Paper Boat Days

54 61
Avatar for Pichi28
2 years ago

I am now going to proceed with what I really intended to write before I got distracted by Lucifer the series. So, let us see. Following suit with @Eylz2021 's "Back in the day We...", this is my story ...

I belong to the generation who plays outside because we do not have any of the electronic gadgets kids these days are enjoying. Scraped knees, and elbows baby! That's how we enjoyed our childhood days.

Back in my day, we play street games like patintero. I relied on older playmates to teach me the game.

I can try to write down the mechanics of the game but I guess it is better with this video below:

I remember one of my teammates deciding to give me a push, literally, so I can cross. I was tiny. Seriously. The idea was once she pushes me, I start running fast. It worked. But getting back is a different story. My playmates have longer arms and wider steps. I just got luçky the first try. But that got me encouraged to start really joining. That one time of being able to go one way was to key to may other wins.

Eylz mentioned piko and I was actually surprised she uses banana peel. we were only allowed to use our slippers or other stones. we sometimes end up looking for already broken pots of our neighbors and breaking them some more so we can get the least likely to bounce.

Sponsors of Pichi28
empty
empty
empty

Back in my day, we were not allowed to go out of the house and play until after we sleep in the afternoon. So before there was Prison Break, there was me and my brother doing our own version. Not together of course. The other sibling will always be a liability for perfect plans. On the other hand, the other sibling is also potentially the whistle blower if pissed. It's a fun childhood. Hahah.

I remember I was successful. Once! I snuck out completely without making a sound. Then made a run for the house of my friend who lives the farthest. We were going playing pot-making with the mud in their backyard but after some few minutes, I saw "ate" from our house telling me my mom's looking for me. Foiled!

So I went home and the belt sessions happened. Haha.

Also, one time, I and my brother did not want to sleep. But we are not allowed to get out. We attempted but we both ended up seated on chairs tied back to back and placed in front of our wall clock waiting for 3 pm. I and my brother were both screaming, crying and laughing at the same time.

Come to think of it, it was our youngest brother who was able to "break" that back in the day. He found out calling my dad in his office and telling him, "Tatay I don't want to sleep." Gets answered with "Then don't sleep". He gets free pass and a deadly, surprised stares from me and my kuya.

Back in my day, we go out of the house and chase dragonflies. Oh, yeah! I remember that vividly because I remember getting scared at the same time excited and wanting to grab that dragon fly - big or small. We have a huge playing field back when I was a kid - grassy, hilly. I would watch and imitate the older playmates how they do it. And then try for myself.

Back in my day, we play in the rain and run through the flood. I have witnessed how the flood our street was clear when I was younger and it got darker and dirtier when we grew older. This is also the time we make paper boats, place it on the flood water and watch it go bye bye.

Back in my day, we not only play with paper boats. Do kids these days still do paper airplanes, ninja stars, t-shirts, paper frog race, etcetera? Kites? Do kids still get to fly kites these days? I think some still do. I only see some in Luneta Park though. Our tossed up spaghetti wires don't make our "skies" kite-flyaable.

Back in my day, we cannot just call up a relative living in Manila or other province. It has to go through an operator. Gosh I can barely remember how that goes! Now, you can simply leave them a message in the messenger and the reach is not only nationwide it is worldwide!


Well there you go... my entry for back in my day.

© Pichi28 | #ClubBrokeBCH

All Original Content

Unless specified otherwise...

Let's go get that #BetterSeptember!

21
$ 6.78
$ 6.24 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @FarmGirl
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
+ 11
Sponsors of Pichi28
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Pichi28
2 years ago

Comments

I also feel that prison break thingy. We need to memorized our mother's routine when or where she'll going to sleep and if she she's gonna wake up . I'm born in 2000 and I'm happy to experience those things too

$ 0.03
2 years ago

fun fun fun times , eh snail? How are you by the way? Feeling better already I hope

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Childhood is the most beautiful time without gadgets. I used to often play out with my friends. The thing I like the most is playing a kite

$ 0.03
2 years ago

yes kite flying!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakakatuwa talaga mag reminisce ng childhood natin noon. Ibang iba sa mga experiences ng mga bata ngayon. Favorite ko din dati maghuli ng tutubi tapos tinatalian ng sinulid sa buntot saka hahayaan syang lumipad habang hawak ko yung kabilang dulo ng sinulid. Harsh pero bata pa tayo noon, wala tayong pakialam kundi basta makapag enjoy. Ilang tutubi na din ang napugutan ng leeg at naputulan ng buntot dahil sa kakatali ko ng sinulid..

nanghuhuli pa din ako dati ng tipaklong ,,hehehe..pero sobrang challenging hulihin ang tipaklong kumpara sa tutubi

$ 0.03
2 years ago

hahaha... lupit nga sa tutubi hahaha dati din tinatanggalan pa sila pakpak ewan ko why hahaha.. pero marami din sila nun eh..

takot ako sa tipaklong... i think hanggang ngayun may konting takot pa dn.. haha saya balikan

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hehehe...naku favortie ko yang mga ganyang ganap noon...sa palayan pa kami nanghuhuli ng tipaklong.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You had a fun childhood haha. The sneaking out and the playing with mud, patintero and all the thrill of being a child. Your mom loves belts haha. But I believe it doesn't hurt though? And I wonder, why do moms always make their kids take afternoon naps? Lol!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

it hurts sis! hahahaha trust me.. i was going to write it there.. back in the day... I and my bro have this habit of checking out the belt marks in the mirror and then laughing ...

my mom and dad used belts lols .. kami ni kuya ang suki.. ang bunso .. well haha.. hmm

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ouch! Kayo paborito nila, pwera si bunso hihihi. I think most last born don't go through that kind of discipline :D

$ 0.01
2 years ago

True hahah . Somehow si ading kasi malambing at mabait naman talaga. So minsan lang talaga makagalitan. Kaya nung minsan na papagalitan sya with belt ... Tinry namin mag eavesdrop if mapapalo nga ba o joke time lang ahhaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahh kaya pala eh. Ahahaha mag eavesdrop pa talaga kyo hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha uu harhar...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

"Back in my day, we play in the rain and run through the flood" It's fun under the rain 💗 I miss those days. No stress, no worries just fun ❣

$ 0.03
2 years ago

natakot nga ako sa flashback ko eh.. sabi ko .. wala pa bang leptospirosis nun? lols... wala talaga nun eh kiber... as in

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is nice and well detailed, I love it, I remember back in my days too... We play with clay and made different things making me feel like an architecture, but I have got a question too, where you able to catch one dragon fly, I heard they are the fastest fly

$ 0.03
2 years ago

only a few times. haha. I get scared of them too... so once i was able to but let it go .. then some of my older playmates will just let me hold the ones they catch. just so i can have a feel of holding one

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hanggang patintero lang ang childhood ko!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

di ka din tumatakas ng tulog? hala bat ang babait niyo?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nagulat din ako lay ate Elyz kasi pwede sa kanila gumamit ng balat ng saging e, same tayo bato lang talaga pwede. Hahaha may worst experience ako sa patintero, fave na laro ko pa naman yon. Sa kagustuhan kong di mahuli, ayun nalangoy sa lupa at nabali nga ang siko. 🤦

$ 0.03
2 years ago

may nag dive po !! my gosh! waaah araay! shaaks ... .

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang sakit sobra ate Pichi. Mas masakit mag dive kesa iwan e hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I relate pichi when you are not allow to play outside if you didn't sleep in the afternoon. I missed the childhood days, yes we are playing also patintero and paper boats then the most exciting one is kite. I am so happy if I am going to let my kite flying in the air. 😊

Childhood days are the best. No stress, no worries most of the time, always in our mind is playing.❤️

Take care always pichi. Have a nice day..❤️🙏

$ 0.03
2 years ago

uu sarap balikan ang pagiging bata.. wala pa tayong bills to pay hahahhahaha... Take good care also JRamona!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaa totoo yan😄 Yung bills talaga eh nuh.. Thank you so much Pichi..🥰❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ughh this brings back memoriiess hahha ka miss yung dati lalo na yung mga laro

$ 0.03
2 years ago

yung tawagan pa talaga sa kalsada para maglaro na.. hehe..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wahhh, relate ako sa belt session frenny, di lang belt pati tsanilas, patpat, hanger hahahaha. Pero kahit ganon ang saya pa ring balikan ng ala ala na un. Natataww nalang nga ako pag naaalala ko hahaha

$ 0.03
2 years ago

ahahaha asintado sa sinelas eh... di ko natanong si nanay ko kung expert siya sa tumbang preso nung time niya kasi galing nun .. nalipad tsinelas.. swak lapag..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Buti sau bato, sakit palo talaga wahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Those were the best moments, fun and friendships. Playing in the rain, paper boat competition.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

yis frank!! it was.. i think back then the rain was ultra cleaner hahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Back in my day, I play everything you mention and I miss it thou. Palo is waving pag hindi natulog sa tanghali hahahaha.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

yis.. at may bantang hindi na makakalaro sa labas ever. . . hahaha may pan lalaki pa ng mata

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha feel ko dati pag hindi ako nakalabas at nakalaro malaki mawawala sakin hahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

wala pa crypto nun pero FOMO is real na nun.. haha.. missing out a day of laro with friends is big deal kahit sakin nun..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

super big deal na handa akng tumakas makalaro lang ahahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

high five to all those who lived their childhood days out of the house, full of energy, sweat-drenched, dirty shirts !

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also grew up in a generation that didn't have much gadgets. The street was my playground and I played different outdoor games everyday when I got back from school. It was really a fun era, these days most kids now have a smart phone and are hardly seen playing outside

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your Childhood seems fun, mine was basically a routine, room, school and room again once a blue moon movies(I hate staring at TV's)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow another additional topic to write, yey! Maganda yun kabataan natin kasi physical talaga ang laro at gamit na gamit ang utak sa strategy sa piko at patintero.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Those are our best moments dear. Our childhood memories! Today's generation will never understand the happiness of making paper boats.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This reminded me of my childhood memories.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dun talaga tayo palagi sa "pag tinulak kita dapat tumakbo ka na agad ah" HAHAHAHAHA. Hays when I was still a kid also I was more attracted to playing outside the house rather than just watching the TV/playing with my gadgets. Also the scrape knees and elbows is so true! Palaging may malalaking peklat eh hahahaha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

hahaha oo iyak iyak sa sugat pero kinabukasan .. takbo ulit hahah.. .The only way na matuto bata sa patintero is patakbuhin talaga hahahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Speaking of paper boats, you are reminded of many memories of the old days. We played a lot with paper boats as children and it is written on the pages of memories today.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Brought me back to my childhood! And I was a champion patintero player. Every kid in the neighborhood played and it was always an "event". No, I didn't need to sneak out to play. And I would sleep, or pretend to anyway, until it was time to go out and play. Most of what you played and did, I got to do it, too. And those were really the days... when fun was exactly that. Thank you for the memories.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

wahhh ang bait mo! hahahah never ka na tempt tumakas? hahahah Oh i remember yung buong street talaga ang haba ng tatahakin mo pag nag patintero kasi everyone would want to join in!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha! Pag tumakas kasi, lalong di papayagan lumabas next time. Eh di mag pretend to sleep na lang, no! Yes, siguro mga 30 meters or so ang haba ng patintero, so ang layu-layo ng tatakbuhin. Homing!!!! Doon ko na-harness ang aking pagtakbo at pag-iwas-iwas para di mataya. hihihi

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The gold old days ate Pichi. Iba na kasi talaga generation ngayon hihi. Bihira nlang ako makakita ng mga bata dito sa amin na naglalaro ng mga gnayan hihi. Paper boat, nag cocontest pa kmai niyan dati. Hahaha pero later on, na discover ko yung bangkang saging HAHAHA.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

hahah yung hipan hipan pa ba yung papel? ahah ang saya! oo iba. niloloko ko nga kapatid ko nung maliit siya.. sabi ko ang "fit" lang na part ng katawan niya ay yung thumb niya kakalaro ng games hahahaha..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Those games you mentioned above ate my childhood games, I miss playing those games mostly with my childhood friends and relatives ❣️

$ 0.02
2 years ago

They were nice memories, right? I doubt the current generation will know how it felt like.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Only few children right now know about those games.

$ 0.00
2 years ago