How I stopped being emotional

30 46
Avatar for Princessbusayo
1 year ago

“Your emotions are the slaves to your thoughts, and you are the slave to your emotions.”

Elizabeth Gilber

We have different types of emotion, among them is anger. Everyone is prone to getting angry over something, they are just on levels. There are some, whose anger could destroy things. There are some, whose anger could make them not forgive forever, and there are some, whose anger could make them feel emotional and tears would start dropping from their eyes.

Among all of these, I am in the last category and it's been long I have been wanting to control myself when I feel angered. Though, when I am angry, I quickly end it so it doesn't turn into hatred for me or make me start to judge people, and think of the bad sides of them than the good side. If you would notice, that when you are angry with a person, you will begin to think negatively about him or her, and think of the bad sides rather than the good side of them.

I have been emotional right from childhood and whenever something hurt or angers me, I would start crying, and to make it worse, if you ask me about it, the tears would start first even before I utter a word. I know this isn't good for me especially when I am now grown up.

When I watch movies that are so emotional, I would cry and imagine the movie is real. Whereas, those who made the movie already finished and left, and I am the one stressing myself over a fictional movie.

Something happened to me last Saturday and this same emotion happened, but I instantly found a solution to it, and it might help you too if you feel the same way as me.

Trust me, these techniques would work for everyone if you are ready, because to me, I feel, being too emotional shouldn't be necessary at some point else, people might take you for a weak fellow.

A friend called and asked when I would be returning which I told her, on Sunday. She saw it as an opportunity to help her get something from her Uncle who lives in the state. She pleaded with me to help her bring it along. I asked her if the stuff isn't heavy or much. I won't be able to help her because I was considering my luggage too.

She said it's just a small stuff and I agreed to help her since she stays in the same compound with me. She gave my contact to her Uncle and we communicated where I would come to collect the stuff from him.

To cut the long story short, I took a bike to the place, a far city in the state. When I arrived there, I saw the stuff was so heavy and I couldn't turn back again, but I collected it, and to make the matter worse, this man couldn't give me transport fare back. I thought my friend already discussed things with him because she can't expect me to pay for what belonged to her.

As the bike man turned back, I started thinking different things in my mind. I became angered. Not because the man didn't give me the money, but the fact that my friend said the stuff isn't a heavy one. How does she expect me to carry this with my luggage? This, and different questions were in my mind as the bike man kept moving.

At that point, I knew if someone should ask me what was wrong, I will cry. The tears were already planning to drop from my eyes because the thought of how to carry everything in my journey was all over me. I was sad, angered, pissed off and frustrated. These were the emotions all over my face.

When I got home, my Aunt saw me and asked what was wrong. I wanted to speak out, but the tears that were already swelled on my face dropped down and I went inside.

I wanted to call my friend, but I knew my state of mind then. I might end up transferring all my aggression to her. I chatted her but wasn't online. I expressed myself through the chat and made her know I was so hurt and I never expected that.

I went to sleep and placed my phone in “Do not disturb” mode as I do not need any distraction, as I might say what I do not want to say.

This technique helped me stop my anger and calmed me down, because when I woke up, It was as if nothing happened. I saw missed calls and it was from my friend. I knew she had read the message I sent on WhatsApp. When I called her back, I only calmly expressed myself and didn't end in misunderstanding, but we laughed over it and that was the end.

Do you understand what happened in this scenario?

Yes, I was angry, I felt emotional about the whole issue, and for me not to take a wrong decision, for me not to keep thinking about the bad side of my friend, and for me not to transfer my aggression to others or say what I ought not to say, I had to sleep and calmed myself down as this helped me return to my normal state when I woke up.

I addressed the situation in a relief way as it also helped me too not to disgrace myself when talking to her. This is through allowing myself quiet time by sleeping.

There are other ways you can manage your emotions other than this, and they are;

  • Walk away from the situation

  • Decide if the person deliberately hurt you

  • Refrain from taking any decisions at that moment

  • Relax your facial expression

  • You have to breathe before responding.

I hope with this, you will be able to confront and manage your emotions anytime.

Thanks for reading.

