Food is Life

87 104
Avatar for Princessbusayo
2 years ago

You would agree with me that food is life. Just as the saying that "an hungry man is an angry man". Do you agree with that? Try talking to an hungry man and see if you would see a smile on his face. You can't be hungry and expect words from someone to penetrate into your ears. Even if it goes through the right ear, it will fly out from the left ear immediately because at that time, nothing the person is saying is having meaning until your language is understood at that moment which is food. What food does to a man can never be quantified.

My image: Rice with Plantain and Egg

One of my favorites food is Rice with Fried Stew roasted with fish and perhaps adding fried plantain if there is at that particular time. This has been my food right from childhood and thanks to my mom for understanding me then. This made me remember those days when food was still very cheap and we will stock the house with bags of rice and beans. Whenever my mom instructed me to cook some measures of rice, let's say telling me to measure 5 cups of rice to cook, just because I want to eat and overfeed myself, I would secretly measure 6 and half cups and she won't know.

This is what I used to do. When the rice is done, I would have kept some and hide it somewhere. When we are done eating as a family, I will go back to where I kept the one I hid and eat to my satisfaction. She didn't know my trick till now.

Beans

Image Source

Beans was my hated food when I was growing up. Whenever mom cooks rice and beans especially seperated one, I would use all my time picking the beans away from the rice and settle for rice only. I did same with Yam and Beans too, I will only eat the yam and leave the beans for her. She would shout and complain, but that doesn't make me change that. I never ate beans until two years ago that I now developed such likeness and got interest in eating beans especially with fried Plantain, bread or Garri. The beautiful part is cooking my beans and frying stew seperately with it, I enjoy it that way.

My image: Fried Indomie with Plantain

The truth is I am lazy in cooking food but when I am in the mood, I make sure I spend my time preparing the best meal. I love food and I don't think I can trade it with anything πŸ˜… I don't like eating outside and do not like someone helping me to cook my meal except I visit you and you decided to cook for meπŸ˜… but in my house, Nah! Forget about it 😝

I just pray my future husband would know how to cook because I am lazyyyyyy in cooking (pls, I hope you are reading this) πŸ˜…πŸ˜…

My image: Yam and Egg

Another best part of me when it comes to cooking. Like I said, I may be lazy but trust me to give you the best meal ever. I prefer to spend all my money to get the right ingredients than settling for anyhow recipe unless I am not in the mood which will make me end up preparing "just do it anyhow" food πŸ˜„

Don't joke with me when it comes to food. I might fight you forever πŸ˜…

My Dad would always say all I know is food and nothing in my brain. I believe he isn't talking to that little girl of that time anymore because I won't tolerate that. Lol

My image: Potato Porridge

I remembered few weeks ago, my sister sent a picture of the food she was eating, it was Plantain porridge. I asked her to explain how she cooked it and it was something I saw it to be simple. Do you know what? The next day, I went to buy Plantain and prepared mine. Another time, my neighbors were gisting and talking about different foods and I heard them saying "Potato Porridge" is the best and very delicious.

I have never eaten it before. That same day, I prepared it to satisfy my cravings for it and to see how it tastes and I enjoyed it. I love browsing recipe online and watching on YouTube how to make food especially the foreign ones. There was a time I learnt how to prepare curry sauce with chicken. I went to the market the following week to get everything and I cooked it to my satisfaction eating it with rice.

My image: Roasted Plantain with Groundnut

This is another food I do take in the afternoon when I do not want to cook. I just step outside and get it with little amount. It serves as my lunch everytime before I would do my cooking for dinner. People call it "Boli and Epa" 😁

Another thing that makes me love cooking is when there is light anytime of the day. There is this mood I am in that makes me enjoy cooking and would be the best.

Okay, before I end it, let me show you another favorite Yoruba meal I enjoy eating so much.

https://pin.it/2Sq0vtZ

This is called Amala and Ewedu and it is mostly eaten by Yoruba people. We own this food and no one can argue with us. Any other tribe eating this is only trying to taste our meal πŸ˜…

Let me stop here while I invite my people to bring their own version of food here.

This is a prompt word by @JonicaBradley titled "Food"

Do you want to participate? The rules are simple;

  • Write anything about food

  • Write 100% original content

  • Join and submit your story to PromptlyJonica

  • Tag me: @JonicaBradley

  • Have fun!

Thanks for reading

|October 27, 2021|

32
$ 13.43
$ 12.62 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.11 from @fantagira
$ 0.06 from @King_Gozie
+ 20
Sponsors of Princessbusayo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Princessbusayo
2 years ago

Comments

Greetings from Pakistan @princessbusayo I also become so angry when I am hungry. Food is the only thing which makes me happy. Anyway, I also like your sister's dish, which is potato porridge. It looks really delicious. Please tell me about it's recipe because I want to try it soon.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Nice meeting you Insh_11 and I appreciate you for stopping by. Yes, the potato Porridge isn't difficult to prepare. Once you can get the ingredients which are; Potatoes, you peel them and boil till it is soft, then add Pepper, salt and seasoning to taste, curry and thyme, fish or meat (whichever you feel like using) then add oil to it. Stir and wait for some minutes till it is done and viola, your potato Porridge is ready.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

@princessbusyo I want to tell you that I am going to make potato porridge and make my Sunday a funday. Today at 8.00PM I will publish my article about my Sunday and also show potato porridge which I will made according to your recipe and of course I will tag youπŸ’ž.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Seriously, I will be glad to read from you. Let me Subscribe to you so I can be notified. Thank you for wanting to try the meal out. You will enjoy it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much for the quick and easy recipe. I will try it as soon as possible. I will use fish in potato porridge 🐟 instead of meat.πŸ˜‹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is funny that the older we get we often love the foods we didn't like as children. I love making a pot of beans, especially in the winter.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I think you are right. I grew up to be fond of eating beans which I didn't like at all then. I now enjoy beans like never before. Thank you for stopping by

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As a child I detested strawberries I love them now, So I now how you feel about beans:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's not fair now, no now, how can you post sweet Africa dishes, now I'm very hungry to eat egg Nd yam this afternoon

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I guess you would have prepared your yam and egg by now hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't joke with my stomach at all, I eat every time and whenever I eat I consume a lot. I don't care if that's the last food and need to be managed, I just eat to fill my stomach.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are very right. I like to satisfy myself when it comes to food.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, it seems we are very similar when it comes to food choice, I used to hate beans a lot when I was younger and my mom will always prepare rice for me anytime she cooks beans and yam or plantain. βœ…

I fell in love with beans when I got admission into the university and started cooking it my way, I guess I didn't like it before because of how my mom prepares it. But rice still remains my best food sha ✌️

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Rice will always be my number one food I like so much. I can eat it thrice a day.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You right Princess ,foof is life .That plantain is like a banana?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yea, it's also called banana

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You did not like beans waw, I will not talk so you won't stone me.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Pls, talk let me know what you have for me πŸ˜£πŸ˜…πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree food is life. I love to cook when I'm in the mood. But when I have to do it every day, I become a bit lazy about it, hehe

$ 0.02
2 years ago

We can't escape from cooking food everyday unless we want to waste our money ordering food always.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

These photos of food are unfamiliar to me. Hehe. Where are you from?

$ 0.02
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

I am from Nigeria 😁😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree with you, if I'm hungry I can't think reasonably. Your meals whet my appetite. Lol

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly. Food rejuvenate someone and we tend not to get inspired when we are hungry

$ 0.00
2 years ago

An hungry man is indeed an angry man. You really did a good job getting this images yourself. You don't like cooking but love eating abi πŸ˜†πŸ˜’πŸ€£πŸ˜‚

$ 0.02
2 years ago

πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜… Don't mind me I am very lazy at cooking

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, food is life indeed and a hungry woman is an angry woman and one is me, lol!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜… I am always angry when I am so hungry

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My husband hated this kind of food so much that it is almost impossible for me to cook it in the house but I for my part love kinds of well prepared food like this dear. You really cook well ok

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Smiles I love food that is well prepared too and I take my time doing that when I am in the mood.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love that potato porridge. Looks really good.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you Betha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It’s true ma’am. Food is life. Man cannot live without food. It’s impossible. I hope everyone loves food the way you do

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Everyone must love food so they don't go hungry πŸ˜…πŸ˜… Thanks for stopping by

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love food too but sometimes I am too lazy to move and cook for our meal. But when I am in the mood, I kept on experimenting with my food.

I am curious with that Potato Porridge? I like to taste it

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You should taste the potato Porridge. Since it's simple and just get your potato and other ingredients, you can spice it up by adding some veggies too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Food is Life! I so agree to this. I love eating and that's one of my favorite hobby hihi. By the these are all look delish 🀀🀀

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are right. We can't do without eating in a day except we are fasting. Hahaha Eating is now a hobby. Everyone's hobby though πŸ˜…πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Honestly I loved eating but I hate cooking πŸ˜‚. I don't know maybe my talent just LOL. I'm picky eater too sometimes I felt love it then next thing I don't.. but yeah I can't asleep at night when I don't eat dinner so my life too was food. πŸ₯°

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You can't sleep at night when you haven't eaten. You'll be counting the stars and seeing the ceilings hahaha well I guess most people are lazy in cooking.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Princess! Princess!! Princess!!! How many times did I call you? Please let me know when your aunt won't be at home so I would know when to come πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.02
2 years ago

πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜… Which Aunt? She doesn't go anywhere except to church so she is always at home hahaha.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ah... Ticket ti cut.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🀣🀣🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We must find a way...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oya find way πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dandan niyen o

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The first plate of rice, fried eggs and fried ripe banana, is a classic here. We can't eat so much we get fat and lose shape. Ahah

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes I agree with you, too much of food can make one to be fat so I'm always careful so I don't become obese πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ohh, so those are sone of your dishes πŸ€—. Anyways, I totally agree that food is life and nothing or someone can make me change my mind about it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Who dare change my mind about food? 🀣🀣 Food is life and I don't think I can exchange it for another thing. Thank you for stopping by.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This article is 1k dollar article considering the time and effort taken to get those original images. You sure know how to prepare a lot of dishes.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahahaha wow I wouldn't mind having the 1k dollar on my post right now. 🀣🀣🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Is this a combi of food and laziness prompt? 🀣 I am also lazy at cooking. So sometimes, I prefer spending some penny than cooking. Lol. . I was struggling thinking about what topic to write. I may go with this prompt. Haha.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaha most times when I'm lazy, I don't cook but I prefer to order which I don't do everytime because I consider it as a waste of time and money. Lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's nice to know your different Nigerian dishes and all looks delicious tho

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you. Nigerian dishes are very very delicious.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My favourite is noodles and fries plantain with fried eggs and fried chicken plus a little bit of salad. Is that too much to ask? 🀣🀣

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Of course it is not. Just go and prepare it yourself if you have the money to spend πŸ˜…πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

OMG is like I should carry all this food and run away 🀣 especially this amala

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Abeg break your screen and carry it. No one would query you 🀣🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha 🀣 if I can chop finish who go buy me another phone

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exchange your bch to Fiat πŸ˜–

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ha no o

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's very obcious you can cook very well @princess. So It is possible to combine indomie with fried plantain?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Omg what a delicious post... love it and yes I love food too :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I really like food and I do agree with the saying that food is life but I'm quite allergic to some meals, which makes me real sad 😣

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Same with me too. I am allergy to Okro and EbaπŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Do you know I am craving for amala really badly and I took it like two weeks ago?

What we feed our stomach is one important thing because we need the strength it provides for us to keep moving. I was a foodie when I was younger but when I left home in search of greener pastures, I understood that our parents were doing a great job.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Omo! It's a great job they are doing and now that we are adult, the reality has dawned on us and we must not eat too much to save too. Lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, I agree that food is life, I also agree that those pictures made me sooooooo hungry right now. Lovely article keep it up!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hehehe! Thank you for stopping by

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're welcome

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is the best of the best Nigeria dish... like seriously speaking no one will eat all this and not ask for more... but really you didn't eat beans up until two years ago, that's shocking...

There is this amazing blend with plantain that I love deeply.. so much joy today, maybe I ate virtually but I feel happy πŸ˜„πŸ˜„

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That is how I hated beans then but now, it's one of my favorite food especially eating with plantain

$ 0.02
2 years ago

What happened though, was that the only option available that day and when you did taste it, it was magical.. I'm happy you like beans now, it's a special dish when prepared well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your food looks great Princess! I sometimes go 1-3 without any food to enjoy the benefits of fasting πŸ’™

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Wow! That's good. Fasting is good too as it helps strengthens our faith and body too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It can do wonders πŸ’™

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The food looks nice! I also suffer from hungry and angry when I do not eat in time haha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hunger isn't good at all and we need to always eat on time to avoid that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am truly salivating to these mouth watering dishes you displayed. I wish they were in front of me😁

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oya prepare of those mouth watering dishes to satisfy your cravings πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I just noticed that you reaally love plantain πŸ₯° those foods looks like yummy, wanna try those fried noodles with plantain too soon hehe

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I love adding Plantain to my rice and spaghetti and most times, I eat it alone because it is proteinous.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It looks so delicious friend. I wonder what are the ingredients of Amala and Ewedu?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yea, Amala is made from Yam Flour while Ewedu is a vegetable.

$ 0.00
2 years ago