Poem Writing Activity in Read.Cash

43 107
Avatar for Winona
Written by
3 years ago
Topics: read.cash

My initiative in making poetry alive here at read.cash is not limited to only sponsoring poets in order to encourage them in writing poems. I would also like to help them and anyone who likes to give it a try, a way in improving their poem writing skills.

The Use of Word Prompts

A few weeks ago I joined a freewriting competition here at read.cash that is organized by @wakeupkitty and the read.cash community. It caught my interest because of the challenge in writing in 10 minutes and using word prompts. Honestly, it was new to me and as a person who likes to give herself a challenge I did try my shot.

I wasn't able to win a top price but I managed to get a bonus prize, and for someone who's a beginner, that's already an achievement for me. I was so happy and motivated by that competition that I became hungry for more of writing activities like that.

Big thanks to @wakeupkitty , specially in encouraging me to write more and of course for being one of my inspiration here at RC.

And also to a great friend I met in the competition @Ozzy , who's kind words have been a motivation for me to keep writing and improving my writing skills.

I hope you'd also find time reading their articles, I guarantee you that they will give you great ideas and get inspired by their works.

Why Word Prompts?

I find it interesting to use word prompts because it challenges the mind to know more about how the specific word can be used in a written piece. It makes the mind think of different ways to put out their creativity in using a specific word.

Personally, using word prompts help me combat writer's block, as I have words to use before hand and then I search the meaning of the word, if I am not familiar of it yet, so I can use it in writing an article. I think, it's is a great way to expand ones vocabulary and creative thinking.

The Poem Writing Activity and the Community

So here's how we can manage to keep tract of each other's works and development. I created a community to cater your works. The rules are already stated here:

https://read.cash/c/live-poet-society-cc23

I hope any aspiring poem writers will join. Specially those I sponsor under "Live Poets Society"

To give you a much clearer explanation of the rules in writing a poem for submission;

1. Written works must be in English
2. Use the word prompts stated in the tagline of the community. It will be updated every once or twice a week to be able to practice more words and expand the writer's vocabulary.
3. The word prompts must be written in bold for easy identification
4. Using rhymes will be better as it makes you're mind work to put effort in your poem and make you look for words that rhymes and sometimes you'll get the drive to search for the meaning of it, another addition to the vocabulary!
5. Freeverse are also welcome
6. Minimum of 9 lines. No time limit in writing.


Check out my first sample:

https://read.cash/@Winona/vagabond-to-my-lost-dreams-cc77a010

@feebie and I will work together to check your works and another thing, we will be upvoting nicely written poems of course. So we are hoping that you guys will put effort in improving your writing skills together with us.

I hope you will subscribe to get notified for the updates (maybe soon, a competition)


I am still open for some recommendations in this activity, since it is my first time to organize an activity in this platform. I also have an ample fund for doing an upvote for everybody but I am doubling my effort in earning so that I can give more to you guys and expand my sponsorship.

Who knows? We might be able to organize a monthly competition here. That will be a big dream for this initiative.

To anyone who would like to give some recommendations and elaborate guidelines or help me in organizing activities like this at read.cash, I will be delighted if you'd reach me at my telegram account:

https://t.me/Win0naa

My sponsorship program is still open. You may check:

https://read.cash/@Winona/sponsorship-for-poets-a92790a8

Special message to my sponsorship program

@Jabs @Eybyoung @Charlotte @vanya_29 @Yayaya13 @Pawpy.Light-28 and newly added @Iremori I hope you'll join the community and submit your works very soon. I'd be waiting.


I am encouraging everyone to make this platform not only an avenue to earn but also to improve your writing skills. I hope you will paticipate in this little initiative of mine. Enjoy writing!

#Let'sMakePoetryAliveAgain!
#ToLiteratureAndBeyond

47
$ 0.11
$ 0.10 from @feebie
$ 0.01 from @wakeupkitty
Avatar for Winona
Written by
3 years ago
Topics: read.cash

Comments

Nice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Actually I love poem reading and writing. Poem have a feelings that everyone can enjoy. Thank you for such type of article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you very much for your kind information. It will be very helpful for all of us. Thanks a lot for sharing this important article with all of us...๐Ÿฅฐ๐Ÿฅฐ๐Ÿฅฐ๐Ÿฅฐ๐Ÿฅฐ๐Ÿฅฐ๐Ÿฅฐ

$ 0.00
3 years ago

My pleasure dear. I hope you'll join the community๐Ÿ™‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Prompts are so deep I have to think so deep too what words will rhyme with this prompt ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚ but rest assured I will participate in this.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's the spirit! I am looking forward to your works๐Ÿ˜Š

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeeeyyy thank you so much for this ๐Ÿ’•

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Most welcome๐Ÿ™‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

๐Ÿ˜Š

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am pressure... ๐Ÿ˜

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Dont worry @Jabs. Take it easy, we are here to help each other๐Ÿ™‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you. I will try my best to write a good poem. ๐Ÿ˜Š

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We will join for sure๐Ÿ’ž๐Ÿค—

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I can't wait to see your works๐Ÿ™‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good luck with your contest. It is a great idea๐Ÿ’ž๐Ÿ’ž

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks. I hope you will be a part of our community

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hello even I am new, and not really good in writing but I want to try my best to join . I want to challenge my self I can really write a poems . Thank you for this.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

@Chin-chin I am happy that you show interest in my simple activity. Dont worry, the use of word prompt in poem writing is new here in read.cash and is not yet familiar to most writers and that includes me, being the first to introduce it. But I believe we can help each other๐Ÿ™‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'll be writing my next poem tomorrow or later. I need to think carefully to create rhymes haha ๐Ÿ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's great to write what you like to write about and still use the prompt. It's what I did for longer. You write about whatever you like and once finished you add the prompt. It keeps the brain active and creative. ๐Ÿ€๐Ÿ’•

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes i would try that. Thank you for your advise ๐Ÿ˜Š

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes. I'll be happy to read poems from you. Dont worry about the rhymes, we are also open for free verses.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

A rhyme is not per se poetry in most cases it is not but there are many great one's. I just told @heartbeat1515 about it yesterday...one of the largest poems in my language counts over 300 pages and is a tale. The writing style is original and it rhymes indeed. ๐Ÿ˜„

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Do you mean an epic poem? Like the Iliad and Odyssey by Homer?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Something like that but not quiet. This one is different because of the way it was written, the parts of the sentences which rhyme. You need to feel the rhyme to know how to read it. About two years ago I wrote my own version of this tale in a more modern language.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh that's pretty interesting. I haven't read an epic poem yet.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Writing a poem is fun. It is like pouring everything inside my brain and heart into words when I cannot express them verbally.

I love poem that rhyme but in my opinion, the presentation of the poem and the punctuation use is important to have it rhyme.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's right. But since it is a new concept some writers will find it hard to create rhyming limes in an instant I think they should be given time to adjust with the prompt and create a free verse if they want and then we can encourage them to practice with a rhyme. Like step by step

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good idea. I will be looking forward to how it progresses.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you๐Ÿ˜Š

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hope you also support filipino poetry

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'll see what I can do about that๐Ÿ˜Š nice suggestion

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeey, this is exciting! I mean you'll be able to write poems and also you'll have a chance to get sponsorship. its literally a win-win situation. I have to commend @Winona for your efforts of bringing poets together and make poetry alive. Thank you very much!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you very much. I hope I can encourage you too in writing poems and participate in the activity๐Ÿ˜Š

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Why Word Prompts? I find it interesting to use word prompts >because it challenges the mind to know >more about how the specific word can be >used in a written piece. It makes the >mind think of different ways to put out >their creativity in using a specific word.

Word prompts are really great, you could use an image prompt as well as that is what helps some writers break from their writer's block.

Letsmakepoetryaliveagain

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's a great idea bro. Somebody recommended me to sponsor for photography. I think I might be able to add her. I'll work on that very soon๐Ÿ˜Š

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is perfect.You could pick the best photographs as image prompt and each author has to tag the owner of the image. That way both the poetry and image are featured and gets visibilty. Thumbs up

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's great. We can make it as our prompt next week. What do you think?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Perfect. I would also submit a piece on it using it as my muse.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeeeey, haha, thank you very much for including me in the sponsorship. I'll write a few more poems later. I'll do my best. Thank you very much ๐Ÿ˜Š

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You're welcome @Iremori. I will be looking forward for your works.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Surething dearโค

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'll recommend these to other poem writers ๐Ÿ˜Šโค๏ธ

$ 0.00
3 years ago