Off to the Mountains with the Fam

66 98
Avatar for Pichi28
2 years ago
Topics: Adventure, Fun, Celebration, Hope, Trip, ...

This picture below reminds me of the last family getaway we had before the pandemic hit the country. This was in the year December 2019 crossing the new year to January 2020.

These were our muddied shoes. It was that reminder that we did one thing I never thought we will do as a family- walk up a mountain.

Every end of the year, we have a schedule for a family vacation. Our parents' anniversary falls on a holiday. We take a chance to mark it as a family getaway. The last time we had that was, of course, pre-pandemic December of 2019.

I have not been to Sagada then. None of us has been to Sagada save for my younger brother. He was assigned north area before. One of their Team Planning was in Sagada with his team. It was a great plan.

We left Manila early. I rode with my younger brother and his family. While my older brother drove with my parents and his family. I loved not driving for this trip. I had real good sleep. I get to see the view outside and enjoy it. Like really stare at it as long as I want.

I was ecstatic. Going through endless greens with the sky and the sun cooperating. And my hands? They are not on the wheels. Yay!

Breakfast was grabbed along the way in one of the stop overs - gas stations that has McDonalds. We did not stop for dine in so we don't arrive late and dark in Sagada area. We breezed past Bagiuo and the first real stop was at Atok, Benguet.

What is in Atok? Nothing we just had lunch there. Kidding.

The Northern Blossom Flower Farm

We had lunch near this area so after eating we went for a roam around the Northern Blossom Flower Farm. It has been at that time really talked about in the social media. A lot of the Instagram users I followed have shots of the blooms there and some from astrophotography as well. Of course, I no longer hoped for a chance to get myself an astro shot in the area. For one, it was middle of the day. Another is that this is not our last stop.

The place was beautiful. My jaw dropped at this part of the farm. Looking at these flowers made me feel like looking at live and colorful corals under the sea except that I am up on the mountains. I cannot take my eyes off them!

A lot of picture taking took in this place. It was beautiful! I cannot take my eyes off them! Did I say that already?

My niece and nephew though, after a few shots got bored of course. Dragging my sister-in-law with them they made a race to the exit area where snacks are. When we got there, they were already seated and snacking on some biscuits.

Finally Sagada

Back on the road to Sagada, from here, maps says we are three hours away but I guess that is a "nearby" joke by the maps. It was already dark when we got there. and we had to look for a place to eat. Non-peak days in Sagada means lesser stores open or stores close early. We did get to eat though thank God and was able to rest in the first place we stayed while my brother arranged a transfer to another place a friend of his recommended. Which is a better place. We were housed in one hut and it has a large space where my hyper active niece can challenge anyone for a race.

Sponsors of Pichi28
empty
empty
empty

We went around during the daytime. And at night time after dinners, since there was no television where we stayed, it was the best time to play endless, intense Taboo. It was a fun game with my oldest nephew finally being able to join in on the fun. He was around 12 or 13 then. Being a wide reader, it was easy for him to describe the silliest words.

If not that silly game, we spend time beside the fireplace. We do not have that in Manila. So it was a fun staring at the fire.

We went to visit the hanging caves. Thankfully my parents were able to go up and down the steps without complaining about their knees.

We also went up Marlboro Hills. This is the memorable part.

It was so dark when we went up there. Also it was very slippery and there were lots of mud. I am ok with that except for the fact that I was not ready for it. I was wearing sneakers - the type that does not have traction.

My youngest brother is the ultimate outdoor person. So is his wife. They are game for anything involving mountains and seas and would really like to expose their daughter to the outdoors as well.

I am fine with mountains and at my awesomest with the seas.

My older brother, however, is the "why go there?" person. But I was happy they were game. I and my younger brother was excited to expose my nephew to the outdoors.

We were sliding and slipping down the hill and we had no idea my sister-in-law was then pregnant with their second child. Thank God for His protection!

We went down to Bokong Falls. Which was just a few meters away from the place we were staying. It's not too high a falls but it was fun enough. I was thrilled seeing my nephew jump in with my younger brother.

Seeing him swim was a delight. Hopefully, the thrill of bathing in that cold water will give him a drive to explore too. I was kind of hoping that when that time comes I still have the energy to join him, too.


It will be a long while before we get to celebrate my parents' anniversary like this. Just really thankful we had that chance before the pandemic. The upside of this time is that we get reminded of those days that we had no restrictions and no fear yet. It makes us realize the importance of those times spent together with loved ones.

Makes me wonder if it makes one more eager to tell the people around them that they are treasured? or do we still shy away from vocally appreciating our friends and loved ones? Just a wonder. Not everyone's vocal right?

Keep safe people and do take care! Let us find ways to make ourselves happy and appreciative with what we can do while stuck in the confines of our homes.


© Pichi28 | #ClubBrokeBCH

All Original Content

Unless specified otherwise...

..let's grab that #BetterSeptember

29
$ 10.03
$ 8.15 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 1.00 from @wakeuplincs
$ 0.20 from @ARTicLEE
+ 17
Sponsors of Pichi28
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Pichi28
2 years ago
Topics: Adventure, Fun, Celebration, Hope, Trip, ...

Comments

Happy you were able to explore Sagada..., have been only to Sagada once, visited one of the caves and went back ahead 🤣😂.., Yes, we will miss family trips without any hassle...,

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Haloo dLifeWanderer! Iniisip ko pa if kaya ko pa ba itrt eventually yung caves dun. A lot of my friends said i should. But none of them would like to redo their experience to join me ahahaha.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Meron po ung iba na hindi naman ganon kahirap puntahan... pero syempre kailangan parin ng lakas ng loob 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha let's see....

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang ganda ng northern blossom! Ung pinsan ko nag prenup jan sa Atok, Benguet with the blossoms, super ganda grabe! Yung theme kc ng wedding nya cosmos and milky way, kya ayun umakyat sa Atok for prenup ng madaling araw.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Oh em geee!!! Ganda malamang mga kuha nila lalo kung natimingan nga nila yun milky way!!! Or kahit yung stars land a good foreground ng flowers wah!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow buti pa cia napuntahan na mga yan hahhaa with fam pa ansaya.. Out way kac ngay yun farm ng colorful cabbages na yan kaya sbi ko wag na hahaha.. Did you say hi to the hanging coffins hehehhe

$ 0.03
2 years ago

haha hi talaga sa hanging coffins no? haha.. lols.. malapit naman ata sa inyo to ... madali niyo mabibisita if ever.... nga lang sa ngayun sarado pa ata sila.. some sort of mandate for tourist spots sa area..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mahaba habang byahe byahe din.. Laging balak pero di natutuloy hahhaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ayy a long journey pala talaga. Unless papunta kayo banawe or sagada nga para on the way siya no?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nalalayuan ako kc ihiin ako..dpat katabi lagi ang cr hahaja.. Kung 2hrs cguro keri pa.. Need na mag diaper sa next hahahha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Family vacations are always fun. Especially when there are McDonald's stops. LOL. Those flowers do look like corals under the sea. LOL.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

ahaha yesyes.. Mcdonald has to be part of the trip.. adds smile and fun ahahha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang ganda ng place ate pichi and yung mga shots mo sa flowers nakakaamaze hehe. Congrats to your sister in law.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you Thank you so much!!! :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Buti nakapagtravel pa kayo bago maglockdown. Gusto ko din makapunta dyan sa mga napuntahan nyo

$ 0.03
2 years ago

pag may chance sis..bisita na!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes sis, pag omokay na situation, yung wala ng kinakatakutang virus hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I haven't been to Bokong Falls and Marlboro Hills. My visits in Sagada have not given me opportunity to see those. It's great to celebrate with your family at a place like that. Makes the celebration more memorable.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Kabukas nila punta na ulit sir bestie! Yes family getaways always leave a fun memory..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Kaya nga e. Dami namiss nung last na visit namin dun.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaganda naman po ng mga lugar na napuntahan niyo. Pati yung mga bulaklak. Hindi ko man lang naranasan mga ganyang bagay. Puro work nasa isip ko nun. 18 years old palang ako mula nung nagstart akong magwork.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Masipag ka. Eventually rewardan mo din sarili mo . ;) Enjoy the fruit of your labor... Doesn't have to be travel naman... ;) Basta yun makakapag pasaya sayo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

OMG, Northern Blossoms!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes ate! Lotsa flora

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Napakaganda. Gusto ko rin pumunta dyan eh kaso napakalayo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Uu apakalayo nga. Pero kung halimbawang akyat ka baguio.. pwede mo na sya puntahan din!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A memory to be kept. At least nagawa niyo ate Pichi before the pandemic. And you're right din ate na this pandemic taught us to spend time with our loved ones.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Great travelogue and the pictures are good. I love the delicate colors of the flowers you have posted. Our last vacation was in December 2019 too. After that, it has been only essential family trips.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Such a memorable trip you had with your family. And you took really nice shots. I'm sure you enjoyed yourself.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Memorable fam trip what you had! And it's good to have something like that to remember at times like these. Love those photos btw :)

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thanks sis!! Treasured indeed eh. lalo ngayun limited kilos.. di bale in time maybe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Another memories to keep forever. Btw, I love the flower it so amazing especially the blooming one

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thanks JustMaryel. Yes another in the memory bank.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You enjoyed yourself. It was really fun for you. Those pictures of the flowers are nice.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes babet they are beautiful!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My grandparents are from Sagada so I am proud to say that is where my roots are. Medyo alam ko din magsalita ng kankanaey. Been there in Sagada once lang para mag attend ng kasal. Would love to go back there and have that Sagada experience you had minus the spelunking part. Ewan. Claustro yata ako kaya di ako excited pero yung cave sa Puerto Galera at Bolinao pinasok ko naman. Siguro kasi may tubig at pwede magswimming haha! Sa atok naman ang maalala ko nun yung malaking siopao na tinda nila sa stopover huge as in 6 inches diameter tas dami nia laman. Wala na ata yun. Bet ko yang flowerfarm huhu! Makapag shout out nga dito sa post mo @MommyJaytee @ARTicLee @bloghound @kapeholic tara sa atok waaa! 😅

$ 0.03
2 years ago

intaun a, next week he he. nakalukat en b?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Parang temporarily closed po nun chineck ko. Baka tourist regulations thing habang may covid pa.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahaha... medyo napa "uy bat wala yung siopao nun!" ako ah.. hahaha.. . Minus the splelunking din kami. May four-year-old kaming kasama at dalawang seniors. Although si tatay would love to insist sana. pero sa loob loob ko mahirap din siya i guide kasi makulit yun ahhaha...

It would be fun to go back to. I checked kanina.. temporarily closed, though. pero tara tara tara! mas malalapit nga lang kayo jan hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo tara. Pwede siguro hanggang atok lang muna.di pa keri malayong biahe at wala bantay aso haha! Sabay ka kay hubby pag umuwi sya next month dito. Sya lang kasi pwede magdala din sa atin dun hehe! The siopao part natatawa ako sa sarili ko foodie nga talaga ako kasi lahat ng pupuntahan ko may naa alala ako pagkain hehe!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha. Meron at merong significant food na naaalala mo wherever you go .. ahhaa. Nice nice. Akulit buti pa si hubby!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for taking us up north! It was really a good read! I miss trips with my family. You really seemed close to your sibs.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hi sir lods!! Yes po. When we got older na lang din hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oh..what are those flowers called? we were not able to visit Marlboro hills when we visited sagada..and atok is one place which I added on my bucket list a few years ago when this was gaining popularity in social media. is it worth visiting?

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hola sis jean! It is called "Rose cabbage" i think. Hihi. "Is it worth visiting"? Lam mo ba some tourists book an overnighter in the area. I can't really measure "worth visiting" maybe worth a side trip. Pero baka kasi may ganun ding effect sayo when you get there.. yung mapapa overnight dahil gusto makita itsura ng place from sun up fo sun down.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

s jean! It is called "Rose cabbage" i think. Hihi. "Is it worth visiting"? Lam mo ba some tourists book an overnighter in the area. I can't really measure "worth visiting" maybe worth a side trip. Pero baka kasi may ganun ding effect sayo when you get there.. yung mapapa overnight dahil gusto makita itsura ng place from sun up fo sun down.

ohh thanks dear... i guess it is worth visiting indeed..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

some read says it's an hour or so from Baguio? so maybe adding it to a Baguio trip is a nice itinerary

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The muddied shoes say it all. The vast of beautiful blossoms gives me so much satisfaction. It's indeed a jaw-dropping view.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Uu BC ganda!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You guys sure had a lot of fun.

Your nephew and younger brother must be so brave to swim in there. Swimming has never been my thing, I'm scared I may die from drowning 🤣🤣.

In the northern blossom flower farm, my favourite is the second frame.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

ahah thanks .. yes that second frame, too! Oh you don't swim?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nah. I cant swim. And I'm never gonna learn, can't risk death by drowning.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're having a great fun with your family pichi.🥰 I love the place the flowers were all stunning with their amazing colors. It's really unforgettable experience with our love ones. I felt happy while reading this. I'm hoping also that me and my family have an outing too. God bless you and to your family pichi..🙏😇

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you JRamona!! yes it was a fun adventure... Soon puhon ah.. makauwi and meet with fam ka na and enjoy lots of outings din!!

God bless always Ramona! Stay safe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thankfully you guys did before the pandemic started. I'm sure this makes you treasure the memory a lot.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

yes it does. Specially seeing my parents do it with us!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Those flowers.... My jaw literally dropped to see how huge they are and how beautiful.. I will pray someday I would to see them in real life.... thanks for sharing it with us

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you sissy! Yes someday visit!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The shoes are many, I say that this is a very big family. The big blossom flower are very beautiful and there is no such in my vicinity here. The hanging caves are also beautiful. The bokong fall also is very beautiful. You've got a very lovely family.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you Success.1 ... It sounds quite a big family so thats equivalent of three families actually

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You slept but had great views, so wee pp can see in her sleep 😁 and three hours , well it was nearby haha. I love those flowers though, that is one cool farm. Sounds a great trip with your family. Well maybe this year you all get to plan another one.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Haha uncle ed. Yes i close my eyes and then took pictures of these! I do hope we can plan again uncle. Somewhere safe for now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe wee pp has a superpower😁 yes you will be able to plan again, I know it na

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awesome. It really makes my heart happy when I can see or read about family getaways. This one is unique because you are in the mountains. Also, your brother's kid is really adventurous. I'm sure he is a joy to the family.

As to telling people how much they mean to me, I still struggle at times but I make sure to let them know through my actions.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hi Mura!!! apir sa through actions nag paparamdam ng care ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago