Do you Cook for Extra People??

57 64
Avatar for Theblackdoll
2 years ago
Pixabay.com

Good morning all. Well it is breakfast time here and we all finished eating just now. The reason why I asked you guys this question is while eating, I remembered this incident where we finished eating lunch but that day I had an unexpected guest in our house exactly at lunch time and I did not cook for him because I was not expecting his visit. My Mom and grandma are staying with me from few days and he visited to see them as he is my mother's cousin. Uncle called me by 1 pm and informed me that he is visiting and I couldn't say no. I immediately soaked some rice and he ate the food that I kept for myself and I had to make some more for myself. I just thought, had I made some extra earlier, I'd have not had to go through the process of making rice again. At the end, it was all fine. I ate and the guest ate. so, am happy for that.

It is a tradition in Indian households that we do not cook perfect quantities... like if we have 4 people in house, we cook for 5, just in case and by evening, we heat up the rest of the food and finish it.. because we have a belief here that whenever a guest comes to our house, we should think that God himself has come, and we need to offer them some food or drinks.. they might refuse to consume but it is mandate for us to offer and Indian people are one of the most hospitable people ever.. I have watched several western country videos where if people visit, they open the door and ask "Hey, what a surprise.. why did you come???" but in India, we ask "Hey, what a surprise, come in.... have a glass of water and let me bring you a cup of coffee".. it does not matter if the guest drinks or nah, but it is mandate to ask. And some people like my mother wouldn't even wait for the guests answer but they go in the kitchen, make something and bring and then only she sits to talk haha..

So based on this I story I just wanted to ask you all, when you make food in your homes, do you cook perfectly according to number of your family members or make something extra? because some people do not like to either waste food or do not like left-overs.. My dad was the person in home who always liked hot freshly cooked food.. he did not much liked the leftovers served for him except few times. What category are you? those people who cook extra and at once and take rest for the rest of the day or those people who cook the right quantities and want to cook again for dinner? let me know in the comments about the traditional practices in your houses, I love to learn about differnt cultures, it is always fascinating :)

That's all guys, Thank you my lovely sponsors :)

Sponsors of Theblackdoll
empty
empty
empty

Yours Bloggingly

@Theblackdoll

30
$ 9.94
$ 9.34 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Codename_Chikakiku
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 16
Sponsors of Theblackdoll
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Theblackdoll
2 years ago

Comments

My mom used to always cook extra. She said she wanted to be able to offer food to people who stopped by. And I used to think that the only reason people kept stopping by was because they knew my mom cooked a lot of food! LOL. 😀 Anyway! I did not follow after my mom. I cook enough for 2 servings per peson. That way if my kids or my husband liked my food they could ask for second serving. 😀😀

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Make extra just in case! And then have leftovers for lunch the next day.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am from Venezuela, and that custom of always welcoming guests at our tables is very frequent, although in these times it has diminished, we are very much alike in that. When I visit my relatives in other cities, I have to make the visits one at a time, because if I visit them all on the same day, I will probably end up with a stomach ache from so much food. LOL

$ 0.00
2 years ago

aww that is the sweetest practice ever because in our Holy books, God gave a lot of importance to sharing food with others :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have been in this shoe before where I live with my Aunt and whenever I just finished cooking for the two of us, a guest would just visit and instead of cooking some food, we would rather share the quantity together. I am not always satisfied though but at the end, we are fine.

Same thing when I live alone now, if a guest comes around after cooking my own quantity of food, I will share into two and That's it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oh how kind of you people to sacrifice food for the guests

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In the old days mom and dad used to cook a little more than usual just in case we, the kids decided to bring a schoolmate or several in some cases, to do homework and such. Now, as the situation economically speaking isn't good, we don't do that anymore, but, water and coffee are always there for guests, and a piece of cake or cookies if I made a batch that day. Is a way to show hospitality, kindness, and love.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes exactly, we also do not offer full meals all the time, also depends on the timings guests arrive.. if they come by evening, just coffee with some snacks are good :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mom cook extra, we can just put it in the refrigerator and then eat it again the next day. Actually, leftovers is the bestest.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oh agree 100%.. leftovers taste amazing

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Firstly I miss you, secondly, I cook extra most time not because of people, but just in case I get hungry again, but its my mom that Cook extra just in case people would come around

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You people are too sweet and aww, miss you too. Hugs

$ 0.00
2 years ago
$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm living with my sister and Dad so I am cooking only for the three of us. I never had a suprise visitor coz they do not know our address. Haha I prefer to be informed ahead of time before anyone will visit us so I can prepare something great.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes perfect, I like to be informed beforehand too because I hate people without letting us know, it's weird

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My mum would always cook more than we could eat but she would reheat the leftovers so none is ever wasted. I only cook for two here, we rarely get visitors, our home is in the middle of renovations and we have 5 large dogs. But if people visited, I always offer them food. Quite often I do go and cook Chinese food at my neighbours’ as they like Chinese food.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Such sweet Mother, she sounds same like my Mom haha.. I cook for ourselves too and if osmebody visits which is so rare, we just order take outs :) and 5 dogs? that's a lot.. are they your pets or you guys foster?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

They are our own. We bred 1 litter of pups and kept them all.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No, my mom also doesn't cook food according to the counting of people. She always cooks extra but we don't waste the food. We used the same food the next day. Well, if it comes to bread then my mom first asked us who wants how much bread? then She prepared bread according to it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yeah we cannot make chapatis or Nans extra because it does not work that way haha, and yeah we share the same traditional practices, so I understand you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's the subcontinental tradition. We receive the guests with warm hearts. It’s a part of our life cycle. Well said.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes and we are so proud of it :))

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed dear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We have same culture here on Philippines, Filipinos are known due to hospitality, we also prefer to cook extra foods for those unexpected visitors once there's a leftovers it will be our food at night. It's good to know that India is also hospitable country, maybe one day I'll visit your house then ask for some food and water.😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haha sweetie, you do not even need to ask, I will stuff your mouth with a lot of samosas jajajaja

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I live in Ukraine.But if you have been to other countries, you have seen that people there are very nice, but I do not believe that it is sincere. In Ukraine it's not like that, here you can immediately understand how a person treats you, what he likes and what he doesn't like.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That sounds like an amazing community of people :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I got it. You are good chef ☺️. I want my wife should be a good chef she will cook for me. And I would eat evrytime lol. Yes we cook Extra because of new guest.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha yeah I learned cooking from my Mom, I wouldn't say am amazing but I do make my husband lick his fingers once he finishes his food :) I'm glad I can cook :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same tradition here in Philippines. From cooking extra food, into being hospitable. There is some scenarios in a Filipino household that if the food is not enough for everybody, we let the guests eat first while cooking additiional food. Filipino people are so hospitable that like you, we offer water or any drink to someone who visits unexpectedly without asking first off the reason of the visit. Good for us we have a wonderful tradition, that hoping to pass till the next generation.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's nice that you haven't consume yours before the visitor call you, if not you would haven't nothing to offer him, well you might still offer him something light to drink..... It's really a nice culture.

There's some places in other countries too that cannot do without offering food for their visitors,in our own house, we always have frequent visitor, so anytime we want to cook, we cook twice the number of people at home , because of visitors here and there, especially today which is Sunday.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's amazing dear, giving food is always a great practice no matter what country is

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nothing but the truth, something that everyone should inculcate.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We're doing that before but when pandemic came, we need to save food that's why we only cook the amount we think we can eat including our pets here 😅.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very thoughtful dear :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes, there is always extra food not only for the guest but for the neighbors too.. that is how we always cook here in our home. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

wow how kind you guys are :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

those neighbors are relatives too and besides we always practice giving some every meal :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Giver is the one who is blessed :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mostly at home, mother cook with extra because anytime relatives come in to our house if there's none, then it's still gonna be us who will eat all of it 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahahah that's funny

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes I can remember my family cooked extra food, either guest come or we finished that some other time. Extra foods helps when guest appear suddenly 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly.. extra food is good but not super extra, just for another person

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My mother would cook extra when we expect some guests. When the guest comes unexpectedly, we just buy something for them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haha I know right? sometimes I buy fried rice too :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love to cook a food when we have a visitors doll. Always have a rice but the viands are not problem at all since in our tradition we have our viands that are usually display if there are visitors.

I love freshly cooking food also doll. I don't like left overs so every lunch or dinner mostly we cook new.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's amazing, even though sometimes leftovers taste delicious, I prefer fresh hot food :) good practice sis :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, sometimes I eat too doll but I prefer a newly fresh hot cook foods. Thank you so much sis..❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No, I don't. I don't even like visitors. Although in the Philippines, we cook way beyond what's needed, I don't practice that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is a good practice, it avoids to waste food and also to make fresh food when required :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

absolutely, doll

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Me, I cooked for the number of people in our household but my partner really cooks more than it. Seems like she's cooking for 6 people while were only 2 here hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oh wow, that's a lot haha..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I always like to cook for people. I like to do it. I like to cook my own food. When someone appreciates it, I like it. You can come to my house.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

you are the sweetest, if I ever come to Philippines, I will surely visit :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Soy de las que me gusta cocinar extra ya que siempre al final de la cena llega amigos y sin senar y pues gracias a que tengo mas pueden sentirse satisfechos y comer en mi casa. Es mi costumbre hacerlo asi

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is nice to hear that you entertain friends with good food :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago