Breaking Bad Habits

13 67
Avatar for WanderingMedStudent
2 years ago
Topics: Habits, Change, Prompt

Identify the Cause and Effect 

In order for one to break bad habits, they should first identify which causes it and to what extent is the effect of it. 

I will be the one who will serve as an example for this article. The number one reason why I sleep late is because I am addicted to using my phone. Also because of the presence of internet connection. Sometimes, I just scroll into my social media accounts and scroll down to it while not having an importance to my life. Basically, I waste a lot of my time affecting my sleep. 

I have already mentioned in my recent article It's Getting Bad that I sleep almost every night or should I say morning at 4 am. That's the usual time that I close my eyes. And sometimes I don't get night sleep at all. 

The effects of my bad sleeping routine is that I get irritated easily, sleep deprivation, and worst, I sometimes do not attend my online classes just to get sleep during the day. 

Well, it's not just the reason for my bad habits but it is a major reason. Sometimes I sleep late when I am overwhelmed, when my mental health is getting bad. And it contributes to my lack of sleep. 

Identify The Reason Why It Happens 

This is quite similar to the previous one. Identify what keeps you doing that habit. Think of the reason. 

As for me, I get bored. Ever since we were in this pandemic, I depended on my entertainment through the internet. I don't usually go out like I used to and the only way I can get entertained is by watching movies/series, connecting with my friends through the use of social media apps, and etc cetera. 

Willingness To Change 

One should take action regarding the bad habit. Whether it would be disconnecting with life over the internet or taking a break. 

I am aware of the bad effects that my bad sleeping habit does to me and I wanted to change it. It was quite hard this time but I am trying. I deleted my social media apps and I have had a hard time deleting the TikTok app since it doesn't just entertain me but it also educates me. 

Find Other Activities

Try to find other activities that can suit your lifestyle. Activities that you can exert your energy and time that will make you feel productive. 

I am trying to get back to my usual habit of working out and jogging. This is where I exert most of my efforts since getting tired during the day also helps me to go to sleep early. It also gives me fulfillment that my day became productive. 


Closing words 

Changing this bad habit of mine is a long process. There are still times when I fight the urge of sleeping early and use my phone up until 3 am but I also understand that this is not an easy road. Our bodies are like alarm clocks, it knows when to sleep and when to wake up. Even though I sleep early sometimes and my usual time of sleeping is at 4 am, I still feel tired and sleepy. That's because my body is not used to waking up early. 

I hope you got something to realize from this blog. You can also share other tips and the things that you do to change your bad habits. 


If you would like to participate in this writing prompt, please follow these very simple rules.

  1. Join the Promptly Jonica community here

  2. Write anything about bad habits

  3. Write 100% original content

  4. Submit your article to PromptlyJonica

  5. Tag me, @JonicaBradley

  6. Have fun!


Author's Note: 

Thank you for reading this! I am crossing my fingers that Rusty will visit me this time. 

Sponsors of WanderingMedStudent
empty
empty
empty

Read my previous blogs:


5
$ 7.93
$ 7.81 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.03 from @ZehraSky
+ 2
Sponsors of WanderingMedStudent
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for WanderingMedStudent
2 years ago
Topics: Habits, Change, Prompt

Comments

Identify, find the cause, be willing to change, and find replacement activities. All the things I am doing in order to stop smoking. And it is working. It has been almost 2 weeks since I've had a cigarette. And several days since I've had any nicotine.

I would also like to add one more to the list. Be willing to be uncomfortable.

We have habits because we are comfortable with them. If a habit becomes a bad habit, we are still comfortable with it. So, we have to be willing to be uncomfortable in order to break a bad habit.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Identify, acceptance and taking action. It takes a lot of willpower to break out of habit.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I love this! 💗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So far hindi ko pa naman nararanasang matulog ng mga ganyang oras, karaniwan kasi akong natutulog mga 10 to 10:30 pm. Siguro nasanay na rin ako na matulog ng maaga kaya naging part na siya ng routine ko. Maraming effects ang pagpupuyat kaya dapat magkaroon ka ng magandang tulog lalo na at nag-aaral pa tayo need na need ng katawan natin yan

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang aga mo pala matulog pero alam mo, dati ganiyang oras din ako natutulog. Sadiyang wala lang talaga akong mapaglaanan ng energy ko masiyado kaya ganito ako ka energetic pag gabi hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hoy mare you really need to change that habits na talaga, dapat maaga kana matulog huwag yung hanggang madaling araw kasi super unhealthy na talaga yan. Ako guilty din ako sa ganyan pero I really did try my very best to change din. Sleep na tayo early mare hahahha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Di ba! Grabe effects ng pag sleep late hahahaha. Tinatry ko naman Mare. Sana soon maayos ko na talaga

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can really recommend looking up as much as you can on sleep hygiene and follow it to the letter. It changed my life and I went from horrible to wonderful sleep

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will try to look it up and do more research about how I can effectively sleep.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Changing our lives into good one is the best action to take. Willingness of course to change should.be put in action not in words only. Nice bro. That's for your health.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you, Hanhan! I will change my life for the better. ❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabe buds tinamaan ako hahahah. Lalo na sa willingness to change, wala kasi ako nyan hahahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mag bago ka na buds. Basta yung for the betterment hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago