A priceless gift

48 87
Avatar for Princessbusayo
1 year ago

"All the gold, diamonds and other jewels on earth cannot match the shine of love and care that you have bestowed upon me. You have given me the priceless gift of life and the priceless gift of having such a great sister".

Unknown

So, I have accepted the thirty days gratitude challenge by @Jane and I might not follow the numbers because there would definitely be days an idea of a topic might show up and would have to skip it, and I might not go with everything. I would choose randomly. Lol. 

The first on the list is “a person I am glad to have in my life”. 

Before I continue, I would like to appreciate everyone who contributed to my previous article about emotional blackmailing. We all have said our minds and the majority of us were of the opinion that Adam should go and see his father before he die. Yes, if the man dies, Adam will live to regret it forever and might not even forgive his mother for taking it slow to tell him her reasons for stopping him to see his father when he needed to see his son. According to Daniel, he assumed the father had been acting strong for Adam and asked him “what if you are the one making him to be alive all these while and when he has set his eyes on you, he kept calling your name even while on his sickbed”. It´s so sad though. 


Okay, I have been on my bed for minutes last night at 11 pm trying to find one person I am glad to have in my life and can´t seem to choose one out of the numerous names popping out of my mind. Though the people I intended to choose from are my family and I still find it difficult to take one. That doesn't mean I am not glad to have everyone in my life but after deciding, I finally got to pick one and that is my elder sister. 

I could remember the story of how she was taken away from us immediately after she was weaned, and at the age of 3 years and went to live with grandma. She did her primary school, and high school and went to a boarding school to complete her secondary education. 

She was only acting as a good child she was then, not knowing there are better days for her. She came to Ibadan to live with my Aunt for a few months because she came to attend a tutorial for the Jamb exam and after she wrote her exams, she went back to the village and was given admission into the University of Benin thereafter. She passed through the four years of studies as a computer engineer and graduated with a beautiful grade. 

She went to serve in the Eastern part of Nigeria and life brought her to Lagos where she works for different companies from home with her laptop. She has been doing amazingly well ever since then and made sure to always put her siblings first. 

Every month, she would always extend her hand to us as we receive some amount of money from her as tips. I and my other siblings were happy and grateful to God for giving us such an amazing lady as the firstborn. 

I remembered the story Dad told us when he would always travel home to check on her and our cousin who was of the same age as her. Dad would counsel both of them to face their studies. My sister obeyed my father while our cousin got pregnant and couldn't finish her secondary education as she was sent away from grandma´s place, they got angry and disappointed at what she did. 

My sister concentrated and focused on her studies as she followed the advice of everyone. She never paid attention to any guy then as she was working hard to be the best person. I also remembered many times we have fought and would disrespect her, but I do get punished by Dad. She and my immediate younger sister fought really hard years back, they both were still in their teenage years then. My younger sister was never allowed to be beaten as she was ready to paint our sister blue-black 😂 She had a giant and huge body then and this was what she used to defend herself as she wouldn't allow anybody to cheat her. She didn't give my elder sister breathing space at all as she kept punching her until our big sis fell to the ground. I watched a real season movie that day and laughed. I couldn't separate the fight, who am I? Two giant people are fighting, and a snail person like me wants to stop them. Lol

But those moments are memories and when we remember them, we would laugh. 

Every day, I am always grateful to God for such a priceless gift given to the family because my sister is a merciful child who would always give to people when they ask. She never complains and also she knows how to serve God as she was brought up to know about God. 

With my sister´s help, I was able to further my degree studies and graduate. I never lacked anything in school because she was ready to give me when I ask from her. Though things became tough for me during my academic years, thank God I met opportunities that changed my life today. 

Big sis, as I used to call her has been a blessing from God and I keep praying for the best for her. No sister like her and I am so proud of who she is and for having her in my life. 

Thanks for reading. I didn't want to add her pictures as I already did twice I think on this platform. 

Image taken from Jane's blog

Image by Cottonbro on pexels

[May 22, 2022] (No 142 articles for the year)


34
$ 8.01
$ 7.10 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.07 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 25
Sponsors of Princessbusayo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Princessbusayo
1 year ago

Comments

I can see why you choosed your elder sister, she has indeed been a huge blessing in your life as well as the rest of the family. If I am to pick the person I am glad to have in my life, I will say it's my mother but that doesn't mean I am not glad to have the other members of my family in my life, but she's always going to be my number one

$ 0.02
1 year ago

You are right. They all are part of my gratitude but for the sake of the challenge, I chose her and it doesn't mean we don't appreciate others 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wowww, she's really a strong woman, am grateful for the gift of my siblings and my mum too, it has really been a blessing.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

👍👍

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sometimes our big sister are blessings but not mine haha..We fight after every second on gifts, on smart phones, on house chores and on parents love. You are lucky to have an engineer sister who helped you through thick and thin. Moreover you also get punch as a snail when big giants are fighting. I liked your precious gift that is one of the best choice in hundreds people.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Smiles. There will always be fights among siblings.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Family is a holy thing. We must make the most of every moment spent with family members. And the most important thing is the understanding between brothers and sisters. You don't have to have anything in the world if you know they are healthy and well. Take care of yourself!

$ 0.02
1 year ago

You are right. Thank you for your comment.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My family is my priceless gift. Love, tenderness, compassion and a lot more.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yes, so many characteristics to qualify them with. Thank you 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

She is really a priceless gift like you have said, a good sister who always care after their siblings is always like a shelter in the raging storms. That is really the greatest and a priceless gift to the entire family. I pray God will still keep and protect those who always in one way or the other shows us love and care..

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Amen. Thank you so much

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You're welcome princess..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are so lucky to have you this kind of sister. She is great person with soft heart. Stay blessed together dear. GOD bless both of you.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Amen. Thank you, Dreamboy

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Home-based job that pays more than $17,000 per month by doing simple tasks on a laptop or mobile device part-time. Last month, I earned $16783 from this job by working 4 hours per day online. Very simple jobs to do, and the earnings are insane. Everyone can now make more money online by joining the website listed below….. RIGHT HERE —————->>http://workbz.com

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Your elder sister is really a nice person with a good heart. I hope you too have the same kind of life as your elder sister. For me i have a male up there as the senior. A very good senior bro to the core.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yes, many of us have that precious elder sibling to help us whenever we need help. May God bless and keep them for us.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Amen!!! Let it be so

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This was interesting to read. I suppose she has done a lot for you and the family too. And she also an alumni of my school😁

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yea, an alumni of Uniben 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There's nothing like true love, and remember; that blood is thicker than water.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yes, it is. Thank you 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You're so lucky to have a good sister and I'm happy for you. I pray that God keeps you all in peace and happiness.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Amen. Thank you 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

As always, your initiatives are intended to make us better people and human beings, I thank you for always contributing so much to the community

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Wow! Your sister is truly one of a kind. I pray the Good Lord continue to bless her abundantly.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Amen. Thank you 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Why is everyone grateful for their sisters?? Well, I with no sisters, I'm grateful for my brothers, they are wonderful. They cover my nakedness and keep me important before others.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

At least you have someone who you are grateful to have. I have a sister, you have brothers. They are all the same as long as they keep helping the family 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sister are really the soul mates and the blessings of Almighty Allah. I am blessed to have my younger sister in my life. She is my only sibling

$ 0.02
1 year ago

May God keep them for us.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Your sister is the kind of person we need in this world. A good role model

$ 0.02
1 year ago

The world would be a great place with people like her. Thank you so much 🤗

$ 0.00
1 year ago

She is a leader and a good role model to her younger ones. You are lucky to have her and I am sure she is lucky to have a good sibling like you as well.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yes oo, George. I am always lucky to have her and other siblings and I know she feels the same too especially in our conversations.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Each member of the family is a gift. We should treasure one another.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Exactly. Thank you 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Princess, you're blessed with such a brilliant and generous elder sister. She's a precious gift given to you by the Almighty. Always remember her in your prayers. And God be with her .🙏

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yes, I am and will always do that. Thank you, Ayo.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nothing is as good as working hard and making sure you become the kind of person you'd want for yourself though it's always important to have some members of the family helping you out just tge same way you did for her

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Exactly. I am trying my best to be who I want to be and also having such beautiful family to help you is a plus too. Thank you

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My family for me is what I would regard as being special, always there for me in times of need and most times when I don't imagine

$ 0.02
1 year ago

You are right. Families are special and there for us when we need them and we should appreciate them.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Our sisters are our best friends! They are the best. A mom and a friend combined.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yes, the firstborns (girls) acts like a mother to their siblings and I am glad for our sisters who stood in that gap.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm glad you have a nice sister who focused on her studies; nowadays, not many people want to go to school because they believe it is a waste of time, but it isn't; it is only a matter of time before they realize how essential it is to go to school.... Mom, have a wonderful weekend.🥰💚

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yes, many still believe they are wasting their time going to school but the day they would need the certificate, it would have been too late for missing such great opportunity when they should have done it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago