The Teaching-Learning Endeavor for both First Time Parents with their Toddlers Tantrums and EQ!

18 144
Avatar for PatsKy8135
2 years ago

During our parenting session at National Children's Youth Council, we knew it was essential to be more open with other realities that parents are experiencing to reinforce the teaching-learning process on becoming a parent.

It is never a weak spot to accept mistakes when we knew that we messed up with our toddlers at home. As much as Sage is learning from us, he indirectly taught us to be more creative, resourceful, patient and FAMILY TIME is the most significant thing money could buy.

*Toddlers Learned by Example in their Environment

There were scenarios that hubby and I learned from our 2-year-old baby in terms of his proper upbringing.

At home, we ensure that he has what he needed for his growth, exposing him to gadgets at a limited time before bedtime likewise having Hailey around to play with at home during the weekend is a better option apart from his playmates at the childminding during the weekdays.

One time, I was cleaning the house, he took the broom momentarily said, "mommy, clean?" I have to say, "yes, mommy is cleaning, baby! "

This usually happened during the weekend when we're both at home. I don't expect him to clean but mess up things. His "GESTURE" was more than enough for him to learn that "broom" is used for cleaning also vacuum cleaner is an option.

His proudest moment when applauded for a job well done gave him confidence. Despite an incident when he messed up with the toilet papers, the idea of having conquered something without knowing further its implication and consequence tantamount to his learning.

Typical household chores that he started to pay attention to was to put his toys in their proper places, regardless of the mess he's doing at his small playground at the veranda, Sage's awareness of his playtime, dinner, bath time, and playing with his tablet was a good routine to follow at his age.

  • How Do You Deal with your Toddler's tantrums?

Tantrums are emotional quotients that your toddlers are not able to express fully by words. Their means of showing these behaviour lies in their strong emotions of tiredness, hunger, worry, or fear.

When this happens to first-time parents, we indirectly lost track of how to handle this situation. It can be exhausting and can be emotionally draining because our baby won't stop crying for no apparent reason.

It is crucial to observe the WHY of our babies' tantrums so from there we would identify the reason. We could figure out the most effective solution.

**Know the WHY's of Your Baby's Tantrums!....

Sometimes I am so caught up with my online engagements, mostly around lunchtime, Sage is not any more focused on his activities. He would take my hand to his room and wanted "mommy and baby time" before his naptime. However, when he failed to do this, he would start crying.

I have to leave whatever I am doing and cuddled him, felt that I am there for him. Now that he's been two years, it was easy to figure out. When he started his first tantrums, I was also frustrated because he won't stop crying despite my best effort to console him. I was also exhausted, I couldn't even figure out how to stop him from crying out loud. I needed a backup plan.

  • Parents are Not always RIGHT! Learn How to Accept Mistakes from Your Kids.

It's not always that parents are RIGHT at all times. We have to learn how to say we're at fault. We have to consider that we are GUIDING our kids how to be self-sufficient and independent even at a young age.

There were instances that because we are parents, we knew what's best and what's not for them unknowingly that we're supposed to track their developmental milestones. First-time parents must be more aware of not jumping to conclusions!

**That one Weekend Blast!

I was not feeling so well hence told my hubby I would take a nap. He said "yes" and it was vital to hear his acknowledgment which meant he would take after Sage playing downstairs with him. I went ahead at peace.

I woke up with Sage crying in the toilet, surprised that his dad raised his voice to him. You could imagine the David and Goliath encounter. I was surprised.

Something must have happened!

I took Sage to his room to console him when suddenly he dozed off. It was around 5:25 pm. too early for bedtime, but I understood that he's sleepy and tantrums were kicking in. Hubby was upset about what he did in the toilet.

So what transpired was....

Sage went upstairs. Hubby didn't hear a noise at all. HE THOUGHT HE"S OKAY without knowing that the toilet door opened. When he came up, he'd seen the mess.

Towels and toilet papers were wet.!!!!

He must have the time of his life doing something without asking for help. His dad realized that he should not CONCLUDE things first hand. He was fixing Sage's mess and was surprised to have seen his potty needed to be cleaned afterward.

Patrick said sorry to our baby when he realized that Sage went to poo, he wanted to clean himself up, tried to take the toilet paper and to wash his potty with water.

What's the Rationale?

These are some parental incidents at home that at times we tend to always have the notion of always being RIGHT. Much as I taught my baby to speak up or to ask what he wanted, as parents we have to extend more of our patience.

Only when I became a mom that my baby at 27 months old taught me more about how to handle an impossible situation whenever we're together at home. Likewise his independence gave me an assurance of his increased confidence of what he is doing.

Regardless of our parenting style, what is the most important thing is that our babies would grow up in accordance to their developmental milestones and we would nurture them to be the best version of themselves. Remember what Matthew Jacobson said,

"behind every young child who believes in himself is a parent who believed first.”

#SHoutOut to my Sponsors for their generosity and quality posts. May you guys be blessed always! and Let's support #Bitworkerss.Cash!

>>What is Bitworkerss.Cash?

it is a Bitcoin micro-jobs portal, or the upcoming biggest services marketplace on BCH!

27
$ 31.92
$ 31.00 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.60 from @Pantera
$ 0.10 from @Kryptlook
+ 6
Sponsors of PatsKy8135
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for PatsKy8135
2 years ago

Comments

You are a good mother mam, just continue to discipline your children while they are by your side having a good upbringing of children is a great treasure for parents. I salute the parents who have long patience especially for the children.

Have a good day mam😊

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I guess you are a teacher

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol I am currently teaching in a state school here in Seychelles.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I taught as much, your love kids is unmeasurable

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wow... So nice and really interesting article, Kids are really lovable and adorable angels when you are with them, most especially they learn from what they see faster than what you say....

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow😍. I got some insights especially for as being a first time mom. Sometimes I admit I have difficulty raising her as a single mom. But truly child can teach lesson and inspiration. So proud of you you deal it with patience.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Patience is a virtue! you can make it dear. We are in this journey together. It was not easy but all worth it. You will get by.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm proud of you ma'am and to all parents out there who have a lot of patients in take caring their child coz not everyone have the patient .Sometimes they scold and shout to them or beat them and its's not a good way of parenting. It can affect the child.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

it's biblical to discipline a child but beating them is something else ( at least for me) a times when my baby has tantrums I used "belt" but only on his feet and not anywhere else. Only to inflict a bit of pain to let him understand that It's not good to behave in such a bratty way.

Kids need to be told more rather than beaten up.

Great day ahead dear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice! Great to see you have patience about you. As a teacher I see a lot of parents struggle with being patient with their children but it is so important to teach them right from wrong and also to give them confidence!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I think becoming a teacher needs a lot of patience and this is why I have tried my best to practice it with my own child. My baby can be very stubborn at times but with proper discussion or talking to him in a way he would understand, I thank God I managed to settle him down.

We both learned from each other.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

From what I have read in thid article, I could really say that you are such an amazing parent. Indeed, it is not easy to be a parent and I salute you for doing it very well.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I am doing my best to bring my baby in a way that he would be responsible citizen in his adult life. I am a first-time mom and there are a lot of things to learn from one another. I have read some good articles beneficial to us yet at the end of the day, I used my maternal instinct hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahuh. Besides, parents have different way in raising a kid.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice! Having parenting sessions can really help the parents big time. As what my college teacher said, there's is no course for parenting in which parents can enrol so they can master how to deal with their child. So this means that it's up to the parents technique. As for this article, this is very informative and useful since you set an example.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

"parents are not always right"

Something that I have heard very little, I appreciate that you have expressed it, and although I am not a mother, I can go on imagining a little what that world is like.

(sorry my translation)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

having a baby like a blender without a lid...So messy but it's quite amusing to learn from them. There's so much wisdom accompanied with proper care when it comes to difficult situations. I thought when I become a mom I should be always has to say on things....but nah I was so wrong.. my baby is stubborn more than I do... like I wanted him to wear green but he prefers blue lol! Have a good day ahead dear!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There's always a why to every actions. Baby's would not throw tantrums without a reason. The issue they have is just how to pass it across to us. Parents, mothers in particular needs to know how to understand and motivate them.

$ 0.02
2 years ago