My walk to the catfish pepper soup joint

58 77
Avatar for Princessbusayo
1 year ago

"In nature, nothing is perfect and everything is perfect. Trees can be contorted, bent in weird ways, and they’re still beautiful".

–Alice Walker

I wanted to make this post first on this platform today when I remembered yesterday was Wednesday and it would be best for a community on Hive called "Wednesday Walk" where you post about your walk on a Wednesday. It doesn´t matter when you took the walk, but when it is that day, you can post pictures taken during your lovely walk. Here is the link on Hive.


I was supposed to leave the village for another city to go meet my Aunt on Tuesday which was two days ago. I have already spent a month and 12days today and I think I have tried enough, even though I still want to stay for a while since I am no more going to school, but my Aunt wants me to come over to her place too.

No doubt, my hometown is blessed with nature. This is the true definition of awesome and thrilling land full of beauty.

Starting from different houses surrounded by trees, flowers, plants, mountains, rocky areas, animals, lovely skies etc. This is one of the things that made my stay interesting even though it was boring for me. All through my stay was a dull and boring one. Locking myself indoors while the electricity cooperates with me. Many times I sit down under the tree in our compound and it has been amazing connecting with nature and has made me fall in love with sitting under trees.

I was complaining to my cousin on Sunday about how bad it is without entertainment or even having restaurants where I could just go and have fun. It was that bad in my hometown and the only place you can manage to visit to get local snacks, plus palm wine is very far where you would have to spend $1 to and fro.

I was shocked to hear that there is a place where they sell Catfish Pepper Soup and alcoholic drinks. I have all the time craved different things, especially Ice Cream but you can't find any here.

Since my Aunt had told me to wait a bit before coming to her place, I decided to visit where my cousin spoke about and I informed my Junior brother so we can both go together the next day which was on Monday.

Monday came and we started looking forward to 3 pm as I have scheduled and told my brother to be prepared so we would go on time and return before we start to cook for dinner. We are altogether seven in the house and it's not easy preparing breakfast, lunch and dinner using firewood. Grandma doesn't allow using of gas and so, preparing dinner takes time sometimes especially when we are just preparing a new soup. Most times, we would sneak to use the gas because once she knows, she won´t stop exaggerating her talks till the end of the day 😂

At 3 pm, we started the journey and we took permission from grandma and dad.

My love for Nature made me take many pictures while we were leaving for the Pepper Soup joint.

This is my brother who I snapped and he didn't want to feature at first but I already took the picture and we both laughed at how he acted not wanting to show his face.

While we were going, he suddenly remembered a friend who owned a motorcycle but he said he can't just ask for his motorcycle because since he arrived, he hasn't gone to greet him because the friend is like an Uncle to him and it would be unfair going to meet him for the first time and ask for his motorcycle but he decided to just greet him so we can continue our journey.

While he went to greet the Uncle, I was by the roadside continuing to take pictures.

A lucky boy who is featured in Princess' picture 😅

The next thing I would see was my brother bringing out the motorcycle. I was so happy that we won't have to spend much money on the public cycle. I would only buy fuel to support the journey.

I have only heard and seen my brother riding a motorcycle but I never allowed him to carry me because I doubted his ability, besides, he didn't learn how to ride anywhere, he got to know how to ride a motorcycle through one of our Uncles who owned one some years ago.

But today, my brother would be carrying me on a motorcycle and I was so scared because the journey is very far and it was over 30 minutes to the place we were heading to.

I was doubting my brother but he told me not to worry and assured me that nothing would happen.

I sat down on the bike and prayed in my mind for nothing to happen. While riding, he started scaring me with his style as he was trying to prove to me that he is able to ride.

I was shouting and screaming "Jesus, Jesus" and begging him to take it easy and ride gently but this boy didn't answer me. He even stood up while riding while my heart was banging and I couldn't stop shouting and begging my brother but he was motivating me to face my fear 😅😅

I should face my fear while he knocks me down? 😂😂

After 30 minutes, we got to our location and the first thing we did was fuel the tank with an amount of $1.1 (#500)

Then, we reversed back to cash out some money from the POS and after that, we moved forward to the spot where they sell pepper soup.

I decided to treat everyone in the house to some catfish pepper soup which I bought seven plates for $6.4 (#3500).

Before leaving, I got a call from my Dad requesting I buy some Cooked Corn for him, not knowing I wanted to surprise them with catfish.

Leaving there, we moved to buy frozen fish which grandma sent me. She gave me some money while I added another $1.1 (#600) to make the fish much without her knowing. We bought other things and we left for where they were selling the corn as it was near to our junction.

It was another screaming and begging my brother to ride easy and consider his sister with him. We got to where they sell corn.

We were so lucky to get there on time because I bought six cooked corn that was the last one. We bought it for $1.1 (#500). Other people who came didn't meet any and I was happy. The boys selling were excited too because they would be closing immediately since they sold all.

When we got home and distributed everything to everyone, the catfish and cooked corn, my dad was so happy and surprised I bought such an amount of catfish and corn for everyone.

Grandma took a bite from the catfish and exclaimed it was sweet. She asked how much I bought everything, and she was surprised when I told her the amount.

Everyone was happy that day as they ate catfish perhaps for the first time because none of them hasn't tasted it before because of the price especially since they started living with grandma.

Grandma prayed for me which I was glad she did. At least I already spent a lot since I arrived and I made sure grandma ate something special before leaving. At least they would miss me for that.

Later that day, I took my corn and ate

Then, I took some yam and ate with the catfish

I was happy I spent some amount on everyone on Monday. At least they should benefit in a little way from my blogging, even before I leave the house.

Thanks for reading

All images are mine

[May 12, 2022] (No 132 article for the year)

29
$ 5.97
$ 5.22 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @Talecharm
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 22
Sponsors of Princessbusayo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Princessbusayo
1 year ago

Comments

Wow, your place is so beautiful. I can only imagine how cold the wind you have there as your place has a lot of trees. Anyway, gosh I can really relate with brothers behaviour when he make fun of you while driving that motorcycle. I also have younger brother who definitely act as your brother. I can really hear you from my imagination while you were screaming for your safety while your brother is having fun😂. I'm really sorry if I found it funny but I hope you still enjoy your ride with your brother ☺️. And I was really happy to imagine how happy your family was with the foods that you bought for them. The catfish soup was indeed yummy, specially it's meat. For sure they won't forget that day with you.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yes, I was happy since it was a great ride with no injury on the way 😅😅😅 my brother had to make me scared and telling me to face my fear especially on the road 🤣🤣🤣 that guy is just so funny.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

See enjoyment 😋 it has been a while I ate pepper soup, that's one of the perks of the course I am studying but too bad ASUU is on strike now. It's good to take out money once in a while and treat ourselves to a bit of enjoyment, it's even more fun if done with the whole family

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yes, in fact there would be a sense of respect from them to you. It's fun though

$ 0.00
1 year ago

How sweet of you princess, I can imagine the happy faces of everyone when they found out you got them something they had never tasted. They'll no doubts miss you. But why didn't your brother show you more than one skills on the bike, they are a lot. 🤩🤩

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Really? So he can fall me down? 🤣🤣🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It delights me to see that you are at least pampering yourself little by little. Spend this money o...send the address to your village jor, I want to come and chop life with you... Your treat.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

😅😅😅 It will be good riding and cruising the whole town with you, also shouting "this is my KP" everywhere 😁😁

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Are you sure they won't run away with your shouting? 🤣🤣😂🤣🤣😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😆😆 Why will they? They will only be staring at us na

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We go pepper them baje.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Finalist life no easy o, to spend dey fear me sef, maybe when I'm done, you will take me to that pepper soup joint too😁😁

$ 0.02
1 year ago

🤣🤣🤣 You can get anywhere na

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😂😂, no ooo, if from that joint I want

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow! I enjoyed reading this, from natures of your villa to the bike cruise. It reminds me alot about my villa. Ridding bike use to be sweet especially when we are going to farm, we turn the farm road into a competition ground. All my siblings know how to drive a bike but none would want to carry my dad cos I'll be shouting at you as if he's the one driving.

The cat fish? Yeah, it's not common in my place to so I bought it home from school, everyone loved it except my mom. She said it's so soft🤣

$ 0.02
1 year ago

You can't carry your Dad and be competing on the way on who knows how to drive na 😅😅😅 It's always enjoyable in the village cruising all around with your brothers and sisters. It's always so much fun especially with nature.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That is really good, at least there is no how they will not feel your absence, that is what I really do some times. When visiting my family I most make sure they feel my presence and also enjoy with me, I love having a good moment with them just like you do.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Sure, they will be happy if we keep spending on them once we have the money and this would make them enjoy you too. Thank you, Gently

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are welcome princess.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Posting what you have eaten is not good at all. What if the viewer becomes hungry after seeing it? But can't cook it 😂

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Then if my viewers are hungry and can't cook it, why are they selling outside?🤣🤣🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The nature in your area is so different and beautiful. Ahh those palm trees, I love seeing this.

How I wish I could fill my tank with $1.1! Here 1 litre of diesel is currently over $2. I need over $100 to fill my tank 🙈

$ 0.02
1 year ago

So expensive!! $100 😬😬😬 how many days would that last you? Nigerians here buy at a little quantity

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Depends how much I drive and whether I drive around town or motorways. The full tank should last me around 550-600miles, so quite a long time, but getting a full tank these days is so painful. It used to be around $60-70 before the price hikes

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's outrageous though, but God will continue to provide.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's Been over 5 months since I last ate cat fish and its uncommon here in my area, what a nice environment you have there.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thank you 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

the place is very beautiful with trees and that's also what caught my attention coupled with the presence of corn on the cob and it was very delicious.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yes, places like this fascinate me a lot.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Whenever I feel depressed, I go to he inner city where the igbbo lives and refresh my mond woth nkwobi or goat meat pepper soup and juice .Life is too short to be depressed 🙂

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yes oo, this life is too short and you should live it happily by spending on yourself.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Princess, you have very fascinating vegetations at your side, I'm also a fan of nature. Why were you doubting your bro's ability to ride the bike, he even tried for you by only standing to ride, if i were him, I would bent the bike as if I'm doing riding competition.😁

More so, you really had an interesting outing, please if possible, help me send my own portion of the pepper soup oh, that is if it haven't finished. ☺️

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Then, just know I would force you to drop me down while you continue with your style in riding 😂😂😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hmmm, i feel like bringing out that catfish pepper soup from that plate, like I'm craving for this now,.but what will i do now? Nothing than to be looking at it from my phone screen... Hehehehe

Like you really had a nice moment with nature in your home Town, even though it bored, but you create a good memory that will always put a grin on your face.... Chaiii, I'm still craving for that catfish pepper soup 🤣🤣🤣

$ 0.02
1 year ago

😅😅😅 You should buy and eat na or prepare it joor

Thank you dear

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I want to eat the one from your plate ma'am 🤣🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Cat fish and yam?? 😂 I have never tried it before and I still wonder how it would taste... Been over 5 months since I last ate cat fish and its uncommon here in my area, what a nice environment you have there

$ 0.02
1 year ago

It was my first time trying it too until I tasted it and I love the taste. Try it someday

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'd do so trust me

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I just love your environment, looks quite. You've have successfully spent your day well.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thank you 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hey, I'll tell you that I've never eaten catfish, in fact I've only heard of it but I've never seen a plate of it on anyone's table, how delicious does it look on your plate? I want to try it. by the way i think that nature will always be a perfect place to connect with us

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hehehe! You just need to buy catfish and add enough sauces. Perhaps you don't have such fish over there.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lush green sorroundings with pure natural environment , what a heaven you have around. Adorable photography!!

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thank you 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Your brother is shy like me I even can't like to introduce myself. Your snaps about nature are beautiful. Thank God at last you have bike for visit otherwise walk for whole day is tough. Catfish is not edible here but corn is something that can meet the energy demands of my body.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

You can actually make catfish yourself right? I think corn is everywhere

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yup, I don't know about its taste but will be benefacial for health.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thats so generous of you, I like it when we spend money on our loved ones without much worrying. By the way, you have a serene environment.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yes, spending on my family brings me joy everytime. Thank you 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Awww that is so sweet of you Princess hehe. Anyways you have a lovely place too ha 🥰

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thank you ma 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is really so sweet to see. The corn is the thing that really turns me on from all the pictures seen here. I've not eaten any corn this year but I'll try and eat some these days. It was a lovely walk around town to getting what you wanted

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I love cooked corn too as it's so sweet in the mouth than roasted one.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

With my calculation a plate of catfish is 500 naira. That's cheap. The joint close to my house here sell theirs 1500 per plate and we patronise them because we believe it's cheap. If the woman selling in your area move here en people will rush her a lot. Anyway, you're doing great. There's no better way to spend one's money than to use it to make our loved ones happy.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yes, it's cheap here, though the head costs #1300 but there are still places expensive than this and yes, the owner here would sell if she moves to a city like Lagos.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have missed surroundings like this, where I'm surrounded by trees and flowers and no noise just cool and fresh wind and beautiful view.... Catfish pepper soup still the best

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yes, catfish pepper soup tastes nice and I enjoy eating it. Surroundings like this is always cool and lovely which I love.

$ 0.00
1 year ago