Dog Lover or Cat Lover? Or General Animal Lover?

78 119
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago

Image Source.

I love animals just as much as I love nature. Animals are things I can't shy away from because I've always had that mentality of how special they are and how privileged we are to own them. I've always loved dogs but sadly, I couldn't get anyone early because we used to live in a rented apartment before my dad built our house and we moved in, in 1997. The house was about to be completed before I got two lovely dogs; Major and Snowball. If you are familiar with Animal Farm by George Orwell, then you would understand where that inspiration came from.

From 2 dogs they grew to 5 and it looked like I was making up for the times I was deprived of having them. I've always loved dogs and they would always have that special place in my heart. I love having funny, cute and adorable names for all my dogs starting from Major, Snowball, Tiger, Rex, Cherry and the likes which I've used over the years.

If I were asked to choose between a dog and a rabbit, I would still go with a dog even though I love rabbits too. I had quite a lot of them back then too, in their cage. I love watching animals...I love to study their pattern and I studied how rabbits mate and how dogs mate too. Please, don't ask me how...but the most interesting one isn't the way dogs lock after having it but the way rabbits finish off theirs especially the male as he would tilt to the side after having his fill 🤣😂😂. I got to know a lot when I was mating them and when I noticed the lady is on heat but wasn't interested, I would use a threat to tie the tip of the tail, raise it and ask the male to sniff it and oh well, the rest is history.

Animals are fun to watch and if you ever got the chance to witness how rabbits give birth and the process before it, you would fall in love with them. The way the mother rabbit would pull out her furs just to make her babies comfortable or how a mother dog would look for a safe spot for her puppies by carrying them one by one between her teeth. They would leave you admiring the intelligence of these animals. I had the Blue Beveren breed for  Rabbits which I bought in secondary school then. Later, I bought another breed; the Newzealand White. I love them both for different reasons - Blue Beveren breed for their calmness and the Newzealand White for their red eyes and pure white furs.

It's not shocking as to why they called dogs man's best friend due to their loyalty, ability to listen and know the difference between rights and wrongs. They have sharp memories too and they never forget a face. I remembered how I was away from home for a while, I got back and they were all over me. I felt their excitement, that pure love and joy as they were running around me in circles.

Image Source.

A funny incident happened one day. I lost track of time and I didn't open the cage for them to come out for I think 5 minutes. I always set them free around 6 pm because we have tenants and they have little children too. I got downstairs as I was rushing only to notice that Major wasn't in the cage. He managed to find a tiny space to squeeze himself in, climbed over the metal door and ran outside to defecate. They usually go outside the house to do that anytime I let them loose around 6 pm and he noticed I was late and did the honours himself.

I got downstairs to see him coming back into the house from outside. He didn't go anywhere else, didn't do anything funny other than defecating - discipline. He was so smart that he opened the entrance gate to the house with his hand and then came back inside. What thrilled me most was that he came in, and met me at their house with that guilty 'sober' face. He knew he broke the 'law' but can you blame the poor dog? I opened the door for the others and they all went out together again even though he was just sniffing around since he has done his business. I love whistling for them and the moment they hear me whistle with my mouth, they know it's me. That was our communication.

How you train them to be would determine what you will get from them. They are so easy to train and that's one of the many reasons I love dogs. When I eventually get a house of my own, built by myself, I would go all out to buy as many as I can.

I want to believe that most people love animals but it might vary what kind we like but the truth of the matter is, that animals should be respected and treated well. I am sure a lot of people saw the backlash Kurt Zouma received after he treated his cat badly by kicking it. He is still being booed in stadiums to date anytime he touches the ball. I know how a YouTuber lost her channel because she uploaded the wrong video online. She built the channel because of her dog and most people joined her channel to watch her dog but the camera was rolling when she was maltreating her dog and even spitting on her dog. That was the one she mistakenly uploaded and she didn't remain the same again.

My approach to cats changed over time because while growing up we have been made to believe that cats belong to the "witches" so we give that suspicious look to anyone fond of cats and maybe that's why I've never been fond of cats but it took me a long time to finally understand that they are just another animal but that's being said, the Nigerian in me still wouldn't get a cat 🙈🙈🙈.

Thank you for your time.

My pen doesn't bleed, it speaks. I am love's chemical content in human form and that's why  I advise people to take a dose of "Olawalium" daily. 🙈

Kindly follow me on Noise.Cash... I am trying to engage more with people and connect with everyone with this account. I look forward to seeing you there... You can say hello to me there so we can get familiarized as well. Click here.

