My job interview experiences

37 60
Blog 41
Date :March 17,2022 
Time :4:53pm

Finding a job is really hard especially if you didn't finish any degree. Just like me who is just a high school graduate.

Way back year 2005, after I graduated high school I decided to find a job in Cagayan de Oro City. For those who still didn't know I am a native resident of Bohol. If you might wonder why of all places, I wanted to find a job in Cagayan de Oro City I've written an article about it. Just click meeee if you want to read it. Anyway back to our main topic. My aunt accompany me when I tried to find a job and had my first job interview at the mini grocery store. The lady was talking to me and asking me about my details but since it was my first ever job interview I didn't have any idea how to react and answer her questions. I was so nervous and didn't bother to glance at the lady who interviewed me. The lady said "Day, asa man ka nagtan aw naa rako sa imong atubangan sige man ka ug duko? (why are you facing elsewhere I am just in front of you?) in short, she didn't hire me. The next day my cousin was with me while looking for a job. I was only 15 years old at that time and I don't have any idea what job I can get by that age. Below 18 years old are not allowed to work. I tried my luck to apply at the Retail and Wholesale (RTW) store owned by Chinese people. They speak Tagalog. They already have a sales lady and they are looking for another saleslady. The Chinese owner asks me how old I am and I just pretend that I am already 18, though it's not really believable because of how I look and I was so short hahaha back then. Lol even until now. The Chinese owner asks me also if I know how to input details into an official receipt. I honestly don't know how to but the sales lady from that store told me that she will just teach me the correct way to input details into an official receipt. she was talking to me in our own dialect "so the Chinese owner didn't understand it. Luckily I was hired and I can start immediately the next day. My salary was only $1.60(80pesos)a day. I have worked in that store for more than a year. I had to stop working because I got pregnant. Wanna know the story about it just click meeeeh.

In 2010, I tried to apply for a sales lady for a sari-sari store in Bohol. I was introduced by my cousin to her boss who owns a sari-sari store. The interview went well as I already know how to interact with the interviewer. After working for a few months in that store they decided to make me a secretary /treasurer of the newly open branch of their lending business. They seem to trust me so fast that they gave me another nature job. Anyway, after working as a secretary for almost 5 months I decided to find a better job. My salary was not enough to provide for the needs of my daughter. So I tried my luck to find a better job in Cebu with the help of my brother who works as a merchandiser in Cebu. I had my interview with the HR manager. Whoah! I felt so nervous that time. The lady (HR manager) was asking me if I know what is my duty for the position I applied for. My boss is a fruit and vegetable supplier. I applied for the position of merchandiser. I honestly don't have any clue what will be my job. I told the interviewer that I will arrange the vegetables and fruits, cut the fruits and other stuff. I answered her while looking to her eyes to eyes. The Lady said if I felt nervous I said yes she didn't believe me because she said I was overconfident in answering her questions. Well, maybe because I was looking at her eyes the whole time she interviewed me. I just tried to apply the lesson I learn from my first job interview. I should face and look at the person talking to me. Eventually, I was hired and work there for five months contract. After that contract, My coordinator decided to reassign me to another mall. In another job interview, I was using my old Resume. That resume was made before I had the job as a merchandiser. So basically the HR manager was asking me based on what I've written in my Resume, she (the HR manager) ask me what I was doing those months before applying for the said position. So I told her that I work as a merchandiser in another mall. She then told me to write another Resume that stated all the details needed. Being honest is important and of course, I learn that we should remember what we write on our Resume. Since I didn't have much time to make another one I just bought a Bio-Data and fill up everything details needed and I pass it to the HR manager then she hired me. After my 5 months contracts ended my coordinator reassign me again to another mall. From the employee's entrance, we have to climb 96 steps stairs. I was wearing 4 inches high heels at that time because my coordinator told me that the HR manager on that mall is picky. HR might not hire me because my height is not qualified. So after waiting for a couple of hours it was my turn to face the HR Manager. She told me to turn around and remove my Heels after removing heels she told me to call my coordinator to find another merchandiser. As expected my height is not qualified. I called my coordinator and told her why HR didn't hire me. Luckily my boss is close to the store manager and called the manager, she told the store manager to tell HR if they're looking for a model, why do they need a taller one? So basically HR had no choice but to hire me. Hahaha. After my contract ended I work at that mall a couple of times already and we became friends with that picky HR manager.

When I was working for a wine distributor company I got the chance to meet different kinds of HR. Been assigned to different malls in Cebu. I work as a push girl. My job is to do the wine sampling. It was my highest-paid job, my work was just too easy just giving free wine samples. We can even drink our wine. LOL. of course when no one is watching us. Working as a push girl and being assigned to different malls, boost my confidence to face different kinds of people. Different kinds of interviewers. Anyway about the job I have right now well no interview or requirements are needed. Wanna know why? You can read from my previous article "Now let's talk about my job".

Ending thoughts

Ended experience in life is our best teacher. I am glad I was able to meet those different kinds of HR as they taught me a lot of different experiences.

How about you my avid readers? Do you have anything to share about your job interviews?

Thank you for your precious time.

Photos used in this article are all owned by yours truly unless it is stated.

Lead Image edited using Text on Photo

Recent Article

Communication is really important

I'm a keeper

To my sponsors old and new thank you for your unending support on my readcash journey. May God will shower you with all blessings in life.

Sponsors of alicecalope
empty
empty
empty

13
$ 4.11
$ 3.92 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.03 from @TheGuy
+ 6

Comments

So many jobs and interviews you did, I'm impressed and working just from the age of 15 you have my respect. Those experiences must have made you a lot strong now. Hmm I have just completed graduation but generally want to pursue becoming an Entrepreneur so I am not going on the job path.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

thank you.Nice one.Just pursue on becoming an Entrepreneur and hope you will succeed one day

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dami mo din palang experience sis kahit nakapag tapos sis mahirap parin maka kita ng trabaho sis grabe yung mga qualifications dito sa country natin tas yung salary rate hindi naman fit. Dami ko din struggle pagpangaplay ng work kahit tapos ako sis.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

yes sis super dami ko ng job interview na pinagdaanan pero so far isa lang naman ang rejected.hehehe. Oo nga super grabe ang qualifications dito sa Pinas,gaya lang ng sabi ko eh ayaw sana akong tanggapin dahil pandak ako eh di naman ako ng apply as model hehehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakatadhana talaga sayo yung mga work mo sis. Oo sis grabe talaga qualifications dito.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes sis parang tatanda na ako dito sa work ko.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe enjoy mo lang work mo sis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes sis mas enjoy ako ngayon kasi my noisecash and readcash na

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo sis kaya the best tong platform nato.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

as in sis.blessed tayo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabidad, tibay at lakas ng looblang baon mo. You're so young pa pati no g nag start ka ano. And yong english mo pala. But ang galing 🤧

$ 0.02
2 years ago

yes di pa legal mag work hehehe. magaling ba akong mag english sis?seryoso ba yan sis?for me kasi di ako magaling mag english.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo kayaaaaa, tama pagkaka construct ako kadi limited words lang din alams ko ee

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang galing mo Kaya sa mga articles mo sis.. Anyway salamat and you find my English magaling. Siguro I learn kakabasa ko ng ibang articles

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree with you sis. Experience is really the best teacher. It can hone us to be better. When we engage ourselves in different kid of jobs, we eventually developed into something better.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

yes exactly sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

familiar kau ang uniform sis.basin nakakita nako nimo sa robinsons ba..haha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

hehehe.mga year 2010 ko sa Robinson sis pero akong area is sa Preparation room .,tagsa rako malaag sa selling area

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ahh ok sis..bag o p sad ko graduate d ay anang 2010.hehe wala pa ko kaadto ug robinsons ana na time..hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

okay sis..common lang jud na nga uniform

$ 0.00
2 years ago

uu common

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You've been through a lot of work and yes the more experienced you have, the more knowledge and techniques you'll gonna get that you can apply in your next job.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

tama sis.pero dito lang ako tumagal sa computer shop.Sa trabahong akala ko eh di ko kayang gawin dahil nga high school lang naman ang natapos ko.Buti dito malapit lang ako sa family ko ,regular na ako at completo ang work benefits.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako eh madalas din bumagsak sa mga job application ko dhil sa height ko noon, hahaha.. Naala ko tuloy mga job inyerview ko noon.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

hirap kasi dito sa pinas eh my paheight and age standard sa ibang bansa basta physically fit kapang mgtrabaho okay lang.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

with pleasing personality lage ang hanap eh, hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oo nga eh tapos dito sa atin need talag naka full make up haysst

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Parang sarili mo binebenta mo ei, heheh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo nga eh. Kaya ako natutong magmake up simula ng nagtrabaho ako sa mall

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako talaga, lipstick lang ta powder eh sapat na..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay ako sis. Maraming lipstick at ibang pang make up pero di na nagagamit. Tamad na akong mg lipstick. Di rin ako mahilig mg powder

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako po sis ehh twice lang tlaga nag trabaho Sa canteen ok nga po ehh pero pinahinto ako Ng asswa ko pina uwi ulit Tas Sa manokan pero Sa cold po aq tga linis ng manok tas titmplahan para po jB kami nag tratrabaho mcdo etc. Hanga po ako sayo sobra sis ang tiyaga mopo at nakaya mopo yun khit Sa una kinakabahan kapo

$ 0.02
2 years ago

dahil sa lahat ng experiences ko I learn to be more confident at naging strong ako dahil sa mga experiences na yun.Salamat sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang ganda ng smile mo sissy. Pwede ka ngang artista alam mo ba yun? Saka kaya pala ganyan ka katapang dami mo na palang pinasok na work at ang bata mo pa nun.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

wow naman.palangiti lang talaga ako sis .Salamat.Yes sis halos lahat napagdaanan ko na.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Graveh, Nah experience ko din yan sis, para kang himatayin sah kaba, nah hindi mo mawari, ahahah, pero go parin.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

charge to experience nalang sis.hehehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago