How To Deal With Toxic Coworkers

43 60
Avatar for Wrinkle
1 year ago

I’m now much less of an asset to the company than I could be. I keep my head down and for self-preservation just do my work with little conversation with anyone. Yet the irony is this: in my self-preservation, I’m actually destroying myself. In bottling up my unexpressed feelings, I’m making myself sick emotionally and physically -  Gary Chapman

Unsplash.com

The joy of division of labour is when tasks are shared with love, peace and harmony. This is what makes up a healthy workplace, and the desire of everyone. Sometimes we are lucky to be in an environment filled with lively and good people that we could easily relate with while other times, it seems we are being made to pay the price of a sin we are yet to commit, so we are stuck with toxic people as colleagues in our offices.

Toxicity could range from physical to emotional attacks. All having the same goal of making you loss focus and passion for your job. They could go to extent of tarnishing our image before other colleagues and even our boss.

Their main goal  is to make you unhappy, dissatisfied and worried. Most times, will always trigger you into a fight which may not end well in your favour. It is really a fun thing, living in your house to get bullied at work. A lot of people have quitted their jobs because of this while others have shown to have decreased productivity levels.

Working with a toxic person, might hinder your growth rate, as you will be afraid to express what you feel. Since you are not sure of what they like or dislike. It often gets us into unnecessary problems, a toxic coworker is worst than a bad tyre and for growth, it is either they are changed or you are changed. You don't need such energy in your life as you might not make noticeable progress.

Have mapped out few steps on how we can work in the same environment with a toxic person, without much effect on our progress;

1) Know Your Limits: This is required from us, even when we don't work with toxic people. You don't have to be too available or a little bit too simple. A lot of people will tend to abuse such opportunity. Clearly, Noticed when we have a toxic colleague, who uses our simplicity to make demands way too bigger than could be solved. 

Let's assume, your job is to proof read mails, reply to them and tender reports to your boss. While your toxic coworker's duty was to summarise them, arrange and keep a monthly records. If out of your goodwill, you offer to help in handling his/her aspect of the job, be ready to work till the end. Such people feel entitled to everything including what they are paid for. 

That's why it is advisable, you keep a low profile and avoid going to do other people's task, as most times, you could perform such task perfectly and so end the praises of your employer. That could also trigger hatred among your colleagues. Learn to be focused on your task and yours alone.

2) Avoid Gossips: Funny how we are comfortable discussing about other people or enjoy discussions about other people. Such activities could expose us to unwarranted relationship and also tends to expose us to office bullies. You are not to mingle in office gist, while everyone is busy talking about their employer or colleague who is absent, do well to remain quiet, it could be a trap to lure you into trouble. They often forget about all that others said and reports yours to whoever was talked about. To avoid such issues, it's best you maintain a no listing profile excerpts it's on official matters.

Official matters shouldn't be discussed with toxic people, they could steal your ideas and get all the praise. Remember, all they ever want is to outshine you. 

Avoid giving too much information about yourself. It also curbs unnecessary attentions and tongue wagging. Nothing dreads human like realising they know, little about you. So keep a low profile, avoid gossips and be focused on your duties.

3) Don't Change For Them: You are amazing and peace loving so why do you want to adopt a lifestyle, you will later regret. The adage 'if you can't beat them, join them" shouldn't be employed in matters like this, you have to maintain your sanity and avoid being counted as one of them. 

The Bible talked about maintaining peace with all men, I will advice you take up such measure with your toxic colleague. No matter how many times, they will trouble you, overstep their boundaries, learn not to change. It confers dignity and self respect, if needs be for an action, it will be stated in the next point that follows.

4) React Appropriately: Your troublesome colleague tantrum could get to a point, where you are fed up and you just want to show the stuff you are made of. It's fine, we are all humans with emotions and so moments occur when it gets overflow. 

You don't have to fight them physically or exchange words with them. It is appropriate you report to the appropriate body. If you are working in a company, school, etc it is advisable you report such colleague to the disciplinary committee for queries. Though this could intensify their hostility, but it will create in them the awareness of being watched by the authority. Don't fight a toxic person, for they have nothing to lose but you have a lot to loss. Be wise when dealing with them.

5) Be Official Around Them: Being too open with such people could give them advantage to cause more damage to you, both physically, emotionally and otherwise. Avoid unnecessary conversations and learn to maintain closed-end questions. This helps curb being frustrated by such people in your daily task. 

Your questions should either require a "Yes or No" response. This avoids unnecessary lies and bitter expressions by them. Most of your conversation should be done through mails, it keeps track of their actions and words and it will help minimise attacks.

6) You Are Free To Quit: I know a lot of people don't wanna be painted as a coward, so they will want to stay. But of what use is your stay when you are being bullied everyday? You don't have to stay when it is at the expense of your sanity. No! You are wrong. 

If after taking necessary steps and it's still not yielding a better result, quit your job or apply for a transfer to another department. You don't need negativity when it comes to productivity.

Stay positive and have a blessed week ahead.

Lead image: unsplash.com

15
$ 0.69
$ 0.55 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
$ 0.03 from @Lara888
+ 4
Sponsors of Wrinkle
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Wrinkle
1 year ago

Comments

I wish there was an option to at least once punch them in the face. But that would mean giving into their demands.

Now I know better how to deal with them

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Punch them in the face 😅😅😅? Oh no! That won't be appropriate, like you said you will be yielding to their demands.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah. Fortunately for them, we can't follow in their footsteps

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We should deal with them in strict way like they are treating and do not reply them much i think so

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Dealing with them, the way they treat you, will only make matters worst

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I used to be very civil to those kinds and never tried to be friendly 🤣🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😅😅😅😅 Sometimes you need to

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think I will only be civil around them, and just be professional on the field.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The presence of toxic people in the workplace will negatively affect your psychological comfort as well as your performance at work.. This is a good set of tips to avoid toxicity that may be spread by co-workers

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes! And it tends to reduce our productivity rate, nice point you've got there

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am glad that I am working alone in my workplace I just have to adjust to my toxic customers or some of them are rude.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's nice but dealing with toxic customers is also a thing of concern, which I will talk about in my future post

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I will wait for that article

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Alright sister

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We should not overreact firstly and we should deal them in their way we should know how to tackle the situation rightly and yes as you have mentioned at the main purpose of them is only to this satisfied you and to feel you this comfort in your work but we should keep our work at the priority number 1.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Am glad you followed through on all the points, a bully will remain a bully and won't stop at anything to see you sad

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I believe that the key is to be able to have that emotional intelligence to know how far to go and where to stop, especially when it comes to our well-being.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, you are right because anything which exceeds that which is normal will be at the detriment of our health

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's very difficult to work if you have toxic co-workers .. You can quit but it shows that you are a loser and they won from their wrong doings.. Maybe the best way to do is to just ignore them..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Quitting doesn't make you a loser sister, it shows you value your mental health, physical and emotional state. You don't have to stay in an unhealthy environment to prove a point to anyone.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ohh ok, you got a point right their

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We are in a time full of psychological complexity I know people who were fired and left their work because of their co-workers, and the reason is because they are superior to them, which led them to tarnish their reputation and slander them and make their workplace a nightmare for them. These are toxic people who should stay away from them and following your advice will avoid a lot of falling into this problem

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's always the issue with such people, they will drag you into a mud filled with dirt, just to get your personality soiled. Am happy, you want to adhere to my instructions, which will be of utmost importance.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I need this one now that I am a graduating student, awareness is of the utmost importance to have a healthy environment of a workplace.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I wish you all the best dear friend

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Indeed. Di talaga maiiwasan Ang ganyan sa trabaho sis kaya let's keep everything in mind.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes dear. Am glad you stopped by

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I enjoy reading you. 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I need this one now that I am a graduating student even to others who's in a toxic environment.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, you are right, it can be applied to other areas of our life. It doesn't have to be in workplace alone.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I worked almost 5 years in a toxic environment. I was the only girl in the plant and we have around 150 workers. Boyyy at my last month in the company I was like a bottle of soda who popped. Ahahahah

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow... You tried my dear.. Am sure everyone was wondering how you were able to cope ?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes the HR begged me not to leave but no one could have made me stay there

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You nailed every single point my dear friend. We sometimes want to show them the stuff we are made of by going down to their level to show who is the boss but as you have rightly said, it's not needed. Kindly report to the authority and if the positive becomes more hostile, just leave. Leaving doesn't mean that person won, it's not about winning but about protecting your mental state and keeping your sense of worth intact.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you for this explanation, it means a lot to me. Most people will always want to fight so they could be seen as being powerful which is wrong.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Absolutely wrong, my friend. I am glad you enjoyed it and thanks for such a wonderful and detailed post. 🤗

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Free to quit of course.. Im just so glad that I don't have much toxic co workers in the office. Bit I like it when I am left alone and they do their things outside, it's more peaceful, and I can enjoy solitude

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Am happy you are not disturbed by them, because toxic workers tends to slow down productivity. I wish you all the best my dear friend

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm glad too, most of my co workers are assigned on the production area and I am left sometimes alone in the office.

Anyway, I am too busy in blogging to hear thier gossips too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's a wise engagement, rather than get involved in their gossips be busy being productive

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am kind of an introvert, so I wanted to make most of my time alone, thanks, I hope yo don;t dwell with gossipers in your work now too, they are hard to be with

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I was bullied at work for 5 years. I don't want to be in that situation again. Good thing though, that was just work they never got me at personal levels because I refused to welcome them there!

I was young and it was the culture back there. And it wasn't by choice, it was just really the culture there. I never learned to fought back but learned that you survived bullying by CHARACTER and they cannot tarnish it if you wear it exclusively. Despite being bullied, I became untouchable, even to this point. I realized its the only thing you can safely wear in the outside world. Turning back time, I wouldn't want to change anything because there were lessons learned. And glad to go through it. Thanks for sharing.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So sorry about such a lengthy time, am sure, they were surprise to see you put up with their mess. Like you rightly said, character is everything. It shows you are higher and more skilled. Am glad you shared this tip

$ 0.00
1 year ago