The 80/20 rule , let it help you

92 108
Avatar for TengoLoTodo
2 years ago

9th November 2021

Hello you wonderful readers. How is the week progressing?

Day 9 of my November one-a-day challenge. I was meant to have stockpiled a few articles on my days off, well that hasn't happened!

Pumping markets have got me distracted.

How have you been doing with your crypto? Are you taking profits, Hodling, farming, swapping or even staking, what are you doing with your portfolio? Make sure you do your own research and don't get your fingers burnt!

Then, I keep umming and aahing over Splinterlands or Axie. I use to play Titan Throne. In fact, I was a leader of a big strong guild, it was great fun but so time demanding and too many players would spend silly amounts of money. I like the thought of Splinterlands as it is on the Hive blockchain and I have started to write there. The AxieBCH dojo looks super cool too, but too much green (as a Rangers fan we don't do green lol) for me.

Oh well, I shall look around and see if there are any good groups for Splinterlands and then make my mind up. For all of you you Splinterlands players is it still fun?

Enough of that chismiss.

How is your writing going?

Are you worrying that your article has to be perfect, and are spending too much time on it?

Worry no more. Let me show you something.

Have you heard of the Pareto Principle?

It is actually quite a fun principle and I did this for my thesis when I did my Masters in Knowledge Management.

Vilfredo Pareto was an Italian economist and in 1895 he noticed that about 80% of Italy’s land belonged to 20% of the country’s population.

He thought this was unfair and he then discovered this happened not just in Italy but in every country.

The Pareto Principle, or the 80/20 rule, states that often :

80% of the result comes from 20% of the effort.

Now you can apply Pareto's principle all over the place for example:

  • Taxation— 80% of tax money comes from about 20% of society.

  • Project Management— 80% of the effect results from 20% of the effort.

  • Businesses— get 80% of their income from 20% of their customers.

  • IT— 80% of system crashes are caused by 20% of bugs.

So let's take a look at some fun examples:

  • 80% of car accidents are caused by 20% of young people

  • 80% of lottery tickets are bought by 20% of society

  • 80% of air pollution is caused by 20% of the population

  • 80% of all firearms are used by 20% of the population

  • 80% of all Internet traffic belongs to 20% of websites

  • 80% of car crashes happen within the first 20% of the distance covered

  • 80% of mobile phone calls come from 20% of the population

  • 80% of the time people use 20% of the tools at their disposal

And we can even apply it to this bloody pandemic that we are going through:

It is estimated that 20% of cases are responsible for 80% of local transmission. This means most people won't infect too many other people, but the superspreaders have caused many more people to catch Covid-19.

For example Patient 31 the Korean churchgoer who tested positive and attended mass and was solely responsible for transmitting the virus to a 1000 other massgoers.

As soon as you understand that 80% of your outcomes come from 20% of the time and effort you spend on them, the importance of prioritising becomes obvious.

Here is an important example that we can all relate to:

You have a to-do list with 10 items on it. Each item takes the same time to do. Now identify the two most urgent tasks. As a result, even if you don’t manage to do all the remaining tasks, the 20% you completed could amount to up to 80% of the impact.

The 80/20 Rule and Emoji - can you relate 😂

According to a recent publication from the Unicode Consortium, only three out of 2,600+ emojis—😂, ❤️, and 😍—account for 20% of overall emoji use. To give you more of a context, Facebook users alone send about 1 billion emojis daily.

How the Pareto Principle Can Help You?

I am going to give you two ideas:

Planning your day

Because 20% of your effort will be 80% of the effect of your work, find the activities to focus on that provide the most effect. Identify them and work on them first. Don't neglect the other tasks but do them once you get rid of the big ones.

Your read.cash article

Don't spend 80% of your time trying to perfect the 20%. No, just spend 20% of your time getting the 80% written the rest does not matter so much. Just get writing and you will have your article in a good enough state to be published. I have stopped trying to make them perfect, as this is not time-effective for me.

That my dear reader is all I have today. Now it is time to read more of your articles.

And don't forget ;)

Haste ye back.

35
$ 10.84
$ 9.33 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.25 from @JLoberiza
$ 0.20 from @soyunasantacruz
+ 25
Sponsors of TengoLoTodo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for TengoLoTodo
2 years ago

Comments

I applied that principle when I was in the pharmaceutical industry, 20% of your clients pay 80% of your salary.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes it is a common principle when we start to look around.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is well noted sir and already put it on my list. I wrote some notes for myself as a reminder. :)

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Oh I am glad to heart that, and good luck with your job

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much dear. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are so very welcome :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aw that is so much informative Uncle Ed! I would love to apply that.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You can apply it, it is fun when you start to see how you can apply it to your life inday 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is the first time that I have heard about this Pareto Principle. And it is quite amusing. This principle will surely teach so amny people to be mindful with every action that they will execute.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hehe when you start thinking about what you do, you realise it actually is pretty accurate. I hope you found it both amusing and useful DF

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have tried to follow this rule and I can't seem to get the secret, but I will keep trying. It was interesting to read all those data, it was really good.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Keep trying, once you understand it, then it helps you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you po for the concise explanation of the Pareto principle :) A sigh of relief from me lol..

$ 0.03
2 years ago

hehe I like your sigh of relief

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is what I'm doing this past few weeks Teng. Before, I'm putting half to 3/4 of my life in readcash and I become to stress on this platform. Now I learn that I needed to put more time to myself things that makes me enjoy with that thing I learn how to write better and lively. I didn't know this is called Patero Principle

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Exactly snail, you learnt it the hard way, but the important thing si you learnt it and are applying it na.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also notice that crypto is pumping higher BCH is now at the maximum amount of 705 USDT, but anyways you really got impressive knowledge sir! You never cease to surprise me with your awesome knowledge, that principle was not familiar to me at first I can't clearly understand the 80/20 stuff but while reading this it all make sense❣️

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I love to learn, we can learn so much and put it to good use 😁 Yes BCH is pumping, but we should not get too greedy, and take some profits if we need them. Yes the 80/20 stuff is cool and you can see it everywhere:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Precisely! Sir🥰👏.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hehe oo 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love the Pareto principle Tito, but I don't always use it :D But now that you reminded me, I will do just that haha. So you are planning to join the Axie league, that's awesome! I think some enjoy it

$ 0.03
2 years ago

hehe we don't always put it into practice, I know I don't! So this is also a reminder to myself. Well the games I am leaning more to Splinterland as it is on Hive than Axie, I think too much pressure at AxieBCH lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Great reminder! That's a good choice, Splinterlands. It's a Hive app indeed.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well I will have a lot more free time in December to explore so more time to do hive stuff and probably give Splinterlands a shot.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

All the best on that then :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Salamuch, I am looking forward to it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am also using the same startegy. Well! crypto market is also distracting me but I have long term coins so, I just enjoying riding.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Enjoy the ride, and the strategy is great, I am glad that is what you do too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for sharing I got a new idea now , your article are very useful

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You are so very welcome, I am glad you got a new idea!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I just learned something new today! hehe It's nice reading this article of yours kuya ed

$ 0.03
2 years ago

hehe inday Jini it is great to learn something new today, and I learnt from you today that I like listening to Japanese music :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahhhhhhhh TENGOLOTODO bro thank you so much it was like you knew I needed this article because I am at that point in my article life circle where I spend more time trying to make what I put out perfect

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Exactly bro, time is precious, focus where it is needed, not spending ages trying to make something perfect, I so hope this helps you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes it did

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The principle seem quite practical. Thank you for this. I will probably try it

$ 0.03
2 years ago

YOu are very welcome, it is practical and fun, I hope you are able to try it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm using the 80|20 rule every payday. 20% will be my savings and the 80 % are for the rest of my expenses

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Now that is brilliant, and a fantastic way to apply the 80/20 rule, I am impressed with you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha. Thanks. Just for future expenses.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

we say saving for a rainy day. that is cool

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, it is for rainy days indeed because rainy days here are as hell as drought.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmm, I think you just gave everyone the key to success. I'm going to keep a few things in mind, ahh

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I hope so, it is the simple little things that can help us :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have heare of the principle before but Haven't looked into it. Thanks very MUCH for this it definitely wiol come in handy as I am struggling with schoolwork now.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

My pleasure, yes focus on the important schoolwork first with priorities and I hope your struggles get better.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think Im doing it already, I just really dont know that what am I doing is already a pareto principle.

Thank you so much for this article. Now another thing that I've learned from you. Keep safe and God bless❤

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You are clever, you are doing it na and you did not even know it 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes so thank you for sharing it. Now.I know. :-)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My pleasure

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This actually makes sense. Whoa, this principle, I have heard this before, but this sounds interesting, and mind-blowing, honestly. 👏😄

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes the first time I heard it I was the same, but the more you look into the more true it becomes!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thinking about the 20 % for perfecakes me lazy. Ending, I try my best to ignore the 20% and focus the 80%.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yep don't try to be perfect, just get the majority of it done:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really appreciate this topic although never seen that principle before but it made a lot of meaning... choose what will amount to greatness, it’s not always in picking plenty thing but the little ones can be the impact for us...

