Fear Is A Choice.

65 121
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago
Topics: Fear, Life, Motivation, Blogging, Nigeria, ...

Image Source.

I have been told many times that courage isn't the absence of fear but the presence of fear and yet the will must go on. Being afraid isn't a crime because we have all been there at one time or the other. No one knows what the future holds but that doesn't and won't stop us from living. No one can guarantee anything for the future except that certain things respond to efforts made. If we don't make certain efforts, we can't have anything to look forward to.

Imagine saving up for a project and you already planned how much you can save towards that monthly. At the end of the month and other months, when you stay faithful to your commitment each month, you have an idea of what to expect and that's what I am talking about when I said there are some outcomes we can predict while there are some we can never predict. We can't know how things would turn out unless we try.

You can't know whether that lady would turn you down unless you approach her. You can't be sure how that guy would be to you unless you give him a chance to know him and his intentions. You can't know if you would get picked for the job or not unless you apply for it. You can't know how far you can go unless you put your heart and mind to it.

It's okay to be scared because we want things to be perfect and we have no idea what can happen. We always want to control the narrative and we sometimes run away from things that we know we might never have an influence over, especially when it comes to making decisions. You can't control how someone feels about you because there are those you can never impress no matter how hard you try.

It's natural for us to have fear when we know that certain things are not within our control. Applying for a job is within your control but getting picked is out of your control because others would have to determine if you are worth it or not and they have varying factors to consider which you might not even know about. Loving someone is another thing... You have your specifications and the moment you see someone fit into that, your heart rises to the occasion to admire the person but you can get scared because you don't know if the other person would feel the same way about you.

The truth is, fear exists but it's not that real. I said it's not that real because it's as a result of the thoughts you have created and the patterns you have seen which somehow affects the way you think and see things. It might be based on personal experience, background, upbringing and even exposures because sometimes what we are exposed to, we tried to own it and then develop fear and uncertainty as a result of it.

Image Source.

Most people would never apply to certain organizations because they have heard that the selection process in that organization is by connection. There are some things we have told ourselves we would never do because of the information we have at our disposal. Some people would never date a particular tribe because of the information they have been told over time. Fear exists as a result of our dominant thought process. Danger is real, no doubt but fear is by choice.

What you often think about would either increase your desire or make you live in fear. If you just want to succeed and do well for yourself and for those who depend on you, you would always want to take on anything, try anything just so you can get that headway in life but if you are constantly fed with what's not working for others, it's likely you repeat that pattern if care is not taken which is why I said fear is a choice.

Don't get me wrong, fear exists and it's okay to get scared but it's a choice because we have control over what we allow to influence us. There are some things we have control over while some we have no control over it. Most people have stopped loving because they are scared of death. Whether you think of death or not, it would come at the time God has scheduled it to be, so why should you stop living because you are uncertain of what the next minute holds?

There was this video I wanted many years ago about a man who was scared of dying and he decided never to leave his house for anything. He would stay locked up inside while they feed him and do all sorts for him. He was sleeping when the house caught fire and he died of smoke inhalation. There are some things we can't control but we can change our approach towards it. Fear exists but it's by choice if we choose to live at the mercy of it.

Have you ever been so scared to do certain things and the moment you summoned up that courage to start it, that fear disappeared? Exactly and that's why someone referred to fear as False Evidence Appearing Real. The cure for fear SOMETIMES is for us to do the things we are scared to do. What if it doesn't work out? True, but what if it does? We might never know until we try but every man must come to that point by himself to know when to gather strength to move on because some people managed to gather strength and still ended up making the wrong one. It can crash them harder than before but in life, we have to keep trying and doing things afraid...we don't have too many choices.

Thank you for your time.

My pen doesn't bleed, it speaks. I am love's chemical content in human form and that's why I advise people to take a dose of "Olawalium" daily. πŸ™ˆ

Kindly follow me on Noise.Cash... I am trying to engage more with people and connect with everyone with this account. I look forward to seeing you there... You can say hello to me there so we can get familiarized as well. Click here.

36
$ 8.59
$ 7.44 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @tired_momma
$ 0.10 from @Princessbusayo
+ 26
Sponsors of Olasquare
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago
Topics: Fear, Life, Motivation, Blogging, Nigeria, ...

Comments

The process scares us. But to tell you frankly, it is only hard at the beginning. We need to pass through that stage and then everything will be fine.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Exactly, my friend. It's only hard at the initial stage but when we cross that, it becomes easier.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love what you have written that fear doesn't exist because it's only in our mind, honestly you are correct. We are the one who create the monster and the fear in our minds, if we go out from that mental thinking, we'll see nothing is scary.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, we have to kick it out of our mental space.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Fear is a disease in my own words, it wouldn't even make you progress, how did I over come my fear, there was a time everything scare me, I started watching scary movie and horror movies at night, the worst movies that could make someone heart pop out of their mouth, and I will say to myself, fear is the enemy. Right now, does movie don't scare me.. There are times I get scared, or it grips me, it part of human nature, but I overcome the fear in seconds

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Exactly... We have to do what we are scared of. @tired_momma said she couldn't sleep with lights off and she tried it, now she can't sleep with lights on. Fear would still come at some points but we have to do it all over again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Fear creeps in if you let it. If not it can't scale over the walls of you will and come in by force. Fear limits us and rules us by making us it's subject so I believe it's time to take the reins off it and be our own person.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, it rules us and has stopped a lot of creative minds.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

"Fear exists but it's by choice if we choose to live at the mercy of it." I believe this pretty much sums it up. If you decide to succumb to fear, then it is by your choice

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you so much, my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Fear is something that makes me struggle to do things that I really wanted, especially for something that I really wanted to achieve for my future. Fear might be false but its really unavoidable. At some certain situation, I fear to try applying for a job related to the degree that I finished because I am also afraid yo lose or to be rejected again.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

It's true, it can be unavoidable sometimes but we can also change it if we want to. It has prevented a lot of people from achieving their dreams. It's so strong but we have to try.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can totally relate to this. Fear is something I created myself. I have normal fears like all humans do but most of the time I am feared of something and someone I shouldn't. Some I able to face. You are right, we have to face our fears and that's the only way we can so we don't need to run anymore.

I'm afraid of heights. I face it and do the zipline with my eyes open. I'm afraid of water because I can't swim. I face it and do scuba diving. I used to sleep with my lights on because I'm afraid of my imagination and now I can't sleep when it's on. I used to please people. I always think of others first. And I'm afraid of being rejected. Now I learned to protect my inner peace and to love myself in balance. I've done we'll face them.

But lol from time to time I still run out of the room or the toilet when I suddenly imagine ghosts of some sort. I still wake up everyone when I got scared. 🀣

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hahahaha mommmmmaaaaa!!! You are a whole vibe. Indeed, we all have fears and going against that fear helps as the fears eventually quieten down. They will keep popping up from time to time but we have to just do it all over again.

Thank you so much, momma. This really helped.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's the unknown that scares us the most. We keep saying we don't have a choice but we do. We chose to let fear rule us.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Indeed, we do. We choose to let fear rule us. Thanks for this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If we know what we are doing right, there is no question of fear. But certainly we all have gone through this in one or other phase of our life. Some fear is such that we can't burst out, which remains with us killing our inner strength.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Fear indeed kills our inner strength.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I fully agree. And that is why fearmongering has been a tool used since time immemorial to control the people. I have been fearless during this unprecedented time of the so-called pandemic. We must get rid of fear https://read.cash/@Unity/get-rid-of-fear-b791a9ae

$ 0.03
2 years ago

We absolutely have to get rid of it or get to the point where it won't control us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I know it's only in my mind but I can't shrugged it off, I'm afraid of something, afraid of what the future comes.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It's okay to be afraid my friend but your choices are yours alone so we have to try not to let it get to us too much.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As for me, I feel like it's better to fear of something. Being scared is not bad at all. Because that means we're still human. If you're not scared of anything then maybe you have a problem.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Of course, we have to fear something but they don't have to control us, that's the whole point, my friend. Always good to have you here.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True, that's why they are saying that fear can fool a person. I also understand why you said fear isn't real because most of the time it's just our mind creating it, if the outcome turns not good then it means it's your fear that control you.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Exactly. We allow fear to dictate our outcome and it shouldn't be.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Many times we stop doing things or do not undertake a project out of fear. How terrible! We stop doing great things because of fear. Life is unpredictable and we have to deal with it. There are no guarantees, but precisely that gives value to every minute lived. Thank you for sharing your publication with us. Here we will be those who despite the fear we continue to take risks

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I am glad you love this. It means a lot. Thank you so much.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your right sir Ola, fear is somewhat like a borderline for us to conquer and after breaking that concrete wall of fears is a smooth way to our successes.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, we have to break that concrete wall first. So true.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Fear is indeed a choice because there's always a counter voice that tells us we can do it but it's not as loud as the one telling us we can't, and most of the time we end up listening to the voice of fear. But even if fear is a choice, it's still not easy to go against it and it requires very strong willpower to do so

$ 0.04
2 years ago

Indeed, it requires a strong willpower to overcome that fear because the voice of courage is low...as you said.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Fear is product of our mind thatbwe actually can control but our mind is powerful so fear can hinder us from doing things, if we just be courageous enough and face those fears then life would be simple.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

If we can just show a bit more courage over that fear, it would dissipate.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree with you sire. Every thing we would ever want is at the other side of fear. And after conquering fear, even if we don't attain our goal or get what we want, we would definitely be alot closer to those goals that a second trial would make it alot easier

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Absolutely spot on and yes, everything we want is at the other side of fear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Fear is kind of inevitable but allowing it prevents us from trying out new things is the issue for me.

As you have said, nothing is certain in life and we can't conclude on the outcome of anything when we haven't even tried yet.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, we can't escape it but we can control the narrative. Most people live in fear by concluding the outcome of what they haven't even tried.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is ok to get scared at first but it's not ok to let it take over your courage

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly, dear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Fear is In our mind, we can allow it to consume us or we can just shut it out. We feel fear when we let our mind tell us to feel fear.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

This is true. We feel it when we dwell too much on it rather than shut it out.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes we'll never know until we try and whichever way it appears we should embrace it and continue trying. I do agree that fear has to do with the mind, the doubt we have of how things might end up continue keeping us from trying. I have my own fears too, and I have wore my armour and fought some heads on while I'm still looking for the armour to fight others.. I do hope I find that armour soon cos am sure I kept it somewhere safe. 😊

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hahaha I love how you described this. Indeed, we all have our fears and have to face them if we want to get anything of worth done.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😁😁 thank you Mr square.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lmao. You this babe. πŸ˜‚πŸ€£

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh please, don't tell me you didn't miss the new found name a tiny bit😜

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No, I didn't πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Don't be shy, no one is going to hear you.. just say the YES word as slow as you can, I'd understand.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Slow as I can? That's sexual πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well let's see how slow it'll rhyme in😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh... This would be sweet.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Just give it a try would you? I promise it won't be painful after all it not your first time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I should be the one telling you this o. I no dey show mercy in that department o.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha Mr square, let's see if they'd be any testimony to that.. I like that your sure of your performance. Well I do wish your wife more fun ahead 😜.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Fear is allowed but there are things in life that one must try out himself and just from fear of what others told you about other set of people or religion we see someone from that set of people we just expect perfection from them and when they are perfect we still don't see it , fear is a demotivator but can also help build your courage, and I think for one to be courageous one has to be fearful, and the amount of fear you have will help build an equal amount of courage in over that you are fearful of

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I could remember how a guy refused to put in for an international exam, due to fear, thinking he would fail it, at the end that year's results turned out good for many of the applicants, than the previous years, i mean they had greater pass rate than the previous years. Had it been he had applied, he would have pass it. We just have to do that particular thing that we fear, so that we can defeat the fear.

Thanks for the article sir.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Just imagined how he missed it. He allowed the fear to set in based on past information. That would haunt him for a long time to come.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Fear is indeed a choice because we get to choose what we're intimidated by. In my first year, I tried as much as possible to avoid brainstorming with people that will make me feel like I don't know anything because that shit can be intimidating and you'll lose it once you start running at their pace and that's why many people fail...

Do your thing and avoid intimidation

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I love this... Most people lose grounds and allow fear to set in because they are running at the pace of others.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly, I'm glad you got my point right

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Absolutely. It is a lovely contribution.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Anytime.

$ 0.00
2 years ago