Who do you give more care to, yourself or others?

53 69
Avatar for Princessbusayo
2 years ago

“Breathe. Let go. And remind yourself that this very moment is the only one you know you have for sure.”

Oprah Winfrey

It's a new week and I am so excited to spend the moment worshiping in my family church after a long while. This is our family Church but since we all have been on our own, we attend different churches, though my elder sister and some relatives still attend the same church, different branches at their locations.

So, I believe we all serve the same God and that doesn't mean He wouldn't hear us when we call on Him. God is Omnipresent- meaning He is everywhere, provided you worship Him in truth and with holy heart.

Here is a question from the email I do get daily by @Shadowspub

"Who do you give more care to, yourself or others?"

Many of us, without a doubt, tend to show more care to others than ourselves. We want to please them all because we want external validation from them. Many of us tend to practice eye service, meaning you want people to see what you are doing and would want them to think you are being nice, whereas you are inconveniencing yourself because of that. There is a limit to showing care to others and focusing much on ourselves. Love yourself first before extending to others. Do not pretend to be caring to not remember that you need more attention to yourself.

The moment you have nothing, you will realize you do not have anyone around you. The best moment to know those who are being sincere to you is when you have nothing.

In my tribe, we say it is the hand with palm oil, people will lick but once the hand is dried, they will leave you. It means when a man has money, people will stay with him and once they spend your money to nothing, they leave you alone because they have seen you have nothing to help them with.

I have always cared for other people while I forget about myself and these people would not do anything for you.

One thing I wouldn't want you to do when you decide to care for yourself is that, even if you are caring for others, do not expect in return from them but it's normal to think that they should also care for you the way you have done for them. But some people would want to keep receiving and not think of giving back, perhaps to show an appreciation.

Two days ago, my younger sister sent her birthday lists to me on what she is planning to receive from people for her birthday this month. I chose the one to gift her and she told me one of her friends has promised to gift her a wig that cost #50k ($100)

I was wowed because these are good friends one needs to have. I am not saying having rich friends is good, but having friends who would be happy and willing to help you when you need it.

I remembered while in school, I have always cared for others including those I call my friends but they have never for once given me anything apart from visiting each other's house and entertaining ourselves. I know how many times I have taken them out to eat and I paid.

My sister was angry when I told her I spent a lot on my birthday when I took them out but they never gave me a penny as a gift except for my neighbors who did a surprise birthday for me. She was of the opinion that they were supposed to foot the bill instead. Some friends would be happy to receive from you but aren't ready to show you their good sides except that they want you to keep spending and caring for them forgetting about yourself and if you don't do it, they become sad.

All I am saying is to always put yourself first even if you want to care for others. Treat yourself before treating another person.

I read an article on hive where the user said if you have money, be selfish to other people by spending on yourself first. Be selfish once in a while and stop thinking about others always leaving yourself out of the attention you need.

Life is so small not to think about yourself because when you are down, no one would stand by you, perhaps your family and one or two people who are sincere with you. You should take care of yourself because you worked for it. Do not try to care for others thinking you would be praised. Yes, they will praise, hail and hype you so that you can continue to spend on them but once you have exhausted everything, you will realize you shouldn't have done what you did.

There is a need to scrutinize our circle of friends and know those who would really stand by us when things go wrong.

I have on several occasions tried to lend money from friends who turned me down but I am always ready to give what I have, thereby not focusing on myself and taking care of "me". Thank God I have siblings who I run to since I have learnt my lesson and I never bothered asking from them again because there is no need when you know they won't lend you help.

We need to open our eyes and remember it would be only us at the end and everyone would focus on themselves.

I have heard of a situation where a friend was busy lavishing his money on his friends and these friends were building their houses behind him without letting him know. I wonder how he would feel when he comes to know he has been foolish all along. We need to apply wisdom in doing things and that doesn't mean you shouldn't help when you can afford it, but know when to put a stop and limit your kindness and care to others but to enjoy life with what you have got first.

Thanks for reading

Image by Toa Heftiba

[April 03, 2022] (No 93 article for the year)

23
$ 6.95
$ 6.35 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Fexonice1
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 18
Sponsors of Princessbusayo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Princessbusayo
2 years ago

Comments

loving yourself more than you love others is the first and most critical step to seeking happiness and fulfillment Putting yourself first isn't selfish. It's the first, only and overlooked step toward putting anybody else before your own needs. As human animals, we often don't do things unless we can get something out of them. When your needs are already taken care of, you can give genuinely and without expectation.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you for your comment.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is ever best to give more care to yourself as the first and most ultimate priority you have in life but as for me, I'm sometimes caught up in the web of giving more care to others than I give to myself and I do wonder how and why it is so. Maybe, it's God's wish I do that who knows

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Even the Bible says "Love your neighbor as yourself". If you do not care for yourself, how then would you have the strength or knowledge to love and care for others. Love and care for yourself first.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I do take fir others more than myself, that sometimes I am being tagged a busy body by my husband, he said I please others than my self

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It´s best to please yourself than others. Lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I guess shA,

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is better to show more care to ourselves, rather to people who only love us for what we have, or what we give to them. Selflove is the first thing for us to live a happy life.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Self love is important. Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As for me, I'm not really that showy but I care more to others than myself. It's like 48% for myself and 52% to others. I want to put it equally but, I didn't that I can give that much care to other. Even I don't know that before.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I would rather turn it to 52% for myself while 48% for others because when you are doing good, you will be able to help others. It doesn´t mean we won´t help them in our own best way and capacity, but the care shouldn´t be too much focused on them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

People are so mean,they will not consider your kindness in good way,instead they would be only concerned with their own benefits. So never betray yourself by being too good with them.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Just like what Soulwriter narrated about her experience. People are only for their benefits and not seeing the good thing you have done.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can relate. We don’t deserve selfish friends. I once had a friend who I accommodated when she had issues in her hostel. I fed her, and made sure she was comfortable. On this fateful day, I had a bad day, so I decided to let her go cos I needed some time alone. I expected her to understand, but then she told me I was selfish after all I did for her? Lol! This same girl said if she were in my shoes she will do more than what I did for her. Not in my next life am I going to accommodate someone again. We need to care for ourselves more than we care for people. Most times I think God created some of us to be extremely Nice, cos no matter how you say you are not going to help someone, you can’t just watch them go.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It may happen to many of us and I expected she understands since she won´t be staying with you forever. That is human for you. They would want you to continue helping even when you aren´t having time for yourself and when you stop, they tag you as a bad person. For me, I don´t care as long as what I did was for my best.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We must never compromise ourselves just to please other people. That life is not worth-living. It is pretentious.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

We should take care them who also have care and love for us. At first we need to make sure our self care. Because It's needed more for stay in this planet.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Sooner or later we will learn who are the people that matters and who are true friends. Beware of people who only take advantage of your goodness.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Those kinds of people are dangerous and we need to be careful. Thank you so much.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This kind of mirrors how I'm feeling lately. I always find myself doing things for other people rather than myself. Sometimes, they even take credit for the things I've done and I don't know how to do less

$ 0.02
2 years ago

One thing is to learn how to minimize it because at the end, you might feel sad doing it for them while they won´t even car for you. We need to be wise.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, that is true. Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think we should stop being too selfless towards others and live a little longer for ourselves.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Actually, we are to love our neighbour as OURSELVES, as ordained by God. So I would definitely care for myself and the care for others. I won't do what is beyond my capacity. I do away with anyone that is not in any way adding to my life.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Very correct. Though we cannot stop loving them but there should be a limit to caring for them when you are leaving yourself out of self care. When you have the capacity to do it, you should.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's is called selflessness and I used to do that a lot in the past but I have learnt my lesson the hard way. These days, I tend to notice people that won't mirror my energy and I will always put myself first when it comes to people like that. But my closest friends that I know can be there when I need them, I tend to care for them even more than myself

$ 0.02
2 years ago

The best is to know those who are true and real to you so you wouldn´t have to be the one doing it while they don´t. Beware of friends who would only come to eat and dine with you but will disappear when you need them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was a people's pleaser but I've backed off from there. I found out that I was all considering being the bank to People and sometimes go about running to my siblings when my pocket is roughly dry,,, but that's not the life we should live. It's never an offense to consider yourself first before considering other people.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It´s definitely not an offence to care for yourself first because it is important you do so even if you must care for others.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It will be better I give care to myself than giving to others, humans are I different forms, they are not to be trusted and those ones you call your best friend are still the once that will betray you. So i believe in investing in myself than investing in others

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, that is right. It is important we invest in ourselves first so we can have something to fall back on when the shocking part happens.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes friend you got it right.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No one would want to associate with someone who doesn't have money, when a person doesn't have money friends will not go close to him. So I think I would rather invest in my self more than others, because humans are not to be trusted, the people you put your hope on are the same people that will eventually disappoint you and betray you to your enemies.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am having a weekend of self care as my fiance is out of town and I should do this more often I have spent the weekend doing what I enjoy and taking care of myself with nice meals and plenty of sleep and it has been wonderful!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That´s great. That is what we need often instead of focusing on others and depriving ourselves of the care we need.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Take care of yourself the more , others will take care of themselves. This does not stand to mean that you are selfish. Do the little you can do. God bless you. Great of you

$ 0.02
2 years ago

caring for ourselves is mandatory because how can we care for others if our lives are not cared for. loving people is the same as loving yourself. God bless

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Well I care for others as much as I can.. but also I'm making sure myself isn't the least priority. Self-care is always a must, we cannot care for others exactly if we can't even manage to care for ourselves first.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are right. With the least you are capable of doing, do it but do not forget we also are important to trot ourselves to the best way.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Truth is , our own growth and recovery should be our top priority. If we don't take care of ourselves well, then we won't be able to help or as much as we want or as muchbas they expect us to. Ths may make others believe that we are reluctant to help hem out, nor knowing thsy we are really doing our best for them. Hence they might turn ungrateful and won't want to reciprocate Same gesture when someday we ask them fir help... That'swhy its most important ti focus on ourselves first.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

This is the perfect reason we must treat and focus on ourselves because no matter what you do for others, once you stop, they see you as a bad person.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ourself is more important than else. No other can think better for us then ourselves. It is practically proven as you stated too that no friend will come to your help when you are in trouble. Especially financial drum stick you have to beat for you .

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yea, we need to focus more on ourselves by caring before extending such care to others.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True, mate and I think this is in human nature that we care more about others than ourselves. I know this is a good thing but I think we should give more priority to our own selves. Have a blessed day, friend.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you, my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think there’s no one you care about others than him/her self because it’s sounds some how but one can care for other and it must have limits. I have friends that I cared for and they also cared for me we’re in equilibrium.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That is how it should be and not people taking advantage of you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I give more care to myself, but when the needs of the people i love is bigger than mine, i give more of the care and love they need according to how my strength at that time.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, according to our strength.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Spot on. I used to care for others as much as myself because I don't want to seem selfish. But it would seem others became more selfish and the ripple effect is me becoming more selfish. To be honest, I care more about myself now, more than I used to

$ 0.02
2 years ago

No matter what you do to others, some would still say bad things about you and if you aren´t selfish to others by caring for yourself, they will keep taking advantage of you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well said man should be more caring towards his own self instead of being nice to others. I also have friends who just visit me and call me whenever they need me. I have experienced many times that no one come to us when our pocket are empty

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That is it. Only a few people would reciprocate back.

$ 0.00
2 years ago