It explains effort and actualization very well and nothing really comes through without dedication

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Exactly, pick the ones that will have the biggest impact, you have got it. You are right though, nothing comes without some dedication.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Applying this everyday, I need this.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That is great to hear!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Es una buena regla a poner en práctica, no la había visto. Se ven veras todos esos porcentajes. Por lo cual sería eficiente hacer uso de el.

Muchas gracias por sus sugerencias. Me gustó el artículo de principio a fin

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Gracias. Lo difícil es ponerlo en práctica.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True, small percentage can affect the holistic. This is the reason why I cannot publish everyday since I manage my time. Effort is a must but we should be wise to plan about it.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Planning out time is great if we know to focus on the important parts.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I need to apply this everyday. Its my first time hearing on this rule. I think it would be effective right now because I have a lot school paper to finish. Thanks for this. I also just write some nonsense article hahaha.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

hehe I read your article, it is not nonsense, but I am glad if you do apply it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ow, thanks for that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

and 80% percent of the lotto jackpot winners go back to how they were before they won the lottery... ok, I bloated that a bit. It's only about 70%

Anyway, it's a good principle. But how to apply it... I need more that 20% of my time to think about it. :D

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You are right about the lotto jackpot winners and you hear of stories when some are even worse off than before!

How to apply it, I like your more than 20% of your time answer, that made me chuckle!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I need to apply this 😁

$ 0.03
2 years ago

hehe your articles and blogs are amazing, your nature one at hive was well wow really! cute though, you need to apply it lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha .thanks

$ 0.00
2 years ago

walang anuman or is it walay sapayan for you?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How did you know? Haha.. You have a good teacher there. Or Google Translator? 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oh I am good learner haha, but I like saying the write one depending which is their first langauge :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

For me I dont need to be perfect and all I want is Im happy for what Ive sharing about my life. Dont stress too much and I dont have axie either splinterlands.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Am glad you know it does need to be perfect, yes what you share is great:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I miss one day of not writing an article because I've been thinking about my 20% effort, not 80 but 20 because it seems like my article isn't have any value to be read.. I feel guilt to let my readers read my article and found it nonsense..😂😂😂am I overthinking??

$ 0.03
2 years ago

There you go! Yes you are overthinking, so let Pareto help you, you should have published it and you would not have missed one day! Any article is worth reading if it is by an author who engages! This is read.cash not writing to win a Nobel prize or anything...

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahahaha as I expected I'm always overthinking. Overthinking is totally my bad habit. I thought I'm already confident, and you were totally right,we were not writing to win a Nobel..thank you so much sir.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

woohooop!!! 80 20 .. hello paretto ! You know they also use this pareto in picking partners :) hehehee

....

Splinter is fun but I AM still learning the ropes.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

hehe yes they do use it in picking partners, I was tempted to put in some figures for dating, but didn't haha. Are you in a guild or are you flying solo in Splinter?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! Just wow.

You know, I have a hard time understanding intellectual concepts only by reading them, I have to debate them with someone before I can say "I understand".

This was so well explained that I don't feel the necessity of debating it, it's good!

Thank you for this Ed! I'll keep this in mind and in my Saved Articles just in case 💗

$ 0.03
2 years ago

aww thank you Rebeca. I was told long ago that KISS Keep It Simple Sweetheart is the best way to explain things. So I try to keep things simple and fun. We tend to like and learn things when they are explained clearly and are kept fun and that we can relate to. So, I am glad you approve it was well explained:)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I like that KISS thingy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hundreds of emojis are available to use but I often use these three only, 💗😊😂. From now on, master pogi, I will start working with the big ones first.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

hehe my wee BC, yes your favourite three. It is good to the biggest ones done first, also gives you a great sense of achievement.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very smart. And wise advice, Ed. Very appropriate for me. In many things, I manage time very effectively, but writing isn't one of them. And it's something I need to work on.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, we both do it well in most areas but have our weaknesses, especially in writing. Your articles are so good, whether here or hive and I know you spend time on them. Yes, I thought why not give us all a little reminder and help our writing.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I hesitate a lot when it comes to writing and I review a thousand times. And it's the main reason why I can't post more. I'll try to force myself to put 80/20 into practice at least in some of my articles. Thanks for this enlightening piece :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's really help me mate. for me it's a perfect article. I knew these rules, but I didn't know anything else. These will really work.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Anything that helps us write quicker is good with me 😜

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like your story about Pareto's principle. It could be applied to everything. At first, I used too much time for writing "perfect" article. Now it isn't case. I write everything that I have on my mind.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It is fun, you can apply it everywhere really. You got it, it doesn't need to be perfect 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago