Shying away from responsibility

29 54
Avatar for Princessbusayo
1 year ago

“In order to win and succeed in life, responsibility is so important. This is a part of being an adult and learning how to be responsible for everything.”

Tonya R. Owens

I think writing more about me personally makes you know who I am really. I love that as I enjoy talking about myself and my character. Even though I have my flaws, especially the anger issue but wouldn't it shock you if I tell you that I am mindful of that in the public but only exercise it more within my family?

Something I am always understanding is that your family will still bear and cope with you but people outside would think you have gone crazy and they will keep coming up with different talks and would even look at different perspectives away from you. Family is everything but that does not mean I should use their tolerances and keep venting out my anger even unnecessarily.

Something about me is that I don't shy away from my responsibility. I do things when I know it's my turn and it's something meant for me to do. What do I mean here? I don't know how to explain myself better but with this example, you should get what I am saying here.

Where I stay, we are thirteen tenants as students. We each have our days when we wash the toilet and bathroom and one thing about me is that I don't complain but when it's my turn, I do it. It's my responsibility and I should do it.

Some people wouldn't even take it up when it's their turn to wash the toilet and bathroom because someone didn't wash it before it got to their turn and they would be like “this person didn't wash it yesterday and it would be so dirty, I can't do it too”.

I used to say something that if someone refuse to do what he should have done and another person refuses to do it too, everyone would be blamed in the end as no one would be exempted. What you have to do when it's your turn, please do it.

Not taking responsibility when it's your turn makes you immature but when you know when to do things, that is when the maturity in you comes out and makes people know you aren't being childish.

Yesterday, I was forced to check the date to know when I would be washing the toilet and many students have gone home making the toilet left unwashed for days. When I checked the date, I got to know a friend who I took as bestie was supposed to wash and she was around. I called and reminded her and the next thing she said was “I can't wash this toilet. No one has washed it for some days now and it would be so dirty. I can't wash it too”.

I was hurt in my heart for her to say such and she is even two years older than me. I said to her “That isn't how life should be. It's your turn to wash the toilet and you shouldn't be saying because others didn't wash and you wouldn't wash it”

Most times, I even wash the toilet on some days when I have seen no one has washed it.

She kept quiet saying she would wash later as she didn't even know it was her turn. I smiled and just waved it off. This is someone that has always stood on that word many times and I would even talk to her not to see it that way but to do her own. If others didn't do it, that doesn't mean you should not do it too.

It was my turn the next day and I woke up early and did what I needed to do. She didn't wash it later yesterday and I never complained.

This is something I am used to right from time and I don't complain. If the toilet stay unclean, I wouldn't like it and dirtiness isn't my thing. I can't be bathing and perceiving odour or trying to slip on the ground because the ground is slippery.

The thing is, we all would suffer for it if everyone stays out of their responsibility because someone didn't do it.

Where I live with my parents then, none of the tenants including the landlord wash the gutter at the front of the house where people pass through. I always wash it every Saturday and when people pass by, they start to pray and wish me well.

I love to handle things as if they were my stuff and the way I would want others to help treat my things, I would do it too because I follow what the word of God that says “do unto others what you would have them do to you”

I hope you get what I am trying to pass across here? When you know your responsibility and take action, it reveals how mature and responsible you are.

You are not a fool when you do things meant for everyone, when others are ignoring or refusing to do it, it helps you personally and it's for yourself.

Thanks for reading

Image by Mikhail on Pexels

[July 19, 2022] (No 200 articles for the year)

19
$ 2.93
$ 2.71 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.03 from @Lixten
+ 9
Sponsors of Princessbusayo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Princessbusayo
1 year ago

Comments

I actually count it as a bad habit when people shy away from responsibility. Shying away from responsibility will make people loose at the long run because they loose the opportunity to gain something from that experience and people will look down on them. My take

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There are things I silently do in my family even when I was not the person to do them. I don't just take up responsibilities for nothing sake, I do it because I am preparing myself for the future. One day I will have my own family, and there will be lots of responsibilities to attend to. I want it to become a habit so I wouldn't get tired of it when that time comes.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That is it. It becomes an habit when we keep doing those responsibilities around us and preparing us for the future. Thank you 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Responsibilities make us more disciplined and organized. Everyone should act accordingly to avoid affecting others.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Correct. Just what I am trying to pass across. Thank you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

People are just funny sometimes. Because the other person did not do it, they too won't do it. It shows immaturity.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Naso. That is immaturity!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are right that our family members tolerate us the way others would not.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I do things even if no one tell me to do so but sometimes when my laziness hits I won't do anything

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yea, it's understandable with that. At least one needs to rest but act right away too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You truly deserve to be called a princess. Your attitude deserves to be emulated.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you for the compliment Sir 😎

$ 0.00
1 year ago

How do I win my dads heart and good side.. Its by doing the responsibilities given or delegated to my other siblings, especially when they refuse to do it, I would let him see me doing it, or I would let him know I was the one would did it.. Petty, but the tricks works.. I dont run from responsibilities, a real man should never do that

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yea, a real man shouldn't shy away from responsibility. It makes you accountable also.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Taking responsible for things even when it's not our turn or when others actually failed to do theirs, shows maturity and being responsible. Have encountered such people, where I stay.

Being responsible is more of taking responsibilities than age.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Age doesn't determine taking responsibility and vice versa. If you are available, do what you need to do.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Being responsible is very important because that is the best way to show the public that we can do something to the fullest.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That is it. You are right.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

How you felt when she replied you reminded me of my soft heart. With the years I've lived on this Earth, I've always been in a position of a leader(most times not the title), so I do experience this thing often. When it's time for people to do something, they'll start checking and calculate who has not done it...it weakens my whole heart.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I don't like it. I love seeing things done on time and it's for everyone's benefits but taking your eyes from it because someone else doesn't do it makes one immature.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's important to be professional and accountable. It's part of our growth. When we don't take responsibility, we're like kids who don't listen to our parents.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are correct. Being accountable makes us responsible.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We should always be responsible and act accordingly.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are right. Thank you ma

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah. I like writing and reading personal blogs because I get to know that person most especially we are in online world.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you, DennMarc

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love your attitude. From your article, I have learnt to always do the right thing even when others see it as a burden.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yea, let's do our own even when others are ignoring it. It makes us responsible. Thanks for reading.

$ 0.00
1 year ago