Factors Affecting The Performance Of Students During Online Class

1 42
Avatar for WanderingMedStudent
2 years ago

Published: March 16,2022

I am writing this blog as my point of view and as a student who experienced all of these factors while studying online. 

We didn’t want this to happen to us, we were put in this situation. One fine day and just an announcement that there will be a total lockdown and all our lives drastically changed, and this is because of the pandemic. Some of us by now have suffered from stress, anxiety, and other mental health issues. And I salute all of us for pushing ourselves to keep fighting. 

I have had my fair share of experiencing difficulties while attending online classes. Limited resources, location, environment are the reasons why I had trouble adjusting to this new setup. And by far, I am just pushing myself to wake up every morning, get out of bed, and attend online class. 

I conditioned myself last night that I will attend my online class in my Physiology class and so I did. The class started so early, to be exact at 9. We were already in half of the time when there was a power interruption that occurred. I lost connection for almost 40 minutes and when I reconnected, there was too much information that I wasn't able to listen to and absorb, I was also out of focus already. 

Bicol Region is one of the few regions that has lower power outages, that’s why there is consistent power interruption in the area. That’s why I included location as a factor that affects the performance of students during online class. Considering that we are dependent on electricity and internet connection, there are also students who experience problems with data signals with their locations. I am one of them and it is the reason why we opted to have our own internet connection. This is also considered a limited resources. 

Online classes are not like the regular classes that we have in schools, it requires the student to have resources. These are having a gadget, internet connection, and other things that have something to do with the internet. Money is also a factor why most of the students have sufficient resources. The money spent on e-load is already a big deal for its price. And one should need a well-functioning gadget in order to attend class and do and submit the activities online. 

The recent problem that I encountered was when I took an online exam in my Physiology class. I was in the middle of answering my exams when all of my answers were not saved. It’s because the laptop that I used had problems connecting to the internet. At that time, I was already stressing out and was on the brink of having an emotional breakdown. Thankfully, my professor gave me a chance to finish the exam. That’s why I am also saving up money to buy myself a decent laptop. 

The environment is also a big factor in trying to work things out with the new learning setup. Some of us are not privileged to have our own rooms or even have our own nook to attend classes. Neighbors and our family members affect our learning. It is inevitable not to have annoying neighbors and family members. Just like now, my brother is laughing in front of me while I am trying to focus on finishing this blog. You know, there are inconsiderate people and they do not see the problem. I don't know what is on their minds to not think that there are students and also employees that are in a work from home and online class setup. But other neighbors just play their speakers out loud and do not think of other people. Having a perfect environment to attend online classes is a gem now.  

Dropped out and suicidal rates have increased when this new learning setup happened. It has affected us in many different ways. I have friends and some people I know that are very intelligent but aren’t able to keep up with the situation and they dropped out of school. Let us pray for the individuals who have suffered and taken their own lives. 

It's great news now that the government is already allowing pilot limited face-to-face classes in some areas and hopefully, it would be nationwide in the upcoming semester. And as we wait for our turn to have our limited face-to-face classes, let us continue to try to get out of bed and do our very best. 


Author’s Note:

Hi! Miss me? Just kidding. I’ve been too overwhelmed in the past few days and was not able to be active on this platform. In the meantime, this will just be my entry and I'll try to interact again. Thank you for reading this! <3

Sponsors of WanderingMedStudent
empty
empty
empty

Check out my previous blogs:


1
$ 0.25
$ 0.25 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of WanderingMedStudent
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for WanderingMedStudent
2 years ago

Comments

I appreciate what you did. I knew it is so hard to attend online class. We can't interact well to the class since there's a limited time plus the unstable internet connection. Be patient friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago