Hope Is Fading Away...

51 113
Avatar for Olasquare
1 year ago

Image Source.

Ever since I was little I've been hearing so many hopeful words about the future of Nigeria. I've heard it so much that I believed the best of this country since hope is a powerful thing to have and hang on to. I've had so much hope in Nigeria that I never even thought of leaving the country. I've been very comfortable with the words "It will get better".

Hope has now been threatened and even hope has stopped hoping on hope. The situation of this country would make you lose hope and I doubt it's even possible to hope for the best for this country. I would rather hope on things that can come to pass and would become a reality and I am not trying to be negative or put the country down but I've stopped hoping and I doubt things would ever change.

Everyone is entitled to their opinion and hope. A lot of people still have hope that things would get better and I would never dissuade them but don't persuade me either that things would get better because I don't see the reality of that happening. It's my humble opinion and I am sticking by it and when things change...IF things change, I would be the first to admit that I was wrong about Nigeria. For now, the future looked bright with burnt dreams.

There are so many things we cannot control but even the ones we can control we have left to chance. Nowhere is indeed truly safe and it's the Grace of God that keeps us but there are some things we do that take this Grace for granted. There are some situations we cannot avoid especially someone dying on the road due to a drunk driver even on a good road, yes, but let it never be as a result of a bad road network that can be fixed. This is why we pray about everything and get easily discouraged because the things we pray about are the things common sense can fix. God knows what He was doing when He gave us the ability to reason.

There are basic things we should enjoy as a country but we have to pray about everything. Some things are bound to happen and no matter how we try to avoid them they would still happen in one way or the other but never let it be in ways that can be avoided.

My dad grew up hearing that Nigeria would get better and I held on to that dream. During his time, Nigeria didn't get better and even right now things are more terrible than they used to be. Who is to say that things won't get even worse than they are presently with our non-chalant and inconsiderate so-called leaders. I call them more of politicians than leaders because they are not leading anything.

Image Source.

What's the point of being a leader when those you are appointed to lead are not getting better? What's the essence of being a leader since all you are concerned about are those in your circle of influence? What's the essence of being a leader if you cannot be selected on merit but by crook? What's the point in being a leader when you have lost the trust of your people?

I once told someone that this country is a zoo and she told me that even in a zoo, there is better coordination of things and I couldn't agree less. The problem has always been with humans and our greed especially those at the helm of affairs. With a working system, some things cannot be allowed to thrive. They can exist, yes, because we cannot control the actions of every human but when some humans understand the consequences of certain actions they tend to have a rethink.

Evil will always thrive because it's always unchecked here in Nigeria. We can't even hold anyone accountable for anything. Lives would be lost and we can't even follow through with giving justice. This is why most people would do anything without much thought not just because they can but because they know they can get away with it.

There are so many things being unchecked in this country and the annoying ones are the ones they rub in our faces making us know that they know what they are doing and we dare not do anything about it. It's mentally draining being a Nigerian and seeing all these things without much you can do about it. We have been shouting that we would flush them out during elections but we seem to forget that they control people who hold key positions, they command loyalty from certain groups of people who would do their bidding to either rig or act for them whether they are in power or not. They also know how to frustrate the efforts of a sitting leader when they want to.

Nothing can change for this country unless we have a change of attitude. As long as the attitude is about power and money which controls most humans, nothing can change for this country. When we have most people in leadership going because they want to serve then we can have hope. These people belong to the same circle so when we flush one bad one out, the bad one would demand loyalty from the supposedly good one until they become alike yet again (with deep secrets being threatened to be exposed or administration being threatened to be disrupted)...and the cycle continues...

Thank you for your time.

My pen doesn't bleed, it speaks. I am love's chemical content in human form and that's why I advise people to take a dose of "Olawalium" daily. 🙈

Kindly follow me on Noise.Cash... I am trying to engage more with people and connect with everyone with this account. I look forward to seeing you there... You can say hello to me there so we can get familiarized as well. Click here.

29
$ 6.60
$ 5.91 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.10 from @Trifecta
+ 17
Sponsors of Olasquare
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Olasquare
1 year ago

Comments

I just hope that Nigerian will never lose hope

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I've lost hope already and most people have too, my friend. It is well.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I just hope that Nigeria will never lose hope

$ 0.00
1 year ago

At this rate, hope has given up on hope.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sometimes when I look at everything happening in Nigeria.. tears feel down from eyes, even while reading this, i could not imagine the tears twirling down my eyes.. where will our help come from? . Instead of moving forward, we are always moving backward. Why is thy hope? The future is blurry that bi could not even see, the cloud is so heavy and the rain seize to fall , I could not even see the ray of hope because everything seems so dark. But I Still wish everything should turn around ... If I should should continue to pour out everything in my heart, it will not contain the wall of read cash.. but I'm still hoping for the right leader that will change everything, maybe that leader is still unborn... Things can never be like this forever, if not now, at least in the generation to come.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

The light at the end of the tunnel is from the on-rushing train. There is no permanent light at all. I can feel your anger and annoyance and even tears. There is no hope as I have seen this.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

In God we trust.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Gbam.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm overwhelmed by this write-up, I really don't even know what response to give to the issue of Nigeria, it's really sad , everything is just crumbling down, it's really getting worse day after day, may God help us here.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

It's crumbling faster than they are building up. I've stopped stressing myself with this country.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's so sad how things have gotten worse instead of better over the past decade. I just can't wait for the day a better Nigeria would surface but with recent happenings, it seems like that will never happen.

The rate at which this deterioration has happened is even more alarming for me. For a second there, I thought things were getting better and the next minute the metamorphosis was just so massive that it seems like I'm dreaming cos I clearly can't explain it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We always take a step forward and 5 steps backwards. There is no hope as things are. I've stopped wishing for the stars when it comes to Nigeria.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow, this is really bad. It's means there's no hope again for the coming children.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Even the unborn children would beg God not to send them to Nigeria.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hehehe..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😍😍😍

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's so sad how things have gotten worse instead of better over the past decade. I just can't wait for the day a better Nigeria would surface but with recent happenings, it seems like that will never happen.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I am not hoping for that in a long while...I must say. It's pathetic.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well said. Everything in this country is turning upside down and true there is no hope in any man only God. Our so called leaders are getting worse, selfish and greedy. What can we do? Since we are all powerless

$ 0.02
1 year ago

They rendered us powerless and ineffective. It's such a terrible position to be in.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are losing hope or you have lost hope for some of us we are scared to death of this country, scared to a point where you are scared of living in your own home, you are in your father's house or your own house and you are scared to death of what might happen, since like five years back this country has being scaring the sh*t out of me and is my country, my home where am 'supposed' to feel save but no. I lost hope a very long time ago and am sorry to say this but every thing am doing now am working to make my way out If this country and we know that problems will still be there but I just want to be save and not scared all the time

$ 0.02
1 year ago

You don't have to be sorry. You don't owe this country any loyalty anymore. Everyone is looking for a way to leave. Our talents would be put to better use out there.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Every young person at my age now that knows what we all are going through knows that the only way out is living the country

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's saddening but that's the only way out. The last person to leave should lock the door.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

At this point the main thing is finding away to carry all your friends and family out of the country because What is there to even enjoy in Nigeria. Everything is bad literally every thing not a single good thing. Education, jobs, cost of living, economy, governance, security, everything ahh God

$ 0.02
1 year ago

They have messed everything up. It would have been better if we were still under the colonial rule. I see no point in this independence and democracy.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Honestly .. because at least in the colonial rule we would be progressing

$ 0.00
1 year ago

And even though they would cart away the money too, at least we would see what they are doing with the money.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes even if the progress is little it would still be there

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Exactly...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Exactly. These ones are not doing anything.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's so unfortunate with all that is happening right now in the country, even during those days, it is not as worse as this.. I'm also tired of hoping, all I just want to do right now is to japa😪

$ 0.02
1 year ago

It keeps getting worse day after day. Nothing is getting better.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Our grandfathers prayed, our fathers prayed and now we are praying, for how long are we going to pray? It's like God has even given up on this country, things are just getting worse every day.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

😂😂🤣🤣😂 if you are God, won't you give up? God sef don try... I for don give up sinceeeeeeee.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

🤣🤣🤣🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😂😂🤣🤣. We move...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

What can I say, my country is going through its worst years in its history, I don't know how much more we can put up with a selfish, corrupt government.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

It's painful. Politicians are the worst kind. Very selfish and inconsiderate.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I could say the exact same thing for our country. Nothing will change if we don't change our attitude towards others.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Exactly and those who are willing to do something, they frustrate and kill them.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I loved Nigeria and South Africa so much. There are animals that can only be found in your country. But reading all of the current events in Nigeria makes me sad. I wish the hope you have and your fellow citizens come true.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thank you so much. Even the animals are looking for ways to leave. It's shameful.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Brother no doubt we should hopeful for everything. But sometimes this hope can change us in negative progress. Because when we only rely on hope, we become lazy and do nothing. I hope everything in Nigeria will be fine but people should make maximum efforts to do things better. I love Nigerian nation but its government is not fulfilling the hope of nation.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

The government has failed and when we want to rise up to do anything, they shut us down and kill a lot of people. Fear has caged so many people in.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It looked brother, you have dictatorship in your country. Hope you all gather on one platform and strike this government.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We sure have dictators in every arm of our government. The last time we raised a voice, they killed a lot of people. It's shameful.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

At times when we pray, we have this faith that, our prayers has been answered. Our hope for it, is not even working anymore because it has faded off

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It has faded. Even when we pray, they frustrate that effort. God has tried enough.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

A patriot always hold hope for the betterment in his homeland. Many people wanted to meet the problems with prayer not actions. But something can be change with only actions just not relay on hope and prayers

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Exactly. All we do is hope and pray with no action in place. This is why I feared we would be in this state in this country for a long time to come. I will be praying for them in diaspora.

$ 0.00
1 year ago