32
$ 5.49
$ 4.61 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.07 from @fantagira
$ 0.06 from @Princessbusayo
+ 23
Sponsors of Olasquare
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago

Comments

I am a dog lover. Way back in my childhood times, I have this dog named "Kempet". He was so jolly. I trained him to be a good dog and I succeed it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's brilliant. What's the meaning of the name? I like it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Seriously, I'm more of a dog lover than a cat. I don't hate cat but I just hate how smelly their poop are. And I'm the one who'll clean their mess, always. And dog sweeter that cat. And I love how they can easily be trained. But I don't have a pet dog right now. I can't still move on to my first dog before that I lost. It's hard losing a pet that you love so much for so long. So I'm not sure if I will get one again 😒.

$ 0.04
2 years ago

I know that feeling. It's never easy losing a pet you love. It's always hard to move on and you wouldn't want to repeat that again. I feel you on that.

You said you are still the one that would pack it 🤣😂😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awwwwwn, I enjoyed reading all through, makes me yearn to have a dog also. I've always loved their cooperation and how they adapt to things. I feel so angry whenever I see dogs on the roadside; looking so tattered and unkempt. Anytime I see such, I'd just keep asking myself: "the person that bought this dog, if he/she knew it won't be properly taken care of. Then why purchase in the first place?"

Lol, 😂 that Nigerian mentality about cats is still in me. Anytime I see it,I'll shout: "blood of Jesus!!"

$ 0.04
2 years ago

Exactly...if you can't take care of them, don't buy them and if something happened after you bought them and can't keep up, gift them to someone who can.

Hahahaha yes, blood of Jesus. Maybe village people came to disguise

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I just can't touch anything except human coz they look scary to me so I don't like any animals 😎

$ 0.02
2 years ago

🤣🤣😂😂🤣 I totally get you. Have you had any experience with any before now?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol 🤣 don't mind me jare am too lazy in that aspect

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha I understand...but never be lazy in the other department o. 😘 You gerrit? If you don't gerrit, forget about it 🤣😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh I gorrit

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😂😂🤣 Sharp babe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😁😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love dogs very much. We have 11 Aspin including the dead and we have 2 high breed dogs. Also a cat who gave birth yesterday. I am more on dogs than a cats

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Wow. That's a lot and I can only imagine the sight of having them around. That's so much fun.

Congratulations on your cat though. Now you have more around.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love dogs more but I don't like to have them. I mean I don't want to take care of any pet as it is a huge responsibility for me. I love animals and I don't want to see them hurting.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are right...having any pet around is a huge responsibility. We should have them when we are ready to take on the responsibility

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm more on dogs to be honest. Yes, I love the other animals too but when it comes to dog there is something

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Dogs are special. There is something special about them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha Ola! I am also more fond of dogs than cats, but there are specific felines I'd definitely adopt. I only have one and only cat I have loved so dearly, and that's my Mia. We have three dogs in the house right now.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Three? Wow. You must be enjoying their company. That's great. I can't wait to have another again too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your dog is well trained and disciplined jjone. Its really nice to have a pet. When alone we can talk to them and they reapond accordingly. We have birds here. They come to my kitchen window early morning to have their biscuits.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Birds are also very loyal. They sense when something goes wrong too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Animal lover here ...but afraid of venomous ones 😅.. And huge dogs.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

😂😂🤣🤣😂🤣🤣 those venomous ones are scary... for me too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

General animal lover. I love all of them.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's sweet. 🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am a bird lover . I have Australian parrots , Spanish blue sparrows and some other birds . I scared always from dogs and cats as a cat bite me badly in childhood.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Wow. So sorry about that. Some of those who don't like dogs too was because of similar experience, so I understand you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am both, dog and cat lover, however right now we have three dogs and they didn't want to get along well with the cat, so our cat didn't went home for days, sometimes he just visit us to eat.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I've heard stories that dogs and cats are rarely friends, maybe that's why. I hope they try and accommodate your cat.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I did have love for dogs as we had like several dogs in my younger years, but as I grew up I really felt like I'd love to have cats. I find them really cute.. haha 😅

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaha no doubt, they are cute. I've always loved their eyes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes hahaha, when I find cute cat videos on social media I really take my time to rewatch them. 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😂😂🤣🤣😂😂🤣 you are really a cat lover.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha, thankss. 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🤣😂😂🥰🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nigerian mentality toward cats made most of us hate cats. I do have cats, they are easier to train compared to dogs and other animals. They are so friendly and playful, they keep rubbing you, sticking around you when they know you are sick. Cat is the best for me to train

$ 0.04
2 years ago

Wow...I love this view on cats. I love animals that loves attention and keeps rubbing on me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

OMG 😱 You really studied them well Ola 😅😅😅 So without a cat I guess I am no witch 😅 Although cats do love me. Some even follow me on the street 😁

$ 0.03
2 years ago

😂😂🤣🤣😂😂🤣 the cats see the witch potential in you and wants to fan it into flame.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Here comes the best dog lover on the platform, hehe

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha trust me, there are tons of dog lovers here.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha i know ola but your the only one i bumped with that can even go as far as trusting more on dogs than human hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🤣🤣🤣😂😂 you haven't read that favourite quote that says "the more I get to know humans, the more I admire my dog." 😂😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

we are taught to always protect and preserve the environment because as living beings we have control over other living things. maybe you and I really like dogs but what about the opinion of dogs and other animals used as objects of practice? maybe we should understand better

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's left to those who use them as such. This post is about those who enjoy having animals as per which I cited my love for dogs. I didn't quite catch your question.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The myth about cats seem to be dying. In my area today, I saw two different people at different times who were having a stroll with their cats, and they looked really cute

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's really amazing. I hope we get to see them for what they are, pets and not fetish.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe I am okay having a pet at home but not as mine. I got easily attached and it is hard for me to.move on once my pet died. So to save myself, hehe I never had one since my dog died. I was still a kid. Though we have a lot of dogs at home😂 (in my province). My sisters our pet lovers. Aside from that furs triggers my asthma😂

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Asthma...that is understandable my dear. It's better to love them from afar with that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahha yeah, that's the only choice

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I feel you...🤗🤗🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love dogs but I can’t get one even though I have the money because I’m always afraid of dogs because I’ve heard that no matter how you train dogs there will be time when the dog will lose his memory and won’t remember his owner’s face. I hear about this frequently.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I don't know about that and I don't want to say what I am not sure of but I had those dogs of mine for more than 10 years and trust me, they didn't forget my face.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love dogs too! Training them will make you enjoy them the more.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's the fun part of it...the training.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! You trained the dog and disciplined it to the extent it wasn´t messing its room but found a way to go defecate outside and I smiled when it came back with such guilty face. Lol

I hope to own a dog too when I get married. Lol because dogs are easy to take care and when they are being trained and disciplined, you will enjoy them. This made me remembered my grandpa´s dog then. When it died, he cried for days because to him, the dog was part of the family.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Dogs are always part of the family because they are easy to love. You know that joy when you tell your dog, stop it...sit there...come here... It's thrilling. I missed it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is quite insightful. I've not had a close encounter with rabbits before, I've only seen them from afar, so all these are new to me.

Dogs are really smart and yours have formed a bond with you. I hope to own one someday

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, they are smart and special. They thrive on affection and bond.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love dogs, but unfortunately because I suffer from terrible allergies, I cannot spend more than a few minutes with fur. My friend had an amazing labradoodle though, and I was in love! I've had a rabbit some time back, chewed everything, including the cable, and jumped everywhere. We were always playing cat and mouse, she and I. I miss her terribly. These days, I only have fishes. I'd say cats are great pets maybe, but I don't know. I think because they may appear to be moody and less affectionate, I haven't warmed to them as much.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

That's so true. Cats can come off as less affectionate when they act distant.

I'm sorry about your allergies. You can still love them from afar.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am a lover of both cats and dogs and other animals. I am not a reptile lover but I respect them and would not harm them. When I saw the golden retriever picture in your post it made me want to cry. I had a dog named CANELO, he was unique, sometimes he looked like he was talking to us. He died because he got liver disease. To this day it breaks my heart to remember his last days. I also have a lot of cats at home, you have given me an idea, hehe I am going to make a post about my cats. Cats have a very elegant way of showing their affection. The truth is that animals are great friends and hardly ever betray as human friends do.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I am so sorry about Canelo. That must be painful. So sorry. Yes, I am an animal lover too but not so keen on reptiles either.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dog lover but I dont have dog right now after my dog died I don't want to buy, maybe soon.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I'm sorry about your dog. I can imagine how that feels.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahaha, its dog for me, for the lady who uploaded the wrong video.. Its said how she upload good video of her and her dog in good relationship but maltreat at the back, my dad is the animal lover, we have got turkey and chicken, but I know his aim, most of the time, he loves watching Nat Geo Wild on dstv, but when it come to cat, someone please get me the anointing oil😥😫😅

$ 0.03
2 years ago

🤣🤣😂😂🤣🤣😂 you are a clown

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😅😅its the truth

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha no shaking. I feel you on that

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love dogs alot and wouldn't mind having one again as my pet,they are obedient and we'll mannered.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Absolutely. I love them too. Easy to train.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'd have both a cat and a dog in my personal apartment.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That would be nice.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Actually like cats because they are neat freaks, but I don't think I like them enough to buy one as a pet. #TeamDog

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaha I like your honest assessment.

$ 0.00
2 years ago