ko kay dako ug expectations ang mga taw nako kay lage manghud ko sa chess player sa among skwelahan.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Unya unsay resulta? Daog ka? Ako, nakaapil sad ko unya akong ka compete maestra. HAHAHAH. Nahuman na lang ang ubang players ug nag lahi ng kontra, kami wa pa nag daog. Sa kagutom naku, nasipyat kog move unya nakadaog siya. Pero okay ra kay the fact na pila me ka oras didto nag tinutukay, dugay ko niya napildi. HAHAH. Proud na ko ato.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gidaog-daog HAHAHAH. Ka duha ra kadaog tapos ka 3 pildi saon di man ko kamao mo checkmate 🤣 imbes King nlang ang sa kontra tapos ako naa pay mga officials mahurot nalaman sa cge ug tuyok2 🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're so cool madam. I never played chess before because I found it boring to play. I guess it's just not my thing. And you are so smart for learning chess as early as 5 years old

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I guess that's the result of being just a home buddy. Walay laing lingaw kay way so ang TV sauna. Mao nakat on ug sayo. Pati akong mga pag umangkon, gi anad namug chess. Pero di lang jud sila kaayo interested except atong isa.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nindot man pod ni nga game pangpa abtik sa utok. Puhon ug naay anak anaron naho ani kaso di ko kamao hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Di ako marunong maglaro nyan. Tingin ko sa mga nagchchess, matalino talaga. Need dyan magaling sa strategy, tsaka masusing moves.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Tumpak ka sa part ng magaling sa strategy. Dapat talaga alam mong basahin ang bawat galaw ng opponent mo or else, ilang moves ka lang magtatagal sa game. :) Pero hindi naman yan sa matalino lang, basta bet mo lang, kayang kaya mo yan. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

kung matuto man ako siguro nga ilang moves lang ako magtatagal. 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

-Hi Sis. I loved to play chess dati. Player lang. Pero has not tried it online. It's a nice game! Have a blessed day!💕💚❤

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hi sis. Active ka pa ba dito? Nakalimutan ko username mo kaya di kita mahanap. Try mo din mag online maganda din siya.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hindi talaga ako mag chess, kahit nung nag aaral pa ako. Gusto ko sana mag laro nyan kaso walang magtuturo sakin kasi wala namang marunong sa pamilya ko. Hay

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Sayang naman. Pero it's never too late to learn naman. Yun lang baka hindi mo na bet.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's one game I haven't tried even though my brother plays with his friends. I have only admired the game from the screen in movies.

I learned that it requires top IQ to be good at it and you have just proven to be one of the most intelligent people in the world.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Well, guess what? The fact that I can play this game is a sign that you don't need to have a top IQ to learn this game. You just need to learn the basic moves and strategies in order for you to survive. :) Wish you could play, though.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I can learn because of you so we can always play.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Let me know when you can play this. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Let's go!! Haha kidding. I like chess. My dad taught me the basics. I would say it is not boring. But it does test your patience and attention. I never won against one friend lols. Repeat. Never. People who see the board and the game play with a range of three moves ahead are deadly..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yay! Laro tayo next time. :) HEHE. The three moves checkmate is too common na. Anyone who plays chess several times can no longer be tricked by that move. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I know chess, I played it before but, I didn't pursue that kind of game. When my friends taught me the basic moves of each, I was so aggressive to learn more and watch many game of an expert player, I really enjoy of every move they did and surprised! Really how they did that? everytime they move unexpectedly that they will end the game in that kind of move. Wow! hehe peru di kaya ng utak ko ang ganon pang iisip advance pa sa lahat hahaha peru, DAMA nalang nakakapag laro pako niyan.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Mas bobita ako sa DAMA. Marunong ako niyan pero di ako marunong talunin yung kalaban. HAHAHAH.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha pa humble pa eh haha maganda kase DAMA kase walang Queen at king na poprotektahan , haha pa ubosan lang bato.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I haven't played in my years of existence 🤣🤣🤣😂. I've played in my head and also watched so many chess movies, does that count? 😂😂🤣😂.

I love your attitude to it and seeing how you were bold to challenge him again after the first defeat. Well done.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

HAHAHA. I think so. Let me know if you're not busy so we could play and test whether or not you have learned something from watching chess in movies. :) HEHEHE.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

🤣🤣🤣🤣😂🤣😂 I have learnt nothing other than their names. I don't even know how they move except the rook...I think.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

HAHAHAHAHAHAH. That is so funny. HAHA. Oh well. Too bad you have learned nothing from those movies. Would love to play chess with you if only you know at least the basic moves. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I better go and learn the basic moves. Don't worry, I will be more intentional about this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I haven't played chess in five years, not sure if I still remember the names of some important moves.

Could you possibly share a video of how the game went in your next post? I'd be glad to see it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Not sure how. Maybe I'll try to figure out next time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Chess master ka pala sis :) I learned how to play with it but I didn't get the chance to know more about it. It's a good brain exercise :) Glad you had fun.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Player lang sis Hindi master. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe sinabi mo sis eh okay :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like this guy kain_naik, he is rocking everywhere in the Bitcoin cash community. Great experience for you playing chess with such a great guy.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I know right. Despite his busy shed, he still gave time to play chess.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I haven't played chess in over 4 years, it's not really my thing but I was still good at it. At this point I don't think I can remember most of the strategies I came up with and even the ones I learnt.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I don't have strategies or techniques, I just move them according to my opponent's attack.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I do play chess but the last time I played was more than 20 years ago. I defeated my French boss... hahaha. I also like word games. Almost the games in my phone are word games but I eventually uninstalled them as it is quite heavy na for my phone.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Naks naman. Sure ako na pressure si boss nun. Hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I seldom play board games. Pero nagtatry din po ako niyang sudoku. Naglalaro kasi ako ng bahara. djk. Kaso di naman magaling.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Love ko dim sudoku kasi nakaka exercise ng utak.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I haven't played this game before and am not sure I want to because I know nothing about it

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha. Then this game isn't for you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I thought as much 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I adore people who can play chess. I am astonished more with young kids who are into the game. You had a great start after 3 years, I bet ypu will win next time :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I will do my best to win next time. I want to regain my rep. Hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

All the best sis! Cheering on you :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Favorite ko iyan na larong iyan chess haha Noong elementary ako muntik na sana ako makapasok sa top 2 kaso natalo ako doon saast match haha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha sa elementary, kincompete sa school lang naman kaso wala akong ka match nun kaya panalo agad ako. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

sanaol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahahah. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's a good thing to know how to play chess, I tried learning once and I don't think I'm really good at it though.... but I love the game, it's actually the only reason why I watched the Queens Gambit.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haven't seen that one. Glad you mentioned as I was currently looking for something to watch on Netflix. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

To be honest, I gave up playing chess just because I'm not so patient at all. Beside this, I can't remain silent for a long time.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

HAHAHAH. I love your ending statement. HAHa. Trust me, if you're about to lose, you can stay silent for a long time. LOL.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

During my elementary days, I competed for a school sportsfest for both dama and chess. And today, I barely remember strategies. 😅

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Galing naman. I never got competed in the interschool competitions. Wait, I think I did once. Pero I think I lost that one.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Na ako sis hindi ko talaga alam ng lr9 nng chess ng irap kasi intindihin ang hirap din ma unawan nang laro na yan kaya pag nag lalaro mga ka patid ko tumitingin lang talaga ako diko makuha eh.🤣😂

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Aw hindi talaga to para sa lahat. Sa mga interesado lang talaga siguro. :) Okay lang yan. I'm sure mas marami ka pang skills jan. :) Or talent.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sana all marunong sa chess, they said only smart people can play chess.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That means hindi totoo ang survey. HAHAHA. Hindi naman ako matalino. HEHE. Happy birthday!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol....widowed and Queenless...😂 So your father and brothers taught you to play this game.But I never played this game even for once,so haven't much knowledge about it but I am glad you find a opponent to play it after three years.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

HAHAHAH. That's what he said. "Both our kings are now widows." Lol.

Yes, they taught me at a very young age. From the basic moves to how to read your opponent's play. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ambot ba jud lamang anang chess sis uy. Maglisud jud kog duwa ana.😅 Nakaduwa ko kaisa kadtong sa P.E ra pud namo. After atu, wa na jud.hihi

$ 0.04
2 years ago

HAHAHAHHA. Nakatawa ko sis. Sige lang sis. I'm sure daghan pa kag mas importanteng talent ug skills kesa aning chess. Ako mao ra jud ni akong talent. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago