My kind of Hero

79 68
Avatar for Sequoia
2 years ago
Topics: Free writing, Life, Self, Fun
Date: August 3,2021
Author: Sequoia

Recently, few authors published articles with their pets as their subject or main topic. I had a great time reading it because me myself is a pet lover as well. One of the articles that I have read was published by @emily2u (sorry for the tag ems) entitled My Dogs and I. Articles that talks about pets and animals always get my attention. I am a fond of pets ever since I was a kid. I think being a pet lover runs in our blood.

________________________

'Kabang' the Hero

Here in the Philippines, especially in Mindanao, there was this specific dog that captured the attention of the people around the world because of its heroic act. I don’t know if you guys know this dog, but here in our country, she was very famous. This amazing dog that I am talking about is “Kabang”. Kabang’s breed was a shepherd mix askal short for “asong kalye (stray dog)”. But this doesn’t mean that she is homeless. Kabang is a female dog that was owned by Mr. Rudy Bunggal of Zamboanga City, Philippines. This dog became famous because of saving her owner’s daughter and niece from being hit by a motorcycle. She jumped in front of the motorcycle, blocking it from hitting the two young girls. That resulted her to lose her nose. The accident happened last December 2011 and if I can remember it right, Kabang got missing after the incident and reappeared after two weeks of being gone. She was featured in our national TV news and received support worldwide. She was brought to US for her treatment but she died just this year, 2021.

I screenshot this image from facebook.com

Source of information: https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kabang________________________

Family Experience

Kabang’s story is just one of the thousand heroic stories of not just dogs but other animals as well. Growing up with pets surrounding me, I have seen how these animals will do anything for their owners. Our family experience this heroic act of animals as well. It happened when my auntie was cooking and she left her 3 month old baby unattended in their room. By the way, our house back then was surrounded by trees and we can’t really deny the fact that being surrounded by it also means that we are surrounded by different insects and animals including snakes. While cooking, my auntie heard some commotion in their room and when tries to look at it, she was shocked that our cat was fighting with a snake (they didn’t tell me what snake it is).

Our cat's name was “Rambo” killed the snake and brought it outside their house. My aunt can’t believe what just happened and from then on, we always make sure to have a cat in our house. But don’t get us wrong, we are not using them as protection, even before that incident we already have cats and dogs in our house because as what I have said, it runs in the blood. My grandfather is a very fond of dogs and my grandmother is a cat lover.

________________________

I think I’ve gone too far, so before you got bored, I am gonna show you some of my pets here in our house.

GREY THE NOISIEST DOG

Grey was given to me by my boyfriend. He is a very cute puppy back then. His fur was so smooth and shining and his face was so adorable and innocent. By the way, he is an askal. I really fell in love with him the moment I first laid my eyes on him (I am pertaining to my dog). He was so shy at first but then as the time goes by, he’s starting to become naughty and very noisy. He loves barking, a lot. His barking whenever he don’t like his place, when he is hungry, when he sees butterfly and when we ignore him.

NEGRO A.K.A TOOTHLESS

Well, he is not really toothless; he just resembles the color of toothless in How to rain your dragon movie. I love Negro’s green and very round eyes. By the way, he is afraid of snakes. He is so loud whenever he wants something. So if he is hungry, you better give him food before he starts meowing. Negro’s mother is a stray cat that my mother adopted. My mother is a cat lover and she can’t really stand seeing homeless cats. You will just be surprised that she will come home with a cat in her hands.

NATSU THE GREAT

If you are an anime lover, you might find Grey and Natsu’s name familiar. I got their name from the Fairy Tail’s anime movie. Natsu was left by his owner in the middle of the street and I was about to buy junkfoods that time when I found him hiding in the bushes. My eyes twinkled and I picked him up then went home. Well, you can’t blame me, Natsu was a very cute kitty back then. He was so sweet. But now, he was so spoiled. My gash, he loves resting in my shoulder. Natsu is very dramatic and attention seeker. He easily gets jealous especially when I play with Negro.

________________________

Those are MY pets. Actually, we have 3 cats and 2 more dogs in our house but I only choose to show my pets because the rest are my mom’s. 80% of our pets are adopted. I never tried to buy dogs because I believe that instead of buying, why shouldn’t I adopt homeless ones? Our pets are so sweet and very smart. They didn’t save us from a motorcycle incident, but they saved us from stress and sadness. Our pets became our stress reliever and we thank them for that. They are not just pets, they are part of our family.

30
$ 11.15
$ 10.05 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @emily2u
$ 0.10 from @Princessbusayo
+ 21
Sponsors of Sequoia
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Sequoia
2 years ago
Topics: Free writing, Life, Self, Fun

Comments

Waaaahhhh. Kabang. 😍 your pets are so adorable. So you're an anime lover. I haven't watched Fairytail yet but my brother asked me too before. I was more into Naruto, Bleach and One Piece.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Cute cute ni Kabang and Toothless! Parang si Toothless talaga! Hahaha. Wait iba pala name nyan pero Toothless tinawag ko. 😂

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Negro name niya aka toothless hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh I know Kabang, she was featured in news. Napaka galing talaga ng doggo na iyon. For the love of her owner ano. Sadly nawala na sya, pero at least nakilala sya as the bravest dog. Dog Lover din ako, kaso ayaw ko na uliy magkaroon ng own pet. Masakit mamatayan, ayaw ko na ma feel ung naramdaman ko before na sakin nong nawala si Joko ko ☹️.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yan yung pinaka ayaw ko ate ruffa huhu. Ang mawala yung mga furbabies kooo. Inaabot din ako ng months bago maka move on eh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Parang naglilihi ako na magkaroon ng pusa nung nabasa ko to ate hehe. Napanood ko po yata yung Kabang na yon pero di masyadong pamilyar hehe

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahahaha parang buntis lang ano? Naka wala talga stress yung pusa 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Omooo I really fond to a person like you who choose to adopt a homeless furbabies instead of buying new one, aawwww you're heart is too soft, anyways I'm amazed how you can take good care of them because they are so many furbabies.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's my advocach ever since 😅. I just can stand seeing homeless furbabies. It really broke my heart. And with taking care of them, I hav emy mom to help me 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am not a pet lover pero. Nakakaproud kase kahit mga hayop sila madame silang napapasaya at naliligtas na mga tao .kung baga napapasaya nila yung tao sa simpleng bagay lang.😁

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Truuue. Iba kasi talaga epekto ng nga hayop 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like toothless. I like how black he is. Is his fur all black?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yess! Black talaga lahat. Wlang halong kahit ano.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Love reading stories of pets. Grey is so adorable. I'm more of a dog person. Glad to hear you adopt instead of buying. Me too. Currently, I have two - Black Blitz (3 years) and Concrete Crusher (2 months). Both are online names. LOL.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Wooow. Those names are lit 🤗🤗.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wahhh ang cute ni Toothless 🤧♥️ I like cats and dogs they are funny and sometimes they do stupid things which makes even more funnier. They are curious, that is why 😂

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeaaah. Hhaahha truelala talaga yang mga stupid stuffs na pinaggagawa nila hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like toothless 😁 all your pets are adorable

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Awwss thank you Dafty's friend 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Woah..your pets are so adorable😊. I love them..that's right..why we need to buy one if there are furbabies out there having no home ..and need love and care.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly. Lots of dogs and cats are waiting for someone that would love and care for them

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wowwww! You have a lot of pets bebe Se. 😍 Di ko ka relate kay hadlok kog iro. Hahahaha pero toothless is so toothless gyud diay. Lami kayg mata ey.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Bonggacious kaau na syag mata ateee. Strikto pajud. Hilasun nga ering HAHAHA. Nganong mahadlok man kag iro te?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lagi nahan kaayo ko ay. 😍

Ambot lang sad gud. Mahadlok ko gyud.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

They're all lovely. ❤ Natsu looks like my cat "Esme" hehe. And yes, you're right, our pets are stress relievers.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Awww 🤗 I love her name, "Esme". Girl si esme po? Papajowa ko kay Natsu HAHAHA

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, babae. Pakasal na natin sila now na hahahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sigeee hhaha baka maging bakla pa itong Natsu ko.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay bet na bet din ni Esme yung medyo di straight hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayyy magkakasundo sila 🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sure akoo jan haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Not really a fan of pets though, but I can relate to why you love these dogs, plus they are cute.😀

$ 0.02
2 years ago

They are really cute 🤗.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

First, let me say that toothless is such a cutie...

Rambo, I remember our tour guide dog when we visited batad, the dog's name is Rambo.

I wish I had pets too but my mom is asthmatic so we can't have dogs or cats in the house

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Awww :(. Nakaka sad naman po iyon :(. Di din kasi talaga good for asthmatic people yung mga balahibo nila eh. Anyways, thanks for passing by po 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really enjoyed reading about your pets, Sequoia. I am a fellow dog lover, and I think homeless dogs deserve to have a home also. Don't buy, adopt.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ahuuh. That really became my advocay. Why buy? When you can adopt. Thanks to you Ems, I was inspired to write about my pets also.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's all thanks to the prompt Haha!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yesyes 🤗🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Natsu is so cuteeee! Dugay nako nangita jod ug itom na iring mamshy

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Cute jud kaau sila mamsh hahaha. Kaya lang pag gabie makurat kuratan ka. Ahhaha labaw nag musiga ang mata 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mao pero cute kaajo gihapon. Maluoy pod ko anang iring itom mamsh kay lge naay tinuohan sa ato na malas daw. Ang uban pang patyon 🥺

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Toothless remind of the movie "How to train your dragon" 😍😉

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeeah, that's where I named him after.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha bet ko si Grey at Negro ang ko kyut nila beb,...

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Slaamaat beeb. Kaya lang ang kukulit din beb eh jahaha. Titigas ng ulo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

mana ba sa may ari beb?hiihihi

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahhaha parang ganun na nga beb ahhaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And cute ni Negro....kht hndi ako mahilig sa pusa.. Pro ang ganda nya 😁 bat dami ko nababasa bout pete ngayonn. Pra sa prompt b to? 😅

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Nakakatakot nga lang po sya ate pag gabi. Yung ang dilim2 tapos may makikita kang mata na naka masid sayo 🤣🤣. Ako din po eh, maraming nababa kaya I decided to make one also 😁😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Our pets are sometimes too good to be true. I think we don't deserve them, but we should love and cherish them. Thank you for appreciating them po. Godbless.

$ 0.02
User's avatar Ze
2 years ago

Yes. They definitely deserve all the love and care.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A few months ago I had birds as my pet. They were so beautiful. They were little, named finch. But their childs were dying even after growing up! And the death rate didn’t reduce. Finding no solution, I returned them from where I brought them.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haaaluh :( I am sorry poo sa nangyari. Ako din po eh, mahilig din sa ibom kaso di talaga sila nabubuhay sa akin.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang cucute po! By the way, good evening po. :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Salamaat. Good evening din.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang cucute 😭💜 miss ko na tuloy mga alaga kong pusa huhu

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Asan pala sila ngayon mars.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm not into pets but I found your pets adorable. well, I heard about kabang too and the statue made for him. how nice is it to live with pets who we also consider as our heroes.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Nakooo pag na attached kas pets panigurado ma adik ka 🤗🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

baka nga. ganyan din gf ko maraming alaga

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awww. Try mooo mag alaga.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oo pag bumukod na ako sa amin hahahs ayaw ng mama ko sa mga hayop kasi

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awww kaya naman pala

$ 0.00
2 years ago

opo at tsaka yung little brother ko parang alien. takot sa aso

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha di kasi sya sanay siguro.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ang oa nga haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really love the part that says I really fell in love with him the first time I saw him, but you are pertaining to your dog, hahahaha. I have my black cat too, I call her Negi. She is so sweet and malandi.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahhaaha denfensive ba mars? Hahahaah. Aren't they adorable ? I consider him as my lucky charm.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

They are uniquely adorable sis!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dogs are loyal to their owner like kabang, they can sense if your sad or hapi.. ❤️Pets are family too🥰

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's true. They can sense the emotions we feel.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your pets are so cute! I can't take my eyes off Toothless hehe. And I agree that pets are part of the family. I hope to see more of your family's pets too.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Awww thank youuu 🤗. I will make another article for that 🤗🤗

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Patay na diay to bal?🥺 Kalooy pod tawun dis year jud?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oo bal. This year lang. Cancer ata.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Toothless love love love!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank youu sis 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You;re welcome, sis!

$ 0.00
2 years ago