Coffee to the rescue

63 61
Avatar for TengoLoTodo
2 years ago

"Ah coffee. The sweet balm by which we shall accomplish today’s tasks." - Holly Black, Ironside


28th January 2022 22/28

Hola Hello you wonderful bunch of readers. Are you being awesome today?

Heck I know you are, you are reading this after all!

The weekend is here already.

Actually, the weekend started for me this morning. I decided to make a trip into town. When I say a trip it is a fifteen minute walk to the heart of the High Street.

Friday is market day, and wanted to see if there were any stalls for the outside market that we sometimes have on a Friday.

There is one stall that seems to pop up once a month, which sells the most wonderful coffee beans. Not only the coffee beans, but they will also ground the beans for you should you so wish. Even though their stall is situated outside, the aromas that waft into your nostrils as you wait your turn in the queue are just awesome.

Unfortunately, the weather was not so great, but unperturbed I strolled into town. It appeared that the only vendor who had made an appearance was the fruit and vegetable stall. The hardy soul is there every Friday, so I did pay him a visit and buy some exotic mushrooms and other veggies.

I must admit I was a wee bit disappointed that I would not be getting my coffee beans today.

Undaunted, I packed my vegetables away into my bag and strolled the long distance (ten steps to be precise) from the fruit and veg man to the nearest charity shop. This one was PDSA which is for pets, I am sucker for an animal charity. I took a stroll around the shop but found nothing of interest.

I did try the other five charity shops on the high street and nothing tickled my fancy in any of them.

Friday was rapidly becoming a Friday washout day not a Friday fun day!

I was tempted to have a wee stroll down onto and along the beach and take some pictures, oh the joys of having smartphones, we always have a camera with us.

The quickest way to the beach, was through the indoor mall, and so I made my way through the mall, and then was hit by the aroma of coffee.

In the middle of the passage way between aisles of shops, was a stall that was raising money for a local church.

They were having an impromptu coffee morning. £1.99 and you get a cup of coffee and a treat.

They did not have that great a selection of treats, but I did decide on this millionaires shortbread.

I don't know if that is what you call them, but it is basically shortbread with a layer of caramel and then topped off with a layer of chocolate. To tell you the truth it is one of my favourite sweets.

Being a greedy so and so I had taken a bite before it twigged that I should take a picture.

There was the coffee with a fancy wee heart. The church folk were friendly and I told the little old lady who made the heart I was well chuffed at how professional she was.

She was so tickled with my compliment that she knocked over a little cup of milk.

So I let them keep the change from my five pounds.

I tell you what, it was a damn tasty cup of coffee too.

A fiver well spent, I might not have donated in the charity shops by buying something, but by buying an awesome cup of coffee and a treat I helped a church with getting their roof repaired.

The day turned out good and the coffee rescued it!

Have a wonderful weekend coffee lovers.

Copyright @TengoLoTodo   2022 and yes All Rights Reserved. All images, words, and ramblings are from the author unless otherwise stated.

100% original content from this mad Scotsman

And don't forget ;)

Haste ye back.

32
$ 9.02
$ 8.12 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 21
Sponsors of TengoLoTodo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for TengoLoTodo
2 years ago

Comments

appreciation.... it's a good impact when the results of our work and income donate a few dollars to the construction of a church place of worship.. I'm warm reading this I hope the roof of the church gets resolved soon.. you know friends, when you donate to church construction it means a lot You will receive a blessing in return from God..

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you for your kind words, it is a small thing, but if everyone does it then it will be built faster.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Really, what's with the coffee?! I wish I could have mine but I think I already had more, my tummy's getting acidic already. Glad you enjoyed your coffee po sir Ed. I haven't been to a charity shop here in Pinas, not sure if we have one.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I need lots of coffee to keep functioning Glessa haha Salamat I did enjoy it very much. I wonder if you do have them, going to look now!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The aroma of the coffee is so addicting. Even though I rarely drink coffee nowadays, I just couldn't help myself not to fall in love with coffee hahaha. btw kuya ed, have you tried eating bread dipped in a coffee? I swear it tastes so good!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Inday Jini oo and oo, I love it especially with black coffee and crusty bread! Ah yes I remember you said before that you don't drink much coffee now, so I drink it for you :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am not a fan of coffee, I only drink water, but I always get amazed how a one cup of coffee can change someone mood into good:D

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It is an elixir and yes can replenish the mood and make go up to good :) Water of course is good too!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Coffee .. I am not a type of man that love coffee I don't really loves to take coffee but I love to take soft drinks but not ever time to be sincere I really love the way you described your coffee drinks and I will love to eat the chocolate seeing it on the phone let me knows that it will be a sweet one

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It was sweet, ah well if you don;t like coffee, imagine the same thing but with a soft drink :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

coffee always saves the day :)

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Coffee sure does save the day, each day and every day Eylz :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I would like to try that cake❤️

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It was very tasty!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You always do something good, even while drinking coffee. 😊 I would love to try the cake, caramel and chocolate, the realization of my dream. 😀

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It is an awesome mixture Jelena, haha now I want some more, and I have some, I will have a bite for you and thank you, it is good to do good when we can, as I am not good too many times too haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Coffee lover indeed

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Guilty as charged Jane :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Love that Kind of coffee uncle, haven't tried that before.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It was tasty and hot, perfect with the chocolate, enjoy your Sunday :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love to have a sip of that tasty coffee too Uncle...

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It was lami Kim, enjoy your Sunday :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a coffee heart and a yummyy chocolate. Give me some Teng hehehe, just kidding. Have a great weekend to you Teng!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hehe I saved you some Jeane, enjoy your Sunday na

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks Teng hahaha. I'm grabbing my coffee now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Raising my hand, I'm in brother. One for me, please.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

hehe I have it all ready for you brother!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Now I'm craving for a coffee , and sweets. Everything I'll do for a cup of coffee haha. What a good day you have there. Happy weekend!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you, it was a good day after all, I hope you had a coffee and sweets and Happy rest of the weekend to you :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Two of my favorite things in the whole wide world, coffee and chocolate, that must've been delicious Ed, and the lady, I can see her blushing with your compliment, so sweet 💞

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Mine too Rebeca, they compliment each other well. Yes well she deserved it :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Coffee is everyone's happy pill. This made me wanna grab my own coffee right now DF while watching a zombie movie. The cake looks delicious.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

haha I would join for the coffee DF but not to watch a zombie film haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yay, thanks to coffee! But if it was me, I won't drink it with chocolate because it will be less tastier for me. Haha. Anyways, hope you'll have a happy weekend, uncle EM!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Don't you like chocolate wee miss five cups? oo have a Happy Weekend too, may all your wishes come true!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like chocolates uncle but I don't eat it with coffee. Hehe. Thanks, uncle EM!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

bitaw wee miss five cups, they go hand in hand ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How tasty your cake looks with the chocolate frosting and your tasty coffee with heart. You helped a good deed. Hehehe. Happy weekend my Friend.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you Gertu, it always feels good to do a good deed and the coffee and cake were fantastic!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'd like to have my own cup of coffee if you may want to give to me and meanwhile, I'm glad you were able to at last fulfil your coffee drinking ambition hehehe!!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Sure I can, enjoy it :) Yes I am glad I had it, it made my morning!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awesome friday Uncle Ed. Haven't drink of a coffe with a heart shape on it. I promise.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Aww you can have mine then :) Have a super Sunday!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awee, I'm happy that you were able to sip a good coffee in the end. On my part, I was feeling tired yesterday I still decided to go to the nearby cafe and order a toffeenut latte which is my fave hehe.. It changed my mood positively.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I don't normally like flavoured coffees, but your toffeenut latte sounds interesting and I am glad it cheered you up!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahahaha...@ tengolotodo, iam right here in Nigeria and can at the same time view what is happening over there in your country courtesy of you Hahahahaha, nice coffee outing

$ 0.03
2 years ago

The internet is amazing Sammy, now we know what happens in each others countries!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love your ride, super fast😁 The coffee is very fragrant, especially on a chilly day, and in the morning (although mornings don't always have to start with coffee) the aroma makes my head spin. You embarrassed this woman with your compliment, I think she was pleased to hear a "kind word". And a good deed - always returns boomerang. As always it is interesting and you can't read your article without smiling)))

$ 0.02
2 years ago

oh yes the fragrance was wonderful and it was chilly, so yes it warmed me up inside. She did get embarrassed I think, however who doesn't like hearing "kind words". Good deeds do come back to us multiplied. Thank you for your "kind words" , it is always good to make people smile :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We do have hardtime getting what we want, but that coffee seems to be the most important thing for you. I really want also to taste the goodness's of coffee especially when topped of it are chocolates.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It turned out to be a wonderful cup of coffee and the chocolate made it perfect!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Glad to know that your day turns out good coz you finally got your coffee. As a coffee lover, coffee really makes my day good too. Happy Weekend!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

hehe it does make a day great, doesn't it. Salamat and you have a wonderful weekend too, Happy Weekend:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah it does...Salamat din

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My dear friend, you portrayed your Friday very beautifully. You took us with you in the market step by step. I'm glad you finally got your coffee, and your day was what you wanted it to be... Happy weekend my dear...

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It turned out to be a great day thanks to the coffee! Thank you and have a Happy Weekend too :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Coffee and chocolate?? Both are a no uno for me... I guess i could have made an exception for the cause😂😂

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It is good to make an exception once in a while!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yummy coffee! I see it brightly with a smell tasty aroma.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

it was yummy and had a tasty aroma

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Another story how a cup of coffee can make a day. The bread looks yummy, as I love chocolate flavored foods too😁

$ 0.02
2 years ago

coffee and chocolate, the perfect combination hehe. oo it was yummy and I am sure you would have loved it too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha that made me thought to look for something in chocolate flavor too later😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago