It's a mystery, or is it?

45 82
Avatar for TengoLoTodo
2 years ago

Hello you awesome readers. How are you diddling today?

Today we shall go on a mystery journey! Well, you know every time I decide to write and/or publish an article here at this awesome platform it is always a mystery to me.

What will I write, I don't even know that most of the time when I start, so I feel for you reading and may I just add that I am grateful for anyone that does read my wee bits of twaddle!

Anyhoo, it was Friday here in Scotland, and I had to do a little side hustle of mine that I enjoy doing.

Do you have a side hustle? I have loads of them to be honest!

So what was my mystery?

It was to do a visit under the generic term of "mystery shop" or being a secret shopper. We can get paid to visit somewhere and submit a little report with a picture or two.

I won't mention any names of companies as I am not sure if this is frowned upon in read.cash.

I tend to only accept assignments that either pay me to do the visit, and/or reimburse me for all my purchases within two to three weeks.

For example, I often do betting shops, go in there, check it is clean tidy and that the staff are friendly. Then I will place a bet or two, take a picture outside, submit a report and if my bet wins I pocket that cash. Then a couple of weeks later I will get reimbursed my bet expense and any payment due.

Other times it can be a simple phone call from home, getting insurance quotes or enquiring about problems with electrical equipment.

Why do companies do this?

In this highly competitive world, companies need to keep on top of their game. They can help do this by hiring people to secretly shop or test their services and products.

Problems can be identified early and rectified where possible.

So all you BPO call center people be careful, I do check up on the service and competence of call center operators.

The mystery shop today!

Anyway back to the story in hand. Today was a very simple one. It was to visit a local pub fifteen minutes walk from my house. I was to order a meal and drink, check the premises and staff and make a quick report. I went in the afternoon so choose a white coffee for my drink. The meal was fish and chips.

fish and chip and mushy peas!

The eagle-eyed amongst you might recognise mushy peas! They were awesome, the fish was haddock, a typical white flaky fish, and was cooked in a crispy batter, served with chips, yes those are chips. Tartar sauce was in the wee ramakin and plenty of vinegar salt pepper and brown sauce on the chips.

The verdict!

The food was delicious, and very cheap this cost 6.95 pounds including unlimited coffee refills. A bargain, the pub was cool and I shall be back. Although this was free and I got paid to visit, it was a pleasant surprise how good it was. I shall be back!

A happy camper, clean plate :)

As the old saying goes, the proof is in the pudding. So, well yes, I was a very happy camper as shown by the evidence of the empty plate in the picture, oh and the service was really speedy (food was on the table nine minutes after I place my order using their app).

Ramblings

Do you secret shop or mystery shop?

Have you heard of it?

If you do please leave a wee comment.

OR if you want to know more about it let me know and I shall put more about it all on my website.

The lead image is actually the inside of the pub and it was beside where I was eating, which was really cool as I do like my books!

Thank you for reading you awesome beautiful people.

Copyrightย @TengoLoTodoย 2021 and yes All Rights Reserved. All images, words and ramblings are from the author unless otherwise stated.

100% original content from this mad Scotsman!

And don't forget ;)

Haste ye back.

22
$ 9.99
$ 9.22 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @JLoberiza
$ 0.10 from @Pichi28
+ 10
Sponsors of TengoLoTodo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for TengoLoTodo
2 years ago

Comments

Unlimited coffe is really a thing for me. Lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The unlimited coffee is a plus for coffee lovers, you enjoyed the food.. I like the fish and chips/fries , i wish we have that mystery shopping. It feels like im a spy hhahhaha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes it is like being a spy to be honest, and I was lucky with that one as the food was awesome.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So you get to wear a spy outfit when you go mystery shopping hahhahhaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I just heard now about that Mystery Shop or Secret Shop thingy, Uncle! So there's really one. I'm working on a BPO, maybe you will get a chance to check it too. ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes would you sing wee singer if I was checking you ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I haven't been a mystery guy or person of sorts before, but I am a person who loves giving ratings to a particular service or premises. But getting paid to do some quick review sounds cool!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes it is cool, especially for things that you would normally visit or buy :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You know that's a thought hiring people to check how your company is doing but when I was watching undercover boss and under cover billionaires. Maybe I should do the under cover thing to know what the employees are, up to who is doing their job better and get a feed back from them how to make their job easier and some other complains that needs to be resolved.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You would be surprised what you find. It keeps people in their toes too. But not just people, also the services that do well or not so well, the service has its uses.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like that side hustle! Honestly, this is the first time I heard the word secret shop, I want to experience that one too but I want to assign in a food shop hehez the companies who chose you as their secret shopper are lucky because I know you will be provide a good and right feedback to them kuya Ed that helps them to improve their business.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Aww salamat wee one, yes I am fair and score them as I see it, but the company has guidelines which the employee need to follow, I score the employee and manager against their guidelines. Yes food places are cool ๐Ÿ˜‹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That was a cool side hustle. I heard of mystery shoppers a long time ago and wanted to try being one. I just don't know how to get in touch with legitimate hirers hahahaha....

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It is fun wee pp, I have about eight companies that I do stuff for, so will see if any have work in the Philippines.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A mystery shopper, I wanna be a mystery shopper too, where I'm going to eat free and have income front that too. Lol but I know that's not an easy job, we need to become reliable from other companies and gain their trust. I did watch some clips about mystery shopper. Sometimes they dressed as homeless people or act like PWD so that they can check how the staff will look for them.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes there are lots of ways you can do it. This morning I had to call Samsung customer service about a problem with my television and then write a report about how the employee helped me, also rate their website for answering my question. So companies like to know lots of things about their business.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's a super cool side hustle! after reading this, now I wanted to be a mystery shopper too HAHAH

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hehe it is fun, and I hope that companies would start to do this near you ๐Ÿ˜

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's cool though, you were like a cool super agent spying for the company, hahahaa it's great because you've got paid for doing that.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hehe it is like being a spy watching how people act and behave and what they wear too, hehe and yes getting paid is pretty cool.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, this part-time job is definitely cool! I've heard about it before but nevertheless, it just a realization that companies and employees really need to give their utmost effort to provide their service for their customers (for mystery shoppers or not). Being a mystery shopper was like the undercover boss thing, lol.

Your strategy is clever, to be honest. The betting shops will be a win-win situation if ever.

Enjoy doing these reviews! Aww, I want to try the job too here in the PH. If I can, I'll try to.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

The betting shops are cool as I do these every month, and I do them two at a time. Yes they are fun to do, I haven't seen them in The Philippines but I am looking to see if any of the companies I work for have people wanted in the Philippines. It is a good thing, employees can get rewarded or told to improve. It helps companies give the best service possible.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remember one episode from this show called Superstore where the employees were trying very hard to identify the secret shopper. It was funny seeing the employees putting their best foot forward only for the person who they thought was the secret shopper. Have you been "caught" as a mystery shopper before?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh I remember that scene in Superstore. Hehe no I have never been caught ๐Ÿ˜ although you can't visit the same shop each month, you have to wait two or three months to go back. Except for the betting shops, they are every month ๐Ÿ˜œ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If you're a lucky better monthly visits at the betting shop sound fun. It's like the company's paying for your salary and for the chance to win more money haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have known and have experienced that they will supervise me in an article store, fortunately, when I worked I have always been kind, I make the customer their invoice and I am patient with what they want to choose. I admit that I am a bit envious of your work, I love the food, I would like to be paid to supervise the restaurants, such a position here is very rare, I do not even know where they are obtained or what experience is needed. Good article friend, a pleasure to read you again.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

ah you are the sort of person they are not checking, not everyone is like you Sara :) Yes it is rare work to find, and not always is it for restaurants, but it is fun when it is for restaurants! Thank you, I haven't been active, I need to change that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's a nice side hustle you got Tito Ed! The worst you can get is a bad food that you didn't like, but it's a win for you 'coz you get paid๐Ÿ˜ That bookshelf remind me of a place where we had lunch last weekend :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hehe you are right, the worst that can happen is the food is not good! Oh cool what did you have for your lunch I wonder?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And I'd like to have a side hustle like that, lol! The hubby had baby back (I think I shared it in one of my previous articles) and I had a local dish called "pork sisig"

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ah baby back I love that. Well it is a cool wee side hustle ๐Ÿ˜‰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So you are getting paid by visiting your company's competitor? That's spying, haha. ๐Ÿ˜

$ 0.02
2 years ago

hehe no actually I get paid by the company's head office to spy on their employees ๐Ÿคฃ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha. Wow, that's an exciting job. So that's how companies decide if they fire people.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It is also one way that companies decide to give rewards and promotions to people as well, so it can be good too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a side hustle! You get paid to bet and eat and get reinbursed for every expense! Wow! I wish I could get a job like that. And this is the first time I encountered the phrase mystery shopping... But I've heard of Mystery Inc. Before

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It is an awesome side hustle John, I must admit that covid caused much of it to stop, but now the UK is getting back to normal, so that side hustle is getting busier again. I am not sure if this sort of thing exists in The Philippines, but it would be fun if it did! ah Mystery Inc :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've heard and read about the mystery shopper. But here, marketing companies don't do that. The fish and chips looked yummy. And you cleaned your plate, hehe. Here such a meal would cost much more and even more in such a nice place. I would love to eat there with those books at the raise of a hand. A cool work to do! ;)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes a lot of countries don't do it. But here it is very popular, all the big chains do it. All the fast food places, pubs, shops, online stores, even insurance and mobile phone companies. I was surprised that the food was so cheap, I actually will go back and pay myself. The books were cool too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm surprised by the price of the food, too. This here will cost around 15 dollars in a place like this.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, I was expecting about15 dollars to be truthful too !

$ 0.00
2 years ago

At first it was a horror story in which you entered in a mysterious shop hahah too much horror stories I've read, are you a inspector sir? I saw lots of clips about people who entering in a restaurant, eating then gave a review on internet or newspaper, I think your job is differs from it. What's the name of that job sir?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

hehe no not a horror story :) Yes an inspector of sorts, I visit a restaurant and then write a report for their head office and make sure they keep doing a good job.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Real quick. The plate was empty haha. Good morning, master! Have a great day ahead. ๐Ÿ’—

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Annyeonggg my wee BC, salamat but my day is closing, we are behind you guys by 7 hours hehe, enjoy your day though !

$ 0.00
2 years ago