Image by Elyas from Unsplash

[August 09, 2022] (No 221 articles for the year)

19
$ 3.01
$ 2.60 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @HappyBoy
+ 14
Sponsors of Princessbusayo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Princessbusayo
1 year ago

Comments

I am a sensitive woman sis I easily cried or even get mad

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am a sensitive woman sis I easily cried or even get mad

$ 0.00
1 year ago

everyone has the same taste but different when it comes to responding to a problem, emotional attitudes do exist but from this article I also have to learn from you about eliminating emotions by lying down and sleeping. I think this is a useful thing.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes, it is as I used it and it worked. Thank you 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

One thing I've learnt overtime is that bad emotions just like good ones don't last, they're ephemeral. This means to dwell on them for a long time is a waste of energy. It's good that you took the decision to calm down first before talking to her.

That saved you both the stress of quarrel and possible destruction of your friendship

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You are right. We need to also consider the future occurrence of such issue and be relaxed so it doesn't get to something we wouldn't be able to control.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah true. And I think the main theme emerging here is self control, which is very important in our daily lives

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh lol...when I read that part you said you even cry when watching movies it made me laughed am like woah this is my copy... What your friend did was annoying...and am glad you solved it that way and everything was okay.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

😅😅😅 I don't think any other person who isn't like me can watch movies with me. I cry as if it happened in reality 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha 😂 😂 😂 😂 Whereas the people that acted is there laughing lol lobatan

$ 0.00
1 year ago

All we need is to cool down and yes I did that one time too. I was so angry and frustrated and came to a point that I was about to burst but thank God I did not. I went to bed, shut off my phone, and as I woke up, I felt better.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes, one would feel better when we step away from issues like that and take a sleep to relax our mind.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It was as if I was reading myself in this. This is exactly how I am too, it's so hard for me to tame my emotions, I cry also; just as you. And the way you handled the situation, is the perfect way it helps me too. Thanks for sharing this piece.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes, it worked so perfectly well and I have decided to adopt the mechanism.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Emotion is what people feel differently , the way you might feel about something might be different from the way others feel, and it's very important we know how to control it just like you said. had it been you decided to call your friend at that moment, you might end up saying things that will cause trouble out of anger.

before we react to any issue, it's better we allow our anger to subdue before we address any issue, and matter will be settled amicably without any problem.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You are right. We need to calm down before we address an issue because we might regret our steps. Thank you, Mary.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Is that how tears are loaded in your eyes? Hahah🤣. You made me remember a Friend that cries on a any slight shake and I used to think she's not normal.

Well, anger is sometimes difficult to handle especially when you're at its peak. But just like you said, if it's tamable at that moment, then the rest becomes history.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

😅😅 My eyes are always teary when I am too emotional. It's difficult sometimes but it can be managed.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I would say that it is not to stop being emotional, emotions are not always bad, being sensitive is not bad , the secret is knowing how to control your emotions.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You said well. We should always manage our emotions. Thank you so much 🥰

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I always hope that I can also manage my emotions well, because when I'm angry, though I will not fight back through words but I cry so hard to the point that they think that I'm so weak and over reacting towards that person,thing or situation, and it's really frustrates me. So I hope I can manage myself well and be stronger than my emotions.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It's always a painful thing when we can't confront a person but we end up bottling the emotions down in our minds. The truth is that, we are hurting ourselves more if we can't manage the emotion.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is always better to control emotions. When I am angry, I behave normally with everyone, but anger grows in my mind. Don't let anyone know that I get emotional and cry when I'm angry.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I don't let them know too because I will be tagged as a weak person. But I have learnt to manage it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Emotions and Anger go in par. But you seemed to have handled it very well by not breaking down immediately instead messaging your friend about what happened and then talking to her calmly as if nothing happened. This definitely shows the level of patience you have.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes, patience was involved and this can help keep a relationship too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I was a cry-baby back then too, but now I can control my emotions.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It's good if we can control our emotions. It helps us too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

When we are angry, that's when this negative thoughts will start coming from us towards them.

A girl told me that, it's very rare, she has saw me fighting, and I said I don't get angry with people, probably I get angry just once a year, lol, that's an hyperbole

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hyperbole indeed 😂 I think we are same because I don't even go near trouble and I don't get angry and even if I do, it doesn't take time before I am back to my normal self.

$ 0.00
1 year ago