Taste from my Childhood

28 81
Avatar for ZehraSky
2 years ago

There is just something different about the food I had during childhood. I was a happy child (although incredibly semsitive as well) so I remember how I always smile when I eat no matter what food it is.

Of course, I have my favorite foods like spaghetti because it is always served during birthdays and other joyous occasions; cake because of its sweet taste; chocolates because my father gave them to me as a gift back then; and many more.

Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty
Thank you so much to these angels who keep supporting me.

The thing is that, a lot of the memorable events that happened to me during childhood are attached to all kinds of foods.

Today, this article is being written to reminisce one such food. This food is a comforting taste because I usually had it when we were staying at the province.

This is called Tinapek. It is a dish made of kamoteng kahoy (cassava) and sugar. Yes, just two ingredients but the taste is so good and it is filling. A perfect snack.

The last few days my mother had been cooking this for us during snack time because we have a lot of kamoteng kahoy.

Then yesterday, I thought about making an article about it. It was a decision made impulsively so we are already eating the first batch of the Tinapek before I started taking pictures. That is to say sorry about the low quality of the pictures.

Tinapek and how to make it

According to my mother, it is called Tinapek because when you are cooking it you have to push it lightly repeatedly (or tapikin in Filipino).

The ingredients for this dish are easy to get. The most basic ones are just kamoteng kahoy and sugar. But if you are feeling fancy, you can add milk and butter as well.

As for us, we usually just enjoy it with sugar because it is always available. It was also raining the past few days so we do not want to go out just to get some milk and butter.

To start making Tinapek, you have to grate the kamoteng kahoy. Grate it like it is cheese haha. We used the grater for when we make melon juice. Look at all those tiny strips of kamote.

Next you need to add the sugar. The amount depends on how sweet you want it to be. We just eyeball the amount so I cannot give you the exact value.

(I included another kamoteng kahoy here because it kinda looks like cheese without one HAHA)

After that comes the fun part. Pour some oil in a non-stick pan and see the stove on low heat. Once the oil is heated just right, get a ladle to scoop out some of the ingredients. Then push it gently to make a pretty shape as if making a pancake. Then when it reached the crispiness that you like, flip it using a flipper. And wait for the other side to cook.

This is the finish product. There are more Tinapek but we ate it already. Good thing that there were 2 left when I remembered that I needed a picture.

I decided against adding plating or making it look aesthetic. I wanted to share with you the raw atmosphere of how we make this and how we enjoy this snack. (Also I am just lazy.)

It kinda looks like a hashbrown, don't you think?

Closing words

This simple food brings back a lot of childhood memories. I felt so nostalgic as I was eating because of it.

I really hope that soon we can go back to the province. There our favorite is called Linupak. It is basically the same thing as Tinapek but instead of grating the kamoteng kahoy, you need to mash it well.

What are some foods that bring back your childhood memories?



If you want to have a new friend to talk to about random things, feel free to reach out to me:

Telegram: @zehrasky

noise.cash: ZehraSky

Tumblr: Zehrasky


Thank you for reading this article!

If you want to read some more articles of mine, I have monthly summaries here:

July 2021 Articles Summary

June 2021 Articles Summary

May 2021 Articles Summary


To show my appreciation for the support that I have been receiving, please accept a small gift I prepared for my first reader.

https://branch.wallet.bitcoin.com/wCwtOuKtljb

19
$ 7.76
$ 7.30 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Codename_Chikakiku
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 9
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ZehraSky
2 years ago

Comments

It looks really delicious 😍 and yes, I immediately thought of hashbrown when I saw the picture. So kamoteng kahoy is some kind of sweet potato? Or a fruit? Google didn't really helped me :D

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I think it is some kind of sweet potato? I am not so sure though

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bat parang di pa ata ako nakakatikim nito pero mukhang masarap. Sarap sana etry nyan ee, kukunti lang kasi talaga ang alam konh pagkain aguy.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Try mo po next time kapag nakabili ka ng kamoteng kahoy hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We have a lot of Cassava planted in our backyard at my home in the province. That's what we use as an alternative with rice if it's the rainy season and we can't dry rice grains under the sun. We are just a poor family of farmers in our place, so no one would lend us rice if we got short of it. That's why my father always plants Cassava throughout the year.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I love how your family took care to make sure that you will not starve during rainy seasons. It is sad that you had to resort to that because people were unwilling to help you though. I hope that cassava serves you well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

They don't help us in times we need them but they will just knock on our doors when they want to ask for vegetables and we're just giving it for free sometimes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang sarap nman nyang cassava na yan lalo at andaming cheese... May mga tumatatak tlga sa atin that brings back childhood memories

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Si nanay marunong gumawa nyan. Masarap kaya

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Nagutom tuloy ako huhuhu. A Parang ang sarap niyan ah .di pa ako nakatikim niyan eh.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Sarap po hehe tas madali pa gawin. Di na nakakahinayang kainin kasi marami naman magagawa

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Never yet tasted that one, well I loved cassava cake so might be closed related right?

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I honestly like the taste of this one better. Probably because I can taste the cassava better and because it is kinda crispy. I like cassava cake but I usually end up full just after a small serving unlike with tinapek, I can eat more

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Piniprito pala hehe. Nung una iniisip ko suman iba lang tawag sa inyo. Hehe matry to minsan nakakouth watering huhuhehe

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Masarap din po yang suman hehe. Favorite din nila gawin yan sa probinsyaa

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And sarapppp nyan, 'tinapek' pala pangalan nyan? today ko lang nalaman hehe. Nakakamiss talaga mga peyborit natin 😹

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Tinapek po tawag sa Batangas eh. Baka sa iba po, kilala rin siya sa ibang pangalan

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dipako nakakain nyan, pero ung dito uso yung alupe kung tawagin. Uy salamat ng madami hah, diko Alam pano babawi sayo pero once dumalaw si bot babawi ako. Salamat talaga

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Ay hindi ko alam yang alupe gusto ko yan itry someday. Enebe ka ba sis don't mention it. Okie laaang, gusto ko mga articles mo so di nakakapanghinayang magbigay.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow...I would like to taste some of those food you mentioned some day

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I hope that you will be able to taste one soon

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sa'kin yung puto na gawa sa kamoteng kahoy din na bukhayo sa loob.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Uy mukhang masarap nga po yan ah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There are many foods that bring back my childhood memories. And one of them is noodles and pasta. Good morning mate.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

In our province there's also delicious snack I think know what it's name but it is a cassava cave with yellow color then usually put at can of milk just little cans with small holes, afte that it will steam and the result is, it's sweet with the shape of can.😅😅😅I know you know this one because it's popular in provinces.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Omg yesss my mother love this one so much!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Omg, I want!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Masarap talaga yan saka linupak ginagawa rin namin yan dati, nong madami pa saging sa bahay hahaha😅

$ 0.03
2 years ago